Epicor ERP Ratings

Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Service
3.5/5

About Epicor ERP

Epicor ERP delivers flexible, industry-specific business software to fit the precise needs of our manufacturing customers. More than 40 years of experience with our customers unique business processes and operational requirements are built into every solutionin the cloud or on premises. With this deep understanding of your industry, Epicor solutions dramatically improve performance and profitability while easing complexity so you can focus on growth. Learn more about Epicor ERP

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 64 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 64 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Verified Reviewer
Furniture, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 15, 2019

“ERP for Medium-sized manufacturers”

OverallEpicor ERP is the lifeblood of our company. It has all the transactional records and ensures items are produced, delivered, and invoiced efficiently. Requires a large up-front investment of time and energy to get set up, but once it has gone LIVE, you won't be able to imagine running your business without it.
ProsEpicor ERP is an all-in-one solution for medium-sized manufacturers. It covers everything needed and has lots of optional modules. We use it for: Quoting Orders Jobs/BOMs Product Configurator Dashboards Reports Purchasing Inventory Production AP & AR invoicing The Epicor team has worked hard to improve the software over the years, and it is now 100% Microsoft Stack. The SQL database can be queried from within the software using reports and dashboards, or externally using Business Intelligence software such as Power BI or Tableau. The price point is better compared to some of its larger competitors in the ERP space. If you have less than 200 users, Epicor will be a much more cost-effective ERP than the ERP leaders. The opportunities for customisation and personalisation are very high.
ConsEarlier versions of Epicor ERP were slow and clunky, but the new version is really fast. Also, you need experts to help you implement the software, and a dedicated team to maintain it. This is not an "out of the box" solution. It requires you to map your business processes and then implement the software carefully to suit the way your business works. You can customise almost anything you want in the system, but greater customisation brings with it added complexity and possible issues when upgrading point releases and versions.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 15, 2019
Avatar Image
Jeff E.
Software Application Specialist
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 4, 2018

“Great for Tracking Manufacturing Costs, Managing Schedules, and Controlling Inventory!”

OverallI've spent 15 years with Epicor ERP products (including their former ERP product, Vista), from full implementation to training and running / maintaining over the years. I absolutely LOVE Epicor ERP, as I lived in it for such a long time and saw it meet the needs of an extremely challenging manufacturing environment! My experience with Epicor support has been very positive as well.
ProsEpicor ERP is an exceptional software product for manufacturing environments! It's strongest points are Inventory Control (Including perpetual inventory tracking and extensive Bill of Materials functionality), Manufacturing Routing and Scheduling, and Job Costing. It also does a good job at Quote and Order Management, and standard accounting (AR, AP, GL's etc). The UI itself, while very expansive, is easy to navigate and laid out very logically. The MES (shop floor) module is also fairly straight-forward to use for the production employees. The software offers some great tools like their BAQ feature (Business Activity Queries), which allows extensive SQL Queries to be designed and used within the UI without having to have SQL scripting / programming knowledge. The entire UI also has a "field help" feature, which allows you to access table names, field names, and field function info right from within any screen in the UI! For people with SQL and UI knowledge, Epicor ERP offers some really good customization features as well! If Inventory, Scheduling, Job Costing and Quote/Order Management are your biggest priorities, I'm of the opinion that Epicor ERP is the BEST choice out there!
ConsThere are a LOT of options throughout the system, including areas like scheduling and costing. These settings and options can be overwhelming for sure, so it's critical to have a solid team of power users who have a good understanding of options and how things work! I would like to see Epicor ERP have a few more integration features, such as email and calendar integrations.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 4, 2018
Alan H.
Applications Development Lead
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2018

“Overall great experience it in terms of scalability, customization, and providing business needs.”

