Intercept X Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4/5

About Intercept X

Enables you to detect and block malware providing real-time threat intelligence and complete web, device, and data control. Learn more about Intercept X

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 159 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 159 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Avatar Image
Daniel C.
Managing Partner
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 13, 2019

“Number One and Smartest Solution”

OverallBest solution that you can even sell over other AVs as an add on even if they are on a current contract.
ProsIt is the best software I have found for COMPLETE ransomware protection.
ConsPrice for Endpoint, Intercept X and EDR all adds up fast and can scare clients.

Vendor Response

By Sophos on August 16, 2019
Glad to hear you've been having success with Intercept X. Thanks for the review!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 13, 2019
Avatar Image
Steven M.
Operations Support Specialist
Financial Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 11, 2019

“Easy to deploy inclusive protection”

OverallThe software was very easy to install and configure. We have not had any issues with viruses or malware. We also have not had anything flagged by other solutions we have tested alongside Intercept X.
ProsFor such a sophisticated software approach it was surprising how low a footprint Intercept X was on our computers and networks.
ConsThe concept of non-database driven antivirus/antispyware solutions takes some time to wrap your (and others) heads around, but once you look into the process it is quite impressive.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 11, 2019
Michael R.
VP of Global IT
Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 12, 2019

“Easy to implement and manage. Great for SMB”

OverallAs a SMB with a small IT team supporting a midsize organization. We are partial to products that are quick to deploy and requires little day to day maintenance. However we also take security seriously and required a product we could trust to do so. We selected the Sophos cloud product from the Sophos Endpoint Security. It had a quick learning curve and deployment time was minimal. We've also had consistently positive feedback from our users. The alerts are meaningful and we've been able to apply policy based rules on all our users, having a complete adoption. This is a great product for SMB, however larger organisations may require more customization and should be sure to test this product proper prior to selection to see if it suits their specific needs.
ProsGreat cloud based product, with an easy and intuitive management interface. Was very fast to deploy the clients and setup policies. Integrates with other Sophos products in the management interface, making it easy to manage all your security solutions one place. Great price point compared to features and functionality. Low resource footprint on most workstations.
ConsSophos isn't consistent with which identity solution they support. Some requiring Azure AD and others on-premise AD. To solve this, you need to split the Sophos products over two web management interfaces, which isn't smart or intuitive. Sophos support can sometimes be a bit slow getting back to you, but seems to be improving. Features are super easy to implement, but it sometimes comes at the cost of transparency.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 12, 2019
Avatar Image
Adam P.
IT Manager
Legal Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 23, 2018

“Solid Virus / Malware Protection. We love the cloud interface. ”

OverallSaved money and improved our system security.
ProsWe have been using Sophos Endpoint Protection for about 2 years now and we love it. The best part is the ability to control our Virus protection settings from a central webpage. We use it for more than virus protection we also use it to limit our corporate users internet access. The feature we love it the ability to select categories (Violence, Drinking, Entertainment) This added an additional layer of security. The dashboard is great it gives us a quick look at the status of our devices. We know that all of our end users and servers are protected. We have enabled email noticications so we will get an alert that there is an Issue that IT needs to look into . Tha best part is the license is per user not machine. So some of our IT guys have 2-3 computers that all are protected with out the cost of additinoal licenses.
ConsVery few Cons sometimes you have to dig a little to get to a setting in the cloud console. Also, the support is generally a long wait and the first tier isn't very knowledgeable. Luckily we don't call support a lot. I really wish i could buy the product direct and not have to go through a third-party reseller.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 23, 2018
Sameer S.
IT Manager
Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 19, 2019

“Simplified Endpoint Protection”

OverallWe installed to tackle the ransomware issues happening around the world.
ProsIts a very simple application with a cloud based administration portal. We use it along with our XG Firewall which helps to provide a 360 degree secure network. It very active and detects harmful files quickly and sends an email notification to the admin.
ConsNothing as such. The software does the work as described. However to do that it runs several processes.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 19, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Pharmaceuticals, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 4, 2019

“Strong Protection and Centrally Managed Make For A Great Experience”

OverallWe wanted a A/V solution that provided AI and cloud management.
ProsSophos Endpoint has been a great addition to our organization. It makes AV management far simpler than we could have imagined. With a centralized interface, we can manage PC's and deal with any issues with little knowledge to the end user. It integrates wonderfully with our AD and our Sophos XG Firewalls. The protection it provides is fantastic.
ConsOccasionally we do encounter some issues with updates not always reenabling the endpoint. but it's rare and fixed easily. I do wish there was an easy way to push out the installer. Support from Sophos is slow, can be on hold for hours.

