Who Uses This Software?

We allow the small to medium size massage practice, bodywork business, and day spa to compete with their bigger rivals.


Average Ratings

20 Reviews
  • 4 / 5
    Overall
  • 4 / 5
    Ease of Use
  • 4 / 5
    Customer Service

Product Details

  • Starting Price
    $9.99/month
  • Pricing Details
    4 pricing plans from free to all inclusive plan
  • Free Version
    Yes
  • Deployment
    Cloud, SaaS, Web
  • Training
    Live Online
  • Support
    Business Hours

Vendor Details

  • 2Book
  • www.massagebook.com
  • Founded 2013
  • United States

About MassageBook

For the massage professional: MassageBook is a web based desktop, mobile and tablet practice management software solution to help professional massage therapists and bodyworkers achieve business success by simplifying scheduling, marketing, & online business functions. For the consumer of massage and bodywork services: MassageBook is the leading national directory of professional massage therapists, simplifying the process of finding and booking local massage therapists.


Spotlight_media_placeholder

MassageBook Features

  • Appointment Reminders
  • Automated Scheduling
  • Calendar Management
  • Group Scheduling
  • Meeting Room Booking
  • Multi-Location
  • Online Scheduling
  • Payment Processing
  • Recurring Appointments
  • Reservations
  • Appointment Management
  • Billing & Invoicing
  • Client Management
  • Email Marketing
  • Employee Management
  • Gift Card Management
  • Multi-Location
  • Point of Sale (POS)
  • Practice Management
  • SOAP Notes
  • Appointment Management
  • Before & After Pictures
  • Client Management
  • Gift Card Management
  • HIPAA Compliant
  • Inventory Management
  • Package Creation
  • Appointment Management
  • Client Management
  • Employee Management
  • Inventory Management
  • Loyalty Program
  • Membership Management
  • Online Booking
  • Payroll & Commission
  • Point of Sale (POS)

MassageBook Reviews Recently Reviewed!

E422d8b5d0317f89af0588deb2821333

Great features and functionality for a new therapist but... Experienced therapists it's lacking

Nov 10, 2017
3/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
2 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
1 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 5.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: If you are a new therapist or just now going online with your scheduler this software is a nice start. Clean slick interface designed for the therapist that doesn't have much experience with business operations. Typical online scheduler with a few embedded features that can help.
Easy front end features that you can use to get up in running quickly. Customer support is always friendly and seems to listen which is a huge plus.
It comes with a preset website and if you want to take credit cards and gift cards they have teamed up with Stripe online processing.
You can embed massage book into your social media accounts to take appointments as well as start and maintain email campaigns.

Cons: Key back office features cannot be customized and lack user friendly capabilities . Still have to get out the adding machine. NO VOID Button! Features are preset and the idea behind customizing your in take forms, soap notes, and website are very, very limited for the price of premium subscription. Furthermore, the premium price relays very heavily on emails. Text reminders are okay but you don't know if the client ever receives those alerts. Lacks accountability for therapist to client interaction through the online experience. My clients don't like it and still call to schedule an appointment. I have done by part to integrate my website (personality I hate their preset website), and my social media accounts. I will not set up another credit card account. I use square which should be an option.

Overall, if you are a new to the online scheduling world it is a good start. Seasoned business owners will have issues paying for a premium service they cannot tailor to their needs. Customer Service takes everything under advisement and states they are working on it. Which I am sure they are. For me I am downgrading to the free version until either improvements are made or I find something better for the money.

Overall: The free version of the software is packed full of front line features including preset website, easy scheduler features and basic soap notes. Customer Services is eager to listen and the software is evolving. Does have some reporting capabilities and keeping track of clients is typical of online booking software. Overall, for a new therapist of for someone that is taking their business to an online scheduler it is useful.

Great software that streamlines my online business presence.

Nov 02, 2017
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The online scheduling is easy to use for my clients and for me. I love the options to allow gift certificates to be purchased and to prepay for the massage - or not. The ability to complete SOAP notes and daily bookkeeping are also very helpful.