OverallI learned how to create SSRS reports. I learned how to customize different menu items using the wide variety of customization tools. I learned how to query data and transform them in many different ways to present accurate reports. I learned how to use the many menu items and modify them to our business needs. I learned how to develop business process flows for our company to reference whether it's entering an order, tracking an order, creating a job, etc. I learned how to troubleshoot errors that arise. I learned how to identify what causes errors within the software. I learned how to map out what what each menu item is used for. Overall it is a great learning experience and there is much more to learn from this software and I am grateful for having to work with this software.
ProsI mostly like the ease of use of this software. Data entry and Data queries are easy to do with the many screens provided in this software. One thing to mention is the powerful search function to find different screens, displays their path within this software so that is also a big plus. Another positive is the overall navigation of this software with the different modules feels natural because of the 'tree view' option for the menu items. The different maintenance screens are set up pretty nicely and can be customized depending on what type of SaaS option you have so that is great as well. I also really like the security settings I can adjust to prevent users from accessing certain screens or hiding certain fields from them. One final mention for this section would have to be the SSRS integration. I design lots of reports and it is extremely easy to pull data into an SSRS report and present them how I want it.
ConsOf all the pros that I have listed in the previous section, there are some cons to mention as well. One mention that I like least about this software is the optimization of this software. Many screens take at least 2 minute to open and that is with the recommended hardware specs provided. Another mention is that the PDF reports take at least 2 minute or more to view. I know that the reports are server side and I don't know the process flow of it but it would be nice to click the print preview button and 3 seconds later, have the report show.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2018
Gordon E.
President
Machinery, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 4, 2017

“Changed our company in 1996 and still improving how we serve our customers”

OverallIncreased profitability, and the best record keeping ability I have seen in any software to date. I am confident I can get whatever my customer needs in less time than any competitor, especially if it isn't in stock. I can and do recommend this software, and I am involved with a number of user groups, IT groups, and machining groups who are always asking what we use and how we keep it functional.
ProsThis software allows a quoter to include every facet of a project before it gets a customer PO. From that quote, every detail is able to be brought through to the order, the job, the packing slip, and the final invoice. There are so many different ways to track various phases of the project as it moves through. Every detail can be recorded if every employee is disciplined enough to make the input. Then, 10 years from now, when the machine finally has a hiccup, (and assuming everyone entered all the details) you know every purchased part and have a link to every drawing used in manufacturing. Your customer will be amazed when you can recite those part numbers and pull prints within minutes 10 years later with absolute accuracy. You will eliminate QuickBooks, sales force or any other CRM, MS Project, and a host of programs that are not integrated and require multiple entries once you are fully functional. This software will transform your company, and you will become more profitable than you were before. Your work week will never be under 50 hours again, and you will either learn very facet of the software of spend well over 100k every year to keep it running, but if you stay on every employee all the time to do their best and do YOUR best, you will realize some incredible benefits. Our company does more with 20 people than many companies do with 50, and we manufacture parts and machinery. We can credit a lot of that success to the Epicor ERP system.
ConsThere are a few Caveats. There is no way you can employ a single person who is not college educated. Without math skills, great writing and data entry skills, and an exceptional amount of discipline, you will not get the quality inputs, and the software will not be able to give quality outputs. Slowly, over a period of about 3-5 years, you will come to the realization that people just cant come up to the level of inputting the information correctly, and you will have to decide if you want this software to work and be useful of if you want to eliminate these people. There is no other way, it simply cant work. Garbage in - Garbage out. The complexity of the entire computer industry has taken the decision that they are going to complicate every facet that they can to require you to hire consultants to do what for 20 years you could easily do yourself. Continual updates, incredibly complicated reporting that an average person used to be able to do, and a constant push to the cloud really get in the way of helping your customers at every turn. It is almost as if, as a machine shop in our case, your mission is to configure software all day and never deliver a single project. The pros outweigh the cons, but the cost of ownership and value of the effort put into keeping the software functional was less than 10% in 1996-2010 than it is today. If our company was looking at this software today, I really don't know if it would be possible to justify it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 4, 2017
James P.
Production Manager
Machinery, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 24, 2019

“Feature Packed but Cumbersome”

OverallThe software is a total package for any type of manufacturing company. When i say it has it all, I mean it. However, it comes at a cost. The interface can be a bit clunky and there isn't always a great workaround for what should be a simple task. However, once you get it all figured out the sky is limit with this tool and it can be fully customized if you have someone on staff who can code and script.
ProsThis software has a ton of features. From Quote to Invoicing and every piece of the production pipeline in between.
ConsIt's not super intuitive and requires a bit of a learning curve to get it going in the right direction.

