Recurly Subscription Billing Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About Recurly Subscription Billing

Founded in 2009, Recurly uses an open platform approach to easily connect with a broad variety of back-office systems. In addition to enabling lightweight and flexible custom integrations, Recurly also has powerful out-of-the-box integrations with enterprise solutions like Salesforce, NetSuite, and Avalara to provide efficiencies through end-to-end automation of billing events throughout the customer lifecycle. Learn more about Recurly Subscription Billing

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 29 of 29 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 29 of 29 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Verified Reviewer
Design, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 29, 2018

“Not great, but the best reoccurring billing platform.”

Pros- Most advanced tool in the space. - Ability to customize checkouts with reculry.js - lots of flexibility in ways to use the platform
Cons- Wish the exported reports were betting (can't see how many days left in an ending subscrtiption in export -- so can't follow up with them. Can only see number of remaining occurences but if you offer monthly and annual for example you have to custom segment that information) - Wish the analytics were better (better insight into plan peformance, churn by plan etc.) - Better email targeting (currently not able to target endings trials unless the plan has a trial, not if they use a trial coupon -- lots of small issues like this across the platform.) - The emails sent from recurly servers end up in spam often for our customers.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 29, 2018
Mike H.
Director of CS
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 10, 2019

“The cornerstone to smooth SaaS billing”

OverallThere are other good billing systems out there but Recurly offers the best feature set for our business model, billing process, and client base. It is the best for a subscription-based model.
ProsOur billing process is sensitive and we take our client's information privacy very seriously. Recurly offers great settings/configurations to give people access to the information they need and restrict access to what they don't. Our billing process is smoother by far because of Recurly.
ConsWe have a lot of exceptions in our billing process and Recurly isn't as good at handling these client-by-client exceptions as we would like.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 10, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
June 4, 2018

“Solid billing platform that gets easier as you use it”

ProsIt gives you most of the info you need in regards to the payment for 95% of cases I've been working with. Once you get used to the UI, it's actually quite easy to navigate around and quickly grab billing info you need to troubleshoot any problems. Support is professional and helpful.
ConsIf you don't have any colleagues using it already, it may take a little longer to get used to since not all of the elements are intuitive. Support sometimes takes a moment to reply and is not necessarily available 24/7.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
June 4, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
February 27, 2019

“I would fully recommend”

ProsFirst of all- support. I really like how helpful the guys are, would be lost without them. I don't have a comparison to other programs, but I feel that Recurly covers all (or at least most) of our needs. I really like the design and user-friendly interface.
ConsI wish there would be more customization in terms of reporting. Also, I feel like it is not very intuitive. I'm missing some tooltips that would guide me through the software which such business impact. Alright, there is Help section and FAQ, but it takes a while to find required information.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
February 27, 2019
Michael R.
Executive Director of Franchising
Civic & Social Organization, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 9, 2017

“Saves time and makes you money”

OverallI recommend Recurly every chance I get. This product is awesome for managing recurring payments. If you have any type of recurring payments that have kept you busy running credit cards every month, you need to consider this software. Its features make taking monthly or annual fees a snap. Customers can get notifications prior to the charge. They also have options to make it convenient for the customer to opt out or cancel memberships, which can save you, even more, time. The cost is great, too - far less in the long run than paying an employee to manage recurring charges. Use Recurly and you can free up time to invest in your business and make more money.
ProsEasy to use. Cost effective. Time-saver
Recommendations to other buyersGreat product for businesses with recurring charges.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 9, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 24, 2018

“Must have for SaaS billing”

ProsThe ability to set recurring billing on automation is a must have for any SaaS platform. Recurly makes it very simple to get going. Not to mention they provide all the tools needed to apply coupons, promos, refunds, dunning and more.
ConsThe price can feel brutal. Since you pay not only for the software but for a percentage of your MRR, that means it can quickly grow as you grow.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 24, 2018
Lorin Q.
Operations
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 6, 2018

“What use to take our company hours, now takes minutes.”

ProsThe program has completely transformed our billing department. The interface is pretty user friendly, but I would say the biggest pro is their support team. The chat box is always available and they answer your questions within seconds.
ConsThe learning curve of how exactly the program works and predesigned, was a little difficult to overcome. There are too many automatic emails sent out, so you really need to know how to navigate & turn them off (or know that they're even being sent out in the first place).
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 6, 2018
Avatar Image
Camila N.
Customer Success Manager
Computer Software, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 7, 2019

“One-click to your customer financial status”

ProsIt is so easy to figure out how to use! Basically I get all piece of information that I want with one or two clicks. It's also transparent for the rest of the team when they have to searching.
ConsI miss some dashboards. Also, I'm not allowed to export the information that I can view on the screen, it's a bit frustrating.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 7, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
June 23, 2018

“Saves us tons of developer time”

ProsRecurly is really easy and functional. If you need to bill customers every month and don't want to build it yourself, recurly fits the bill
ConsThey take a large cut of billings that we run through the platform. We are looking to transition away as a result.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
June 23, 2018
Eric E.
Director of Operations
Computer Software, Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
3.5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 18, 2016

“Easy-To-Use Interface, Lacks Some Seemingly Intuitive Features”

ProsThe product was easy to navigate and had a very short learning curve.
ConsThe software was missing some functionalities that I would think would be standard with a billing and payment oriented software. The billing periods/cycles were not easily customizable. Ensuring that a recurring billing subscription did not renew also seemed to be more difficult than it should be.
Recommendations to other buyersImplement on a small scale first. Put a test customer through the software and see how the software lends itself to different scenarios. Consider all use cases for how your business might bill and keep track of how it is billing its customers and the flexibility you'll need from this type of system. This system will work well for most basic needs, but if you find yourself setting different parameters for different clients, you may want to make sure that your specific needs can be addressed.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 18, 2016
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 11, 2018

