AlumNet Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5

About AlumNet

AlumNet is a cloud solution that does everything from e-mail, sms, calendars, announcements, arranging reunions ,sharing documents, photos, videos and an online shop etc. It furthermore allows your members to network amongst each other and update their own contact information through a phone-friendly online interface. Learn more about AlumNet

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 21 of 21 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 21 of 21 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Verified Reviewer
Non-Profit Organization Management, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 29, 2019

“Software to Manage our members”

OverallVery well thought of software to make our lives as Admin a lot easier. Event ticket sales is also going to make the Annual Conference management easier for the host of the year.
ProsSo much, but the following stand out for me: Advanced Grouping and Communications. Event and Ticket Sales Management, with Online Auction built in. Communication via Email, SMS and PushNotifications.
ConsNothing that I can think of now. Hope to soon see the new Voting in the system, that would make Surveys for the office and the committee a breeze to get info. Go Team AlumNet !

Vendor Response

By SilverSky on April 2, 2019
Thanks for the positive feedback. We want to keep improving and thanks to clients like yourself and your input, we keep on growing the product to everyone's benefit. Regards V
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 29, 2019
Elza V.
PRO / Office Manager
Public Relations and Communications, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2018

“Most recommendable program”

OverallFriendly and efficient staff. Fairly quick on-line shopping but unfortunately transaction cost a bit high and 30 days+ waiting time to receive fees.
ProsQuick & easy access to profiles. Quick & easy maintaining info on profiles User friendly
ConsAllignment of e-mails Program "hangs" from time to time

Vendor Response

By SilverSky on September 11, 2018
Thanks Elza, for the review. Our new Email editor is already in testing and should be rolled out in October. The Online Shopping cost is as Low as we can get it now, but the Additional feature to get the Admin fee sponsored by the Buyer, reduces the fee significantly. We will keep on looking at reducing costs in the shop where we can. You are also able to get monies from the Shop after 5 days of the transaction, if you didn't know, or on the Monthly bases we currently operate on. Regards V
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2018
Marieta v.
Office Manager
11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2016

“Grey 't Experience”

OverallFrom the admin side, we find the system very efficient, user friendly and a necessity for any organization who want to manage a database. We experience that members do not use the network as they should. Still a lack of communication within the network.
ProsThe advance search options - not always necessary to open the network to search eg a town, specific occupation or industry. Very user friendly.
ConsNot to have the option to attach something to e-mails. The link given to open, when sent via the media, cannot be opened by a number of members.
Recommendations to other buyersWe would like to have a comment option to add additional info about the member eg. Left school in Gr 10. Maybe replace company name with comment. Only headings of announcements must appear on e-mails. We experience that members do not open the link to view the articles or photos. Maybe a link to view online shopping directly without having to sign in - to give anyone the opportunity to shop on line. The option to send an automatic receipt SMS to a member when payment is done
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2016
Maryna D.
Public Relations Officer
International Affairs, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2018

“Make the circle bigger ”

OverallThis user friendly system enables us to maintain our members. With all the new features on its way we will be able to connect members with one another and broaden some of their horizons as well. Mentoring young members is something to look forward to.
ProsThe fact that we can find and add more members to our alumni everyday. This enable us to keep the school and members in touch with one another.
ConsTo date I have not found any dislikes unfortunately.

Vendor Response

By SilverSky on September 6, 2018
Thank you Maryna, for your review. It is clients like you that gives us feedback and request new features, which keeps us relevant and on top of our game. V
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2018
Andre R.
Manager
Education Management, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2018

“Rondebosch Old Boys”

OverallGeneral pleasant experience, good service (also very prompt).
ProsEasy of use. In the cloud. Semi-automatic weekly email. Extraction of data.
ConsDifficulty on formatting ad-hoc emails The formatting if the weekly email is not great (mine is received all in Times New Roman and all in one para per item)

Vendor Response

By SilverSky on September 11, 2018
Thanks Andre for the feedback. We have planned development for the Customized Weekly Mails in the Fourth Quarter 2018. Thanks for your feedback. Regards V
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2018
Annaleen M.
Administrator: Development Office
Education Management, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
May 12, 2017

“Wonderful product for our specific needs with wonderful people behind the scenes.”