Vendor Response

By Sophos on June 6, 2019
Thank you for the review. We're glad to hear that you're finding Sophos Endpoint (and XG Firewall) a good fit for your business!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 4, 2019
Susan I.
IT Director
Legal Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2019

“SOPHOS--My all in one”

OverallSOPHOS provides a very easy to use interface for both their UTM/AV. I am usually in these products once a day if not more. Ran a test Ransomware scenario with a KnowBe4(designed for that) product and SOPHOS immediately isolated the test WS from the network. Everything. It was similar to pulling the network cable. That quick. In fact it took a while to get the WS back online after SOPHOS cleaning. Recommend
ProsSOPHOS is a replacement to several solutions we have used in the past. I am using SOPHOS UTM for my firewall and SOPHOS antivirus as well as using wireless access points/Mail management/et al.. The management of this product is extremely easy to use considering it is a web interface and they have centralized all their products.
ConsSeriously...Probably the cost but overall not so bad considering the licensing and length of years we usually purchase.

Vendor Response

By Sophos on July 18, 2019
We're glad to hear that Synchronized Security is working out well for your organization. Thanks for the review!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2019
Nick S.
Director of IT Services
Primary/Secondary Education, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 15, 2018

“The best endpoint anti-virus money can buy”

OverallI have been a Sophos customer since 1997, but I check and compare them every couple of years. The price for what you get is great and the features you get are first class and award winning. InterceptX is probably the best endpoint security tool I have!
ProsConistantly comes top in all anti-virus tests - detects more than competitor products Sophos Intercept X anti-ransomware is a God-send and will role back any zero-day encryption attacks Sophos Sandstorm allows checking of attachments in a cloud-based virtual environment in Sophos labs to test each unseen attachment. Sophos Central makes admin so much easier Being able to block non-encrypted USB sticks and other peripherals is a nice feature.
ConsSophos Enterprise admin is a little dated. Sophos Central admin is much easier and nicer Sophos Central doesn't tie up with Sophos SG Next Gen Firewall, but it does play nicely with the newer Sophos XG.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 15, 2018
Andrew M.
I.T. Director
Education Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019

“Great AV solution and effective against Malware ”

OverallWe use it for protecting our servers. It was cost inhibitive for use to use on all workstations.
ProsIt has a proven track record of malware resistance and its forensics or threat analysis is great. It can help narrow down exactly what happened and what files were effectively part of the launch and spread.
ConsThe biggest issue is more the cost for schools and so I am currently only able to deploy it on our Windows serves.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019
Avatar Image
Duraisamy G.
Librarian
Education Management, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 24, 2019

“SOPHOS Firewall”

OverallIts a good software for big organisation to protect the systems and monitor the internet usage. It is worth to buy.
ProsEasy monitoring the client from central server. We are able to set customized download limit to the end users. We could censor the unwanted websites at our campus. Client can check their daily usage limit and use accordingly. Sophos portal is very easy to manage and it can be accessed in remote login also.
ConsThere are some drawbacks in end user point of view. In an organisation the employee will roam around the campus and there are some occasions will happen to login in multiple computers and it is not supported since the admins block multiple logins. Data limit is really embarrassing. Authentication is automatically signed off if the systems is kept idle for sometime. I think Sophos is bit late in updating the databases.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 24, 2019
Avatar Image
David P.
Senior Field Engineer
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 17, 2018

“Our preferred endpoint (and server) protection product”

OverallOverall I am very happy with this product and confident of the protection it provides.
ProsPowerful and feature rich protection product that does not noticeably impact system performance. Support is excellent, once engaged the engineer is staying with you until the issue is resolved. They don't even mind if you add a couple of additional problems into the mix. Includes their Intercept X protection with the advanced version. This is powerful stuff, anti-exploit and ransomware with root cause analysis. The portal to manage it all is easy to use as well. Very happy with this product and recommending it to everyone.
ConsNot the cheapest on the market. The cloud version does not have a push-deployment tool like the old fashioned on-premise version does. But once deployed it is a joy.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 17, 2018
Verified Reviewer
1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 9, 2018

