Optimizely Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About Optimizely

Optimizely is the world's leading experimentation platform, enabling businesses to deliver continuous experimentation and personalization across websites, mobile apps and connected devices. Optimizely enables businesses to experiment deeply into their technology stack and broadly across the entire customer experience.To date, marketers, developers and product managers have delivered over 700 billion experiences tailored to the needs of their customers. Learn more about Optimizely

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 82 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 82 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Verified Reviewer
Airlines/Aviation, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: GetApp
August 9, 2016

“Optimizely is the easiest yet powerful A/B testing tool”

OverallWe have ran optimizely for more than 2 years and getting know the tool was pretty easy since the beggining, We have made some great sucessful test and started changing (more likely, creating) the testing culture. Despite of being so easy, it hold a great power allowing you to make changes to your website without knowing to much about web development. Overall its a great tool
ProsEase of use Customer support Code edition allowed CSS changing allowed Complete traffic control Results with statistical significance
ConsNot reporting incremental revenue per product (just total revenue) Editor loading can be hard to get with proxy activated
Recommendations to other buyersYou should give it a try, their customer support is great and they will let you know everything you need to have a successful testing program.
Source: GetApp
August 9, 2016
Crystal I.
Marketing Content Developer
Insurance, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: GetApp
June 1, 2017

“Optimizely is the tool taught in CRO classes”

ProsI took a CRO course this past year and Optimizely was the go-to A/B testing software. Here's why: #1: Super easy to use. You do not need to know how to code, anyone can set up a test and launch it same-day. #2: Super easy to understand data. Optimizely essentially analyzes your data for you. Obviously, you should know your stuff when it comes to statistical significance when to stop a test (hint: not just when you reach statistical significance), etc, but the graphs and data charts are crisp and clean. #3: Only what you need. I'm sure Optimizely has a TON of features, but I just used it for simple A/B testing. It worked well for this, and I wasn't bogged down with complex aspects that I didn't need. For someone who does want a more complex tool, I'm sure you can find that in Optimizely with more of the advanced features.
Source: GetApp
June 1, 2017
Avatar Image
catherine c.
Marketing Communication Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 10, 2018

“Excellent AB testing tool!”

ProsWith this tool, you can check which web page or landing page is working best, thanks to the A / B tests. This option allows you to compare two pages with their different elements. In real time, you can see which one is getting more visits and more conversions. All this without having to have programming knowledge, since you will not have to write a single code. The page that gets the most interactions and the best results will be the one chosen. A good way to guarantee more success in each of your creations.
ConsThis software is very expensive, but it is really worth its initial price, everything else is wonderful
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 10, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 31, 2019

“Very powerful A/B Split Testing software”

OverallOptimizely is very reliable and powerful. The software has worked flawlessly over the 2 years I've used it. It has enabled me to run many profitable A/B split tests for a large UK brand.
ProsTheir tech is flawless. They've put a ton of effort on their stats engine - so you can trust their data. Because the software is so functional and powerful, you'll occasionally need to reference their documentation. Thankfully the documentation is very thorough, concise and helpful.
ConsIt's expensive. Not just subjectively. Relatively, within the split testing technology space, Optimizely is one of the most expensive options.!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 31, 2019
Verified Reviewer
1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 8, 2018

“Very well marketed product, doesn't perform up to the hype”

ProsI like the WYSIWYG editor and I like the user interface. It's relatively intuitive and easy to use, and there are a lot of features that you can customize.
ConsWe had some serious issues with flickering and lag time. The Optimizely team tried to help us fix this for over 9 months. At the end of the day, we gave up, and given the amount we were paying for this service, it was a huge waste of time and money.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 8, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 7, 2018

“Great testing tool”

OverallOptimizely is one heck of a tool that every marketer should use. Recommended.
ProsAs a marketer, I love Optimizely for several reasons. 1. It makes testing a piece of cake. 2. Optimizing a website or any landing page for conversions is one of the best things Optimizely offers you with. 3. It is extremely easy-to-use. 4. Real-time a/b testing lets you monitor any two landing pages for conversions, clicks, and more. 5. User-interface is amazingly intuitive.
Cons1. It is expensive. Lowering the price a bit will make it affordable and a lot of startups and small businesses will then be able to use it. 2. It might hurt your site load time which will impact SERPs. So make sure what you prefer.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 7, 2018
Chad W.
Product Development Manager
Non-Profit Organization Management, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: GetApp
October 7, 2016