ProsThe fast and friendly service. Constant development and change. Specific for our needs as an alumni association. Ability of members to interactively update their details.
ConsNot yet able to link family members within the system. Portal update newsletters do not include the pictures.
Source: Capterra
May 12, 2017
Annaleen M.
Office Administrator
Education Management, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 6, 2018

“Alumnet Software”

OverallGreat!
ProsContinual upgrades and changes to adapt.
ConsCross referencing families and contacts.

Vendor Response

By SilverSky on September 7, 2018
Thanks Annaleen. The family tree is in the development schedule for the 4th quarter of 2018. Hope to grow the product even more, with great input like yours. V
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 6, 2018
Botha W.
Administrator
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
May 5, 2017

“Effortless and very effective!!”

ProsThe fact you can "group" your individuals in certain lists and/or categories which make it so much easier when you want to target a specific group, class or demographic via email or sms.
Source: Capterra
May 5, 2017
Grant L.
President - Alumni
Non-Profit Organization Management, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 7, 2018

“Meeting the needs of running a Alumni Association”

OverallHas really taken our piecemeal system/s and managed to bring some functionality that was sorely lacking over many years. We have also been given some functionality that the experiences of other alumni have allowed us to jump the curve so to speak
ProsWas designed specifically with an Alumni in mind
ConsChanges and suggestions can take a while to get approved and implemented

Vendor Response

By SilverSky on September 10, 2018
Thanks Grant for your feedback. We will look at making the Request process and delivery of that more transparent to all Clients. Thanks you for you and your alumni's input in making the software as great as it is already. Regards V
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 7, 2018
Grant L.
Exec member
Education Management, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
May 5, 2017

“A useful tool - but is cumbersome to customise for specific school/alumni needs”

OverallGetting a single database of members
ProsInterface direct for community - new look customisation for MCOBA is a great addition. Some of the stats are easy to pull -
ConsCumbersome to get specific customisation for our needs - or to amend current layout or add additional fields. Need central support - some more statistics and analyitics would be great (e.g payments, numbers of members per months - seasonality etc.
Source: Capterra
May 5, 2017
Candice H.
PR and Marketing Manager
51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2016

“Software Review”

OverallI enjoy working with this system, it is easy to use and to understand and the support is great! Very few technical issues too.
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2016
Joanie v.
Traliebond Administrator
Education Management, Self-employed
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 7, 2018

“AlumNet Review”

Overallwe have no complaints with regards to AlumNet. It is a great tool and an absolute must for any organisation that requires the support of their alumni to function. the only suggestion we have is maybe for AlumNet to provide a short media file/video clip for organisations to use as promotional tool for alumni to buy into the registration process. We are relying on alumni to register themselves as our data basis is not effective to upload ourselves. we have come to realize that people are hesitant, without knowing what it's about.
ProsIt allows multiple facets of one organisation to be a part of the system. E.g alumni can connect with current parents.
ConsThis is just a personal observation, as we are new to the software and need more time to learn our way around some functions.

Vendor Response

By SilverSky on September 10, 2018
Thanks Joanie for your feedback. I will get our Team to see how they can get a Video together to assist and attract more Alumni to your database. Regards V
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 7, 2018
Nicola d.
Vice chairlady, Old Girls Association
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
May 8, 2017

“I've had a great experience from the beginning, our data integrity seems to have held.”

OverallIt has given us more power to manage our database - we originally ran the database through the school, now the alumni has more control and we don't have to wait in a queue to send comms.
ProsEasy to use. System is always up. Lots of Functionality. Ability to generate income through selling advertising space. Refer a friend capability. Only minor glitches on importing data - all resolved.
ConsCan't create event-specific outgoing email templates. It might be nice to include a accept/decline button on event invites that populates a spreadsheet with responses. It might be nice to be able to track hard/soft email bounces without having to sift through each and every bounced email manually.

