OmmWriter Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5

About OmmWriter

Writing environment for MAC, PC, AND IPAD. Includes backgrounds, audio tracks, and keystroke sounds. Learn more about OmmWriter

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 11 of 11 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 11 of 11 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Avatar Image
Kyle R.
Transaction Coordinator
Real Estate, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 20, 2018

“Perfect little bubble for writers”

OverallI turn to OmmWriter every so often when I have ideas, just want to detox, or need to vent out into the aether! It's been a great and reliable tool, and I think it's used by a small enough crowd that the creators are still very personal with their client base.
ProsThe zen aspect of OmmWriter truly works. I live in a city on a busy street and there's always car noise and more; but the developers of OmmWriter have really figured out a way to turn your even busier screen into a way to relax. Love the various backgrounds, fonts, and music choices.
ConsI know the point of OmmWriter is supposed to be a simple writing tool, but I think it'd be nice if you could play around with the text (or even images) a bit more. It may work for someone wanting to write a novel, but if you're just being creative and imaginative with writing, there are some limits.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 20, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Design, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 29, 2018

“Perfect in its simplicity.”

OverallIt gives me a clear page for focused writing.
ProsI love how everytime I open it and hear the background noise and the keyboard sounds I am immediately transported to a writing mindset.
ConsIt's a small thing, but I wish the music didn't restart when I switch tabs. It would be great if the audio just picked up where it left off when the tab was switched.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 29, 2018
Allyn B.
Prevention Educator
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 12, 2018

“A fantastic writing app that eliminates distractions”

ProsOmmWriter darkens the wrest of your computer screen so you can focus exclusively on writing, free from distractions. You can also pick different themes or layouts that are aesthetically pleasing for your writing experience.
ConsOmmWriter is designed to be simple and distraction free. As a result, there is a limit to how you can format your writing project.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 12, 2018
Kamila Z.
PA
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 10, 2018

“Ommwriter provides a distraction-free time so you can concentrate on your writing. ”

ProsI like the fact that all the background notifications are muted and the fact that the screen blacks out. The whole design is very simple and calming so it is easy for me to focus on writing without being distracted.
ConsIt does not quite work the same way as Word does. I would say that Ommwriter is designed for a very plain text writing. It is great for me, but if someone would like to use different layouts, fonts etc then this tool might not quite be suitable.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 10, 2018
Dan H.
blogger
Arts and Crafts, Self-employed
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 22, 2019

“Exactly what it needs to be...almost”

ProsSimple writing interface that blocks out distractions and reduces screen clutter, helping you to focus on what counts - your writing! The key sounds make typing very satisfying. The music and the minimalist backgrounds help put you in a calm state of mind, ideal for productivity.
ConsMusic too loud and key sounds too quiet. No option to replace or customise backgrounds.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 22, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 5, 2018

“Hard time focusing? This is it.”

ProsWhat I like most about this software is the minimalism of it. It only shows what is necessary. You can choose to have the music on or off. The paper background is relaxing on the eyes, rather than a stark white background. This software is a must if you need to write a term paper or book, or anything that requires more attention than an email.
ConsI have nothing bad to say about this product!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 5, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Graphic Design, Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 7, 2018

“It's a very pleasant writing software that functions as it's advertised.”

ProsThe variety of choices for the soundtracks, typing sounds, backgrounds, and fonts allows you to write in any mood you wish to.
ConsYou can't adjust separately the volume of the typing sounds or soundtracks. You're only able to mute them separately.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 7, 2018
Avatar Image
Lindsey S.
Human Resources Director
Restaurants, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 28, 2018

“Best Writing Software by FAR”

ProsThis program is so simple that it WORKS. It takes away all the distractions and really lets you focus on the content that you are writing. Definitely helped my productivity level x1000
ConsNo complaints! It's a very well made, easy to use program
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 28, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 9, 2019

“Ommwriter Distraction Free Writing”

OverallIt's a really nice alternative to a big cluttered office program when you just want to do is concentrate on a bit of writing without worrying about fancy feature sets.
ProsSometimes less is more and Ommwriter is a great example of that. It's relaxing and minimal and provides just enough of a toolset to get some writing done and stay out of your way while doing it. It's certainly not as full featured as many other writing applications but that helps it maintain it's singular focus. It's refreshing after using so many over bloated office product menus to have such a focused simple writing tool.
ConsI agree with one of the other users complaints about the music restarting on changing tabs. It's nothing major but a bit of a minor annoyance. Other than that there is not a lot to critique as it's pretty focused on delivering one thing well.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 9, 2019
Sara V.
Teacher
Education Management, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 2, 2018

“It makes me never want to stop writing”

ProsBest software for fiction writers like me. The music is so relaxing that it helps me focus. The typing sound effects is also motivating; hearing it makes me think I'm getting a lot of writing done that I want to keep typing just so I can hear it.
ConsThe font size options are very limited. When I write, I like having very big fonts so I don't have to squint at the screen.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 2, 2018
Avatar Image
Aquirra RoEve L.
Art Teacher
Fine Art, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 15, 2019

“Ummm Choose OmmWriter”

ProsI enjoy the incorporation of music and various background options that come with using this writing platform, it's perfect for creatives. I hope that OmmWriter gets more visibility for what it offers.
ConsIt would be cool if you could play around more with designing images, or art work you want to include in your writing.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 15, 2019