“Easiest A/B Testing Platform Out There”

OverallI have been using Optimizely for over 2 years now. In my previous role I used another testing and targeting tool that was much more complex to use. Optimizely's user interface is intuitive and the statistical algorithms give you confidence in selecting a winner. The best part about Optimizely is it's support. They have a support line and they will work tirelessly until your issue is resolved. I recommend Optimizely's platform to anyone looking to increase web conversions or provide more personal web experiences.
Pros- Easy to use - Support - Great UI - Statistical modeling - Large optimization community
ConsThe price is higher than some tools but you get what you pay for.
Recommendations to other buyersThis is a great tool with great people behind it. There is a full community of Optimization experts that are available to answer questions. There are learning resources available and Optimizely does everything in their power to solve your challenges of creating A/B tests so you're able to focus on finding new opportunities to test and to make changes once a test has been completed.
Source: GetApp
October 7, 2016
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 18, 2018

“Expensive, but does its job well”

ProsIf you've got the money to spend, I haven't found a more comprehensive solution than Optimizely for A/B testing websites. There's a decent amount you can test without being able to code, but fair warning: you're going to need a front-end coder handy for many more-than-basic tests.
ConsTheir test results are misleading; they've adopted the most generous tests of statistical significance so that it feels like you're having more successful tests more often. (I.e., results where there are actual differences between the test variances.) Just make sure you do the math yourself on the test results (using any one of many available online statistical significance calculators).
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 18, 2018
Tim G.
Product Manager
Real Estate, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
January 10, 2017

“Great product for mid to large sized web businesses”

OverallOptimizely is very easy to implement, and anyone can start experimenting with the product. To get the most value out of the product you will need to invest in managing a test backlog, test plans, and documenting the results of each experiment. It also helps to have someone with strong front-end development and JS skills to implement experiments as it opens up the capabilities of the product dramatically.
ProsEasy to set up, easy to use, good professional support services available
ConsHard to get to all the functionality without investing development resources
Recommendations to other buyersYou probably need a larger package than you think to get meaningful results for a number of experiments each month. Small sites will not have enough traffic to get useful data out of the product.
Source: Capterra
January 10, 2017
Oleksandr T.
Product Manager
Internet, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
November 24, 2018

“A tool for website optimization”

ProsThe greatest thing about Optimizely is its setup mode. It is very fast and functions greatly both for websites and mobile devices. Your task is to add their code to your website and you can start optimization. What is more, this software tests everything from button colors to all titles. All changes and errors are depicted on your dashboard. All reports are clear and simple, so you will see everything in front of your eyes.
ConsIt should be stated that Optimizely has a few distinctive drawbacks that should be improved. Firstly, a preview mode isn't perfect. There are cases when it is buggy and it's rather annoying. Secondly, a function of testing in general lacks of functionality. Often, it is hard to set up and manage tests. Moreover, redirect tests work very badly. The same thing is with Metrics because it isn't developed enough.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
November 24, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2018

“User-friendly AB Testing Tool”

OverallGreat AB Testing platform. Easy to integrate
ProsWe used the standard version of Optimizely for our website and campaign landing pages. It was very effective for A/B testing and and Conversion rate optimization (CRO). I appreciated that it allowed filtering of audience data and that is supports multivariate testing
ConsThe pricing model is too high as compared to other competitor products in the market. We did not renew our subscription after a year owing to this fact
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2018
Laura W.
Director
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 11, 2018

“Goldmine when it comes to experimenting - but not affordable for small businesses”

ProsI've witnessed clever usage of Optimizely increase the revenue through cart checkout conversion by 15% by simply testing the removal of elements on the check-out page that are not essential. The set-up for the experiment was straightforward and required only some technical assistance at hand.
ConsI'd have liked to continue using Optimizely for my own small venture, however the pricing makes it unaffordable for a small business. But that's definitely one to keep on the radar as it has powerful and comprehensive solutions for A/B Testing.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 11, 2018
Justin R.
Project Manager
Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 8, 2018

“Valuable A/B testing functionalities that are unmatched in other services.”

