ExakTime Ratings

Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About ExakTime

ExakTime is a two-decade leader in time tracking for construction and field-based industries. Our robust, easy-to-use time tracking + scheduling app syncs directly with our user-friendly cloud software, allowing for easy scheduling of shifts and tasks as well as real-time attendance, hour, cost code and other data that¿s accessible and actionable from anywhere. ExakTime runs on Android and iOS phones and tablets, while our time tracking software integrates with all major accounting programs. Learn more about ExakTime

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 149 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 149 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Aimee K.
Office Manager
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
May 1, 2017

“From the moment we started using this software, we were saving money.”

OverallSaves time and money from start to finish.
ProsThe GPS locator showed when an employee was not at the location. When they attempted to punch in for work before they even left their house, the system would flag it red and the employee would have to be truthful. This was an important aspect to saving our company money. When you have 40 employees and several of them are making upwards or more and they are punching in for an extra 15-30 minutes daily, it makes a large difference. It also made job costing a breeze. Instead of spending several hours job costing a big job weekly, a few selections in the report screen and there is a complete breakdown within just a couple of minutes. This was an excellent money and time saver aspect of the program. Also, being able to just hit a few buttons and transfer all the time records to my accounting software for payroll is a miraculous thing for me. Instead of spending hours on time records for payroll, a couple of minutes and there it is, ready to go. On the accounting side of the program, just the money saved in time alone, paid for the program in all actuality.
ConsIf the employee turns off the GPS locator on their mobile device, they can beat the system. It is overall a great program.
Source: Capterra
May 1, 2017
Vince R.
Business Manager
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
March 30, 2017

“We're loving it!”

OverallThis move to the web has made things a lot better, and the support has been fantastic!! The live chat and response time/efficiency of the support team has made things far easier for our entire team!!
Prostracks time well bread crumbs
Conswould like geotraker to continue to run as long as ppl are punched in even if they close the app would like a few more customization options, but pretty good overall
Recommendations to other buyersYou guys have done great here! Would like to see the ability for workers to enter daily logs that coincide with their hours worked instead of having to punch in under different codes when task switching. So they would just punch in when starting and out when ending. If they work 8 hours, they have to fill in 8hrs of activities in daily logs for that day. like this: Project ABC Jan 2 xxx hrs Task 2 floor protection on 1st floor 5.5 framing washroom #1 0.5 clean up site ---- 8 and make it so that what ever the number of hours they worked according to the punch in/out times, you can't save your log until you've filled out that number of hours in your daily log for that day.
Source: Capterra
March 30, 2017
Shana H.
Office Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 26, 2018

“The updates have been better, and faster. This makes payroll a lot easier and keeps employees honest”

ProsI like that you are able to leave comments on the actual timecards, it saves a lot of time from the field notes. I also like that you can see where the employees are clocking in and out from. I wish it would automatically ask them .. "Why are you clocking in here outside of the geotracker" so that they have to answer or say it was a mistake and they meant to clock out earlier. I also like all the different security settings.
ConsThe part that I least like about it is that when I am adjusting the time records, it can be very slow. Also, there are way too many report options and it is hard to figure out the right one you want and it takes too long.

Vendor Response

By ExakTime on June 29, 2018
Hello Shana, Thank you for your review. We are constantly working to make updates to our services so that we can better serve our customers so we are glad to hear that you have been enjoying some of our latest updates.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 26, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Individual & Family Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2019

“Good Software that needs improvements”

OverallWe use this software for my husbands small business. Overall, it's good value for the price, but definitely needs improvements. It has all needed for us functions: creating locations, clocking in and out, GPS.
ProsIt has all functions needed for our business: creating locations, clocking in and out, GPS. recent conversion to a cloud was a good change since it can be accessed from anywhere.
ConsIt's not very intuitive in use, doesn't always identifies locations correctly. It took us a while to figure out how to download timesheets in Excel format, and when I tried emailing the customer support, I got no response.