“Sophos, best protection ”

OverallSophos supplies top security with maximum functionality
ProsSophos allows us to protect all the devices on our domain and keep them free from virus'. Sophos comes with a simple installer that can be used on either Windows or Mac OSX, this allows for quick, easy installations so we can quickly configure our devices to ensure less downtime. Sophos allows us to create multiple different profiles depending on the user or department. Once the profiles are configured, the permissions will be applied against the device instantly. We can also approve individual websites or applications, this allows us to keep a close eye on devices across the group whilst ensuring security is tight.
ConsWe have noticed with some hardware, although the are the same model, Sophos seems to block one but not the other. Obviously the hardware differs slightly but Sophos should recognise the model. Due to the number of users we have, this is a constant maintenance task.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 9, 2018
Jim K.
IT
Machinery, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 29, 2019

“Great for granular control”

OverallHave not used Intercept X, but saw a demonstration. It looks like a good product that can isolate an infected computer and allow deep investigations of what where and wehn it happened.
ProsEasy to setup and push out to Endpoints. Love the ease of setting up Web control and application control. Clone the base policy make changes to it and apply it to one computer or all computers and servers. Like the fact you can set application controls as well to allow users to add .exe files or disallow them.
ConsReporting of computers is a little flaky. When a computer updates, it disables certain services which throws an alert. When the service restarts, you have to manually clear the alert.

Vendor Response

By Sophos on August 30, 2019
Glad to hear Sophos Endpoint is working out well for you. We hope you get to use the full Intercept X at some point for the latest & greatest protection.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 29, 2019
Randall H.
Software Engineer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 31, 2018

“Great and reliable antivirus”

ProsNetwork security is very important to my company, and one of the widely used and recommended antivirus programs that users need to have installed in order to remote VPN is Sophos, so that says a lot to me about the reliability of the software. So far I have had no issues and have not been infected by any viruses since using the tool. It seems to be a very robust tool and works to protect my files, downloads, browsers, and network activity. The settings are also easy to change.
ConsThe cloud based configuration is interesting.. Maybe I'm just not used to it, but if one where to have no internet connection then you can't modify settings. But then at the same time, the cloud based settings allow one to globally modify all the clients that are on the account, so I could see that being a powerful feature.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 31, 2018
Marissa S.
Cytology Supervisor
Hospital & Health Care, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 29, 2019

“Secure Your PC Today! ”

ProsThis software keeps us secure and safe. Easy to use. Easy to set up and great at removing threats
ConsYou can experience a slow down in processing while running.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 29, 2019
Mike Lester R.
Systems & Methods Head
Real Estate, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2019

“One of the best security suites”

OverallFingers crossed, I have never experienced a glitch in our security after deploying Sophos to our endpoints. I hope it continues to do so.
ProsWhat I liked about Sophos is the enterprise readiness of the solution to provide an all in one solution for the entire security landscape. It is a very robust and scalable solution for our company and with other companies I know who have deployed the solution. It even has its own Data Leak Protection mechanism.
ConsMaybe the least liked about the software is the resources it eats up, when I have used it on an older machine (laptop). It really bogs down the system to the point there is not much to do while the program is doing its thing.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2019
Matth G.
IT Helpdesk
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 11, 2018

“We haven't had any trouble, I guess Sophos is working? :-)”

ProsThe great thing is our users don't get interfered by working while being fully protected. I think it's nice that we can enable device control. There are a lot of external people coming in and without some overview of what they connect to our devices we would've probably gotten in trouble a lot if it wasn't for Sophos
ConsWe've contacted the customer support a few times and I feel this isn't on par with the security the software gives. We get an exhausting list of things to try to fix the problem but when it doesn't there isn't a real followup.. We end up testing ourselves or finding the fix online.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 11, 2018
Tom Y.
Senior Front-End Developer
Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 23, 2019

“No more Virus”

