STACK Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About STACK

Bid & Win More Profitable Work in Less Time with STACK! STACK empowers your team to quickly and accurately measure digital plans, quantify materials and collaborate with key project stakeholders. Our easy-to-use, cloud-based software will help you to ensure takeoff accuracy, eliminate costly bid errors and win more profitable work. Create Your Free Account Today! Learn more about STACK

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 977 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 977 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Avatar Image
Sunshine M.
Commercial Estimator
Building Materials, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 7, 2018

“Great product. Customer support right in app and always quick to respond. ”

ProsThis product is incredibly simple to use, but a very powerful tool. The calendar makes organizing projects by due date easy. You can quickly see what's coming up and space them out when a larger project takes more time. The search function to find past projects is imperative. Doing takeoffs is much easier now. I can export final dwgs and reports so that my sales rep can go back and see exactly what I quoted and where. All the work is saved so I can back and reference it or change it if plans change. The lines and symbols are easy to read and quick to set up. You can dimension the plans when needed and add call outs. The cloud tool is useful for items I have a question about. I can even copy and paste a line several times instead of having to draw it out each time. Being able to add labels to the takeoff is crucial. It makes my quotes much more powerful when I say exactly where I found each product. It also helps if there is a change to the plan later. I can easily remove one section by using the Geometric Report instead of having to dig through all the plans. The ability to use two screens is awesome! When I find a particular detail and have to match it to the plan, it is much easier to have one screen with the detail and one with the plan.
ConsSome things are not customizable. I can't change the default dimension color or size. But once you set it, it remembers the changes for that page only. I can't rearrange the sheets with the tabs on top. I have to open them in the order I need. So if I find a detail on another sheet, I may have to close some tabs and them reopen them in the order I need. It does integrate with Excel reports, but Excel charges a monthly subscription for that. I am also waiting for the symbol search tool.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 7, 2018
Stephen M.
Contacts mgr
Shipbuilding, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Source: Capterra
May 26, 2017

“Still LeAfrning Take off portion not all PDF will scale true. ”

OverallHonestly a learning experience is the best I grt now,
ProsJust Inputting and using program to enter ships and drawings of ships in for each class of ship we are working on. once more jobs are entered would like to end up witha square foot to S data base so in futur we can ask how many sqare foot pf bilge in the AMR on a WMSL Class ship and wbhat did we charge as an average for painting by square foot. Now have Started to measure 2s square footage but have not seen or understand hoe to correlate that to job. Much less how to enter it and pull it out to make a bid I supose that will come in time. First we are verifying what we have and then there will be more data base building from old and new bids as we go , including machinery and equipment needs to use and the material required. The we should be able ask " the customer want us to paint the forward bulkead in the bosn locke dark ble using xxx paint prepared to SSPC SP10 what will the cost be for bid... hpw much profit can we make and also what is the average marie rate for that.
ConsAS I explained above new at it and have not yet gotten to the point of being a well trained user of it. Howevr it has bothered me when i set in a PDF print use the stated scale and do noy get a known answer ...>>>>>Just Inputting and using program to enter ships and drawings of ships in for each class of ship we are working on. once more jobs are entered would like to end up witha square foot to S data base so in futur we can ask howmany sqare foot pf bilge in the AMR on a WMSL Class ship and wbhat did we charge as an average for painting by square foot. Now have Started to measure 2s square footage but have not seen or understand hoe to correlate that to job. Much less how to enter it and pull it out to make a bid I supose thst will come in time. First we are verifying what we have and then there will be more data base building from old and new bids as we go , including machinery and equipment needs to use and the material required. The we shold be able ask " the customer want us to paint the fwd bulkead in the bosn locke dark ble using xxx paint prepared to SSPC SP10 what will the cost be for bid... hpw much profit can we make and also what is the average marie rate for that.Workin the marine industry in a land familiar setting.

Vendor Response

By Stack Construction Technologies on May 30, 2017
Hi Stephen, Thanks so much for your recent feedback! We are so glad to be able to support the takeoff and estimating needs of All Star Cleaning & Preservation, Inc. and so happy to hear that our software is having a positive impact on your bid process. We look forward to sharing your input with the entire STACK team. Have an awesome day & thank you again!
Source: Capterra
May 26, 2017
Matt C.
Estimator
Construction, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
January 24, 2017

“Simple and Easy to Use!”

OverallFor very quick masonry estimates, nothing beats this software. For more advanced/detailed prints, as long as you take your time this will work just fine. I haven't seen a friendlier piece of software at an affordable price that gives you want you need without being headache to setup.
ProsWe looked for a very long time for a very simple takeoff program and this is definitely it. We have used this program for the past year and a half to get measurements on masonry and it has not failed us. Our trade does not need super advanced features so this suites us perfectly. If you have a properly scaled PDF then you can hit the ground running for your measurements. Otherwise, determining your own scale is very simple to do and I've even taken pictures of blueprints with my phone to roughly estimate one of our simpler prints in under 10 prints from the camera snapping. Amazing.
ConsDue to this program being available online only sometimes it can be finicky if you have a poor internet connection or if there is some sort of (extremely rare) maintenance. As stated earlier, we use this for masonry so it does not need advanced features. But as with all estimating, you will still need a basic knowledge of your trade's quirks. If you can't see a wall on an elevation because it is returning into the building then you will need to approximately draw it in under your elevation based off of a foundation plan or floor plan. Not super hard but it just will not do all of the work for you.
Recommendations to other buyersor very quick masonry estimates, nothing beats this software. For more advanced/detailed prints, as long as you take your time this will work just fine. I haven't seen a friendlier piece of software at an affordable price that gives you want you need without being headache to setup.

Vendor Response

By Stack Construction Technologies on January 24, 2017
Hi Matt, Thanks so much for your recent feedback! We are so glad to be able to support the takeoff and estimating needs of Curley Brothers Brick & Masonry and so happy to hear that our software is having a positive impact on your bid process. We look forward to sharing your input with the entire STACK team. Have an awesome day & thank you again!
Source: Capterra
January 24, 2017
Jeff V.
Senior Estimator
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 22, 2019

“I've tried the rest, Stack is clearly the best.”