OverallThe ability to A/B test anything, and I mean ANYTHING!
ProsAllows us to A/B test versions of our websites and landing pages that we would normally not be able to test. A lot of website builders offer integrated A/B testing, but none of them can offer the insights Optimizely can.
ConsFor an A/B split tester, it is a tad on the expensive side, but if you ask me and my team, it is well worth the expense and has paid itself off many times over in optimized conversions.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 8, 2018
Zsolt M.
Creative Services Designer
Computer Software, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: GetApp
August 7, 2016

“Most advanced in its class”

OverallOptimizely is definitely the most advanced and widely referred to as "industry standard" conversion optimization tool currently on the market. It's easy to use for beginners and incredibly flexible for the most advanced users/tests. Top notch support and community, always eager to help out and inspire new optimization ideas.
ProsRobust, trustworthy, flexible, huge user base, huge knowledge base
ConsExpensive, but only if you're not using it to its full potential.
Recommendations to other buyersTake a good look at what is exactly you need to optimize in your strategy. If you have the resources it will be the best investment you'll make - however it might not be the best solution if you're not an organization with a larger customer base or traffic. Still, I highly recommend to give the free version a try!
Source: GetApp
August 7, 2016
Verified Reviewer
Automotive, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Source: GetApp
October 12, 2016

“General usage of Optimizely”

OverallWe're using Optimizely to confirm our improvement hypothesises and our front end/design team wants to make changes to the UI. Using A/B tests with Optimizely, we measure different kinds of user engagement (search actions, registrations) and use the results to help drive design decisions. On-boarding and support from Optimizely was first-rate. I'd recommend for anybody looking to start use A/B testing for their front end.
Pros- Test setup is fast and easy, without using lots of time and effort. - Customisable metrics allow flexibility in monitoring and reporting of experiment performance. - Constant updates ensure that experiments run cleanly on all devices and platforms. - Intuitive user interface allows users to learn the platform quickly and efficiently.
Cons- The previews often never load - this could just be our network. - Having to routinely click the little shield in the address bar to load the editor is annoying - again I think this is just our network.
Source: GetApp
October 12, 2016
Avatar Image
Gianni G.
CEO and Principal IT Security Consultant
Computer & Network Security, Self-employed
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 20, 2018

“Optimizely is a great experimentation platform”

ProsOptimizely makes it very easy to create the most appealing site for customers, because you can test several scenarios and determine the setup that has the highest conversion rate.
ConsThe problem with Optimizely is that it make take a long time to create the different variant for the tests.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 20, 2018
Verified Reviewer
51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 12, 2018

“Getting know the tool was pretty easy since the beggining,”

OverallGetting know the tool was pretty easy since the beggining, Despite of being so easy, it hold a great power allowing you to make changes. With this tool, can check which web page is working best, thanks to the A / B tests. This option allows you to compare two pages with their different elements. In real time.
ProsIs a robust and reliable application, easy to configure, easy to use, with good professional support services. I like the fact that you do not need to know how to code and allows us to concentrate on running multiple tests. Very intuitive and easy to use. For more advanced users, you can also access the raw code, which you can specify to those things that the editor may have done. I enjoy the Optimizely analyzes.
ConsThe URL does not have a bulk upload option for unrelated URL lists. It has matches of substrings and regular expressions that cover most other needs. The price is higher than some tools. It is difficult to reach all the functionalities without development resources.desarrollo.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 12, 2018
Avatar Image
Josh H.
Senior Email Data Manager
Marketing and Advertising, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 14, 2019

“Great tool for sample sizes and testing”

ProsIt was fairly straight forward on how to use it to ensure that we were testing adequate sample sizes in order to get significance from our testing.
ConsOne thing I wish it had was more information about different testing strategies or ways to optimize current practices.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 14, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Automotive, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
December 23, 2018