Vendor Response

By ExakTime on May 2, 2019
Hello, We'd like to thank you for your honest feedback. It is always nice to see that the switch to a cloud based system makes things easier for companies to use. In the future if you have any questions or need assistance with anything, give us a call at 888-788-8463 so that one of our reps can assist you. Thank you again!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2019
Lindsay M.
Office Manager
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2017

“We've used the hornets and the mobile app and both are great!”

OverallSpeeds up payroll.
ProsTime Summit is pretty easy to use and it has really helped speed up the payroll process. Each employee clocks in themselves on their iPhone/iPad and I really love the GeoFence option that shows where they clocked in/out. The customer service is AMAZING. I've had to call a few times and the help is always outstanding.
ConsSetup for the mobile app requires some work on the office end. I wish the setup code didn't change so frequently. I also wish the verification email didn't expire so quickly. I have to constantly resend the verification emails to employees. I'm not a huge fan of the new internet based Time Summit. It doesn't save/update well and I have to click Save a few times and then switch to another employee for it to calculate correctly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2017
Michael B.
President
Construction, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
March 30, 2017

“ExakTime Reivew”

OverallWe have been using the ExakTime system for a number of years. Our old way of keeping time records was having the guys write their daily times on timecards. At the end of our two week payroll, I would have to add up all the hours, which was very time consuming. Besides that, I felt like most of the guys were rounding their times to the next 15 minutes each way in their favor. By using the new system of ExakTime, we have reduced the amount of "fluff" time on each of our employees times. Another huge aspect of this system that we benefit from is for our Time and Material jobs. Its very easy to run a report at the end of the job and tally the exact time we spent on that particular job. I love the new upgrade with having our own website to log onto from any computer, tablet or mobile device. I'd recommend, and have, this software to anyone in the construction field!
ProsEasy to use
ConsThe old system was slow running on my computer.
Source: Capterra
March 30, 2017
Vaibhav M.
Site Inspector
Construction, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 14, 2018

“Review for ExakTime”

OverallIts a great application and it has all good features and hence prevents delays and errors.
Pros1. Its an excellent tool to track time 2. Its quick as it saves lots of time 3.As it provides real time data hence there is no possibility of errors and hence its accurate and reliable 4.Its secured, accurate and easy to use features results in no issues with payments.
Cons1.The use of app draws around 14% of the battery per day 2.To use it one needs to wait until job numbers are set up from office.

Vendor Response

By ExakTime on January 7, 2019
Hello Vaibhav, Thank you for your honest feedback on our system and mobile application. It is good to hear that it has saved you time and work hours when it comes to your payroll.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 14, 2018
Shana H.
Office Manager
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2017

“I love ExakTime, it takes a bit off of my work load!”

OverallNot having to change hours to decimals by myself!
ProsI love viewing the reports, and how each paycheck is already set to our pay period. I also like the field notes area, I wish we could save the field notes, and when they are accidently deleted, to be able to retrieve them some how.
ConsWhen I am creating a location and need to add a cost code that's not already in the system, it is a pain to have to back out of the location and go in to the cost code page, I wish I could add a cost code on the fly while creating a new job location! I would also like to delete and clean up old cost codes I wont use again, instead of just making them inactive.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2017
Avatar Image
Ashley D.
Office Administrator
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 28, 2018

“Easy to use. Basic functions but work well for what my company needs for time tracking purposes. ”

ProsWorks well with many different jobs, job locations, and different cost codes. This software works well on both the admin side and the employee side. It is simple enough for employees to use on their own without much explanation.
ConsThe field reports section could use some work. I love the ability to write field notes, but sometimes there are errors or delayed notes. Also, if the employee doesn't "log in" to a field note correctly you cannot go back and find it once deleted from notes overall section. However, this is not a deal breaker for the product.