Cons: I still have a lot to learn in order to use all the features. It's not a real problem, as there are tutorials listed and the support staff is very quick to help, but the list of tutorials is a bit overwhelming for a busy sole proprietor.

Overall: Online scheduling is the biggest benefit. I also love the client list/addresses all in one place, and the ability to sell gift certificates online.

4707eb933b32045c304094c30bde5267

Great foundation, needs some tweaks

Nov 02, 2017
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Easy to use and highly functional, MassageBook meets almost all of my needs. Scheduling system is reliable, and syncs with Google calendar so I can keep business and personal separate, while preventing conflicts. Online SOAP notes connected to client record is great. The pre-fab automatic follow-up email campaigns have brought back long lost clients, which is always a plus. Gift certificates built in, big plus.

Cons: Website integration is very limited. You're stuck putting an entire MassageBook web page in an iframe inside your custom site. They really need to add some trimmer widgets that let you embed only the scheduling/specials/gift-certificate modules without the rest of their website.
They also need to add support for product sales. They have a limited form in the cash register/check out, where you can add a taxable item at time of payment. They really need table of taxable products, just like their table of services, that can be used in add-on and package setups. Right now I'm forced to put in a product (take-home bottle of lotion) as a service, in order to get the add-on enticement during online booking, and then sales tax reporting is thrown off.

Overall: Reliable online scheduling and payment for massage appointments and gift certificates. Online SOAP notes linked to client info records. Automated email marketing and follow-up.

Great software for my business and amazing customer service!

Nov 01, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: MassageBook has everything I need to run my massage business the right way. It's really easy to use and has some great features that have enabled me to grow my business in ways I wouldn't have been able to do if I wasn't using this software.

The features I especially love are SOAP Notes and Client Intake Forms as they save my staff and I so much time each day.

I also love being on the MassageBook directory as this brings us in many new clients that I would otherwise need to spend money on advertising to source.

MassageBook is very affordable no matter how big or small your practice is. I've been using MassageBook since I first started my business over 4 years ago and am still using it to this day.

Their customer support is also second-to-none. I always get a reply to my questions and the team are friendly and always happy to help me when needed. Also, I love that I can pick up the phone and talk to a 'real human' too!

All-in-all, I really believe MassageBook has contributed to my business's success massively. I highly recommend it for any massage therapist, whether just starting out or looking to transition.

customer support is prompt, friendly and user friendly for my non computer literate staff

Oct 31, 2017
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: ability for multiple therapists to view, ease of booking.
everything I need in one place.
can access from home, vacation, phone, etc.
bundled all the services I used to use two vendors for.

Cons: wish the background colors were different, sometimes my computers screen isn't sharp and it takes a moment or two to see what is open and what is blocked off.

Amazing, easy to use product that does everything my practice needs.

Oct 26, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: After looking at and trying two other scheduling solutions, (Full Slate/Artichoke) an MT friend suggested I look at MassageBook.

This software is the JAM. :-)

It does everything I need it to and I found it really easy to understand.

Everything else I've seen or used was missing something and I had to find yet *another* solution to get everything I needed working. (Like email campaigns or Gift Certificates)

I now open exactly ONE piece of software to run my practice each day. When I'm on the go or do an occasional outcall, I use the mobile app to manage my schedule or check a client out. Even my personal Google calendar is displayed on my MassageBook schedule and make sure I don't create any conflicts.

Can't say how many times this has saved my butt.

I use pretty much all the features - really good SOAP notes I can draw on, full client records on everything, email campaigns, and automated emails, reminders, Gift Certificates, the website and of course the scheduling.

It's seriously like I have a full time assistant that I pay $30 a month for. I've trained about 90% of my clients to book online now - and they absolutely love it. I've noticed more of them are coming in more regularly and are booking their appointments online at night. Good stuff.

Support is absolutely awesome. I've even gotten responses back over the weekend. Love that I can kick off a live chat from right within the software if I have any questions.