OverallI have been happy with Sophos and it has been on of the pieces of Anti-Virus software that has required the least maintenance and attention.
ProsIt's great for me as a user. Easy install with a installation package and easy to maintain. I basically don't have to do anything and any update is automatic. I can run the scan manually but it's also done automatically. The ease is perfect and I don't have to use any time within the application. I can ask IT to run the automatic scan at a different time and create a policy for you as the scan do take a lot of cpu.
ConsThe scan is pretty heavy on the machine but you can get around it with policies. I have asked IT to run the scan during lunch. It's working like a charm besides the heavy CPU usage.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 23, 2019
Avatar Image
segun o.
Intern
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 15, 2019

“Very good malware protection software”

OverallThis software provides round the clock security to endpoint devices whilst providing good report generation to the device administrators
ProsIt is a cloud based endpoint protection software which means virus definitions and other major updates are done easily provided internet connections is available. The anti-tamper feature that protects you from ransomware attacks as it prevents file types from being changed. It also provides extensive reporting of the endpoints activities to the administrator on the sophos central and also emails of potential security threats are sent to the endpoint administrator.
ConsI cant think of any problems i have with this software so far my experience has been very good

Vendor Response

By Sophos on June 24, 2019
Glad to hear Sophos Endpoint is working well for you!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 15, 2019
Peter P.
Web Programmer
Publishing, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 26, 2019

“Easy, light weight, watch the updates.”

OverallVery happy, it kept everything running well for over 3 years now.
ProsThis caused little to no interference or slowdowns to the system. No macbook protected by it ever developed an infection.
ConsIt was not usually the scanner that hogged resourced, but its updater. The SophosUpdater consumed the majority of energy, disc read/writes, and bandwidth for every machine. The only incident I had with it slowing a computer down was when we had to backup and move off of a device. Then it insisted on pre-scanning everything that was "tar-balled" dragging a 45 minute operation out to 4 hours and refused to halt or quit that scan.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 26, 2019
Michael Z.
IT Architect
Primary/Secondary Education, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 12, 2018

“Powerful management console for enterprise”

OverallSophos is a giant in the market of enterprise antivirus. Recent years, Microsoft Windows offers free antivirus software with great enterprise management tool. Personally I prefer Microsoft.
ProsIt provides powerful management console for enterprise administrators to deploy agent to workstations, and monitor client status. With simple and clear interface for end user.
ConsThe client agent requires large memory usage, usually at least 1GB. As it has cloud-enabled analysis for unknown websites, client agents will send these website addresses to Sophos server, hence losts of bandwidth is consumed.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 12, 2018
Tim T.
System Administrator
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 7, 2017

“Protects our end-users without interfering with their daily work. Catches more than previous product”

OverallCatches more malware and PUPs than our previous antivirus product by far!
ProsSophos Central's cloud management makes for a much better experience than hosting our own management server internally. Our users get their definition updates from anywhere as long as they have Internet, and the endpoints report back in if they run into any trouble or malware. We know if someone picks up a virus or if their computer stops getting updates or if they call out of configuration compliance through automatic emails from the system, so are able to take corrective action right away.
ConsSince the management server is in the cloud, it cannot do automatic deployments of the software to our endpoints. You either have to install it manually or have software deployment solution from another source. That being said, its command-line installation options are super easy.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 7, 2017
Grant B.
IT Manager
Semiconductors, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
June 8, 2017

“Overall the Sophos Endpoint Protection has been very good.”

OverallFully, cloud-based administration of endpoint protection software.
ProsI like the cloud-centric management portal of the product. I, as the administrator, can keep an eye on the entire company. The portal (as well as the endpoint products) are all globally acccessible, too.
ConsI would like a little more control of the endpoints monitored; sometimes I need a "reach out and touch you" facility. PUA's keep coming up and I'm never sure if I've removed them or not. That goes for several warnings. Some of them are only temporary (missed 2 updates, for example), but they still show up as alerts, even though they have gotten the last 10 updates. And finally, the website restrictions are pretty ridiculously restrictive.
Source: Capterra
June 8, 2017
Avatar Image
Sarah U.
Technical Specialist
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 25, 2019

“Sophso should be the ONLY protection software!”