OverallOver the last 15 years, I've been with 2 companies prior to my current and, at both, I encouraged the Owner to purchase Stack (Cloud Take-off previously). Most were hesitant due to ongoing subscriptions with other platforms but eventually I was able to get, at minimum, the take off program. I haven't tried the estimating version and would try it if I could ever get the time to sit down and populate all the different assemblies, vendor pricing etc. The other issue is purchasing something untried and untested to our company specifically tailored to how we function. I think an extended trial period for that training and tailoring to our needs might be enough to justify the upgrade.
Pros The greatest feature is the ease of use. They kept it simple for the take-off, genius on the auto-save. Of course, the cloud-based feature. No more bringing home the laptop, cables, plans, specs. Quick uploads and tons of memory for those large jobs.
ConsHad issues with Silverlight running on MAC in earlier versions. ( wasn't a huge deal and I believe when Stack took over they fixed the bugs). I'd like to see options when drawing a linear measurement to have various dashes or hashes for lines would be helpful. For example, on other platforms I could indicate through-wall cf with a red dotted line while below do a solid line indicating another linear measurement such as expansion joint. You would then be able to visually identify to different terminations on the same linear measurement. Just a suggestion.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 22, 2019
Nick C.
Project Manager
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
January 20, 2017

“Darn near perfect.”

OverallHaving used Stack for the better part of two years, I can say it has greatly improved our takeoff speed and provided the ability to accomplish several time consuming tasks quickly. Stack features allow me to achieve a great degree of accuracy, and they seem to constantly improve the product with new tools like the snap feature. In the future we look forward to deploying Stack to an even greater extent to win more work, and generate more revenue!
ProsFirst and foremost, I enjoy the takeoff speed and accuracy Stack affords our estimating department. Simply by clicking a link on a plan exchange site, or quickly uploading plans, we can begin a highly detailed accurate takeoff in minutes if not seconds. Likewise, we can complete our takeoff much faster than traditional methods saving valuable time to analyze our bids post takeoff.
ConsLike any good cost hawk, I would highlight price as my least favorite aspect of Stack Software; though I will say the product represents good value for the price! I would like to see Stack offer the complete product in one package, without the present tiered pricing.

Vendor Response

By Stack Construction Technologies on January 25, 2017
Hi Nick, Thanks so much for your recent feedback! We are so glad to be able to support the takeoff and estimating needs of Samuel Dean Sheet Metal and so happy to hear that our software is having a positive impact on your bid process. We look forward to sharing your input with the entire STACK team. Have an awesome day & thank you again!
Source: Capterra
January 20, 2017
Reuben D.
Estimator
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
January 23, 2017

“One of the best available software for estimating”

OverallBefore I used stack ct, our company used an estimating system known to many; planswift. When we made the switch to stack ct about a year ago, I was suprised we hadn't switched before. The ease of use and ergonomical set up makes this cloud based system great for not only one, but many user to edit all at once. Even better, we upgraded about 2 months ago to the full Stack Pro and are now using the items and assemblies options. I can run a full job and have my estimate in under 30 minutes thanks to this awesome feature. One of the main reasons I will be staying with stack is their level of customer service, no matter what the problem is, or the time you are having the problem, the service is top level and extremely helpful. So far, I have not had one problem they haven't been able to fix. I would highly recommend this great product for any estimators looking to make their job more simple.
ProsConstant Upgrades, high level of customer service, user friendly and very detailed reports and takeoffs.
ConsYou cannot copy an entire project. Also, you can't download all the plans at once. You are able to export marked up files but if you want to download the entire plans that you have uploaded (in case you deleted the original files) you will have to select each plan to download; very time consuming.

Vendor Response

By Stack Construction Technologies on January 24, 2017
Hi Reuben, Thanks so much for your recent feedback! We are so glad to be able to support the takeoff and estimating needs of The Edgewood Co. and so happy to hear that our software is having a positive impact on your bid process. Have an awesome day & thank you again!
Source: Capterra
January 23, 2017
Mark B.
Vice President/Director of Commercial
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
May 31, 2017

“Uploads Plans quickly, great features and great customer service.”

ProsFor me it has to be the speed at which it allows me to get through a large scale take-off. The way I can customize my labels makes it easy for me to separate areas and alternates for each individual project, and then sort them and pull information from with in those labels easily and quickly.
ConsNot many Cons, but it would be nice to be able to use my delete key on my key board once I have takeoff highlighted versus highlighting the take off then going over to the menu bar and then taking the cursor down to the delete function. It would also be nice to hold down command/cntrl key and select multiple take offs to copy and or delete. Finally being able to highlight a takeoff area and change what that take-off is with out deleting it and re- drawing it, this would be a huge time saver for me when dealing with addendum and design team changes.

Vendor Response

By Stack Construction Technologies on June 1, 2017
Hi Mark, Thanks so much for your recent feedback! We are so glad to be able to support the takeoff and estimating needs of Phillips' Floor Inc. and so happy to hear that our software is having a positive impact on your bid process. We look forward to sharing your input with the entire STACK team. Have an awesome day & thank you again!
Source: Capterra
May 31, 2017
Jeff S.
Project Manager
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 29, 2018

“Great Takeoff Tool!”

OverallOverall Stack is great and is saving our company time & money! It took a little bit for additional users in our office to get up to speed, but they are cruising right along now. Troy and the guys in support always get back to me promptly. I've been using Stack for about 8 years now and couldn't be happier!
ProsCloud Storage, Takeoff Storage, Calendar, Accumulating Units of Measurement, Customer Support, Copy/Paste, Upload Times, Legend, Highlight, Labels, Auto-load from Smartbidnet ITB's, able to view takeoffs from mobile version & able to view other user's takeoffs on our account.
ConsGoing through the plan pages seems cumbersome at times. I wish Stack could go back to the Cloud Takeoff Silverlight version, much better UI. Not being able to reorganize the plan sheet tabs by a left click and drag, have to close each one of them down and then go through the correct page sequence to display in the order you want. Chrome issue of having to multi select every item you want to quickly delete. Not being able to share a takeoff instantly, instead we have to download the plan into a PDF and send the PDF.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 29, 2018
Anthony C.
Estimator
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
May 31, 2017

“Fantastic! Anyone who can use a computer, can use this software to easily generate measurements.”