So happy!

Cons: It seems like they're working on adding features all the time. They update the software every couple of weeks.

Things like having a shared account for two people with the same email address was on my wish list for a while, but that came out in the Spring, so I'm currently out of things I wish they'd add.

Except for insurance billing. That would be the icing on the cake...

Overall: My practice has never been easier to manage and I've never been busier.

The MassageBook directory sends me a couple of new clients each month. That and having emails go out to clients that heaven't been in to see me in a while keep me busy and not needing to do much marketing.

Easy to use right from the start & awesome interactive soap notes

Oct 24, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: I have been using MassageBook for 12 months and tried and tested other software before making the final decision to use MassageBook to run my business through.

There support team has been amazing and there are regualr software updates and features being released all the time which tells me that they are a company who want to make sure that us massage therapists have all the right tools we need to succeed.

One of the features that has made the biggest impact in my business has been the email marketing feature. I sell more gift certificates and am able to keep in touch with my customers more regularly because I know no idea how to use mailchimp and this feature was just simple and easy to start using. Very impressed.

Cons: For couples massages it doesn't currently support 2 bookings at once, but I beleive that this is getting changed to be able to do this in the next update that is coming out.

Many features for a great price. Fairly easy to use. Customer service is responsive.

Jul 10, 2017
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: This is a FULL package that also has accounting abilities and email marketing built right in. for booked appointments, Both email and text confirmations are sent to clients and therapists. I have multiple rooms and one room that shares different types of services- so I now have the ability to reserve rooms for specific services so the potential for booking over someone else's use of the room is eliminated. It has been a great experience so far , and the trouble that I have encountered was quickly addressed by customer service-( I love the instant chat feature) and every effort was made to solve the problem.
I would recommend it highly as both a startup system and a for a business that has grown and has more than one therapist. and room.

Cons: It is sometimes not so intuitive as to "where" to look for the information you want. It can be fairly slow too.
I would love to have a a feature to book "back to back" appointments for online bookings or to "add services" to a booked service so that there is no enforced gap between these types of appointments, such that a sauna ( 20 min) booked with a massage ( 60 min) could be seen as two consecutive appointments with no 15 min recovery time in between.

Horrible UX, clumsy, clunky, customer service hours only when I am working.

Jul 10, 2017
1/5
Overall
1 / 5
Ease of Use
2 / 5
Features & Functionality
1 / 5
Customer Support
1 / 5
Value for Money

Cons: You can not download your patient records unless you have a premium subscription which should illegal given HIPPA laws. The ABMP should not have chosen to offer this service to members.

I don't like this software. It is difficult to use, customer service is not available when you need it (who has time to call customer service during the working day?), and most unacceptable is the inability to export client records. Clients have not been drawn to my business by MassageBook, like they claim they do, each location for a sole practitioner requires a premium subscription to be functional.

Overall: First I had a Premium Subscription and tried all of the services but I was so dissatisfied, I downgraded back to the free option offered through the ABMP and just had my Seattle clients book online. It was not worth the monthly subscription price.

Vendor Response

by 2Book on October 26, 2017

Patricia, I'm really sorry to hear that you feel MassageBook was not a good fit for your practice. I do feel the need to clarify a few points that you raise to avoid any confusion other readers may have. We take HIPPA laws very seriously and make sure our software is in compliance at all times. All client information, including SOAP notes, is fully encrypted and protected by permissions that you, the practice owner, control. Our support team consistently receives feedback scores of over 98% and we are serious about helping our members succeed. We spend hours each day with MT's with no software experience to get their practices running smoothly. Our phone and live chat support hours are from 9:00 AM to 8:00 PM EST. You can email us anytime and expect a timely response - even on weekends. Our free plan includes everything you need to manage a practice - including online booking, keeping client records, payments processing, a website and even free SOAP notes.

The interface is quite incredible, sometimes hard dealing with customer service.