Vendor Response

By ExakTime on June 29, 2018
Hi Ashley, It is good to hear that the straightforward approach of our mobile app has made it easy for your employees to use. Thank you for your review, we love to get feedback from our customers!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 28, 2018
Mackenzie S.
Administrative Office Assistant
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
August 23, 2016

“ExakCare Renewal”

OverallI called inquiring an ExakCare Renewal e-mail we had received. Jeremy was very helpful in explaining the prorated amounts per Hornet as well as updating our account information as we have recently moved to a new location.
ProsIt is mostly user-friendly and even when I come across certain components I have trouble with, calling the customer service line usually does the trick!
ConsOnly one thing I've come across where I have a hard time with the software is obtaining original clock-in/clock-out times once they've been edited. This is minimal and we've created a process where there is no need to locate the original times, but an easier way to access the original employee's time card with clock-in/clock-out times would be great!
Recommendations to other buyersIt would also be fantastic if ExakTime was Computerease compatible. Currently, the reports do not transfer from ExakTime to Computerease, so we have to adjust time cards with ExakTime, export the reports to a PDF, e-mail the reports to Accounting so they can manually type in each employee's timecard and run the reports from Computerease.
Source: Capterra
August 23, 2016
Graham B.
Owner - Manager
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: Capterra
May 1, 2017

“It's very easy to log in and see who is where, and what they are doing”

OverallQuickly knowing who is where, and sycning records to QB
ProsThe interface is easy to use. I like the simplicity of adjusting time and making changes. For the most part the user interface is intuitive. The crew seems to like the independence and simplicity. For instance, if someone is picking up at a lumber yard to start the day they can clock in there, rather than waiting til they get the job site and using a hornet. Before they had to beg me to adjust their time...which was hard to remember. Everyone often forgot, but just a quick photo plus the geotracker component and I can see that they were, indeed, at the lumber yard.
ConsThere is a very big con, which is the lag time that occurs when using Linx software to move the Time Summit data into QB. When everything was l hard-drive based this was a seemless interface. Now, with the Linx being hard drive based and the Time being web based I have interminable delays. It's very very frustrating. There are other related problems too, such as before if I checked a box for time, but synced or uploaded to a different company, then the time would not go through. Now, the time goes through and gets put into QB for the wrong company. It's a problem.
Source: Capterra
May 1, 2017
Lisa L.
Secretary
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2017

“Fairly Simple to Use”

OverallOverall, I like the system. I would like to see more versatility in the reports. There are tons of data recorded but not accessible. I would also like to see the data entry screens more compatible with traditional typist skills, specifically not having to take hands off the keyboard to move the cursor with the mouse.
ProsIt's easy to use and offers multiple ways for employees to record their time.
ConsData entry screens require mouse and keyboard use instead of allowing straight keyboard typing.
Recommendations to other buyersI wish changes could be implemented more easily. The submitting and voting seems a bit tedious.
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2017
Jessica C.
Accounts Receivables
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2018

“75% of the time I really enjoy exaktime. The other 25% of the time I have problems with it.”

ProsI really like being able to track hours and records, and run customized reports. I also like that we don't have to bring the clocks in to collect the hours.
ConsThe thing I like least about the software is the updates. Every time it updates, another problem is created. I am not a person who gets frustrated easily, but after years of bad experiences with customer support I tend to get frustrated easily when I have to talk to them. We usually run into problems while doing payroll, and then we have to wait for them to call us back. After they call back I have to spend a couple hours on the phone trying to troubleshoot the problem, at the most inconvenient time. We purchased the software in 2011, and so we know how it works and what reports are available because we have been using the same functions and reports for years. If something breaks and I call in to support I am frequently told that has never been an option and if it was than it was a flaw in the program, or that we have been doing things wrong and we shouldn't be doing our payroll the way we are doing it.

Vendor Response

By ExakTime on June 21, 2018
Hello Jessica, Thank you for giving us your valuable feedback. I am going to be passing it along to our product support teams so that they can work on making improvements based off of your feedback.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2018
Jessica G.
Controller
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2017

“ExakTime provides excellent data, reports, and payroll streamlining.”