OverallGenerating accurate takeoffs and reports as an estimator, to get accurate pricing on materials for our projects is a main role of my position
ProsI love how easy STACK is to use. I literally can hop on my computer and generate a takeoff and reports of a pretty complex drawing within minutes. I don't have to calculate anything, as this software does the math for me. Additionally, I haven't had to ever use technical support for STACK because it's always live and working when I am, but there is always a button to talk to a representative present on the screen in case I do run into trouble. Another thing I love, is that it's online browser-based, and I never have to worry about saving anything. It automatically saves wherever I have left off on a project. Speaking of projects, STACK also allows one to organize different projects on it's calendar very easily, and things can also be edited/changed/deleted efficiently. Without STACK my job would be a lot harder, and take a lot longer. I'm not even sure that I've taken advantage of everything that STACK has to offer, but as you can see, I am thrilled for what I use it for. I am fairly new to this application, and career, but as you can see, I love it. I'm sure it has paid for itself many times over.
ConsSometimes STACK can lag a bit, but I'm willing to say that it has to do with some of the drawings/prints that I have had to upload there, and not necessarily the fault of the STACK application.

Vendor Response

By Stack Construction Technologies on June 1, 2017
Hi Anthony, We are so glad to hear that you are thrilled with the impact our software is having on your business! We look forward to sharing your input with the entire STACK team. Be sure to contact us if there is anything you need in the future. We are here for you! Wishing you much continued success!
Source: Capterra
May 31, 2017
Daniel Frondorf F.
Presient and Chief Estimator
Construction, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 4, 2018

“Stack's ease of use and accuracy have been mains factors in our success at generating numerous takeoffs quickly, efficiently, and accurately.”

OverallWe like the fact that Stack is web based, enabling us to work in an out of the office, or anywhere we have access to the internet.
ProsWe appreciate the ability of the software to quickly set up new projects and to get started working on them as soon as we receive work orders from our clients; the ability to see the underlying plan sheet on which were working is a hidden benefit - we often find ourselves using Stack as a plan review tool as well as a takeoff tool. The mobility of the view on the screen is most helpful - zooming in and out is especially useful. Our clients appreciate our ability to provide them plan sheets marked up with the takeoffs quantities visibly highlighted and in legend format.
ConsWe are civil estimators, and we frequently have the need to perform earthwork takeoffs from cross sections. Sadly, Stack does not yet have the ability to set dual scales (horizontal and vertical) that allow area takeoffs on cross sectional views. This is a feature improvement we've suggested many times when our product reps call us to check in with us periodically (which we appreciate), so we hope this becomes a new feature in the near future.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 4, 2018
Bob C.
Estimator
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 29, 2018

“Powerful, especially in the right hands!”

OverallWe are younger folks in the business who are very familiar with excel and spreadsheet formulas. This program is made for those types of minds. What we have achieved with this program using custom assemblies is remarkable and powerful. This program has elevated our business and shaved thousands off the cost of estimating our projects without sacrificing the accuracy.
ProsThe program is easy to use out of the box/ The real magic is in the custom assemblies. You can create anything you're looking for. At first, these custom assemblies are cumbersome to set up. But once they are set up, taking off a project is almost automated. Add in some nifty features like different scales on the same drawing page, multipliers for different layers, multitool select for deleting and copying... We are very happy with this product for on-screen take-offs. The new excel template recently released is also great.
ConsHonestly, there's always going to be something an end user wants but most of the things we want are things that are too difficult to apply universally. For example, we would love to see the ability to alter pricing and structure of existing assemblies but the only way to do that is to make it custom. We understand why, because all users draw from these assemblies. What would be nice is to copy groups within a stack assembly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 29, 2018
Jeremy S.
General Manager
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
January 23, 2017

“Stack has been a valuable asset to our growth in the past year.”

OverallWe have had an amazing experience with stack, after what was really a short learning period do to its ease of use it allowed us to accomplish more estimates, faster, and with more accuracy. They say the one thing you may never be able to get more of is time, well perhaps software like STACK can change that.
ProsIt is easy to use this is first and foremost because we have staff with different levels of comfort with computers. Next it is still powerful and allows us to get all the information we need for an accurate and confident estimate. With the information you generate in STACK you can do a very accurate estimate versus actual job cost at the end as well to see how you are doing and what areas of your business may need work or training.
ConsI do still wish we could have Profit and Overhead calculated and even take an estimate to its completion with an estimate writer, however I know these things are being looked at and I hope to see them soon.
Recommendations to other buyersIt is a great asset to an estimating team and it allows fast accurate estimating. With it being cloud based it allows better team work and oversight.

Vendor Response

By Stack Construction Technologies on January 24, 2017
Hi Jeremy, Thanks so much for your recent feedback! We are so glad to be able to support the takeoff and estimating needs of Legacy Roofing and so happy to hear that our software is having a positive impact on your bid process. We look forward to sharing your input with the entire STACK team. Have an awesome day & thank you again!
Source: Capterra
January 23, 2017
Jonathan F.
Estimator
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 23, 2019

“STACKED REVIEW ”

OverallOverall my experience with this program has been fantastic. Im one for articulate writing, but there is very little bad i can say about this program on the overall. I use it sometimes 10 hours a day straight.
ProsThis software is the most user friendly software i have used. It does not matter what form the drawings are in. I can scale and take off a scanned set of drawings just as easily as i can with a downloaded set of drawings. I have a few pdf programs downloaded which i can scale to which do not require me to upload anything. However if i can afford the opportunity i always prefer to load the drawings into stacked for scaling and takeoff.
ConsOne of my least favorite features is the "Auto Name" function. This feature tends to need a bit more work. Granted there is the option to manually name each page; which is fine for small projects with just a few sheets. However the larger jobs this is just tedious and time consuming.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 23, 2019
Troy J.
Estimator
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
January 20, 2017

“Efficiency, Accuracy, Ease, and Value for a General Contractor.”