Vendor Response

By Epicor Software on August 26, 2019
Hi James, Thank you for your feedback about Epicor ERP. We're glad to hear the solution has provided you with the proper features. We're sorry to hear the learning curve has been steep. We would like to learn more about the issue you are experiencing so we can deliver a solution. Please send us an email to socialmedia@epicor.com with your contact information, so we can assist you. Again, we are sorry for the inconvenience you've experienced, and we look forward to resolving it. Sincerely, The Epicor Social Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 24, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 6, 2018

“Product stability has greatly improved in recent releases, support is often missing in action”

OverallFinancials, Shop Floor control, scheduling, purchasing
Pros ITs flexibility and ability to customize. Cloud versions available. Offers many modules for most needs. There has been in the past several years a building of third party software vendors with the ability to augment the customization, implementation and general maintenance of the software requiring less reliance on Epicor consulting services. Features such as document routing has greatly improved forms handling. The software is definitely in growth mode resulting in new features and abilities. The number one feature I like is the ability to export any report and most data grids directly to excel. Overall I have more likes on were the software is going rather than were it is at today
ConsThe software is not at all user friendly. Little if any documentation on how to use the product. Education is available but pricey. Support system is totally ineffectual and support personal are lacking in basic knowledge. Company has built many silos and employees do not have the ability to see across those barriers. The online support system called Epicare has added a layer of difficulty in that you cannot speak with an employee to explain an issue. The online submission is often limited to drop down selections that have nothing to do with the problem. The helpful tips you are given when submitting a case are almost always way off topic and of no use.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 6, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 13, 2019

“Epicor ERP”

OverallVast improvements in improving business speed and communication between different business units. User interface easily allows jumping to other areas quickly to enable improved speed in business decisions and customer service.
ProsVery flexible and powerful user interface. Software modules have extensive flexible options to tailor the configuration to work as desired. Most modules very integrated, allowing powerful user capability. User personalization is powerful and easy to administer.
ConsCustomization is often too complex. Need C# programmer and still can be complicated. In V9 to V10 customization languages changed which required rewrite of previous customizations. This is very costly rather than tools being available to effectively migrate existing customizations. Upgrades of software modules is too complex and is being worked on to improve and focus more on ease, allowing companies to keep on the current release without seeming like a new implementation. More work than it should be. Several modules are included for improving requirements and are very weak. Example: Integration to Salesforce.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 13, 2019
Dawn F.
Executive Director
Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2019

“Great for Manufacturing Plants”

OverallThe business problems we solved are more up-to-date inventory management system and the ability to make last-minute changes from customers without re-creating orders.
ProsI like the flexibility to customize the software to fit your business. There are many features which can be incredibly useful. The fact that it is Windows-based is a plus fo our antiquated facility.
ConsThe one con I have about this software is the price. I like that we can find status updates in real-time on orders or inventory; however, to get this feature you have to pay even more money.

Vendor Response

By Epicor Software on August 12, 2019
Hi Dawn, thank you for your feedback about Epicor ERP. We're glad to hear the flexibility and ability to customize is so useful. Your feedback is invaluable. Please email us at customerreferences@epicor.com to share additional comments and learn about our customer reference program.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2019
Avatar Image
Alyssa Rose L.
Software Development Engineer
Consumer Electronics, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 20, 2018

“Epicor ERP allows the analysis of data in real time.”

OverallEpicor is a solid and highly scalable option that generates a positive return on investment. It also has a real-time data analysis. I recommend Epicor ERP thanks to all the functions that allow employees to work more efficiently and quickly. Although Epicor needs to improve the support team a lot, I'm sure to recommend it.
ProsEpicor ERP creates purchase orders, senders and invoices that generate a high return on investment. In addition, we have been able to accurately track work activity. Epicor meets our accounting needs. Epicor ERP is ideal for companies that buy components from many different places, so there can be traceability. A large number of departments use the system (order entry, sales, IT, finance). In addition, Epicor has a user interface with the ability to export to Excel. Epicor allows real-time data analysis and financial reporting to help make decisions faster.
ConsEpicor does not take advantage of innovations in the development of queries, which would allow inexperienced users to generate their own results without the help of the IT department. In addition, the software support team still needs to improve greatly in order to achieve better efficiency.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 20, 2018
Avatar Image
Brandon A.
Inventory and ERP system manager
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 28, 2018

“We use Epicor to run our whole business.”