ProsI love having the time clocking details on a daily basis with excellent reporting capabilities. Being able to open several windows to simultaneously review the time card, Field Notes, Map Tool, and reports to verify time records is so helpful. I love the interactive maps and color coded icons in the time card details.
ConsThe online system has periods of very slow processing, which can be frustrating and inefficient. I don't often have to call into customer service with a technical question, but when I do, having to wait for technical support to call me back is also an efficiency challenge.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2017
Mike M.
Service Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2018

“we use it for our commercial roofing construction company.”

ProsI like the fact that it allows us the ability to clock in with ether cell phones for our service crews or onsite job clocks for our production crews.
ConsWe struggle with the reporting and separating of the jobs and tasks. our technicians in the service will work on several jobs through out the day and travel between each. our production crews will be on a single project working on several different tasks the difficulty is in getting reports to project managers.

Vendor Response

By ExakTime on June 19, 2018
Hello Mike, Thank you for taking the time to review our services. I am glad that our mobile app has made clocking in easier for your crews.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2018
Kelli F.
Office Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 5, 2018

“Easy way to manage employees, especially in the service industry.”

ProsI like that you can clock in and out anywhere. This helps us tremendously as most of our employees are our in the field. We can also set geofences around locations and see where they are clocking in/out on a map. It also calculates time by the minute, which makes payroll much easier.
ConsThe few times I have had to reach out to customer service-the response is not prompt. Also, it'd be nice if we could purchase one "seat" at a time.

Vendor Response

By ExakTime on June 8, 2018
Hi Kelli, We appreciate your feedback! Glad to hear that you are enjoying the system and that it is helping make your payroll process much easier.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 5, 2018
Rachel J.
Admin
Mining & Metals, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
November 23, 2016

“Best Time Tracking Solution”

OverallI have had the mobile time app for about 2 years now and absolutely love it. Have tried at least 3 other time keeping apps, some are free and some have very minimal cost and those do not compare to ExakTime. I can always get help, its easy to understand and easy for my guys to use. Don't remember how I lived without it!
ProsSimple to use, simple to implement, saves us thousands on each payroll.
ConsI wish it would alert me when people forget to clock in or are approaching overtime
Recommendations to other buyersPaper time cards are not the way to go
Source: Capterra
November 23, 2016
Sloan S.
Project Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 12, 2018

“Exaktime does what it says on the box and more”

Pros+ Extremely granular time-tracking capabilities with the required hardware + Excel- and PDF-based reporting
Cons- Requires some customization to integrate with existing systems - Excel reports are slightly clunky because of "stylized" formatting

Vendor Response

By ExakTime on July 13, 2018
Hello Sloan, Thank you very much for your review, it is greatly appreciated. It is always nice to hear that we are able to make time tracking and reporting a much easier process.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 12, 2018
Scott D.
Vice President
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2018

“Easy to use and very intuitive. Highly recommend to anyone.”

ProsEasy to use...user friendly. Anyone can navigate through the software to all the different available options without having to go through a tutorial or manual. Also, the customer service is top notch (not that we've needed much).
ConsSo far I haven't notice anything that's super terrible but one thing I think that can improved upon is the reporting features and options...or should I say not many options. I feel they could offer more reporting options based on all the different types of data that is collected. I'm sure there are many different needs for different companies, so that may be part of the reason why there aren't a ton of reporting options.

Vendor Response

By ExakTime on May 31, 2018
Hello Scott, Thank you very much for your feedback. I'm glad you are enjoying our product. We will submit your feedback to our product teams.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2018
Barbara W.
Office Manager
Construction, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
May 2, 2017

“It provides and easy system to use for our carpenters in the field and the office staff.”