“Introduced Our Team To World Of A/B Testing - Great Product”

Pros- Absolutely amazing dashboard for analysis, really saved our team time vs. individually getting our developers to change one element only to find out it performed worse.. This tool will save you from that - Customer support was great - SUPER easy to use given it's capabilities - Ton of features to utilize
Cons- Incredibly expensive for what our team paid for BUT in terms of a cost/benefit analysis it's paid off (with the time we've saved going to our developers for A/B testing changes to the website, it'll pay itself off in a 1 year or so)
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
December 23, 2018
Avatar Image
Eric S.
Content Marketing Manager
Computer & Network Security, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2018

“Optimizely Simplifies the A/B Testing Process”

OverallOptimizely is a great software solution to address A/B testing and to improve your website!
ProsIn a previous job, I used Optimizely a little bit to A/B test our content (especially on our website) and it provided great insight into how people were interacting with our website and was vital to make necessary web and text changes.
ConsSince I didn't know as much about A/B testing when I used Optimizely, I didn't completely know how to best use Optimizely's full range of features and I felt overwhelmed (which wouldn't be the case now).
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2018
Avatar Image
Kyle B.
Designer Web
Internet, Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 19, 2018

“Very cost effective A/B testing service”

ProsIt is a great service for A/B testing and conversion improvement. Very easy to install and setup, just add a pice of code and you are done, no extra steps or requirements, we were able to test in about one hour after purchase. For analyzing your results and see how your userreact toyour design changes.
ConsSometimes if you use for small companies with small budgets it can have an impact on your other work. It's better to use with care
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 19, 2018
Natasha S.
UI/UX DESIGNER
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 23, 2018

“A great way to test page layouts ”

ProsThis is a great program to AB test web pages. There are some functionalities that let you tweak designs without coding. The analysis is displayed nicely and in a great format to present to other stakeholders.
ConsTo get really different pages with certain functionalities you will need development to help create this.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 23, 2018
Marissa W.
Director of Digital Marketing
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 1, 2019

“Best Experimentation Option”

ProsOptimizely is a great option for experimenting on your website, especially if you aren't a designer. It lets you easily A/B test what works.
ConsThe price point is a little high, especially when you consider that Google offers a free software that is very similar.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 1, 2019
katherine t.
marketing marketing
Internet, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2019

“industry leader in ab testing software”

Overallab testing landing page designs for conversion goals
Prosoffers ab testing, multivariate testing, and robust reporting and analytics as well as additional integrations
Conslimited integrations with 3rd parties for visualization and data management platforms are not turnkey
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 29, 2018

“Fairly easy to use but powerful”

ProsWe have ran this software for quite a bit and overall is a great product, easy to use and rich from a feature standpoint.
ConsWe found a couple of minor things that were reported at the time and fixed in the following release.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 29, 2018
Josh A.
Digital Marketer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2018

“Great for Split Testing”

ProsOptimizely makes it super easy to split test your landing pages. The WYSIWYG editor makes it easy for non-technical users to run effective tests. I also like that you can setup conversion goals easily. For example, you can simply set a goal as clicking a button without any advanced event tracking code.
ConsI've strayed away from optimizely recently just because Google Optimize is free and offers similar features.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2018
Avatar Image
Jovan M.
Performance Marketing Specialist
11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 28, 2018

“My first choice when it comes to A/B testing tools”

ProsWith Optimizely you can create multiple tests and you can expect right directions for landing page improvement. The software is not complex to use, all features are well described.
ConsI have more successful tests than losers, and sometimes I cannot believe that is in 80% my improvement that what I really need. The new pricing model is very hard to understand, they can be improved.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 28, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Consumer Services, Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 23, 2017

“Great product with great support”

ProsI really like the fact that you don't need to know how to code, you can just install it on your site and boom! You can use it
ConsI don't really like the price point, but then again you get what you pay for, so it could be a frugality issue!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 23, 2017
Avatar Image
Alfredo B.
Consultant
Marketing and Advertising, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018

“Great for A/B testing!”

