VCS Ratings

Overall
4.2/5
Ease of Use
3.9/5
Customer Service
4.2/5

About VCS

VCS software systems compute data prior to shift work, so that the planned hours and positions are properly staffed. Proactive scheduling promotes a productive, compliant, and fiscally responsible workforce. Learn more about VCS

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 11 of 11 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 11 of 11 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Avatar Image
Daniel B.
Director of Communications & Information Technology
Law Enforcement, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 19, 2019

“It's Great”

OverallOverall my experience with VCS has been more than excellent.
ProsWe have been using VCS (POSS) for several years. The migration to web has been bumpy but overall extremely positive and necessary. Their support staff is fantastic and they continue to improve the software.
ConsSome features (shift bid module for example) are initially built according to their specifications. For example, officers are given a time limit for selecting a shift. If they don't select a shift within the time frame, they are skipped. There is no way to turn this off. My issue with this is if an officer is busy on an active case and is unable to select his/her shift in the time frame, they should not be skipped. There is no way to change this. Typically after enough agencies complain, they will incorporate the change, however an option like this should be included from the start.

Vendor Response

By Visual Computer Solutions on October 10, 2019
Thank you very much for your very positive feedback. As you are now aware, you have been provided with the latest in Shift and Vacation Bidding within the platform. The latest Shift Bidding is completely redesigned from the ground up based on customer input and our Vacation Bidding follows suit as well. These latest additions to our platform have been well received and we look forward to seeing them utilized by our customers who will provide positive feedback and suggestions as we continue to fine tune these modules. Thank you for being a loyal VCS customer and we look forward to working with you as we continue to expand functionality within our platform.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 19, 2019
Jeff S.
Captain
Law Enforcement, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 18, 2019

“10 year User of VCS (POSS)”

OverallWe have become much more accurate and have saved a tremendous amount of time processing payroll.
ProsThe software is very customizable and has been very accurate payroll product for our department. We use most features of the software and have been very pleased overall. The continued updates VCS provides are making the product better and better. We love the versatility of product and the various modules that tie into payroll.
ConsThe general customer service options have been responsive. With that said, I found that the follow through has sometimes been lacking. As an example, we have found some inaccurate reporting issues with some reports. Customer service was initially responsive and agreed that there is an issue, but several months and counting, I have not heard any update and the issue has not been resolved.

Vendor Response

By Visual Computer Solutions on October 10, 2019
Thank you for your review. VCS takes great pride in our customer support. From time to time support matters become more of an issue that falls into the hands of our development team. Over the past several months we have worked on creating additional reports, adding features to our current reports and reformatting some of our larger web based reports. Please feel free to run the reports again and in the event the report(s) are not working as expected please create a new support case and we will be happy to look back into this for you.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 18, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Law Enforcement, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2019

“Great Employee Scheduling program ”

OverallVCS POSS (Police Officer Scheduling System) has been great for RPD. Overtime reporting for budget projections and expenses is a primary use. Additionally, being able to capture detail categories that increase cost by pay period, quarter or annually has been the greatest bonus.
ProsI love the ability to set up schedules for the various unit as far out as needed. The officers use the web based module to see overtime available, leave requests and approval as far as needed. Supervisor are able to ensure there is adequate staffing and never fall below minimum needs of the department. Every change in the VCS Employee scheduling system is documented which is great for payroll audits of time sheets and leave taken . Finally being able to run real time reports is best that are used to project overtime costs.
ConsFor updates of some screens require a lot more time to update such when you need to transfer an officer or employee to another unit. Or when schedules of the same unit have to be individually created.

Vendor Response

By Visual Computer Solutions on August 30, 2019
Thank you! We're glad to hear that POSS is beneficial to your department. We're always working on ways to improve our system and ensure that everything is running as smoothly/quickly as possible. If you experience any issues, please do not hesitate to reach out to our support team at support@vcssoftware.com.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2019
Thomas M.
Lieutenant
Law Enforcement, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 1, 2019

“Solid program that could use additional updates”

OverallOverall good experience and customer support is courteous and works hard to help with any issues, but as I said if a problem in not readily repairable it may never get address some times I do understand why but it can be frustrating
ProsThe program has a lot of features and it can be customized for many different applications
ConsWhen issues are detected they sometimes do not address the issue. If they do address the issue it can take some time. Many things work differently form the Desk top program to the web version which causes trouble.

Vendor Response

By Visual Computer Solutions on October 10, 2019
Thank you for your review. As the VCS Web Platform continuously grows to embody all of the best features from both our Legacy and Schedule App Desktop applications we, at times, find some conflicts that we needed to address. Some of these conflicts may require more advanced testing and coding for an upcoming release. We do try to make a concerted effort when migrating functions to our latest platform to provide security and stability within our environment. Some of our newest screens may look and feel slightly different as we attempt to provide new and improved functionality within them. As you are aware, we regularly update our Web platform to incorporate our newest features and program updates. Please keep an eye on our KBA Today Emails and our Change Log which provide valuable information to our customers.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 1, 2019
Geoerge S.
Chief
Law Enforcement, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019

“POSS Review”

OverallWe have been using POSS since 2007 and it has proven itself many times over. Being able to run the many reports has enabled us to save unnecessary overtime expenses. Having the clear, simple views of daily and weekly schedules makes it easy to see who is working and where shifts need to be filled.
ProsThis software is very intuitive and easy to use.
ConsPrinting functions could be improved.,particularly weekly & monthly schedules