OverallAccurate input of information/time from the carpenters in the field and also the ability to see in real time where and what the carpenters are working on. Plus, the report to enter into payroll computes accurately.
ProsThat all of the reports tally correctly. Not all software does which was an awful surprise to us! sorry
ConsI cannot print a report using Safari but have to switch to Firefox. But, now that we know it is easier.
Source: Capterra
May 2, 2017
Margaret Y.
Office Support
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
June 27, 2016

“Excellent Customer Service”

OverallEvery Time I have needed extra knowledge about using a feature ( pulling reports, time issue..etc ) I received instant response via live chat or a phone call back within minutes.
ProsI have the ability to make changes myself as office support to time cards, locations and add field notes.. The Map Summit feature is wonderful for double checking employee location clock in. QuickBooks and ExakTime work well together.
ConsDoes not have the ability to print field notes with time records.
Recommendations to other buyersCompany listens to needs of its clients and willing to make adjustments to software in future to accommodate.
Source: Capterra
June 27, 2016
Michael A.
IT and Logistic Manager
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 25, 2018

“Awesome system for time keeping.”

OverallThis software helped us save thousand of dollars on labour and with the GPS system we can easily confirm location.
Prosit is very easy to use and lot of functionality. easy to set up and incorporate into our business. Mobile app is very easy to use.
ConsI wish there was a way to add a costing module, such as including a way to allocate a certain number of hours to specific projects.

Vendor Response

By ExakTime on July 26, 2018
Hi Michael, Our goal here at Exaktime is to save people time and money so we are ecstatic to hear we are doing just that for you. Thank you very much for your review.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 25, 2018
Brittany G.
Office Manager
Construction, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 25, 2018

“Experience with ExakTime has been good. ”

OverallEase of use, real time data transferring, customization options.
ProsI like the easy use, and that it requires no extra costly machinery. Easy to teach others to use etc.
ConsThere are some features that I would hope to become available. Specifically in the ExakTime mobile app, we hope to see a function that allows employees to view their own time cards.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 25, 2018
Sandi M.
CFO
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 24, 2018

“Incredibly easy to use and access.”

ProsIts really easy to capture in the office and on mobile units out in the field. The GPS racking is also a great feature
ConsThe new cloud base is limiting to 10 active employees, and as we use temporary labor, I keep having to deactivate employees. Also the original(pre cloud) actually worked better with certain functions
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 24, 2018
Sean R.
Business Liaison
Real Estate, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 24, 2018

“Great product that does exactly what we need it to do. ”

OverallOur time reporting for our independent contractors has become much more efficient and time wasted/overspending has decreased.
ProsEase of installation and reporting capabilities. English to Spanish translation is a huge pro for our business.
ConsProbably not an Exaktime thing, but GPS function is not always in sync when tracking on a daily basis.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 24, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Construction, Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2018

“We use ExakTime for our time sheets”

OverallOnce payroll has a handle on the software and has faith in the software. It does make payroll faster to process.
ProsIt integrates with QuickBooks. The reports that we use are vital to billing our clients since they are billed on a time and material basis. The ability to go back and look at individuals time sheets makes it easy to research any ones time worked.
ConsThere is a learning curve. It is not an easy process for individuals that are not computer literate. They do have good support staff.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2018
Richard S.
CFO
Construction, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 25, 2018

“Perfect software for our construction company. Saves us a lot of money!”

ProsTime theft, intentional or unintentional, is extremely costly. Using ExakTime virtually eliminates this cost for us. Plus we can get real time updates as to where our labor is.
ConsThe older "desktop" version has become a little clunky. But the new web-based version looks very good.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 25, 2018
Avatar Image
Ruby C.
HR Liasion
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 24, 2018

“Life changer!”