OverallThe customizability of this software is the key advantage for this compared to other ERP systems. They approach the company has is "we can't make it perfect for everyone, so we will let you make the changes you need for you".
ProsWe like that it's incredibly flexible. Epicor has put a lot of work into tools to help customize the product. Each tool has a different level of complexity, and some take more knowledge than others to use, but it will get as advanced as your skill set.
ConsOut of the box it's fairly clunky to use. One record at a time is usually how things are done. That makes initial acceptance from users a bit of a challenge. But if you have users that are creative and can convey what they want, you usually can find a way to make things easier for them. If they just whine, not so much.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 28, 2018
Michael P.
Application Development Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 9, 2018

“Overall I have had very positive experiences with epicor. Customizations are easy to make.”

ProsOne of my favorite things about this program is the different levels of customization that it provides. Epicor allows for a range settings and customization's ranging from field security to changing how business objects interact this allows our company to really personalize and create our own version of Epicor (to a certain extent that is). I also really like how fast and efficient the technical support for Epicor is. Calling in to create a ticket for any issues that occur is always an easy process.
ConsSome custimaztions are harder to make then they should be and sometimes finding clear information about how to make certian changes can be hard to find. I think the two main things I currently do not like are the scheduling module it can seem clunky. Also the limited coding that is allowed due to being a multi tenant client however this is more about what we purchased then the product it self.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 9, 2018
Sheri G.
Master Production Scheduler
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 6, 2018

“The experience has been good, the software seems to be working as desired.”

ProsThe ease in which most parameters are set in the part entry screen. The forecast module seems to be performing as desired, offering consumed quantities for easier visibility. MRP plans unfirmed jobs which make sense between planned jobs and firmed jobs. They are distinguished very well, giving the user a sense of clearness. The site maintenance screen allows the user to set up the prefix for the MRP unfirmed orders which is nice and clear to see upfront in identifying MRP unfirmed jobs.. It is also nice to have a time fence parameter in the part master where no jobs can plan within that time fence.
ConsIt is often no intuitive, making it hard to figure out why MRP suggested something that did not make sense.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 6, 2018
Jim K.
IT
Machinery, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 27, 2019

“Good ERP system”

OverallBeen a good experience. Since I help administer the software I have a good knowledge of how it works.
Pros For the most part easy to use. Has a lot of modules that you can use depending on your business. Can also integrate into your B2B webiste.
ConsSometimes it takes awhile to get issues resolved through tech support. Costs a lot of money for maintenance, and they also charge for each module that you may need if you need it later on down the road.

Vendor Response

By Epicor Software on August 30, 2019
Hi Jim, Thank you for your feedback about Epicor ERP. We're glad to hear you are finding it easy to use and benefiting from your website integration. Your feedback is invaluable. Please email us at customerreferences@epicor.com to share additional comments and learn about our customer reference program. Yours Sincerely, The Epicor Social Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 27, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Mining & Metals, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018

“Lots of customizations required”

OverallOverall, the software works as intended. If an issue comes up, it's generally an easy fix even if it does take a bit of time. Much of what we do as a company can sometime require us to have to dig around in the system to find the information we need but the good thing is that Epicor allows for that digging thru it's search fields.
ProsThe very thing that kind of sucks about this software is also the thing that makes it "work" for our company. The ability to customize the software for our day to day business needs is awesome.
ConsUnfortunately, those customizations make fixing things a little more difficult than if we were able to use the software "out of the box." Having developers in a different country also prohibits and lengthens "fix time" due to time difference.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018
Carmen O.
Supply Chain Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 6, 2018

“Only used for 2 years. Easy to use but complicated steps for simple task”

OverallMRP functionality for our business. Better business tools . Improved processes. Increased communication because of shared information system provides.
ProsIt is user friendly , and has good basic functionality . Structure of menu modules make sense and makes it easy to move in and out of different screens. Information at your reach with a key stroke. easy to download to excel for more customized usage.
Cons Some functionality which I feel is a basic process is complicated for the user . Some fields should default information instead of user having to key in. Needs more flexibility . Biggest issue is when a new version comes out.....something that was working before is no longer working. And its not a customization its core functionality.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 6, 2018
Amanda H.
Marketing Associate
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 18, 2018

“Our company has used this for several years and had great success.”

