Who Uses This Software?

MyGov provides web-based software to government agencies (city, town, and county) looking for solutions in community development, public works, and business administration.


Average Ratings

18 Reviews

  • 4 / 5
    Overall

  • 4 / 5
    Ease of Use

  • 4 / 5
    Customer Service

Product Details

  • Starting Price
    $4,080.00/year
  • Pricing Details
    Per module per month which includes unlimited users, maintenance/support
  • Deployment
    Cloud, SaaS, Web
  • Training
    Live Online
    In Person
  • Support
    Business Hours

Vendor Details

  • MyGov
  • www.mygov.us
  • Founded 2002
  • United States

About Permits

Most agencies struggle with the complex processes related to permitting which leads to unnecessary work and frustration. The module includes features like online payments, workflow manager, mobile inspections, alerts and notices, fields and fee manager, collaborator portal, report generator, and checkilists. The module will help you to automate systems, collect data, control processes, connect people, enforce regulations, and analyze data.


Spotlight media placeholder

Permits Features

  • Appointment Management
  • Customer Database
  • Dispatch Management
  • Equipment Tracking
  • Photos In Reports
  • Print on Site
  • Report Templates
  • Speech Recognition
  • Subcontractor Management
  • Automated Routing
  • Building Permits
  • Business License
  • Code Enforcement
  • Customer Portal
  • Expiration Date Tracking
  • Inspection Management
  • Mobile Access
  • Online Applications
  • Online Payments
  • Parking Permits
  • Renewal Management

Permits Reviews Recently Reviewed!


Great product

Apr 01, 2019
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: I like the ease of use with MyGov and the permits module. It is very easy to go step by step and create your project type, as well as choosing the applicable fees for the project. I also like that my contractors can do this online if they choose to, or they can come in the office. I have had contractors tell me that they really enjoy this system, and that there are other City's that have systems that are not as user friendly.

Cons: I would say that I wish there were an option for contractors to be able to use the same username and password when logging into MyGov, and once they login, they can choose which City they are wanting to pull a permit from. I hear that as a complaint fairly regularly that it would be easier if they could just have one username and one password so that they do not have to have multiple accounts for each City.

Overall: I have had an overall excellent experience with this module. I like that I do not have to use it on a computer, but can also pull it up on a smart phone or tablet when away from my desk. Anytime I have needed assistance, executive has always answered my questions in a timely matter. I like that contractors can use this module to both request new projects, pay for their permits, and schedule inspections. It is nice that they can do this on their own time, and not have to wait on me to do everything for them (except for actually approving the project when they first put it in to verify everything is good).

Permits

Apr 01, 2019
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

4 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 9.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The permits module is very easy to use. The original set-up included the MyGov team importing all of our property files from the Central Appraisal District which auto-populates when we, or applicants enter a permit. The dialogue feature using notes is also very helpful for contractors requesting inspections and wanting to state something unique to the inspector about their inspection request.

Cons: I wished the inspection list would automatically reference your location to the nearest inspection on your task list by using geo-coding.

Overall: We have been using the Permits and Inspection module since February 2013 and have an overall appreciation for what the MyGov team offers in product function for the nicely affordable monthly price.

Vendor Response

by MyGov on April 05, 2019

Hi Kirk,

Thank you for taking the time to review your Permit and Credential Management software. We appreciate the positive comments you made related to ease of use, set-up, and the collaboration features. Inspections can be plotted to the MyGov GIS module which does include a location tracker.  I would encourage you to submit a support ticket to see how the MyGov team can help you with this.

Thank you,

Hannah Koeshall

Permits

Apr 05, 2019
4/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

4 / 5
Features & Functionality

3 / 5
Customer Support

4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: This software is accessible by the COTC building/inspection dept, contractors, and others anywhere and anytime. It has organized the process of permit applications reviews, payments, and inspections. The Reporting feature is great for retrieving data to generate reports.