OverallWe used to get hundreds of time cards a week and now I audit and track my guys through this software, I can not recommend it enough!
ProsThe instant access to the guys time and location. and the maps on the sitehub are a life saver! no more printing 50 maps every morning!
ConsReport sorting. there are only predefined sorting options I would like to be able to sort by any field I want. I get around it by downloading them into excel however it would be nice not to have to do that.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 24, 2018
Teresa S.
Administrative Assistant/Project Coordinator
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 28, 2018

“My experience has been great with this software ”

ProsIt takes the guesswork out of where the employees actually are and makes completing payroll so much easier!
ConsThe software runs very slow. I was told that it runs slow because it is a web based software. This is really the only complaint I have about this software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 28, 2018
Shelly G.
Office Manager
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 24, 2018

“Tech support is always there for support”

OverallEase of doing payroll without having to manually calculate pay for 75-80 people
ProsIt's very easy to learn, my field foreman use it and it's easy for them. My superintendent likes it since he can see where his guys are. We need to learn how to use the last feature we were sent
ConsI wish when I printed the weekly payroll report it would show notes, like "called in sick", or some kind of note that alerts me my job address is incorrect, etc....
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 24, 2018
Kathy M.
Executive Assistant
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
June 24, 2016

“Good Service”

OverallI was purchasing additional licenses from Joe Haro who was very helpful with providing the necessary information so we could make our decision. I called back to place my order and Joe was gone for the day. Jeremy Bautista helped me finish the purchase. He provided excellent service and made this transaction go smoothly. Thank you Jeremy!
Prossaves time
Consnot sure
Source: Capterra
June 24, 2016
Geof J.
Not entered
Construction, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Features
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
3/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 25, 2019

“Review by a user and not a company”

ProsIt does help keep track of time and automate time date collection
ConsIt is clunky and slow. When you start to enter time it sits through a "receiving" process that can take several minutes while you wait for it to be ready for you. When task switching it sometimes does the same. There should be an option to turn off time for a task other than exiting out completely or using the meal break - sometimes you need to stop timekeeping for a period. I end up using the meal break several times a day for this which ends up showing excessive breaks but it is better than exiting out completely each time. At the end of the day as a user the app slows me down and can be quite aggravating.

Vendor Response

By ExakTime on May 3, 2019
Hello Geof, We appreciate your honest feedback and are glad that it has helped keep better track of your employees time. If you'd like some assistance in perhaps making some systems changes to how you reflect meal breaks within the system to possibly speed up your process, please give us a call at 888-788-8463 so that we can have one of our techs assist you. We tried pulling up your account information using your name but could not find you as an active customer in our system and we would like to assist you with this. Thank you again for your feedback.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 25, 2019
Avatar Image
Jorge Y.
Assistant Project Manager
Construction, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 25, 2018

“Excellent time keeping tool.”

OverallPayroll is simplified.
ProsVery easy set up, features are very convenient and precise. Employees enjoy the convenience and payroll becomes a breeze.
ConsNot many bad things about this product, perhaps GPS accuracy can be tweak a bit but I thin k that may have deal with devices being used on as well.

Vendor Response

By ExakTime on June 27, 2018
Hey Jorge! Thanks for the review. We love to hear that our services make payroll a much easier process for people. Glad to hear its become a breeze!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 25, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 27, 2018

“Overall, very happy”

OverallEach employee is in full control of their own hours- no more blaming managements, or their foreman.
ProsAll of the features in the program itself are great. We like the geo-fence a lot for tracking where guys punch, and the selfie is great for accountability.
ConsThe software patches are glitch-y at times- as is the case with most patches. We have had issues almost every other month with some portion of the patch
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 27, 2018
Kimberly D.
account manager
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2017

“All 3 of our companies use ExakTime”

OverallWe find ExakTime easy to use and affordable. All 3 of our companies now use it. We find that ExakTime pays for it self plus more. We are super pleased with it.
ProsEasy to use, know the location of my employees and if they are really at the site or half way home.
Consnothing i would change
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2017
CYNTHIA L.
VICE-PRESIDENT
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
November 16, 2016

“ExakTime is a great product!”

OverallExaktime has always been there for me. They understand small companies just as they do large companies coping with employee time worked. Love it!
ProsThere is no argument with your keying your own time.
ConsMaybe the time change. Used to be a problem. Know how to fix that now.
Recommendations to other buyersNo comment.
Source: Capterra
November 16, 2016
Elizabeth C.
Admin. Assistant
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 6, 2019

“Pros & Cons on virtual Time Clock”

OverallWe are still in a learning phase on this program so it's hard to give an comprehensive review
ProsApp is easy to download, setup and use. I like that you can see at a glance all the job locations and where the employees are clocked in at any given time.
ConsI don't like that the employees can force close the app which dismantles the option for geotracking. Also, not everyone remembers to log out at the end of the day. I would like to see a pop-up reminder after they clock out to do this.