OverallStack Estimating has been a great tool for our estimating efforts as a General Contractor who works extensively with subcontractors and also manages some material acquisitions internally. With Stack, our takeoffs are done quickly to gauge the responsiveness of the sub bids we receive, as well as accurately where we need the added detail and assurance that our own material quantities are correctly captured. Easy to use, our staff has caught on quickly to the intuitive interface. Stack has been responsive to update functionalities and streamline processes when requested. Overall we find the Stack team to be supportive and the software a great value.
ProsSimple enough to work through takeoffs quickly, strong enough to handle breakdown and summaries, and customized categories and labeling.
ConsWe use Stack largely for takeoffs in conjunction with other software for preparing our final estimates. For those who may want functionality beyond takeoff and basic cost estimates that we utilize in the program, you will need to consult with the staff and evaluate that functionality for your own goals. For how we use it, it works well.
Recommendations to other buyersGreat tool as described in the review for those who use it similar to the way we do.
Source: Capterra
January 20, 2017
Jeff S.
Estimator
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
January 4, 2017

“The new Stack is great, just missing a couple things from the old version.”

OverallI love the new Stack, it works perfectly. The only things it's missing are a couple features from the old version. First, the ability to copy a takeoff. Second, the ability to change a takeoff to something else. Those used to really come in handy, for example, when working on plans for an apartment building or hotel. Say I need the square footage of every floor. Before, I could measure the first floor, copy the measurement, paste it over the second floor, and then change it to Second Floor whatever. My favorite new feature, on the other hand, is the ability to do cutouts. If you're taking off a large area, and there's something you don't want just hanging out in the middle, you no longer have to work around it. You can just cover it, and then cut it out after.
ProsSimplicity and ease-of-use and the various new features all work great.
ConsThe ability to copy/paste and change takeoffs is missing. That's really the only negative thing I can say.
Recommendations to other buyersNope, nothing I didn't cover in my review and the pros/cons.

Vendor Response

By Stack Construction Technologies on January 4, 2017
Hello Jeff, Thanks so much for your recent feedback - we love hearing how much our users enjoy STACK takeoff and estimating software! A member of our team would be happy to help you with the takeoff copy/paste feature. Just give us a call at 1.866.702.6078 at your convenience. Happy New Year!
Source: Capterra
January 4, 2017
Christine C.
Project Manager
Construction, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
June 5, 2017

“Incredible time saver”

OverallTime saved, enhanced communication with clients, and visual PDF output to ensure accuracy.
ProsIt is so easy to use and makes visualizing our take offs 10000% easier. We can designate different colors for different materials and export to confirm install areas with our clients. Customer service is always very quick and attentive to any questions or issues and the updates have continued to vastly improve over the time we have used the software. This has changed how our business operates at every level!
ConsIn future updates, it would be nice to be able to paint over certain take off areas with patterns to demonstrate what will be installed (wood, tile, etc). This is in no way necessary, but would add tremendous value to how we communicate with our clients.

Vendor Response

By Stack Construction Technologies on June 6, 2017
Hi Christine, Thanks so much for your recent feedback! We are so glad to be able to support the takeoff and estimating needs of The Wood Floor Company and so happy to hear that our software is having a positive impact on your bid process. We look forward to sharing your input with the entire STACK team. Have an awesome day & thank you again!
Source: Capterra
June 5, 2017
Halie R.
Manager
Construction, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 6, 2018

“ Very easy website to use, use it everyday.”

OverallThe quickness of knowing the area of a floor plan. Very easy and time saving if I need to turn in a job ASAP.
ProsI like the simplicity of the software. How Easy it is to upload jobs. How you can filter through pages. My favorite thing is how alike the tools are to other computer programs (photo shop, etc) it makes it easy to learn and teach others.
ConsI wish it had a wider variety of tools, some actions seem unnecessary. My biggest problem is not being able to open a line again when it is closed. If by accident I double click to close a segment (which is very often) I have to restart the entire measurement instead of an easy action being there, like a back button. Also I wish I could change the scale of a certain area/page instead of having to delete and redo the entire thing, considering some of the measurements on blueprints can be wrong at times.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 6, 2018
Andy D.
Estimator/Project Manager
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
March 1, 2017

“Great product, excellent value!”

OverallStack takeoff has been an excellent find for our office, allowing us to do takeoffs quicker while saving money over the other options out there. The customer service is 2nd to none, I wish I could give more than 5 stars! My favorite part of using Stack is that they are constantly updating/improving features and options by listening to feedback from their customers and incorporating what they need/desire. I've never waited more than a few minutes to get a response when I have a question or idea. It is very nice to have that personal experience. I would highly recommend Stack to anybody who wants to speed up their takeoff procedures, or those who are paying more for software that does the same thing Stack is capable of!
ProsEase of use, constant updates/features added, value
ConsThere have been a few times (very few) that there is a feature that seems should be simple, but isn't there. They do take suggestions though, so I look forward to seeing these features added in future updates.
Source: Capterra
March 1, 2017
Megan S.
Sales Manager
Retail, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
May 23, 2017

“We use it everyday! ”

OverallThis software saves us so much time in our bidding. We used to order paper plans and to take-offs the old fashioned way where there is much more human error. That usually took 30-45 min. This software allows us to do the same thing in just a few minutes.
ProsIt's easy to use and it keeps all your work available to pull back up at a later date. Everything can be color coded and made as simple or as complex as needed.
ConsI am not a fan of only being able to log one computer in at a time. There should be a business version that allows for multiple users on the same login or all have access to the same plans downloaded.

Vendor Response

By Stack Construction Technologies on May 24, 2017
Hi Megan, We are so glad to hear that you are thrilled with the impact our software is having on your business! We look forward to sharing your input with the entire STACK team. Be sure to contact us if there is anything you need in the future. We are here for you! Wishing you much continued success!
Source: Capterra
May 23, 2017
Joe K.
Vice President of Operations
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 1, 2019

“What a time saver!!!!”