ProsUser friendly: We upgraded to 10.2, and the new homepage provides all the data I need instantly. I was able to adjust the layout and information on my dashboards easily. I can drill into data and use sophisticated analytics tools, which have made me more informed and productive. Super flexible: It's been a scalable solution that has supported our growing business. Easy to update and integrate with other systems Accurate forecasting Secure cloud-based data management
ConsEpicor's customer support hasn't always been the most prompt, but they've made some changes this year to their customer support services, and we've already noticed improvement.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 18, 2018
Vicki V.
Corporate COntroller
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 16, 2018

“Good Manufacturing system that won't bankrupt you”

OverallMIXED.there are a few really good people in support
ProsGood value for the money Good little manufacturing system They put on really nice annual conferences
ConsEpicor grew by acquisition so some of the interfaces are cloodgey (I think they are working o improving this with their cloud based systems). General maintenance in Mexico is very good, the US arm needs to help them more instead of tossing hard problems over the border without proper training. System is not user friendly, based on HUNDREDS of tables!!! US customer support is very good if you get the right people. Customer support for real issues (forex) is a cash sink hole - any time you have a bug or a real problem, they refer you to a consultant at per hour basis. Worse, they do not have many consultants who really know the product so you waste thousands of dollars getting them up to speed, only to end up with the problem not fixed. We have since learned some of these issues were fixed but only in the new version which costs us to upgrade.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 16, 2018
Ross B.
product manager
Airlines/Aviation, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2019

“Epicor is amazing for tracking production details”

OverallEpicor has been a blessing with customer support, as it helps us track every aspect of a parts creation.
ProsI frequently use this program to track historical product records. I can pull a full production detail report, to see each and every operation a part has gone through.
ConsSometimes, the reporting feature takes awhile to pull the report. This is only the case for very large reports however!

Vendor Response

By Epicor Software on October 4, 2019
Hi Ross, Thank you for your feedback about Epicor ERP. We're glad to hear the production tracking is working well for you. Your feedback is invaluable. Please email us at customerreferences@epicor.com to share additional comments and learn about our customer reference program.Many thanks.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2019
Avatar Image
Michael P.
IT Manager
Furniture, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 9, 2018

“Good Mid Market Configurable ERP Software”

OverallOverall my experience with Epicor is very positive. I like the way that I can modify just about everything in order to adjust to my work flow and to solve problems. The support is standard large company support, the first call you make will be to tier one and unless it is simple it will get escalated.
ProsThe software is very robust. Just about everything that the software does is configurable and modifiable. The interface is fairly customizable, you can move things around and even change the color scheme to your liking.
ConsI wouldn't say I dislike this, but do take into consideration that the customization of the software requires a significant amount of programming skill. This software is not targeted at smaller companies that wouldn't have an IT staff or are not willing to spend money on outside programmers.

Vendor Response

By Epicor Software on October 17, 2018
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, Michael. We appreciate the feedback you have provided on customization. At Epicor, we are committed to providing an ease of use experience. Thank you.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 9, 2018
Chris W.
Business Analyst
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2017

“Everything in one package”

OverallBeen working with Epicor since 2005 and they have been making great strides to make the software more efficient, easier to update, and constantly adding new functionality to make it a real value! If you don't need all the modules, just purchase the ones you need and add on at anytime, perfect for the growing business
ProsEasy to update and use, navigation by pc or tablet makes it a portable solution on the shop floor as needed
ConsSome features are connected to others so to track labor you need to purchase payroll, even if you don't use payroll in Epicor
Recommendations to other buyersGreat user group support to help manage and customize the user experience in the software without paying for expensive customizations
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2017
Jack P.
Business Systems Analysis III
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 6, 2018

“Epicor ERP - Inovative solution for running our manufacturing business into the future.”