Jun 03, 2017
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 7.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Massagebook has excellent potential, they offer many functions other scheduling systems don't have for a fair price, ie the SOAP charts, sending out emails after the client's session to ask for reviews and the way it takes in payment information when you take a check you can add the check # along with it. It's a clean, straightforward aesthetic that I like.

Cons: It's brilliant and yet...and yet they don't have things simplified the execution is lacking like when a person is in a package/series, for example, a package of 3 sessions, instead of showing
1 of 3
2 of 3
3 of 3
It reads as
"0 of 3"
2 of 3
3 of 3
Having the zero at the start of a package indicates to me that the person hasn't any sessions left. In this system zero indicates all 3 sessions are available and that it's the start. So confusing! Also, depending on what field you're in, it may not show where the person is in the package at all and if your using the app, it mixes them up, an issue they're trying to work on now but boy is it ever confusing looking at the different numbers and trying to sort out just where your client really is in the package.

Also, navigation of how to do things isn't always easy to sort out.

Overall: In most ways, it's been better than my FullSlate experience which offered not very much for the same price I'm now paying for MassageBook with such wonderful features potentially once things are ironed out.

So much better than mind body online!! I would definitely recommend it!

May 04, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: It's easy to use and has more functionality than mind body, my clients can easily book online or call in to book. I love the messaging feature and can't wait to see the new updates!

Cons: You cannot add receptionists to your business only therapists there are updates I would like to see but overall very happy with the software. I would also like to be able to offer coupon codes to my marketing

Overall: I have saved so much time and money using this software and the soap notes are amazing!

Great Mobile App

Mar 20, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Comments: The updated mobile app has now become an excellent tool for a massage therapist and company. I look forward to the future features!

Good Idea, Poorly Executed. NOT USER FRIENDLY

Jan 25, 2017
1/5
Overall
1 / 5
Ease of Use
1 / 5
Features & Functionality
1 / 5
Customer Support
1 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: Looked great to start with. Some great capabilities, such as email campaigns.

Cons: Not user friendly. Lures your clients to lower priced competitors. Worthless to corporate massage businesses due to inability to book back-to-back appointments.

Overall: What looked like an improvement over Mindbody, has quickly become a new business nightmare... costing our corporate chair massage company thousands of dollars in bookings. A few simple fixes could solve these issues, but after hours of long distance phone calls to the company, no improvements were made.

Clients can't book back-to-back appointments in the out-call setting, making huge gaps in the therapist's schedule. Their solution? Have them book in office (clinic) appointments or give each therapists two pages (payroll nightmare). Even worse, the site doesn't recognize some addresses, stopping the booking process entirely.

Colossal waste of time (setting up your page) and money paying their monthly fee.

Recommendations to other buyers: Fix it!

Vendor Response

by 2Book on October 26, 2017

Hello Rose, We know each other well, don't we? We've spent considerable time with our development team and our support team to find a way to get you sorted out. Much of what you had requested in January of 2017 has been addressed and you'll find our ability support even out of the ordinary outcall appointment making (online or in office) is unequaled by any other available solution. I apologize that we weren't able to get the update out sooner for you.

New to MassageBook

Jan 05, 2017
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Comments: U like MassageBook, it's still new to me but I believe that it will get better. I still have to run a campaign trouble with clients not getting their emails. But love the soap notes

Massage business builder

Dec 14, 2016
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: soap notes! and easy tools to help promote your business

Cons: wish it were a little less $

Overall: I use massage book to keep track of appointments that I can sink with my google calendar. I love the ease with which to navigate and best of all massage book has electronic soap notes!

Great value

Dec 06, 2016
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: ease of use and cost

Cons: limited features for membership accounts

Overall: The free version of MassageBook was great for a startup spa. Ran into complications when expanding to new staff as we couldn't get them set up. Plus, wanted membership pre-billing and this was not a feature.