OverallWe use it for protecting our machines as well as for VPN connections. The sophos client on the machine regularly runs updates and blocks sites and threats very efficiently. The Sophos admin console is suburb, you can customize the software you put on the machines, you can track devices and servers, you can push updates, and I love how you can customize software and websites form being allowed or not allowed. This is truly amazing product.
ProsEvery single last thing about this software is amazing.
ConsThere is not one single thing that is wrong with this software, it is absolutely amazing product
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 25, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Aviation & Aerospace, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 28, 2018

“A great, easy to use and comprehensive endpoint protection suite”

OverallSophos has helped me make my company more compliant with security audits and it has been a breeze in doing so.
ProsSophos endpoint protection is a very easy to use security suite of products, that gives you a lot of features for a great price. Most of the additional features such as disk encryption are modular and use the same framework or console as the main product, which make deployment even more slicker.
ConsYou need to tweak your policies before deployment to your environment, as you get a few false positives.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 28, 2018
Annick M.
Producer
Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 12, 2017

“Great antivirus for my Mac(s)”

OverallAll in all very happy and I highly recommend Sophos.
ProsI have been using Sophos for more than 7 years now and have it installed on all my Macs. Easy to use, easy to install, great protection.
ConsSince last year I have started experiencing trouble when backing up my Macs. Somehow there seems to be an cpompatility problem between Sophos and Timemachine and when backing up, I need to turn off scanning and live protection to make sure it goes quick. If it's not turned off, Time Machine announces a backup time of sometimes 120 hours.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 12, 2017
Avatar Image
Carlos R.
System Administrator
Food & Beverages, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2019

“Sophos Endpoint will surprise you”

OverallSophos endpoint protection is a pretty robust solution that will give you peace of mind when those Zero days Exploits breaks if you have Intercept X.
ProsAntivirus, Periferal control, Web control, Data loss prevention, and ransomware protection in one single Product, great integration with sophos firewall if you have one. Great Server Lockdown feature for Windows and Linux Servers, even if they are On Premises or Cloud based on AWS or Azure.
ConsSometimes automated installations end up inn a partial install resulting in having to renistall the client. if you have tamper protection enabled for you clients this will result in manual labor for your team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2019
Avatar Image
Abbey L.
Software Developer
Computer Software, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 4, 2019

“An Outstanding Protection from Threats.”

OverallOverall, it gave our IT control over internet usage along with great security features.
ProsSophos Endpoint Protection is a complete security solution. It checks all the attachments sent via email and provides a strong guard against all sorts of malware attacks. It is also being used to limit user internet access within our company. Which prevents the abuse of bandwidth. It also supports Windows and Mac both operating systems. Hence, nothing goes unprotected in our company.
ConsA user can uninstall it to restore the full internet access without being asked to provide a password or taking permission.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 4, 2019
Michaela T.
Administrative Assistant
Education Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 11, 2018

“Sophos Endpoint Protection - User Review”

OverallI use Sophos on all of my computers - daily - and am very pleased with it's performance.
ProsI have used Sophos on both my work computer and personal laptops over the past twelve years and have never suffered any malware issues - despite regular internet use. I use the internet frequently - visiting numerous websites for information, purchases, etc. and Sophos has caught every potential threat.
ConsI have not had any issue with this malware.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 11, 2018
Douglas D.
IT / internet director
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 12, 2018

“Real time protection that really works.”

ProsEndpoint makes setup easy for a large user. Great management console allows you to apply settings to all users quickly. It detects threats quickly and reduces stress level for our IT department
ConsSome features require and additional license, ie zero day protection. To most this is a feature that should just be included even if it raises price of software. Support can take awhile to respond.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 12, 2018
Matthew G.
IT Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2018

“Feel safe with Sophos. Great value for the price.”

ProsIt just works. There are not too many things I can say that about. Sophos is by far the best Anti-Virus software I have used and I have tried them all. Having it deployed in a corporate environment the past 7 years I can tell you it does work fantastic.
ConsThe Enterprise Console can be a bit laggy and clunky at times and give false information about which machines are updated. But the software works very well overall.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2018
Emma Z.
Customer service
Financial Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2019

“Great antiviruses stopper ”

OverallCumputers are protected from any malicious applications and viruses Also protect mobile android phones from online threats so my personal information is secure
ProsSystem work more efficiently Potential viruses and suspension files are cut out Schedules scans to protect data from threats in
ConsNo local support, My country hence the support channel is quite long as wait for support from South Africa
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2019
Petar P.
Data Analyst
Consumer Services, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 22, 2019

“Feel Safe Browsing”

ProsThis software is amazing at what it can do. Works in the background and keeps your browsing safe to the MAX. Blocks any intrusions, keeps you away from bad site, doesn't allow you to make a wrong turn anywhere on the huge highway that is the Internet.
ConsIt can be hard to set up, but that's why there is a dedicated Customer Service to help you out on the way. Sometimes it can be to extreme when blocking, but that's why you pay for it to do.