OverallHave used Epicor since the start of 2010, been very reliable for us. The improvements is speed of the system over the last 8 years has been fantastic. Like the direction the software is moving and the abilities to get to the data and analysis easily and quickly with the software they provide. Great product.
ProsEasy to use, Get training available, Always working to improve their product, Great support. Epicor continues to improve there software adding new features that customers are looking for, adding third party solutions to plug into their software. They are adding features before we are even ready to use them, being able to go more mobile, improving communication between users at our company. Great Product configurator, best I have seen!
ConsDoes cost a little more than we were hoping, but the ROI made it worthwhile doing. Moving away from crystal to SSRS was a little rough, but like the change once we were through it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 6, 2018
Harry S.
Comptroller
Medical Devices, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2017

“Epicor provides a robust modular ERP that allows us buy and expand the system as our company grows.”

OverallThe software tracks and reports on our production and performance. Integration across modules allows adjustments in one module to be appropriately communicated across the system.
ProsThe ERP allows us to create dashboards to track company performance, includes good documentation and built in help (application level or field level), and we have access to a great user group to help us explore new modules before we buy and implement them.
ConsThere are inconsistencies between modules or menus that are not intuitive. Support is expensive and oftentimes unresponsive.
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2017
Avatar Image
Robert K.
President
Computer Software, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 22, 2018

“Epicor ERP Software Review”

ProsVery versatile software that can be adapted to fit any business needs. I have been a Senior Consultant for Epicor and also an end user for a total of 15 years in all functional areas. Feel free to contact me with any questions. Robert W F Krause Epicor/ERP/Consulting Krause Consultants Cell: 516.983.8095 Email: rkrause@krauseconsultants.com http://www.krauseconsultants.com/
ConsThe software is very complex and requires some initial training to use it effectively.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 22, 2018
Thomas L.
It Systems and Costing Manager
Printing, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 12, 2018

“Average support level, mainly in Sales”

OverallWe have achieve the goals we originally set out to achieve: - improve quoting function efficiency - centralise functions to one system
ProsFull of features. Good ability to customise screens and part configurator to aid our productivity improvement. Version 10 seems to have even more features.
ConsWe are currently still on V8.03. Scheduling module is the weakest of all module. Since Epicor took over from Cogita sales service is close to none existence, level of support is poor but maintenance cost is high.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 12, 2018
Tony D.
Sales manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 6, 2018

“mostly pleased with the software. ”

Prossafer storage on the cloud. configurator for production. ability to modify pricing for each customer by adding individual price sheets.
Conscloud based makes it a little slower than server based. cannot email orders direct from Epicor. cannot handle VIN numbers. inability to print invoices until after the order is closed. cannot modify orders after the order is marked shipped. in our old system we could modify until the month was closed. we write many more credits than before.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 6, 2018
Roger G.
Parts/IT
Business Supplies and Equipment, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
1/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 6, 2018

“Not user friendly and to make changes we need to contact the developers. NOT GOOD AT ALL”

Overallits a cloud base database and we don't need to back up the data. Also all the info we need is on one location!
ConsNOT user-friendly, the turnaround on tickets is horrible. There is no videos or forums where customers can go and see how other Epicor users are fixing there/workaround problems they are facing. I was referring to one but apparently its all money. I wish there was a better training on how to admin the software. Also, performance is slow, We upgraded our network to better Mbps and the software has not improved.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 6, 2018
Avatar Image
Eric D.
Analyste programmeur senior, Expert système ERP
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 3, 2019

“Very customisable ERP”

ProsThis ERP is very customisable. You can change the behavior of the software with it's DATA DIRECTIVE, METHODE DIRECTIVE. You can change the look and feel of every screen with it's internal .NET engine.
ConsIt is slow... You will need a very fast server. The query engine (BAQ) is very limited with Epicor 9 but I heard it's better with Epicor 10. If you made a lot of customisation, the upgrades will be difficult.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 3, 2019
Jasmine H.
Engineering Assistant
Automotive, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 6, 2018

“As a company we have been able to accelerate our reporting capabilities.”

OverallExtreme ease of access and effective and efficient customer support.
ProsThe capability and functionality of the system is incredible and effortless once your are trained and have the knowledge on how to operate.
ConsNot necessarily a con with the system itself but if your current systems mode of operating doesn't easily transition with the way Epicor works it can create a few obstacles in how the functionality of Epicor can work for your company.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 6, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Consumer Goods, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 1, 2018

“We are a manufacturing plant that distributes products worldwide and Epicor manages it all.”