Vendor Response

By SilverSky on May 8, 2017
Hi Nicola Thanks for your feedback. I will add your E-Mail Templates suggestion to our development schedule. Kind Regards Vivien
Source: Capterra
May 8, 2017
Carmen N.
Marketing Manager
Education Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
May 5, 2017

“A powerful tool to connect with your Alumni”

OverallBetter management of data
ProsI think it is wonderful that Past Pupils can update their own information. It is also great to see which communications have been sent to them. We have not yet used the billing function, but this is a very useful function.
ConsAll the failed/undelivered messages in my inbox after sending an email to the entire database. I just have not had time to go back to each one and remove the incorrect email addresses.
Source: Capterra
May 5, 2017
Sianca M.
Primary School Librarian and Almni Co-ordinator
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Source: Capterra
May 5, 2017

“User friendly, easy to navigate, queries addressed with ease ”

ProsIt is relatively easy to use and navigate. The calendar and announcements are easy to upload and edit and there are no unnecessary delays in posting and the switch between Dashboard and admin just made life easier
ConsThis software program does not allow me to upload PDF files and it is frustraring to keep changing over to JPG when you're in a hurry

Vendor Response

By SilverSky on September 5, 2018
Hi Sianca, Thanks for the feedback. Please could we arrange a Online training session to address your PDF issue, as PDF's are allowed to be imported and shared with AlumNet. Regards Vivien
Source: Capterra
May 5, 2017
Avatar Image
Andrew C.
Independent Financial Advisor
Financial Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2018

“Andrew Clayton review of Alumnet”

OverallFantastic for communication, event scheduling and store of single data base of old boys
ProsWell priced Excellent functionality Excellent service from Hennie and team
ConsDigital user experience could be more friendly

Vendor Response

By SilverSky on September 6, 2018
Thanks for the review Andrew. I am glad you like the Features/Functionality we already have. Please advise how we can get a higher rating on the "Value for Money" section, please.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2018
Geila W.
Marketing & PR
Education Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 25, 2017

“Could not get my password accepted, but the personal telephonic backup service was fantastic”

OverallIt took 2 1/2 years to convince the relevant parties that this was a solution to many challenges that we faced with 2 different Excel spreadsheets, that were out of date and data did not correspond. Still learning about the Software, but can see it's potential for communicating with our Alumni.
ProsEasy to use the site and visually appealing. Clear and concise structure. Documents and photographs can be shared.
ConsCouldn't find the save button - too small. Also was not looking for a 'disc'. Maybe that needs to change and a different symbol/button used that is bigger

Vendor Response

By SilverSky on October 26, 2017
Thanks Geila. We will be in touch to see how we can address the items listed in "Cons".
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 25, 2017
Jenni G.
Old Boys Association Secretary
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
June 2, 2016

“On the whole, the system is user-friendly and easy to use.”

Overall* The support from the Silver Sky team is wonderful. * Upgrades and technical 'down time' should be scheduled to take place in the afternoons or evenings whenever possible as schools are mostly busy with their systems during morning office hours. * The process of extracting and creating lists can be tricky and cumbersome. * Our members really enjoy receiving birthday sms messages! * The system is improving communication with our community tremendously.
Source: Capterra
June 2, 2016
Derron v.
Old Boys Ass/Events/Marketing
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
June 2, 2016

“AMAZING”

OverallThe package is user friendly and quite frankly just amazing. After sale service is excellent.
Source: Capterra
June 2, 2016
Maryna d.
Public Relations Officer
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
June 2, 2016

“Very user friendly”

OverallAlthough correct spelling of names are important, the rest of the communication is effortless.
Source: Capterra
June 2, 2016
Johnetha L.
Database Coordinator
Higher Education, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 11, 2018

“Recommended”

ProsVery user friendly and it's easy to update and create a profile. It's also very easy to find and grow our alumni database.
ConsI have no immediate cons about this product.

Vendor Response

By SilverSky on January 17, 2019
Hi Johnetha Thanks for the time to review our product. Please let me know if you need any assistance. Regards V
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 11, 2018