OverallI won't work without it, and it just keeps getting better and better!!!!!
ProsA take off that would take me 2 days before I'm now doing in 3 hours max. I only print the drawings that I will actually use on a project and I can high lite what needs to be called out to my crews. The program saves about $300.00 in printing cost alone. As an added value I can send my takeoff sheets to my GC to make sure we covered everything, and it also gives me a back up if they would come back and say oh you should have included this. I can show them exactly what I bid and what they approved. It just saved me $28,000.00 on a job.
ConsThat it's not free, haha, but it cost money to go, first class. And its a very little cost compared to the value you receive.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 1, 2019
Lee R.
Contract Sales Manager
Building Materials, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 23, 2019

“Great Time Saver!”

OverallW have more people doing accurate takeoffs, and less time lost in producing estimates. It is especially nice to have the whole job layout ready to go once we win the bid!
ProsWe like the ease of use for our team for doing Take-Offs for our Flooring bids. It is really nice to be able to produce great prints of the layouts for installers job sheets; and to have coordinated material sheets with clear color coding of each specific material, including square footage, and linear footage of each install area. We really like the ease of uploading jobs, and the calendar which helps us keep track of what job deadlines are coming up.
ConsI would like a better interface for printng. It would be great if we could highlight a portion of a page and send it directly to our printer.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 23, 2019
kevin p.
Senior Estimator
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
January 12, 2017

“Awesome product, a full 5 stars!!!”

OverallAs a manager of multiple Estimators, this program allows me to track progress, workflow and most important accuracy on every project. By being a cloud-based software, I can see when a job is completed from my home or office. Most importantly I can easily add or subtract necessary money to each and every project on time, every time. Without a doubt, this is the software your business needs!
ProsLove the takeoff aspect, very quick and precise.
ConsThe menus can be a bit confusing. Report totals could be streamlined.
Recommendations to other buyersWould love to see some drag and drop features on the calendar. This would make jobs easy to move around at will.

Vendor Response

By Stack Construction Technologies on January 12, 2017
Hello Kevin, Thanks so much for your recent feedback! We love hearing what users think of STACK Takeoff and Estimating software. We will be sure to relay your comments on your experience to the rest of the STACK team and look forward to supporting the unique growth and success goals of Preferred Insulation - now and in the future. Happy New Year!
Source: Capterra
January 12, 2017
Mike B.
Director of Operations
Construction, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 2, 2019

“Excellent Takeoff Software”

OverallStack has made our takeoff process a lot faster, smoother and more accurate. We can now complete a take off on a framing scope, for example, in a few hours. The speed is also do to the ability to have assemblies setup so we are not doing the same work twice. Set up your assemblies, do your take off, print an entire report on the quantities of the items and the materials it takes to build those items.
Pros1) Easy to train new employees on basic use 2) Fast and accurate takeoff information 3) Excellent customer service when an issues or question arises 4) Stack is always listening to what the customers want and they try and make the upgrades and changes as soon as possible
Cons1) There are no hot keys to make the takeoff process even faster 2) Since the updated version, the other minor issues have went away
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 2, 2019
Lindsey H.
Project Engineer
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 30, 2018

“Overall Great Software”

ProsStack is user friendly. From the beginning, the customer service is helpful, offering screen share to navigate and train on the functions and uses. The program is very user friendly and works with ease. You can upload any documents you need and perform several takeoffs across an array of several projects. The quantity takeoff function is very easy to use with several options in color, scales, dimension lines, legends, highlighting, call outs, and text boxes.
ConsSometimes the program can run a tad slow when trying to upload a large plan set or download the takeoffs to your desktop. Often, this problem resolves its self with a restart and if needed, customer service is happy and willing to help on their end as well.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 30, 2018
Tom R.
Owner
Construction, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2017

“Easy to use, Easy to Set-up, Flexible so easy to manipulate and change settings”

OverallI can use it anywhere and it is always updated. I can start a project at work, pick up where I left off at home, and then access it when I am on the road or at the airport
ProsThe updates have made the software even more intuitive and quick. Each update has made the software easier to use and has not brought in any unnecessary forms or functions. The uploading of drawings is super fast.
ConsThe software does not work well at all on my ipad pro. The calendar does not work well, and I it takes me more time to search the list view. I cannot really measure at all because the software does not recognize the input from the pencil. I would like to see an app or better support for the Ipad.

Vendor Response

By Stack Construction Technologies on May 22, 2017
Hi Tom, Thanks so much for your recent feedback! We are so glad to be able to support the takeoff and estimating needs of R3 Painting and so happy to hear that our software is having a positive impact on your bid process. We look forward to sharing your input with the entire STACK team. Have an awesome day & thank you again!
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2017
Jeremy D.
Project Estimator | Business Development
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 23, 2019

“Review of STACK Takeoff & Estimating ”

OverallLove this system, would highly recommend to anyone looking for a takeoff and estimating software. You can't beat stack!
ProsThis makes estimating as easy and as efficient as it will ever get. I like how the assemblies can all be run right through the system and then be exported into an excel. I also really like how this is a cloud system so I know I can access from any device and I also can know that all my work is being saved immediately.
ConsOur team has been experiencing glitches where the takeoff will abruptly end without having double clicked to end it. There also is no undo feature so when you make a mistake on a takeoff you have to delete it and redo the entire thing. There should be a ctrl z type undo feature.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 23, 2019
Dylan M.
Estimator
Glass, Ceramics & Concrete, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 30, 2019

“STACK truly cares about you and your opinions.”