ProsEpicor allows us to manage multiple companies with multiple currencies. One system for the entire company. We use if from the manufacturing floor to distribution & sales to financial reporting.
ConsIt's a very complex program because it does a lot. It took a team about a year to implement and users require training. It is not intuitive to use but once you understand how it works, it works very well.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 1, 2018
Segi H.
Database Application Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2018

“Epicor is an important piece of MRP software for our company and we cannot do business without it”

ProsEpicor is a good piece of MRP software overall. Screens are able to intelligently link to one another with relevant right click context menus.
ConsWhen error messages appear, they are often cryptic and difficult or impossible for non Epicor employees to understand. Epicor licenses are extremely expensive and not recommended for smaller businesses.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2018
Diego P.
Purchase Staff / Inventory Management
Consumer Goods, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 6, 2018

“I work with EPICOR everyday. ”

OverallOne central source of information for the entire company. The flexibility to create reports that are specific for the business and to export information to another tools make my daily job easier.
ProsIt's very easy to learn and it's very flexible. Once you are familiar with the interface it's easy to navigate and find the way to get the job done. Exporting information to another tools is easy and useful.
ConsImpossible to drag and drop... I'm lazy! Seriously, there are some features that I would like to have like create templates for common daily tasks.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 6, 2018
Saw K.
DBA
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 12, 2018

“Knowledge Base (Most of the issue and problem solving available for only internal staff)”

Overall
ProsEpicor ERP system can heavily, fairly and easily customized compare to any other ERP system in the world.
ConsNeed to improve Knowledge Base (Most of the issue and problem solving available for only internal staff). Hardly can search any error message that generated from Epicor in EpicCare Portal. Need to improve performance as well
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 12, 2018
Anne W.
Purchasing Officer
Printing, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 12, 2018

“In use in our company since 2003. Not all modules were purchased. ”

OverallIncreased efficiency. Better tracking with integrated modules
ProsAdapts quite well to our needs. What I enjoy the most is the ability to customize each module to suit me. This allows for greater efficiency.
ConsThere are a number of programming errors that really are quite annoying and have never been fixed even though I know we have asked.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 12, 2018
terry t.
general corporate accounting manager
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 9, 2018

“frustration with help desk”

Prosall modules flow together, can take order from quote to cash receipt. easy to use trackers easy to train on
Consno designed to accomodate accounting reporting needs or to meet GAAP needs. Customizations have to be recreated after upgrades. need better standard reports building own dashboards and reports get corrupted with upgrades
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 9, 2018
Molly l.
Accounts Payable
Accounting, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
February 1, 2017

“Easy to use ”

OverallI use this everyday at work and it is so easy compared to Mapics. I am very impressed with their support staff every time I have an issue. They are quick and very informing. I use this for reports and accounting purposes and it keeps our company running smoothly. We added some enhancements to the system and they merged great. Overall, I would recommend this software for all types of businesses.
Proseasy to use good enhancements fast
Source: Capterra
February 1, 2017
Rob F.
I.T. Manager
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 8, 2018

“Epicor Software continuously strives to enhance user efficiency, but it tends to be costly as well ”

OverallCost control and visibility
Pros-- Customizable -- Excel based grid views for easier export of data and dynamic dashboards -- Scalability -- Integration capabilities
Cons-- Not intuitive -- Inadequate Help information -- Expensive -- Tier 1 Support extremely lacking -- User Manuals are generic
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 8, 2018
Rizwan H.
IT Manager
Wholesale, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 20, 2018

“MT Customer”

ProsVery powerful tool, some quirks to the way Epicor has their default process setup. Dashboards and BAQ's are easy to make, a lot of training guides to take you through it. BPM is a great tool to use to automate user entry.
ConsA lot of functionality/custom is locked from MT customers, due to their DB setup. Going on-prem or dedicated hosted is a better option, if you are looking for a lot of custom changes.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 20, 2018
Ian P.
Student
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2018

“Used to ERP tasks-material and labor tracking mainly”

ProsVery intuitive, easy to generate reports to track progress in real time. System was customizable and templates supported standardized work flows.
ConsIn older products data input was tedious. Entering estimates of required resources required manual inputs in each module.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Defense & Space, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 14, 2018