Cons: Predefined reports cannot be setup in MYGOV for COTC required report formats.

This software payment component uses a third party payment processing company for credit/debit card payments. Then this information has to be re-entered into the COTC finance system currently used. It would be more efficient if this happened automatically.

Overall: Credential and permit expirations are definitely better monitored using MYGOV.

Inspections cannot be issued if the credentials have expired; it would be beneficial of permits could also not be issued if the credentials have expired.

Vendor Response

by MyGov on April 10, 2019

Hi Rose,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the MyGov Permit module. We are happy to hear that the accessibility of the system and ability to generate reports is beneficial for you. The team at MyGov is always looking for ways to serve you better. If you have suggestions on how to make your work easier, please reach out to the MyGov support team and we will evaluate how we can help.

Sincerely,

Hannah Koeshall

Permits

Apr 01, 2019
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The ease of tracking all permits and inspections that go along with the permits.

Cons: software is great, we are not able to do inspections or enter anything with the program is not functioning properly. makes it difficu;t for the Code Officers when they are out in the field and cannot access the program because of the program being down.

Overall: We are able to do accurate reports when we need a count for a certain type of permit, we can do reports daily weekly, monthly, and yearly if needed. Love the program.

Vendor Response

by MyGov on April 05, 2019

Hi Mabel,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Permit module and your MyGov experience. We appreciate your positive feedback related to the ease of tracking your permits and inspections. Here at MyGov we are always looking for ways to serve you better and are grateful that you are able to use the Permit module for accurate reporting in your daily work.

Sincerely,

Hannah Koeshall

MyGov Permits

Mar 28, 2019
4/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

4 / 5
Features & Functionality

4 / 5
Customer Support

3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The overall display of information for each permit is very helpful and I don't spend time searching for the information I need.

Cons: We also use the information for park reservations and it does not include a way to prohibit overlaps in times and if if did that would make the reservation processes here work smoothly. We also wish it had a calendar for the reservations and permits that we could thread onto our web page otherwise we have to transfer all that data manually which takes an enormous amount of time.

Vendor Response

by MyGov on April 05, 2019

Hi Adam,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Permit and Work Order modules. We appreciate your positive feedback on the display information in permits and maintaining work orders. We strive to offer a software that helps make your work easy. Please submit a support ticket with your request related to park reservations and our support team will be happy to help.

Thank you,

Hannah Koeshall

I love Mygov, it makes my job so much easier!

Apr 10, 2019
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: I love the search and reporting functions It really helps me track my permits statuses at a glance!

Cons: Nothing, I find it adaptable and easy to use.

Overall: I love to be able to track what payments I have received and what are outstanding. Having access to my archived items quickly is a big help when having to research permits at some of our ongoing business park projects.

Vendor Response

by MyGov on April 11, 2019

Hi Jennifer,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Permit module and MyGov experience. We are happy to hear that the search, reporting, and payment tracking features are helpful to you. The MyGov team is grateful we can be part of your daily work and are always looking for ways we can serve you better.

Sincerely,

Hannah Koeshall

Permits and inspections

Apr 09, 2019
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Easy to used, and fast, all steps are well define so that why we minimize the errors

Cons: that would be the part that if you are imputing a permit there is no way to put that one on hold to check on a registration or to assist a customer that walks in unless you have already issue the permit but not at the beginning

Overall: I have access to the most important part of the permits so I can answer permit and inspections questions if the customer has problem viewing it on their side or if they are at the job side with no access to computer and I can give them all information that it is needed at the moment.

Permit Tech

Apr 08, 2019
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

3 / 5
Customer Support

3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Its user friendly and easy to access. I like the ability to scan plans and plans are available even after its been archived.

Cons: Sometimes it seams after they do an update, there are problems that occur.

