XTRF Translation Management System Ratings

Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Service
3.5/5

About XTRF Translation Management System

Comes with vendor and customer portals, CAT tools integration, project management, finance and CRM modules. Learn more about XTRF Translation Management System

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 9 of 9 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 9 of 9 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Tino H.
Head of Business operations
Translation and Localization, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 27, 2018

“A worthwhile investment”

OverallWe rely on the xtrf system for our day-to-day operations as it automates many routine tasks. Thanks to the working CAT integration with Memsource, we save a lot of time. Of course, we have had headaches every now and then but that is characteristic of every complex system. The support team has always tried their best to find a sustainable solution. While we had quite a few issues with version 7, things are running smoothly again in version 8. Well done!
ProsWe have been using this TMS system for more than 5 years. Its functional scope has increased dramatically over the years. We appreciate the opportunity to create our own workflows to meet the individual needs of our clients. The xtrf developers have created special macros to export our invoice data to our financial accounting system (DATEV). The CAT integration with Memsource runs smoothly, saving us a lot of time. The customer and vendor portals are very useful for our daily work.
ConsThe system is complex and requires a lot of time to be set up with its full potential. It takes a while to safely operate the system and to use it efficiently.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 27, 2018
Avatar Image
Agnieszka A.
General Manager
Translation and Localization, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 27, 2018

“Clear Leader in the TMS industry”

ProsSince the implementation of the XTRF our business gained great visibility over all key business units, this data empowers us when making curtail business decisions, such as sales, purchasing, automation and process. Productivity increased with continual work on automation. Training and onboarding time has also shorten significantly due to a well designed, easy user interface.
ConsIf you want a bespoke and quality system then XTRF will deliver. But it is not a cheap & quick solution. In order to be able to customise XTRF entirely to our needs, we appointed an internal Technician, for example. So if you are hesitating, mapping out a long term plan for running the system will help, because XTRF should not be treated as cost but as an investment.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 27, 2018
Avatar Image
Krisztian K.
Senior Project Manager
Translation and Localization, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 21, 2018

“A great choice, if you can utilize its full potential”

OverallWe rely on it for our day-to-day operations and thanks to the integration options, we can save a lot of time. Of course, there are headaches every now and then, but that is characteristic of every complex system. I think this is the most technologically advanced TMS system on the market at the moment.
ProsThe system is really complex and offers tons of opportunity for customisation, you can run macros, connect external systems and create your own special, integrated workflows. It can really cut down on administration if done right.
ConsThe system is REALLY complex and you have no chance of realising its potential without employing a developer at least in the first few months to adapt it to your needs. It also has a steep learning curve to use effectively, and it can create a lot of unnecessary clicks in untrained hands.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 21, 2018
Nele K.
PM
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 31, 2018

“Many good functions, but too many bugs that affect everyday work for a PM”

ProsLots of functionalities Vendor and customer portal that is easy to use TMS integration with CAT tools
ConsSmall annoying bugs in random places that are not fixed over time Eg. cant click on a project from dashboard without getting an error 'ups...' and then needing to refresh and do the same clicks all over again (at least 50 times a day) Slow support team and you need to put in a lot of time and effort getting help (helpdesk system in another portal with another username and passwords, so extra hassle when you are in need of urgent help)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 31, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Translation and Localization, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
3/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 22, 2019

“Unfortunately, one of the only viable options”

OverallOur experience with XTRF has been overwhelmingly negative, but the unfortunate reality is that they remain one of the only viable options for a TMS, unless you wish to build your own. There are definitely some robust features to the program that are worth exploring. We are actively searching for a new service provider, but the sad reality for us is that we have been unable to find greener grass, just different grass. Most competitors have their own major quirks and issues, so here we are.
ProsThe reporting features of XTRF can be powerful, and the automation of our financials was one of the biggest time savers for us.
ConsThe GDPR regulations required XTRF to make some adjustments, and these adjustments introduced severe errors to the day to day workings, some of which have still not been resolved. All of our templates for invoices and purchase orders went offline for about a week while we waited for the various patches to be completed. Many simple operations take way too many clicks to accomplish the desired task (saving receivables requires you to click the first save button twice, then switch to a new screen and hit a different save button. If you do not do all 3 clicks, the receivables will not be saved). The support team is consistently unable to do more than recap the problems that we are experiencing. We've had 4-5 main points of contact in my 3 years of working with them, due to high levels of turnover.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 22, 2019
Francois M.
Director
Translation and Localization, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 21, 2018

“XTRF - Comprehensive workflow system”

OverallXTRF is a comprehensive system whichhas helped our company to streamline the production of complex translation projects (many tasks, many people involved) and offers good monitoring and evaluation features
ProsAutomation of tasks Management of entire production chain Customer portal
ConsNew smart projects function offers less flexibilty to access directly translation files
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 21, 2018
Avatar Image
Frantisek V.
Freelance Translator
Translation and Localization, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 19, 2018

“Excellent project management tool for agencies”

OverallSo far as project management is concerned, XTRF has it all. You name it and the feature is there. It allows you to personalize the system as much as needed. It is not absolutely easy, but once admins set-up front- and back-end, project managers, external translators, managers, they all have what they need here. The only issue I have with this tool is its price. Honestly, it is so high, that any mid-size company rather thinks about developing their own tool (which has other cons; and many of them). I can definitely recommend this for any translation agency, it will help you a lot, but be ready to pay for it.
ProsAbundant with features, personalized modules, you can define your own processes... external translators, clients, project managers, they all can access the system
ConsThe price seems OK at first, but when you realize how many licences you might need, than you realize that it is the biggest con of this otherwise excellent tool.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 19, 2018
Avatar Image
Dmitry K.
Founder
Translation and Localization, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 19, 2019

“Great project management solution for translation agencies”

OverallXTRF Translation Management System makes it easy for our small agency to manage our translation projects and collaborate with our team of external freelance translators.
ProsClean interface that makes it extremely easy to create projects and assign them to freelance translators.
ConsPricing could've been a bit better, especially considering that there are other tools on the market that offer similar functionality and some of them are even free.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 19, 2019
Benito Y.
Translator - Teacher
Translation and Localization, Self-employed
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 31, 2018

“Any translator would like to have this powerful tool.”

ProsThis tool is an excellent way to render accurate and fast translations.
ConsPrice is a little too high for independent translators. They should take this into account.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 31, 2018