Vendor Response

By Visual Computer Solutions on September 12, 2019
Thank you! We're glad to hear that POSS is beneficial to your department. We're always working on ways to improve our system and ensure that all functions are operating as efficiently as possible. If you experience any issues, please do not hesitate to reach out to our support team at support@vcssoftware.com.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019
Shawn R.
Support Services Lt.
Public Safety, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 1, 2019

“Garland PD Review”

OverallThe owner and employees are great guys. I really like the ability to schedule help sessions on anything and get to work one on one with someone to fix issues. This makes for an overall good experience. On the negative side, I've been promised some features, fixes, and reports from our old system for almost a year. The fixes and reports still haven't arrived. We want our court notification interface working again, in some form or fashion. We would like to sick our SICK EVENT report back in the system.
ProsThe software is web-based and also has a mobile friendly version for some features.
ConsI would like to see more features on the mobile version. I would like to see quicker fixes to defects in the product. I've reported several. If they have been fixed, I haven't been told.

Vendor Response

By Visual Computer Solutions on October 10, 2019
Thank you for your review and for being a loyal customer to VCS. Our Team is working on the updates to your proprietary court interface and as you are aware we have already moved the court module over to our Web Portal that you are using today. Please be sure to keep an eye on our KBA Today Emails, as well as, our Change Log for other updates and fixes to our platform. We have out the Sick Event back on our radar to move that into our Web Platform for you as well. Thank you for your positive back on our support model and we look forward to clearing up your few outstanding items in the near future.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 1, 2019
Mike L.
Detective Sergeant
Law Enforcement, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 17, 2019

“Great Scheduling Software”

OverallGreat replacement for our old paper system. We are able to remotely view our schedules from everyone and hold everyone accountable. The system is great and the customer service is bar none.
ProsTransparency and able to see schedule well into the future
ConsSometimes it can be confusing for new users and more advanced options.

Vendor Response

By Visual Computer Solutions on August 30, 2019
Thank you. We're glad to hear that you were able to eliminate your manual paper trail and are now scheduling more efficiently automatically! We offer unlimited 24/7 access to training resources at no additional cost, which can be found at vcssoftware.com/onboarding or by reaching out to support@vcssoftware.com.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 17, 2019
Scott T.
Sgt/TAC
Law Enforcement, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019

“Best scheduling system”

OverallHaving officers on the road more than in headquaters trying to fill overtime and figure out who call and in what order.
ProsThe amount of time it saves managing schedules, running reports and ability to make changes with ease.
ConsThat we didnt have it sooner because it truly makes life easier regardless of the size of your department.

Vendor Response

By Visual Computer Solutions on September 12, 2019
Thank you! We're glad to hear about how much time and effort our software has saved you. If there's anything we can further assist you with in the future, please do not hesitate to reach out to support@vcssoftware.com.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019
Bert L.
Lt.
Law Enforcement, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 24, 2019

“Cresskill PD review of VCS”

OverallExcellent experience! The staff is very helpful. We built the system using webinars and phone calls. The staff walked us through every step. They are always available for follow up questions.
ProsVery user friendly. The software is tailored to police work and has cut down on processing time for both scheduling and payroll.
ConsSo far I have found no cons. We were using a very old software system and our new system has really cut down on the time and effort needed to complete the tasks.

Vendor Response

By Visual Computer Solutions on August 30, 2019
Thank you! We're glad to hear about how much time and effort our software has saved you. If there's anything we can further assist you with in the future, please do not hesitate to reach out to support@vcssoftware.com.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 24, 2019
Tech C.
Network Admin
Computer Networking, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Source: Capterra
September 26, 2016

“Pure Garbage”

OverallSupport is minimal at best. Poorly written software. Upgrades are not numbered version-wise; named after the SEASONS! Expect lots of permission reversals after upgrades; Bells and whistles sold don't work. Don't expect to get any support when entire "team" is off at their seminars trying to sell this junk to prospective customers. Our company had to withhold a payment to get their attention to address still un-addressed technical issues.
ConsPoorly written software, terrible tech support
Recommendations to other buyersRun, don't walk away.

Vendor Response

By Visual Computer Solutions on March 12, 2019
Thank you for your feedback and we're sorry to hear of your experience. Our support team is available to assist our customers around the clock, with many options available at vcssoftware.com/onboarding. All customers are invited to attend our annual 3-day User Conference where they can gain additional hands-on training from our Product Specialists, however, during that time, Support Technicians are still accessible to customers unable to attend the conference. We're proud to have a 98% customer retention rate and encourage you to reach out to info@vcssoftware.com to discuss how we can be of better service to you and your company.
Source: Capterra
September 26, 2016
Verified Reviewer
Telecommunications, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 10, 2019

“So far so good”

OverallOverall the experience is great. We don't have to do any more manual calculations of bonuses based on performances. It has all been pre-designed so we just enter the final performance and based on that the tool does the rest for us.
ProsWe just recently started using this tool from an older version where we needed a long list of approval for bonus payouts, this tool has helped us to save time in things like bonus calculations, requests of approvals and this process is overall faster now.
ConsDuring the introduction phase, it was hard to get used to. Especially, since we had moved from a more archaic way of doing things for years.

Vendor Response

By Visual Computer Solutions on August 30, 2019
Thank you! We're pleased to hear that our software has expedited your processes and made them more efficient. Since our platform is robust, a lot goes into our onboarding, but our product specialists are there to guide you every step of the way and ensure you are set up for success.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 10, 2019