OverallI had the opportunity to meet some of the staff out at the World of Concrete. After talking with a few of them, I have zero intentions of ever using another takeoff program. I look forward to many years to come! Thanks y'all!
ProsI came into STACK as someone who barely knew how to print a piece of paper. They have a chat button at the bottom where you can be directly connected to one of their team members in less than 5 minutes. They have taken the time to make videos showing a step by step process on how to do ANYTHING in the program. The program is also extremely accurate. All of my quantities have been spot on.
ConsThere are absolutely zero cons. However, if i have to pick something it would be that if your plans are not in order when you download them then they will not be in order on the display. If you could rearrange the plans once they were downloaded it would be perfect.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 30, 2019
Mikel G.
Owner
Construction, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 29, 2018

“Simply the best, Tina Turners words, not mine”

OverallThe trainings as well as the constant help from the STACK team is amazing. There is always an answer to my questions, and if I have ever struggled in an area, we were able to personalize a training session to figure out the best way to make the program work for us.
ProsI like the ease of use, paired with customizable options for every project. I can build complete packages if it is a similar job I am doing over and over. I can sit down with a 5,000 SF home, and depending on which trades I am bidding on, can be complete with takeoff and materials needing in under an hour.
ConsI don't like that there is no IPAD PRO useability other than as a viewer. It would make running takeoff in the field amazing and eliminate some of the other programs I need in my field.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 29, 2018
Parker C.
President
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 6, 2018

“Great software and easy to use.”

ProsIt is very easy to upload plans and spec documents. We like how we can name any measurement quickly for fast take offs. The newer options for pitched area and pitched linear measurements are right in our wheelhouse. We use it daily. It keeps us up to date on bid dates instead of having to use another calendar system.
ConsWe would like to set saved measurement criteria sometimes instead of having to create them everyday for each new take off. For example... if we are doing a take off for a TPO roof we always measure flat area, perimeters, parapet cap, drip edge, various wall heights, etc. Customer support is a little slow sometimes. It seams like it's hard to get our 2nd license running right.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 6, 2018
Todd H.
Estimator / Project Manager
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
January 12, 2017

“STACK TAKEOFF SOFTWARE ”

OverallI've previously used two different takeoff softwares and find Stack Construction software to be the most user friendly. Being able to be remote and have all of my takeoffs at my finger tips no matter where I am is outstanding. I've recommended two options for change to my account manager at Stacked and within three weeks those changes were made in the software and I'm now able to takeoff off my projects even quicker. Their support team have always gotten back to us right away with any questions I've had on the capabilities of the program. I haven't yet used their cost estimating software but look forward to seeing a demonstration soon so that I can fully streamline our takeoff and pricing system.
ProsEase of use, remote usage, support staff.
ConsNot being able to takeoff two conditions at once. Like perimeter metal on an area at the same time.
Recommendations to other buyersI look forward to trying the estimating software soon.

Vendor Response

By Stack Construction Technologies on January 12, 2017
Hello Todd, Thanks so much for your recent feedback! We love hearing what users think of STACK Takeoff and Estimating software. Our team is always available to help with any questions you have as you get started with Estimating functionality. We look forward to supporting the unique growth and success goals of Allied Roofing & Waterproofing - now and in the future. Happy New Year!
Source: Capterra
January 12, 2017
Jennifer M.
Controller
Construction, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 6, 2019

“Great for the inhouse estimator”

OverallI love the take-off software. I can do a take off on linear or area measurements in a relatively short amount of time and print out detailed or summary reports that I can add to job files for late reference. I also like the printing function that easily prints out only those drawings that I have done a take off on and I can add other drawings if needed. I like that I can choose the colors for takeoffs so that I can uniformly use the same color and line thickness on a drawing to separate measurements like one color for exterior elevations and another color for doors and windows. I use the same colors for every project so that other people in my organization know exactly what each measurement is through its color code.
ProsI like the way the software splits up and organizes drawings and plans so that I can easily find what drawing page I am looking for.
ConsIt freezes on occasion. I wouldn't say it freezes a lot, but I would say it freezes enough to notice it happens more than I would like.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 6, 2019
Roger Z.
Estimator
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 6, 2019

“Beginner's Review of StackCT”

OverallWe have a stucco siding company, the takeoffs on elevations is generally very straight forward, so we're thankful for that. It saves time, reduces errors, and being able to print those marked up takeoffs helps our guys on site when there's multiple materials being used on the walls. We will continue to use this product.
ProsThe ease of use initially, getting a handle on the basic controls, how simple it is to input scales, draw lines, cut things out of takeoffs, and rename items as I go. The colour coding of separate takeoffs is a real plus.
ConsPeriodic stalls, not sure if it's the program or internet related, but you measure an area and cannot complete the double click takeoff, it just sits, so you have to delete and redo. Again only sporadic, but annoying. Likely due to web based software. It would be nice to get emails sent periodically that contain tips, tricks, good ideas, links to tutorials, etc.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 6, 2019
Todd H.
Operations Manager
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 1, 2019

“Good product”

OverallThere's no additional input section, but I'd really like to see a pdf search feature on here. Some of your competitors have that, and that's incredibly valuable in the construction world to be able to search key words and avoid missing fine details in the bidding process. Please add this feature so I don't have to go back and forth from Adobe!
ProsSUPER user friendly! I'm relatively tech-savvy, but I had never used a take-off software that I could be proficient with in less than an hour of playing around with it by myself with no tutorial. A great selling point for you and your team.
ConsThe new patch to increase upload speed messed with the rendering process. I haven't been able to use the pdf's as soon as they're uploaded because I can't read anything when I zoom in. It does clear up in time, but that is an inconvenience I have to deal with momentarily. This wasn't initially the case when I first got this software, so I'd rather have a slower upload and ready to use right away, than have to wait some unknown time period for the rendering to finish.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 1, 2019
Austin C.
Manager of Estimating
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 23, 2019

“STACK is STACKED with uses for my company”

OverallOverall, STACK is a great product and I would recommend it to anyone and everyone. It has saved us valuable time and resources in our estimating and I don't know where we would be without it.
ProsI love how easy it is to upload a pdf document and begin estimating a project. I use this software daily and make great sue out of the takeoffs I have saved in my library as well as the items and assemblies. We input most of the items we use out in the field with their coverage rates and costs and add them to each takeoff. It has saved us HOURS of estimating!
ConsIt would be easier if we could compile new items into a spreadsheet and upload it into STACK. I know it has taken. lot of time to input each item individually and I'm wondering if there's a faster way to do it. Also, I wish there was a way to upload multiple files at the same time instead of individual files.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 23, 2019
ed f.
estimator
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 23, 2018

“Stack works for me”

Overalli have no reason at this point not to continue to use stack for all mof my plan based takeoff needs.
ProsI believe that stack has increased my productivity and effectiveness during the takeoff process. the easy to use functions are helpful in listing and coloring items i need. its also very easy to download the colored takeoff drawings to hand to the field or the owner so there is no discussion on whats part of the scope of work.
Consi can only think of two. it doesn't work well on Firefox , you must use chrome to avoid glitches. i also wish there were scales for a dual scale takeoff such as profiles of shoulders or walls where the scales are often different between vertical and horizontal.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 23, 2018
Casey H.
Estimator/Project Engineer
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
May 25, 2017

“Very easy to use and gets the desired results when qualifying bids. We use for every project we bid.”