Vendor Response

by MyGov on April 10, 2019

Hi Carolyn,

Thank you for taking the time to review the MyGov Permit module. We appreciate your positive comments related to the user friendly features of MyGov. We are always looking for ways to serve you better and are grateful that MyGov can be a part of your daily work.

Sincerely,

Hannah Koeshall

Opinions

Apr 04, 2019
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: I like that it is very simple to enter the information.

Cons: The steps were confusing the first few times.

Vendor Response

by MyGov on April 06, 2019

Hi Kim,

Thank you for taking the time to review the MyGov Permit module. We are happy to hear that you have found the Permit module to be simple to use. Here at MyGov we are always looking for ways to serve you better and are grateful that the Permit module is supporting you in your daily work.

Sincerely,

Hannah Koeshall

Permit Review

Apr 01, 2019
4/5
Overall

3 / 5
Ease of Use

4 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support
Likelihood to Recommend: 7.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The total idea and concept of the software are excellent. However it could be a little more user friendly. The forms are time consuming to fill-out. We often take the collaborator's money and then fill in the form later since it is so time consuming.

Cons: For the most part the software is good. As mentioned above, the there seems like there could be some time management efforts put into making the software a little more user friendly as far as not being so involved in getting the project started.

Overall: We are finding that the reporting is an excellent tool. Having everything electronic verses everything on paper is a plus.

Vendor Response

by MyGov on April 05, 2019

Hi Brenda,

Thank you for taking the time to review your MyGov experience and the Permit module. We are appreciative of your comments on how the reporting tools make your work easier. If you have suggestions related to making projects easier for you, please contact our support team and they will evaluate how to help best.

Thank you,

Hannah Koeshall

Permits

Apr 01, 2019
3/5
Overall

3 / 5
Ease of Use

3 / 5
Features & Functionality

3 / 5
Customer Support

3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 5.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: This software allows our department to be paperless, and to eliminate all the waste of paper permits. It is easy to access records, and it integrates with other departments. We can see code cases, property records, inspections and permits all on one screen.

Cons: There are a lot of steps to enter a permit. I do wish that it would be a little more streamlined on one page.

Vendor Response

by MyGov on April 05, 2019

Hi,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the MyGov Permit module. We appreciate your positive feedback around the MyGov experience related to eliminating paper permits, accessing records, and integrating with departments in your agency. Here at MyGov we are always looking for ways to serve you better and are grateful that the permitting software is supporting you in your daily work. If you need assistance with your permit process we would like to help. Please submit a support ticket and we will help find a good solution.

Sincerely,

Hannah Koeshall

Ross Aguirre

Apr 09, 2019
5/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

4 / 5
Features & Functionality
Likelihood to Recommend: 9.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Works good easy access . I use an IPAD for my daily act

Cons:

sometimes takes time to receive on my computer.

Overall: very good.

Vendor Response

by MyGov on April 10, 2019

Hi Ross,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Permit module and MyGov experience. We are happy to hear the MyGov system is easy to use in your daily work activities.

Sincerely,

Hannah Koeshall

Review of Permit Section

Apr 03, 2019
4/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

4 / 5
Features & Functionality

3 / 5
Customer Support
Likelihood to Recommend: 7.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The software does a great job storing and providing access to information quickly.

Cons: I believe there are a few features missing that would make a big difference such as the ability to create a shortlist of easily accessible commonly used addresses.

Vendor Response

by MyGov on April 06, 2019

Hi Joshua,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Permit module and MyGov experience. We appreciate the positive feedback around being able to access information easily through your Permit module. If you have suggestions on ways MyGov can improve your experience please reach out to the MyGov support team and they can evaluate how to help you best.

Thank you,

Hannah Koeshall

Permits Review

Apr 15, 2019
3/5
Overall

3 / 5
Ease of Use

3 / 5
Features & Functionality

2 / 5
Customer Support

3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 5.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: It is pretty cost effective for our budget. Our city has limited resources and MyGov provides a mechanism to keep track of our permits via an automated system.