Read the fine print

Nov 09, 2016
2/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
2 / 5
Features & Functionality
2 / 5
Customer Support
1 / 5
Value for Money

Comments: My emails came in code. It took me many hours to switch over. Then I realized if I told my friend to schedule withe online for the first time. They would take 15%. After a month of 6 new clients, all from me,that cost me $90 extra. Slick trick, changed back to my old one immediatly

Vendor Response

by 2Book on October 26, 2017

Nathan, I'm sorry to hear your experience with MassageBook wasn't what you expected. It's really a shame, because a quick call, email or live chat with us could have saved you this trouble. I think it's important for everyone to understand exactly what happens when a NEW client finds your practice through the MassageBook directory: 1) You always have the option to not accept new clients from MassageBook (while still accepting new clients from other sources) OR to even be listed on the MassageBook directory. 2) ONLY when the MassageBook directory sends you a NEW client is there a one-time 15% fee for the service amount. 3) The way we determine whether it's a new client is to check your client database in MassageBook for a match. If we see a match, we know it's not a new client - and no fee applies. (It's easy to upload or add your existing clients to MassageBook) 4) You can easily dispute any new client fee from within the software if there's ever any question.

Phenomenal Customer Service!

May 24, 2016
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: I have nothing bad to say about Massagebook... I seriously RAVE to everyone how terrific this website has been for me and my small business. It's been hassle free, easy to understand and less work for me having the luxury of client's booking directly online. My clients use to text or call me, which is great but if I am in the middle of sessions, I wasn't able to get back to them right away or have my schedule directly in front of me if I was out running errands. This has been a fantastic feature!

I also love the sales reports! Prepping for taxes this year was SO much easier as I can generate all the sales reports I needed by a click of a button! This saved me so much time this year!

I love the email campaigns and sending out electronic marketing pieces that are easy to do and some I just easily made my own.

The customer service is outstanding - truly!! Everyone is so helpful, courteous and I always know I will get a prompt response from someone on your staff. Kyle, Rae and Kristen have been such a pleasure and have gone beyond what I have asked for. It amazed me that Kyle looked further into my account when I didn't ask and he gave great suggestions for me to look at for improving my website. I did follow his suggestions and just remember thinking, how wonderful of him for doing more work than asked! Your customer service from all of you has been a 10!!!

I feel like MassageBook is my best friend! lol!! There are so many features to love and adore!

EASY-PEEZY TO SET UP, TO USE AND UPDATE, AND VERY RESPONSIVE CUSTOMER SERVICE!

Mar 17, 2016
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: Massagebook is user-friendly, easy to set up, easy to make entries to and to update. My clients like the confirmation and reminder e-mails and the text reminder a couple of hours before their appointments. It has the features I was interested in: multiple sites, SOAP notes, a short note area attached to the current appt. for a quick check of body areas to target or special accommodations, etc. I like that I can block out space before and after apps. MassageBook also provides easy to read reports. Majsagebook makes it easy to track revenue streams through reporting. Their customer service is superb, and I know customer service having worked in both the tech and health care industries before opening my own massage space. I very highly recommend MassageBook.

Best value for free and paid.

Mar 16, 2016
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: I started with the free version of MassageBook when I first opened my practice. It was important to me to have clients be able to create and edit their appointments themselves because I'm not able to answer my phone while I'm in session. The initial setup what somewhat confusing but there are videos that walk you through everything so that was nice. It was somewhat time consuming to do because I had to set up both the business and my personal even though the information was a little redundant since I am the business and the therapist. After that set up it's been really easy to use. There are definitely features I wish it had (coupon codes, shareable packages, an iphone/android app since it's WAY too big for my iPhone 5C to run most of the time, more editable intake forms, etc) but all in all I loved it so much that I went from using the free version to the clinical and it is worth every penny of the $25/mo. I've had three issues since using that I've had to contact customer support for and each time they resolve my problem quickly and better than I expected. Updates and improvements are happening all the time. You can really tell that it's run by a small team that really understands what a business owner needs from scheduling software. Thank you MassageBook Team, you are great <3