Vendor Response

By ExakTime on September 10, 2019
Hello Elizabeth, Thank you very much for your honest review. We like to hear that the app is easy to use so that employees are not spending a majority of their day trying to figure out how to clock in. While a pop up reminder is not an available option at this time, we'd love to have one of our techs go over the best ways to review the time records so that you can be made aware when an employee has forgotten to clock out. Feel free to give us a call at 888-788-8463 so that we can have a tech assist you.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 6, 2019
Justin L.
President
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
May 2, 2017

“Easy to use, accurate time clock”

OverallGreat time clock management and reports. Easy to use for the field guys.
ProsAccurate GPS time punches on an individual employee or group of employees. Ability to separate by job code and location
ConsNeeds to integrate with Procore. The user interface should update more frequently on users phones. (when we create a new job it does not appear on the employees time clock for a day or two unless they manually update.
Source: Capterra
May 2, 2017
James S.
Systems Admin
Telecommunications, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
June 29, 2016

“Excellence in Support”

OverallI was very happy to see a technician take ownership of this task I had of migrating the software off a pc and putting it on a server. The person was professional and proficient.
ProsIt's supported excellently and work exceedingly well.
Recommendations to other buyersGet it if you need a quality product to track your work crews.
Source: Capterra
June 29, 2016
Dana T.
Foreman
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 8, 2019

“Easy use ”

OverallThis is good for people to keep track of where employees are and to ensure that they are at work when they say they are
ProsI love how easy it is to use and sign i n and out of
ConsSometimes looses sync have to resync but its very simple and easy to fix. Haven't had any other problems

Vendor Response

By ExakTime on January 9, 2019
Hi Dana, We would like to thank you for your feedback and honesty. The overall goal of our system has always been to save you as the business owner time and money and to hear that it is accomplishing that feat is wonderful! Glad to hear we could help make your work day easier. Thank you again!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 8, 2019
Justin N.
Admin
Construction, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 12, 2018

“Simple, intuitive time tracking option”

OverallWe tried it for a month, but it did not offer any functionality above our existing application that our guys are already trained to use.
ProsExakTime is a simple, intuitive time tracking app. It is easy enough for our plumbers to use in the field. It allows for a single touch of a button to clock them in and out. The user interface is clean and modern. This is the best UI that I have seen in the market. Taking a picture of the person clocking in allows for validation that the employee is the one clocking in. This is great!
ConsIt is not much different than other time tracking software.

Vendor Response

By ExakTime on December 13, 2018
Justin, We appreciate you honest feedback. The simplicity of our mobile app was really designed to make the employees' work day much easier so we are always happy to hear that it is being accomplished. Your feedback shows us that our app and the Facefront feature are working as they were intended so we'd like to thank you again for your feedback.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 12, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 27, 2018

“Track time, save time!”

OverallExakTime has saved us an entire day each week when approving timecards and processing payroll.
ProsThe ability to quickly add new locations for employees to clock in to. The mobile application's ease of use. I love the ability to sort reports by employee, location, cost code and time frame.
ConsEmployees cannot see their hours accrued for each pay period. This has been a common complaint in our organization.