“Decent ERP”

OverallGenerally everything is user friendly & self explanatory.
ProsEpicor provides lots of useful reports where I previously may have had to manually go find the info and compile in another program.
ConsI don't like that there isn't a way to link jobs with sales orders.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 14, 2018
Ryan W.
Mechanical Engineer
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 20, 2018

“Epicor ERP”

OverallWe are currently in the process of upgrading to the latest Epicor. However our current version seems to have a lot of stability issues.
ProsHelps keep jobs and inventory on track.
ConsThe software at times can be rather slow and crash often.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 20, 2018
Darin W.
Systems Analyst
Computer Hardware, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 9, 2018

“very user friendly good help knowledge base”

OverallVery user friendly desktop/dashboard. ease of training for beginning users just starting out. Newer version easier to maintain.
ProsExcellent support and service when needed, staff is very knowledgeable and always willing to help whenever needed.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 9, 2018
Robert S.
Executive Director
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 6, 2018

“While it took longer than expected to implement, the software is doing its job now!”

ProsFeatures Scalability Flexibility Adaptation to Various Industries Industry History & Reputation
ConsEase of Deployment Modifications to Older Versions Price entry point for smaller businesses Deployment Costs
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 6, 2018
Jillian S.
EOC
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2017

“Easy enough”

OverallI use this system for time tracking. You can save favorites that cuts down the time it take to enter time. Reporting isn't that great.
Prosi like how i can save epicor numbers i use frequently to cut down on the time it takes to enter time.
ConsReporting isn't that great.
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Apparel & Fashion, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 9, 2018

“Easy transition to cloud”

ProsThey made it a priority the last few years to transition to the cloud which was really a boon to our distributed teams. Implementation support was excellent. We have never had down times with the cloud.
ConsWhen we first started using, it was difficult to get the software to "speak" to some of our supply chain software but there has been a solve for that in place for a number of years. Over time, epicor has become more industry-oriented.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 9, 2018
Avatar Image
Emma P.
Content Creation Specialist
Machinery, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 23, 2018

“Very user friendly”

ProsThere is a report for LITERALLY everything. If you don't see it, contact customer support and they can help you. Great software.
ConsCan be kind of confusing if you aren't familiar with ERP systems. Overall easy, though.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 23, 2018
shawn b.
VP, Operations
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Source: Capterra
May 15, 2017

“Overall happy with our selection and use.”

ProsBalances intuitive design w/complex features and functionality. Very good documentation and built-in help.
ConsEasier ability to make more common, minor, cosmetic customizations; somewhat inconsistent from module to module/menu to menu.
Source: Capterra
May 15, 2017
Clint K.
Financial Analyst
Consumer Goods, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2017

“Effective software if implemented correctly”

OverallI think the main benefits are that it has robust capabilities to match a business if it is implemented correctly
ProsI like how the database is setup, and how they have an out of the box data dictionary in the software to be able to navigate and link tables correctly
ConsI like least how unforgiving the implementation of the software is. It is near impossible/comes with big headaches to make significant mapping changes
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2017
Verified Reviewer
51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 6, 2018

“Excellent Manufacturing ERP System”

ProsThe overall layout and ease of use. The ability to customize to our companies needs. The systems overall linking and tracking ability of different levels.
ConsForm format and writing. Not enough out of the box reports / dashboards. Lacks in the CRM area. Having the system produce BOL's is very confusing and time consuming to set up.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 6, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 30, 2017

“Not easy to use but it's valuable”

ProsIt does include many documentation and training for a comprehensive functionality. It offers a couple of interfaces to choose which makes it more nice on the look. I also like the fact that it includes a smartphone app for tasks on the go.
ConsAlthough it includes training documents, the process flowcharts might be a bit complex to use, some tasks require steps not very easy to do and the documentation does not include detailed information but only overall. The price is also a bit high, I would love to be able to choose whether different options I really need, discard some others and reduce the final price.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 30, 2017
Devon B.
Director of Technical Development
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 12, 2017

“Quality was fairly decent, but customer service was to be desired”

ProsThe user interface was fairly good. While it's a modularized system it seemed to integrate its information across the system.
ConsTheir customer service wasn't the best. We could have used more support especially during implementation.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 12, 2017