OverallGreat experience overall, the support and the resources are great as well.
ProsOptimizely is perhaps the best A/B testing software I've used compared to others. It's definitely the one with the most intuitive dashboard, and the reports are very complete.
ConsOnly thing I can think of is you'll need to work with programmers to get things set up, it's not as user-friendly on the configuration side of things.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Marketing and Advertising, Self-employed
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
June 13, 2018

“Easy to use and Powerful”

ProsI use and teach this tool to Marketing students every week. It's great for setting up A/B testing, which is incredibly useful in our work. It allows you to do this with very little to no coding and delivers clear results.
ConsNot too much to complain about here. I haven't found any competitor that would make me consider changing.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
June 13, 2018
James P.
Founder
Financial Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 12, 2018

“Okay A/B testing tool - there are better options”

OverallI got the ability to set up A/B tests on my website. Nothing too special, since there's a bunch of other software out there that will do the same thing.
ProsI was attracted to Optimizely because it's a low-cost tool to run A/B tests on websites. Even though their prices have changed over the years, it's still one of the lowest-cost solutions out there. It's also easy to use, because the most time-consuming step is putting the code on your site. If you have a small website, you can get it done in a few minutes.
ConsPreview mode is really buggy. I also wish there was a way to segment the results by audience. For example, if I'm running a different type of traffic to a page I want to be able to see a separate page of data specifically for that. The new goal setting flow is also buggy, but it is new. Hopefully they fix all the kinks as time goes on.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 12, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 25, 2018

“Great tool for tracking website optimizations and doing A/B testing in general!”

ProsI really like how interactive the test dashboards are in terms of viewing the data differently for control vs treatment.
ConsI dislike the learning curve required for the product - while it's great to use, it takes a long time to get there. I think it could benefit from some better tutorials or tool tips.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 25, 2018
Luke v.
ERP consultant
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 28, 2018

“Decent tool to optimize”

ProsI have used several ab testing software and this one is the easiest in use. Furthermore their support is very good. When I experienced an issue a solution was found very fast
ConsCompared to other software I used this one is the most expensive and furthermore there also needs to be an investment in development resources
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 28, 2018
Kevin V.
Software Architect
Internet, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
November 21, 2018

“Excellent A/B Testing and analytics”

ProsOptimizely makes it easy to setup different A/B testing scenarios, as well as tracking any kind of custom website events you can come up with. With the various tracking options and different tests you can run, it makes it easy to figure out what the best course of action should be.
ConsOverall Optimizely has worked well, but the pricing is a bit high.. I suppose it's a case of you get what you pay for!
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
November 21, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 30, 2018

“ it is practical”

ProsWhat I can say is that it offers a number of features that other test services do not offer and helped run fast experiments on our websites
Cons is very basic ... when major changes are required, it starts to fail and the price is too high compared to the rest of the market for the product they offer
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 30, 2018
Verified Reviewer
11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 16, 2018

“Easy-to-Use, Intuitive, Feature-Packed”

ProsWeb experimentation has never been easier. With this product, I can easily test 2 (or more) versions of the same website and get reliable results quickly.
ConsThe software is a bit feature-heavy. I don't always use all of the options available. But, that's less of a con and more of a personal need issue.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 16, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 24, 2018

“A/B testing made easy”

ProsMakes A/B testing a breeze. You can quickly set up various tests (like changing button text) without requiring any developer assistance.
ConsWould love to see deeper integrations with 3rd parties. You can skew some of your Google Analytics data based on the fact you ran tests.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 24, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Design, Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 31, 2018

“Does the job”

ProsIt did the job. We were looking for an A/B testing solutions that had support for campaigns and Optimizely did the job and fit the bill.
ConsThe cost is on the expensive side but if you have the budget you get what you pay for. Otherwise there are cheaper alternatives that may fit your needs.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 31, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 10, 2018

“Super empowerment to marketers”

ProsOptimizely is so easy-to-use that even marketers with minimal coding expertise manage to carry out optimization on their own.
ConsThe pricing can be a bit steep for teams who don't have a lot of resources, I wish there would be more customized options available.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 10, 2018
Avatar Image
Brendan G.
Data Delver and Word Wrangler
Internet, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 8, 2017

