inRiver PIM Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About inRiver PIM

inRiver PIM gives omni-channel commerce professionals the power to create, maintain and distribute perfect product information to multiple sales channels in multiple languages. Learn more about inRiver PIM

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 10 of 10 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 10 of 10 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Froukje K.
Product Group Manager
Consumer Electronics, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 10, 2019

“Very flexible PIM-system which is fit for the future”

OverallThe major benefit is the PIM-benefit: one source of truth. We connected our website, our media publisher, our webshops to it. And we are expanding. inRiver can manage it all.
ProsVery flexible system: you are able to fit any assortment into inRiver. Because it is relation based, you can link anything to eachother. Implementation is easy and intuitive: what you see is what you get. Changes are made quickly by Product Management, the maintenance of products is also intuitive.
ConsI miss some way of overview of the assortment. How is everything connected to eachother? You cannot "see" it, you only experience it by clicking around. Scoping within the system is not very easy to do. We work with different companies within one license. There is (today) no way to segment the products per division. So all products are visible for all companies. The new content segmentation feature should solve this, but we are desperately waiting for it for months. Other annoying thing is that the Fieldsets not read only are; if someone changes the Fieldset, data can be lost (unintentionally). Too bad, inRiver is not sharing its timeline of the roadmap. It is a guess when what will be released.

Vendor Response

By inRiver on October 1, 2019
We appreciate your review Froukje and delighted to be your fit-for-future PIM partner.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 10, 2019
Avatar Image
Kimberly M.
Digital Data Specialist
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2019

“One source of truth”

OverallAfter getting "buy-in" from the entire organization (which can definitely take some time), the experience is wonderful. Rather than having multiple, differing copies of information scattered around the company in different departments, we now have ONE source of truth that is dependable and easy to retrieve. We can give everyone their own sign on and not worry that information will be changed by accident, as we have control through permissions. I also love the fact that it is able to work with the ERP system and every night it does an "auto load" into PIM of certain fields. That is yet another way to be sure everything is up to date and accurate.
ProsWhat I like most about this software is that we could set it up to contain our specific information. We were able to create fieldsets that matched our catalog and kept the organizing easy. Now we just keep packing in more and more product information.
ConsWhat I like least about the software is not having more control over it within our own organization and having to find a partner to do changes for us.

Vendor Response

By inRiver on October 1, 2019
We appreciate your review Kimberly and happy that your experience with us as the One Source of Truth is wonderful.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2019
Cindy C.
IT Project Manager
Retail, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 1, 2019

“inRiver PIM... Our single source of truth.”

OverallNothing short of awesome, in every capacity. Our relationship with the entire inRiver team only began with the sale of the PIM. They have been there for us every time we've needed business questions or technical development questions answered. They've become friends along this journey. Rep. is a stand-out representative and if you have the opportunity to work with her, you are lucky! Every single person we've met, from the developers to the President of inRiver's PIM, is top notch. No question, we made the right choice...
ProsFrom our user's perspective, who are accustomed to working with spreadsheets, inRiver's ability to download product/item related data into a spreadsheet, allow users to modify their data, and then ingest the spreadsheet, updating the PIM. From the technical side, as business evolves and critical information needs to be captured, you can easily add additional data and use it as needed.
ConsThat's a tough one... I'll let you know when I come up with something!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 1, 2019
Johan B.
IT-manager
Building Materials, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2019

“Easy to use, fast and solves your problems”

OverallThe biggest problem-solver for us has been the ability to store images and documents and have them linked to products so that you make sure you always have the latest version of your image/document and can easy send them to our customers.
ProsThe ability to store and link photos and documents to our products.
ConsIf you want a few extra apps it costs a bit more.

Vendor Response

By inRiver on October 1, 2019
We appreciate your review Johan. We are delighted that you find our product to be easy to use, fast and solves your biggest problem of linking product to images and documents.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Business Supplies and Equipment, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 5, 2019

“inRiver PIM”

ProsI like that it's creates a great tool to house all the product data that you need to bring your products to market. It's fairly easy to use and can be customization for the business that you run.
ConsThere is a steep learning curve to get a good understanding of the tools functionalities. Also, not being able to customize layouts can be a challenge. With this too, there isn't a great tool for external users of the system. The UI isn't as friendly as other competitors within the marketplace.

Vendor Response

By inRiver on June 23, 2019
On behalf of the whole inRiver team, thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience! We are glad that you find value in our PIM solution and are looking forward to developing our partnership and move forward together.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 5, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Consumer Goods, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 18, 2019

“PIMUser”

ProsCloud -based access from anywhere, at any time.
ConsCan be difficult to manage efficiently with large datasets.

Vendor Response

By inRiver on October 1, 2019
We appreciate your review of our cloud-based PIM product.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 18, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Printing, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 4, 2019

“inRiver 6.3 ”

Pros- all (internal) processes are very fast - very customizable
Cons- Initially it was difficult to get access to the code base and the documentation for the in-house developers. This has improved with the new support portal. - There are no outbound connectors available out-of-the-box (not even simple ones with limited functionality, nor are there templates for common use cases)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 4, 2019
Steve L.
Content Coordinator
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 1, 2019

“PIMPoint Was Exciting, but On Prem Feels Left Behind”

OverallInRiver has helped us very quickly create a rich eCommerce experience. But the On Prem version is very far behind Cloud at this point, and that's disappointing. We feel like forgotten step kids.
ProsI like the all-in-one nature of inRiver. We use the PIM for all our text content and as a sort of pseudo DAM, and it works great for amalgamating and tracking resources.
ConsThe Print module is extremely unintuitive and I wish I had more control over the Work Area column in Enrich.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 1, 2019
Caitlin G.
Corporate Communications Specialist
Business Supplies and Equipment, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2019

“Great PIM System So Far! ”

OverallOverall, this system will be very beneficial to our workflows. It is much easier to access product information and have everything current and in one place. We no longer have to enter information in multiple locations, which is both redundant and leaves room for error.
ProsI love how it has really improved our process of finding, adding and editing information related to our products. The system is very modern and intelligent in terms of quickly adding information. I also like that the system "speaks" to other systems we use.
ConsThe only thing that's a little difficult to figure out is the "queries" for searching.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2019
Craig s.
IT Systems Coordinator
Wholesale, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 1, 2019

“Inriver Review”

OverallOverall my experience has been positive.
ProsIts sleek modern look and feel when compared to other PIM products we demoed.
ConsThe skill required to do some functions. Your everyday type user can't just jump in and go. They need special training and often times multiple trainings to understand everything.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 1, 2019