OverallQualify bids from subcontractors - ensure correct quantities.
ProsVery easy to use and teach to coworkers. I enjoy the fact it's cloud based, so when I need to take work home I can access it wherever I have internet.
ConsCost - you would have received 5 stars before this year and the cost increase. There are other features that aren't available in Stack that are available in takeoff programs such as E-takeoff through Sage.

Vendor Response

By Stack Construction Technologies on May 26, 2017
Hi Casey, Thanks so much for your recent feedback! We are so glad to be able to support the takeoff and estimating needs of Horizon Construction Group and so happy to hear that our software is having a positive impact on your bid process. We look forward to sharing your input with the entire STACK team. Have an awesome day & thank you again!
Source: Capterra
May 25, 2017
John B.
Project Manager
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2017

“Been a lifesaver”

OverallStack has provided our company with a fast and easy way to do our takeoffs. As part of a commercial contracting company, I run a commercial cladding division and we use Stack daily. The ability to color code, quickly take off, run and export takeoff reports, has been an invaluable tool. When I perform contract/estimate reviews, I open Stack, review that our team captured the project correctly, run the reports, and can easily compare the areas with that in our estimate forms to ensure we have the right quantities, etc. The only item I wish they would include is the ability to draw an arrow. We often write on our drawings and send PDFs to our subs, etc, and to be able to draw an arrow from text to area would be a nice touch, but not having it doesn't take away from the usefulness of this tool. We will continue to expand and utilize Stack for our takeoff purposes. Thanks team for creating a great product.
ProsEasy to use and learn. Support help is fast, friendly, and they are eager to help.
ConsBeing web based, sometimes it glitches, or runs a little slow. Log out and back in and usually problem fixed. This has happened maybe 2-3 times over the past year.
Recommendations to other buyersIf it fits in your budget, why not give it a try.
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2017
Steve A.
Vertical Manager
Building Materials, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 20, 2018

“Easy Takeoffs”

OverallIt would be nice for the column labels to separate the different variables on the takeoff. Sometimes its a little guess work to figure out each variable. It would be nice for the plans to be able to overlay and see if changes have been made and keep the takeoff separate.
ProsAllows for specific takeoffs per item and the ability to export to CSV (excel) is a big plus. It's easy to arrange files in the order you need. The color cooridation makes it easy for the user to customize.
ConsSometimes it takes pretty long to load heavy plans. It's a little time consuming to delete pages that are not needed. You cant overlay plans to see if changes have been made to different plan versions.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 20, 2018
Jessica D.
Business Development/Estimation Dept.
Construction, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
May 26, 2017

“The product is very user friendly. It is a highly functioning software at a great value.”

OverallI have become more efficient with take off. I am able to work on multiple project at the same time. I have been able to open my own business and thrive.
ProsI like the value for the product. I like that it is cloud based so I can work from anywhere. I like that they have flexible payment options for new or small businesses. I like that they are constantly looking for way to improve the product to keep up with changing technology. I LOVE STACK!
ConsI have had very few problems to occur, and most often the online help has accessed the issue and contacted me to verify the problem and it was corrected in minutes.

Vendor Response

By Stack Construction Technologies on May 30, 2017
Hi Jessica, We are so glad to hear that you are thrilled with the impact our software is having on your business! We look forward to sharing your input with the entire STACK team. Be sure to contact us if there is anything you need in the future. We are here for you! Wishing you much continued success!
Source: Capterra
May 26, 2017
Chuck P.
estimator
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Source: Capterra
May 23, 2017

“Overall, very good software.”

ProsI've been using Stack software for about three years, and they have continued to get better. The software has become easier to use, and features are overall better.
ConsI have requested, and continue to request a way to take off metal panel roofing that would determine panel amounts and lengths as one of their predecessor programs did, however they either seem reluctant, or unable to.

Vendor Response

By Stack Construction Technologies on May 24, 2017
Hi Chuck, Thanks so much for your recent feedback! We are so glad to be able to support the takeoff and estimating needs of Ketcher & Co and so happy to hear that our software is having a positive impact on your bid process. We look forward to sharing your input with the entire STACK team. Have an awesome day & thank you again!
Source: Capterra
May 23, 2017
Scott M.
Estimator
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
May 17, 2017

“Very easy to pick up. I learned Oasis Takeoff in college. STACK was easy to adjust to.”

OverallMakes me much more efficient at my job.
ProsIt's easy to stay organized and sort takeoffs to fit my needs. It's very easy to learn and to use. I really like the calendar on the beginning screen that sorts projects. I also like the geometry takeoff summary report that makes it very easy to see the measurement of each takeoff and to locate where each takeoff is at.
ConsIt glitches from time to time. And it usually takes multiple tries to upload plans 20 MB or more. Large projects are nearly impossible to upload unless each sheet is it's own file.

Vendor Response

By Stack Construction Technologies on May 19, 2017
Hi Scott, Thanks so much for your recent feedback! We are so glad to be able to support the takeoff and estimating needs of Steel Sales Inc. and so happy to hear that our software is having a positive impact on your bid process. We look forward to sharing your input with the entire STACK team. Have an awesome day & thank you again!
Source: Capterra
May 17, 2017
Julie E.
Controller
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
January 20, 2017

“Exceptional customer service”

OverallWhile many software companies charge for tutoring, help, special requests; Stack offers its customers all of that and more - no extra charges! They are easy to work with, easy to get a hold of and very responsive.
ProsI like that we can log on and see our plans, take-offs, notes quickly and easily. The search tool is great. Calendar keeps us up to date.
ConsAs with anything its only as good as what you put into it.
Recommendations to other buyersSubscribing to this software is an excellent choice.

