Instrumental Ratings

Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5

About Instrumental

Instrumental is the monitoring platform of choice for high-scale applications. Every second, over a million datapoints are processed by Instrumental. Pricing is based on metrics, not volume or servers. The combination of scale, pricing flexibility, and customization allows teams to setup monitoring solutions to fit any budget. Every Instrumental account includes real-time visualization, intelligent alerts, and automated full-stack metric collection. Learn more about Instrumental

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 10 of 10 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 10 of 10 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Ralph R.
Director of IT & DevOps
Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 6, 2018

“Good software, good company”

OverallInstrumental made it easy for us to get simple metric collection implemented without running something like Graphite in our own infrastructure or turning to expensive contracts with a service like New Relic.
ProsInstrumental is a very low-drama tool. It's focused on gathering metrics, making graphs and dashboards, and doing some simple alerting, and it does those things well. We use it to collect metrics at both the OS level and the application level. When all of that information is in the same system, it's far easier for us to correlate causes and effects in ways that would require multiple open tabs in other systems like New Relic. I hate "Contact sales for pricing" links when I'm evaluating new additions to our tech stack, so I appreciate their simple, straightforward pricing model. Their team is also pleasantly proactive and available. At one point they contacted us because our number of metrics had grown, and they wanted to make sure it was intentional. Other times, I've been able to have a quick chat with them about a desired feature or a library question, and it's easy to tell that you're talking with the person who wrote the actual code.
ConsI can't think of any real negatives. They don't have libraries for every language, but they hit the major items I've needed. In the one case where I had to write some code myself that called their API, their documentation made it very low fuss.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 6, 2018
Dan M.
CTO
Restaurants, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 25, 2017

“High level system health with the ability to drill down into specifics.”

OverallV
ProsIt is very easy to get everybody who needs access to it up and running at our company. We use Instrumental as a real time health dashboard of our physical locations as well as monitoring all aspects of our production system. I love the flexibility that it offers over other similar tools. I never worry about it not being available and it has been a very solid product.
ConsI'd really like the ability to clone graph groups, this would really help us set up new locations easier.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 25, 2017
Avatar Image
Chuck B.
Principal Software Engineer
Computer Games, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2018

“Great solution for custom instrumentation/metrics.”

OverallTons of custom metrics, with fast & easy graphing of same in up-to-the-minute dashboards. Could use a couple features, though the support is amazing and they're actively working on many of our requests.
ProsOur application is instrumented with tens of thousands of custom metrics. Instrumental ingests and charts them all with ease! Our graphs are crucial to the daily operation of our service, and we've trusted them to Instrumental for years. Way more pleasant than Grafana.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2018
Avatar Image
Gabriele R.
Senior Software Engineer
Internet, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 7, 2017

“Powerful and reliable system monitoring”

ProsInstrumental is easy and fast to implement. The dashboards allow to monitor the health on the system in one view. The querying language is very powerful and flexible. I can create customized alerts for system critical metrics. The documentation is clear and detailed. Outstanding customer service.
ConsThe user and project settings are very simple and could use a little polish. Other than that I have no complaints.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 7, 2017
Avatar Image
Steve G.
Senior Developer
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 19, 2017

“Instrumental is easy to setup and use, while providing powerful, actionable metrics about your app.”

OverallInstrumental gives you the ability to track pretty much anything your app can do: how often it happens, how long it takes, trends over time, with alerts when unexpected things happen. In addition to these custom metrics, the instrumental_agent library gives you a rock-solid foundation of commonly-used, actionable metrics right from the get-go.
ProsThe flexibility! Instrumental gives you the ability to track pretty much anything your app can do: how often it happens, how long it takes, trends over time, with alerts when unexpected things happen. In addition to these custom metrics, the instrumental_agent library gives you a rock-solid foundation of commonly-used, actionable metrics right from the get-go.
ConsWhile the core functionality of the Instrumental web app is extremely user-friendly, some ancillary tasks like user management (especially with lots of users) aren't as simple as I'd love to see eventually.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 19, 2017
Christopher P.
Director of Data Science
Food & Beverages, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 12, 2018

“I use Instrumental to get a quick view of how our system is performing on a given day.”

OverallEasiest way for me to quickly answer questions about what is going on in our remote locations.
Pros So easy to set up. It is simple, which is a good thing. I can quickly create graphs that answer questions in real time. Before any company-wide meeting where we discuss how our kitchens are performing, I am always taking a quick look at a few instrumental graphs.
ConsWhen you increase the time period in scope, you lose some granularity. It would be nice to more quickly clone graphs.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 12, 2018
Pranav P.
Senior Software Engineer
Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2018

“Easy, Effective and Elegant”

OverallIt really helps determining the usage of our new features and help demo the internal not visible changes to the product owner by showing the dashboards and metrics.
ProsEasy to use and plug in new metrics - pretty nice grouping you can do on the app itself. Adding new metrics is just a line of code and a new graph. Also ease of grouping metrics by different time window is awesome feature.
ConsNever used pie charts but having an option to choose different type of graphs would be awesome to have.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2018
Avatar Image
John B.
Director Of Engineering
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 9, 2018

“Awesome and quick value-add, wonderful team”

OverallInsights into the performance of every corner of our own SaaS.
ProsThe software itself gets everything done we need. The support team ensures that we get that realized in our implementation. All of it is for a fraction the cost of competitors.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 9, 2018
Avatar Image
Ray A.
CEO
Computer Networking, Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 6, 2018

“instrumental is a great and reliable ”

ProsI move from NewRelic to instrumental and i found it easy to use. Send notification and SMS messages.
ConsIs hard to set it up for windows computers. But the official version is not released. You may need to make some changes manually
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 6, 2018
Leo A.
Director of Product Development
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2018

“Good tool for basic monitoring”

ProsEasy to integrate and use. Provides simple way to view critical metric info. Flexible for multiple platforms and technologies.
ConsLacking ability for some of the more complex average based monitoring and multiple condition compare. Unannounced changes in the API implementation have caused monitoring gaps.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2018