“Empowers marketers to test website changes without tasking developers”

ProsI like that there is WYSIWYG editing of content that allows non-technical folks to A/B test. I also like that they expose custom Javascript fields so technical folks can make further optimizations if needed.
ConsWish there was a non-grandfathered free tier, and also think that they should automatically log information based on which div classes and ids are clicked on a page without having the end user manually define which elements are of interest to them.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 8, 2017
Martijn S.
Director of Marketing
Online Media, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: GetApp
August 9, 2016

Source: GetApp
August 9, 2016
Jake W.
Developer
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Source: Capterra
June 9, 2017

“Great AB testing platform with great results”

ProsWe used Optimizely on some client projects and it seemed to work great. It was easy enough for a non-developer to understand how to use it, but also powerful enough that a front-end developer could inject custom JavaScript and CSS into your webpages in order to manipulate the DOM for testing (for example changing button colors, moving components around on the page, etc)
ConsNot too many things to dislike. There were a few situations were the tests gave us false positives and after implementing the recommendations it actually lowered conversion, but those could have been flukes.
Source: Capterra
June 9, 2017
Avatar Image
Caitlin B.
Digital Marketing Specialist
Internet, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 19, 2019

“Overall Good A/B Testing tool”

ProsOptimizely makes it really easy to test multiple scenarios and find the highest converting solution and then implement. Works for paid testing, organic testing, UX testing. You can test any scenario and see what works best for that specific acquisition channel. It's really useful.
ConsNot incredibly easy to use. Can be time consuming setting up all the different scenarios you need.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 19, 2019
olga D.
Marketing manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 31, 2018

“Good website testing solution”

ProsIf ou are looking for a simple set up website testing solution allowing AB Testing, split test or multiviraiant testing - AB Testing is a good option. Still not very expensive solution and wih easy set up you can learn your audience preferences.
ConsPreview function can be buggy, especially for complex long web pages. Optimizely is expanding business so their pricing model might be changing
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 31, 2018
Verified Reviewer
501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2018

“Use this for a/b testing”

ProsI like how easy it is to test quick visual changes - anyone with basic javascript/html/css knowledge can contribute to a test very easily. The dashboards for viewing experiments is clean and it's easy to monitor tracking around how your tests are doing.
ConsThe preview feature is not the most intuitive and many people feel like it's buggy. The fullstack option is extremely expensive.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Publishing, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 13, 2018

“Expensive But Worth it if Your Business Can Afford It ”

ProsSplit-testing is essential to any online marketing success. Optimizely is one of the best tools on the market, and with good reason. It's easy to setup, use, and implement changes to make sure you're getting the results you want.
ConsThe cost is highly prohibitive for many small businesses that are just getting started. That said, those who make the investment will see it provide a good return.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 13, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 15, 2019

“Good product that helps setting up campaigns for websites”

OverallMy work with it mainly relates to setting up campaigns that run on the website and it has been pretty good to use for the time being.
ProsThe interface is pretty neat and easy to understand and provides a lot of options for you to customize as per your requirement. Helps you create ads and run campaigns on your websites through easy steps.
ConsAt times it does not capture the link correctly and you would need to try doing it a couple of times. A very minor issue this but found it lagging a bit when you try going to a previous page again.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 15, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Internet, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 26, 2018

“Good testing tool”

ProsIt's full of features and can be easily customized. Good WYSIWYG editor with clean interface.
ConsA bit expensive, but really powerful. Can be laggy at times.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 26, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Financial Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2018

“Powerful Set of Tools”

OverallA must have for tech companies.
ProsAlways for a much stronger framework for testing and learning.
ConsExpensive and time consuming to implement.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 6, 2018

“As a developer letting stakeholders AB test and change content on the fly is so awesome!”

ProsI love that stakeholders and non-technical marketing people can go in and change what I've developer and A/B test without me having to code anything other than include the javscript snippet. I've also been the tester to watch usability by A/B testing and Optimizely is fantastic for that.
ConsIt's pricey from the get-go so it was hard to convince stakeholders to invest in it. I think it's well-worth it, but for small businesses it's hard to get started with it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 6, 2018