Cons: Not always user friendly.

Hard to get a live person to speak to.

Overall: I would probably benefit from actual training on the system. I am a relatively recent hire and have not been fully trained.

Vendor Response

by MyGov on April 17, 2019

Hi Georgia,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with the Permit module. We appreciate your positive feedback related to the cost effectiveness and automation that MyGov brings. I am sorry you have experienced difficulty with receiving training in the system. I want to help you resolve this issue so you can use the functionality of MyGov fully. Please anticipate being contacted by your Account Manager within one business day.

Thank you,

Hannah Koeshall

Dismal

Apr 09, 2019
1/5
Overall

1 / 5
Ease of Use

1 / 5
Features & Functionality

1 / 5
Customer Support

1 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: None. I find nothing about it positive. I went from 8 minutes to 30 minutes while I call around to get help issuing a single electrical meter loop....and that's one of several issues.

Cons: 1. Your introduction was 6 months ago and prolonged its "release." Every month was another month. Then, you introduced the "new software." A permit , for example, would take 8 minutes and I could issue both a receipt (which contained broken down costs) and then issue a permit for work. I went from 8 minutes to 30 minutes in getting a permit into your system. Frankly, I find it less than intuitive and poorly designed. I am fine with update but you've made it more complicated and less user friendly as an end user.

Overall: Dismal. I am sure the rep is less than thrilled too.

Vendor Response

by MyGov on April 11, 2019

Hi Adam,

Thank you for taking the time to review the MyGov Permit module. I am sorry you are experiencing issues with the functionality of MyGov and that it is hindering you in utilizing the software fully. I want to help you in resolving this issue so you can have a positive experience. Please anticipate being contacted by your Account Manager within one business day.

Sincerely,

Hannah Koeshall

Permitting

Apr 01, 2019
5/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Once you learn the program it is very easy to complete a permit.

Cons: There are alot of steps to complete the permit.

Overall: Saving time issuing a permit. If you input all your information before you start using the program it makes it alot easier in the long run.

Vendor Response

by MyGov on April 06, 2019

Hi Debra,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Permit module and MyGov experience. We are happy to hear that you are saving time when issuing permits in your city and that the MyGov Permit module is helping you. Here at MyGov we are grateful we can help make your daily work easier.

Sincerely,

Hannah Koeshall

Mygov Permits Review

Apr 11, 2019
3/5
Overall

3 / 5
Ease of Use

3 / 5
Features & Functionality

4 / 5
Customer Support

3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 7.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Mygov permits has streamlined our permitting process and has given us the option of accepting on-line permit applications. This works especially well for our simple over the counter permits. The ability for our inspectors to use a wireless device for field inspections has also been helpful.

Cons: Reporting is complicated and difficult to set up. There are some features of the software that are fixed and can not be customized or adjusted to meet our specific needs.

Overall: Mygov Permits has helped us streamline our permitting process and provided us with a central location to house our permit data. Mygov technical support is always courteous and prompt.

Vendor Response

by MyGov on April 15, 2019

Hi Keri,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Permit module and overall MyGov experience. We appreciate the positive feedback surrounding how the permitting process has become more streamlined since implementing MyGov. I want to help you in resolving your issue with reporting setup so you can have a positive experience. Please anticipate being contacted by your Account Manager within one business day.

Sincerely,

Hannah Koeshall

Permit Review

Apr 09, 2019
5/5
Overall

3 / 5
Ease of Use

3 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 7.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: That is keeps track of everything in one spot.

Cons: Too customizable- we are pretty new to it and there is soooo much to try to set up.

Vendor Response

by MyGov on April 10, 2019

Hi Melissa,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Permit module and MyGov experience. We are happy to hear that the convenience of the MyGov system is helpful for you. If you need assistance with understanding the customization of your MyGov system please contact the MyGov support team.

Sincerely,

Hannah Koeshall