Vendor Response

By Sophos on July 23, 2019
Thanks for your review. We're glad to hear that Sophos Endpoint Protection is keeping you secure!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 22, 2019
Avatar Image
Louis J.
CTO
Telecommunications, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 14, 2019

“Excellent Endpoint Protection with Cloud Management”

OverallSophos Endpoint protection is fairly priced and adds piece of mind to device security, but requires the addition of remote access to complete the product.
ProsSophos Endpoint Protection is managed via Sophos Central, the cloud management portal for nearly all Sophos Products. It allows rapid deployment of Sophos Endpoint Software to MacOS and Windows, and reports and allows policies and users to be centrally managed. It's very good at catching nearly all issues.
ConsOccasionally its not so good and some issues still require physical access to the device to remove the issue.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 14, 2019
Ivan V.
Sales
Food Production, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 22, 2018

“We are using Sophos Endpoint Protection for a couple of years and yes it keep us out of trouble”

ProsSophos Endpoint Protection is very easy to use product with management console in the cloud. Easy to use - applying policy's to all users has never been easier. The endpoint protection is not signature based but behavior based solution. It can catch zero-day threats.
ConsWe had few machines with outdated software - with Windows XP and we cannot use the Sophos protection on those.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 22, 2018
Dan B.
Support
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2019

“SOPHOS Endpoint Protection”

ProsThis is a great product, we have been using it internally for some time now. We also added the following two add on's. Intercept X, anti-ransomware and EDR. Very powerful Trio Also running it on our servers.
ConsA little ramp-up time, but very easy to install and maintain from Sophos central, you can also run updates and scans from Central.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2019
Avatar Image
Brian F.
Network Systems Manager
Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 14, 2018

“great product, and good end user licensing model”

OverallI am the security engineer that deployed, tested and responds to reports and performs maintenance on the product.
ProsThis product is is billed on a per user bases, and not per device, this makes environments more cost effective when users use multiple devices. Rules and exceptions work as expected
ConsNo cons so far, but i do wish they supported linux desktops.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 14, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Semiconductors, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 31, 2018

“Sophos is a complete (but complex) anti-malware piece of software that is easy to manage and rollout”

OverallCentralized control of my diversely distributed user-base. I can make sure that everyone has the software installed and that it is working correctly.
ProsThe console view is extremely helpful. I like the notifications and health reports of my protected machines and users.
ConsSome of the organization is illogical. The encryption is managed separately from other policies. It also over reports problems that correct themselves in a matter of days (like when the users reboots). This tends to make me ignore some problems to see if they persist.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 31, 2018
Brian W.
Quality Manager
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2019

“Just does its job well”

ProsThis software is seamless. It just does the job quietly and efficiently and kicks in when needed.
ConsYou have to open the menu to find what threats have been dealt with, you don't always notice them as they happen. Not such a bad thing to be honest!!

Vendor Response

By Sophos on July 17, 2019
Thanks for the review. We're glad to hear that Sophos Endpoint Protection is working out well for you!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2019
Avatar Image
Marcial T.
IT analyst
Construction, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 26, 2019

“High End Protection”

OverallEndpoint protection has a rapid response to risks or attempts of end user's computer damage. works fine in the background without user noticing.
ProsEndpoint security and control are very robust for any local or remote user
Consno cons at all after more than 10 years working with the product

Vendor Response

By Sophos on July 2, 2019
Thank you for your review. We're glad to hear that Sophos Endpoint has been a good fit for your business.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 26, 2019
Timothy W.
Quality Engineer
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 27, 2018

“Simply, the best email and web based threat protection available”

OverallYou never know who, what, when, or where you will be hacked. But with Sophos Endpoint Security and Control it hasn't happened yet.
ProsSolid platform for security, easy to use (no interaction needed), no false positive reports to date,
ConsThere are other security software with comparable test results for less money. But, no complaints here.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 27, 2018
Patrick M.
Senior System Admin
Insurance, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
3/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 15, 2017

“Full suite of protection tools. Not just anti-virus, it's more.”