Vendor Response

By Stack Construction Technologies on January 24, 2017
Hi Julie, Thanks so much for your recent feedback! We are so glad to be able to support the takeoff and estimating needs of Bridgeway Contracting and so happy to hear that our software is having a positive impact on your bid process. We look forward to sharing your input with the entire STACK team. Have an awesome day & thank you again!
Source: Capterra
January 20, 2017
Andy D.
Estimator
Glass, Ceramics & Concrete, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 23, 2018

“Best bang for the buck”

ProsWe've been using Stack for years, and don't look to change any time in the future. They are constantly upgrading their software and introducing new features. Their customer service is top notch. Any time I have ever had a question, they respond IMMEDIATELY! I also like the fact that you can suggest new features and they actually listen.
ConsNot really anything to mention here. The only "con" I can think of is there is occasionally a bug, but it isn't anything that isn't easily worked around. I don't really consider this a con though, as it means they are constantly upgrading their stuff!
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 23, 2018
Allen W.
Project Coordinator
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 17, 2018

“Very Good Basic Tool”

ProsThe ease of use is hard to replicate. I can teach new estimators how to use this tool in a matter of minutes with very little advanced training needed that they can't figure out on their own.
ConsNo Circular tools. I know it's a difficult issue to tackle but the need for a circular takeoff is in about 35% of our takeoffs and it can get rather annoying. Another thing that would be nice is a Cutout/Replace tool where I wouldn't have to cut out and the redo that exact material again. This is a VERY Common event for us. Also, the ability to delete multiple files has been made a lot better, but it can still be rather annoying.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 17, 2018
Kenneth F.
Director of Construction
Real Estate, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
May 23, 2017

“One of the first users”

ProsThe team really is great and will help tailor it to your company. Lots of features we don't use. But it works pretty dang good for what we need. May need to open our minds and use what they have
ConsPrice increase every year. starting projects can be a little confusing. I may not know it as well as some of my employees

Vendor Response

By Stack Construction Technologies on May 24, 2017
Hi Jeremy, Thanks so much for your recent feedback and for being a loyal STACK customer over the years. We are so glad to be able to support the takeoff and estimating needs of Boxer Property and so happy to hear that our software is having a positive impact on your bid process. We look forward to sharing your input with the entire STACK team. Have an awesome day & thank you again!
Source: Capterra
May 23, 2017
Austin M.
Director of Multi-Family
Construction, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
May 23, 2017

“Good overall function, need to work on glitches and bugs.”

ProsEase of use and training. One of the easiest estimating software I've used. Makes estimating projects smooth and simple. The copy/Paste function is very helpful, as well as the tag function.
ConsI come across bugs almost daily. Whether it's the copy/paste function not working properly, or the tag function glitching. There's rarely a day that goes by where I do not notice a bug.

Vendor Response

By Stack Construction Technologies on May 24, 2017
Hi Austin, Thanks so much for your recent feedback! We are so glad to be able to support the takeoff and estimating needs of Garland Insulating and so happy to hear that our software is having a positive impact on your bid process. We look forward to sharing your input with the entire STACK team. Have an awesome day & thank you again!
Source: Capterra
May 23, 2017
Donald B.
Owner
Construction, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
February 1, 2017

“Best takeoff and estimating software on the market! ”

OverallWe have been using STACK Estimating since it began. They have continued to improve on the functionality and control use and never charge for any system upgrades. Our takeoffs are accurate and our reports can include any amount of detail we desire. The sky is the limit to the number of catalog items and assemblies we have at our disposal. The pre-built assemblies provided by STACK are very detailed yet give us the ability to modify them and make them custom to our standard operating procedures. There customer service and training is bar nun the best we have ever encountered!
ProsThe low cost compared to others and the ease of use.
ConsNot available if there is no internet connection
Recommendations to other buyersUse the Free Trial, I mean really Use It, and take advantage of the free assistance and training. It will be totally worth it!
Source: Capterra
February 1, 2017
Michelle G.
Estimator
Construction, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 23, 2019

“Good Value”

OverallSTACK allows me to quickly do a flooring takeoff and easily pull a report of the takeoff.
ProsStack software is easy to use and very user friendly. Their support team is very responsive- even if it is just a question on how to do something. I love the new addition of having the name of the project I am working on at the top of the page.
ConsWish there was a way to build the assemblies and add items quicker as for some projects I feel I spend a lot of time just prepping for a take off. Wish there was a better way to compare pages when a addendum comes out. Wish that when you add a item from the library that it wouldn't immediately go back to the take off- sometimes I have several items I want to load from the library and I have to keep flipping back and forth.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 23, 2019
Brett W.
Estimator
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 5, 2018

“Great Software and Easy to use!”

ProsThe best thing about this software is the ease of use and the customization of takeoffs you can do. Other takeoff programs don't allow you to just take off the simple items like this does. Others require input of things like labor rates and SF per hour parameters. Love the easiness of this program and the simple features it has.
ConsThe only thing that comes to mind with a software like this is computer glitches. If you run on a slow connection and or poor connection your takeoff can be interrupted and not computed correctly. Has happened to me on a handful of instances.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 5, 2018
Frank M.
President
Construction, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 30, 2018

“Time saver and accurate estimating software”

OverallThe folders for plans. Weekly training sessions or tricks. An app for Android.
ProsI like the ability to create my own take offs and to accurately measure everything. I used to print and measure with a ruler...never again. Saves money and time. Reports are great. Project schedule in the monthly view shows how many estimates I created and there current status in a quick view.
ConsKind of expensive. sometimes it is glitchy and freezes up or I will type something and it just erases, seems like I am faster then the program at times when setting up the takeoffs. I wish the organization of the plans was better. I do a lot of revisions and there just isn't a folder system that is set up yet. Would be nice instead of all plans, old and revised all in the same view.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 30, 2018