Vendor Response

By ExakTime on November 30, 2018
Hello, Thank you for your valued feedback! We always to like to hear how our mobile app is making the lives of our customers much easier. You can have your employees view their total hours worked by giving them limited access to the Exaktime Connect site. If youd like some assistance in getting that set up, please give us a call at 888-788-8463. Thank you again!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 27, 2018
Jake C.
pm
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
1/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 1, 2018

“This app doesn't do much -causes alot of additional work later for me and the office. No integration”

OverallNot much other than it gave us something else to use besides paper of excel. Not really happy with the product or their approach to helping customers. Seems like a take it or shake it approach with them on support and product enhancements. Sales guy was all pressure and daily hammering on the phone until we bought, then crickets.
ProsIts half a step better than paper. I like that they have mobile apps but they don't have much useful data other than punches.
ConsNo accounting or payroll integration. Data dump only. They like to do the sell and run. Never heard from the sales guy again and can't get real help from support.

Vendor Response

By ExakTime on March 8, 2018
Hi Jake, We have tried to locate you and the company listed in your review and don't see either as a customer or user. Our mission is to help our customers save time and money every day while using our system. Please give us a call @ 888-788-8463 at your earliest convenience so we can help you get setup properly. Best regards, ExakTime
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 1, 2018
Tiena b.
Office Administration Manager
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: Capterra
May 1, 2017

“great program once all got on board”

Overallit is cost effective and payroll is easier to process.
ProsI can process payroll easily and I know where exactly my guys are working. Time sheets are easy to read and job breakdown is more accurate.
ConsSoftware will not connect properly with my simply accounting software and there is no one in customer support that is trained to fix my issues.
Source: Capterra
May 1, 2017
paul k.
owner
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 21, 2018

“horrendous ”

Overallnone
Prosworst customer service would not recommend them for anything -product cannot be used after set date until over inflated fee for non existent maintenance is paid -
ConsWe had purchased product for 5 years apon Exact time upgrading system and the day before our payroll we were locked out of our time clock employees time data therefore blackmailing us to pay annually fee of 4000 dollars to retrieve It Worst customer service ever

Vendor Response

By ExakTime on April 20, 2018
We are very sorry that you are having a bad experience working with us. Our customers¿ satisfaction and success is always our number one goal. Looking into your problem, we can see that your computer crashed, affecting your ExakTime system and other programs and preventing you from processing payroll. At the time your system crashed you were not covered under a support agreement; however, we recovered your data and upgraded your system (at a discounted rate) to our new cloud-based solution, which includes many new helpful features and unlimited support. We have reached out to you several times to provide training, but all of our calls have gone unanswered. We ask that you please contact us at your earliest convenience so we can work through this problem. Your company¿s success with using our system is a top priority.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 21, 2018
Leah Q.
Office Manager
Construction, Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2017

“Great product”

OverallTracking time and locations of the employees
ProsMakes on the go employees time simple to track, love knowing who is clocked in when and where at the click of a button.
ConsNavigation online can be a little complicated, but the support team is always there to lend a hand when needed.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2017
Jen G.
Manager
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2017

“Has improved our time cards efficiencies greatly.”

ProsThe reporting features are very helpful in job costing. The mobile app is also very user friendly for our crews.
ConsSometimes the transfer from the Exaktime software to our payroll system can be a bit confusing, but we usually seem to work out the kinks.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2017
Joshua A.
Project Manager
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
March 29, 2017

“Accountability”

OverallWe have 20 employees and being a subcontractor, we have various jobs and our employees go from job to job without a solid location. As an employer, we cannot "babysit" every job site 24/7. Exaktime has forced our employees to be more honest about there clock in and out time. Saving us A LOT of money in payroll.
ProsLayout and Geofencing
Source: Capterra
March 29, 2017
Lisa H.
HR
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2017

“Great customer service and easy to start.”

OverallNo more time theft.
ProsIt is easy to navigate. Ease of setting up jobs and employees. Employees don't have difficulty learning the app.
ConsReports. Wish they offered more reports. Need a feature where you can message more than one employee at a time.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2017
David L.
Owner
Construction, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
March 29, 2017

“Overall very good for small biz”

OverallFrom set up to use in the field i have not come across another program as cost effective. By hand really took to much time, didnt realize it until using Exactime.
Prosease of use for employees and payroll dept.
Conswould like to see quickbooks integration a little more cost effective.
Source: Capterra
March 29, 2017