OverallFull protection suite, when it works correctly, is amazing at it duties. But if it breaks, it is almost impossible to remove.
ProsSophos Cloud based management tool makes it easily accessible. Sophos reverse-engineers a program before it runs to see if it malicious.
ConsCustomer support for the product is the worst I have ever seen. Weeks would go by between responses on tickets. I told to white-list Office EXEs to allow Hitman.Pro to not block them. Had to reformat 2 machines because the software did not install/uninstall correctly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 15, 2017
Dan D.
Systems Administrator
Telecommunications, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: Capterra
June 15, 2017

“Easy to implement, if a little difficult to figure out at times”

OverallEasy to implement, easy to use after figuring out quirks. Cost effective.
ProsIt is cloud based, so you don't need to have software installed on a server and can access from any location. It's also easy to install and supports both Mac and Windows. The dashboard gives an overview of what is going on with your machines. Most times you can clean up things right from the cloud interface, but if manual clean up is required there is generally advice on what to do through links.
ConsSome of the features take a bit of digging, for example adding exceptions could be an easier process. Also the few interactions I've had with support have been lackluster, even to the point of not getting responses at all.
Source: Capterra
June 15, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Banking, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 14, 2018

“Great Option for Regulated Businesses”

ProsSophos allows me as an IT Administrator to get good reports and monitor my network efficiently. I am able to customize certain program restrictions, etc. right from the management console and have the updated paramaters applied to every computer, including laptops not currently on the network.
ConsThe software is more expensive compared to other options, but I do enjoy that I can pay monthly rather than prepaying for 1+ years of use.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 14, 2018
Elan W.
Managing Member
Legal Services, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 6, 2018

“A great "second opinion" security option.”

OverallEase of use and security
Pros1) Ease of use; 2) Offers a variety of options and customizations; 3) Does not usually interfere with other security programs or platforms.
Cons1) It rarely picks up false positives and intercepts other, legitimate security programs or platforms such as Symantec/Norton Internet Security.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 6, 2018
Jeremy K.
IT
Business Supplies and Equipment, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 16, 2017

“Been completely satisfied thus far”

OverallGreat protections from malware and more specifically Ransomware. Also nice using the hosted version so there's one less server to manage on premise.
ProsThe Intercept-X addon for Ransomware is a must in todays threat landscape. We've had instances where this addon stopped ransomware before it could start to encrypt files.
ConsThere is limited reporting with the cloud version. No cool graphs you can show management or anything like that. Also, email notifications of events seem to be delays often times.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 16, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 25, 2019

“Too overly protective”

ProsIt's great for users or companies that need extreme protection. It's strong and hard to disable.
ConsExtremely hard to disable while trying to perform 3rd party support on software. Personal experience, there is no way to disable a tamper protection password without having to get into Safe mode and uninstalling.

Vendor Response

By Sophos on July 26, 2019
I'm sorry to hear you've had trouble with uninstallation. Tamper Protection can be disabled in the management console prior to uninstalling.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 25, 2019
donald r.
Owner
Information Technology and Services, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 26, 2019

“Sophos Endpoint Protection”

OverallBest endpoint protection!!
ProsVery powerful software and very light weight when it comes to install. Its very easy to setup and implement on multiple machines for remote monitoring.
ConsThere isn't a way to customize the search feature if i only want scan part of my drive.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 26, 2019
Avatar Image
Andy F.
IT Administrator
Furniture, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 15, 2018

“Overall, offers good protection for your entire network. ”

ProsThe software is pretty easy to manage and update. Overall, the software is able to protect against most threats.
ConsNot really good with zero day unless you buy the exploit license. Change of management servers can also be a pain and requires reinstallation of the AV client.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 15, 2018
Lauren C.
Helpdesk
Security and Investigations, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2018

“Semi protected”

OverallSemi protection for all company computers for a low price
ProsNotified and alerted you on Pcs with any problems. Ran diagnostics. Was able to assign assets for computers.
ConsSemi protection. Did not stop chrome viruses and messages. Clients were able to disable control no password to uninstall
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2018