“Great Billing Management System”

OverallSubscription Management
ProsThe functionality and the support are amazing. Recurly is a tool we use almost daily to manage subscriptions and I couldn't ask for a better tool.
ConsCoupons! Coupons are an absolute pain to add-in, especially if the subscription expired with a coupon already attached.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 11, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Internet, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
December 7, 2017

“Great UI and simple to use”

ProsThe UI is amazing. I use products like Stripe as well and I find the experience much simple and customizable.
ConsThe reports and analysis section can be a lot more customizable. We find it a bit difficult to collect the exact data we require for our month end analysis.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
December 7, 2017
Avatar Image
Becky Jewell L.
Operations Analyst: Customer Success
Internet, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 7, 2018

“Elegant and Simple Solution for Small-to-Midsize Business”

OverallOur sales reps and admins can use the software easily with very little training. When I offer consulting services to small businesses, I often recommend that they start billing services with Recurly - and I'm not even a Recurly affiliate! My clients do well with Recurly, which helps me do well.
ProsIt's easy to see payments and overdue accounts. Updating credit cards is easy to do, and it is easy for our reps and admins to use.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 7, 2018
Harrison K.
Computer Software, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 14, 2015

“Overall Recurly is a great and intuitive product which is easy to use.”

ProsOnce you learn the software, it's easy and quick to get things done. Seeing past history on an account is clear. Our organization is easily able to give many different departments access and enough privileges to fully own our required tasks. Still, our finance department can truly own billing and collections. If and when their have been issues with Recurly, their support has been thorough, and their communications have been clear and helpful.
ConsYou definitely need training from someone else who has used it to learn it properly. It didn't seem intuitive or something I could learn on my own. Also I'd say about 15% of the time, the site is down, or I at least have to log in three or four times. If manual collection is used for certain invoices, you lose the ability to truly audit what a customer is seeing.
Recommendations to other buyersMake sure you obtain and document all necessary training before allowing all your users unsupervised access.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 14, 2015
Avatar Image
Kamil R.
CEO & Founder
11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2018

“Advanced and sophisticated”

OverallSubscription management
ProsRecurly is a top of the top subscription management system - it gives us all we need to run saas business without putting too much development into billing issues.
ConsIts functionalities and very broad but when it comes to details it sometimes lacks flexibility when you want to arrange something specific for your business.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 3, 2019

“Recurly is wonderful!”

ProsI love how easy it is to help customers out by checking on their accounts and helping them with any billing related issues. It's really so wonderful to use!
ConsNot much really! It's super easy to use and they never have any issues.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 3, 2019
Daniela S.
CSM
Computer Software, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2019

“Recurly”

ProsIn general is pretty good, easy to search the clients and have an overview of the clients.
ConsI always gets lost in the invoices and payments, I don't feel like it's very clear. Also, on top when you check how much a specific client pays for it, it shows the full price without considering the discounts they might have. So you basically need to check the discount and recalculate it. Also, it would be nice as a user be able to have more reports by the accounts that are about to end a discount period for example
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2019
Lauren S.
Accounting Supervisor
Computer Software, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 27, 2018

“Serves it's purpose”

Pros- easy to navigate portal - easy to connect to payment processor - easy to run reporting - one single report includes all necessary information to summarize monthly bookings
Cons- doesn't have a ton of functionality, portal is fairly basic - best for small business due to limited functionality
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 27, 2018
Brent W.
Internet, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Source: GetApp
August 27, 2014

“Takes care of it.”

OverallRecurly has taken care of our recurring billing for two years and counting. We have multiple businesses running on the platform and have multiple recurly accounts. There product goes above and beyond when it comes to feature flow and figuring out those *next* pains they can solve.
ProsDunning management Automatically update credit card expiration numbers Recurring rev reports Upgrade/downgrade/cancel API (hmmmm, so nice) Lots more that I'm not listing here...
ConsIf you have multiple websites, you need multiple accounts (for cancellation templates, etc), no discount on second account for the fixed monthly Can't overwrite customer ID #'s once the customer is in the system One time purchasing not so good
Source: GetApp
August 27, 2014
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, Self-employed
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 14, 2019

“Great tool for managing subscriptions”

ProsRecurly is a solution I use which gives me billing functions and enables me to track subscriptions and customers. I like that it integrates with multiple payment gateways and that it offers a sandbox environment for testing and trying out new things.
ConsI like all of it, but maybe there could be more reporting and customization options.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 14, 2019
Nick G.
Implementation Coordinator
Hospitality, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 9, 2018

“Recurly to centralize your subscription billing”

OverallThis software is used to keep track of billing for our customers. We also use it to keep track of who is active and who is inactive.
ProsI really like how this software keeps track of all your subscriptions and your balance.
ConsI least liked the renewal bot and find that customers are having their canceled subscriptions automatically renewed by the renewal bot.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 9, 2018
Jeremy R.
Account Executive
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 12, 2018

“Awesome Billing Tool”

ProsRecurly is a great tool for subscription billing. It has a lot of functionality and flexibility. It is fairly easy to use and is always reliable.
ConsRecurly is a great software but it is occasionally slow. I also think that the reporting functionality is lacking a bit.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 12, 2018
Mona M.
Operations Associate
Medical Practice, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2019

“Solid billing platform”

OverallOverall, I have had a positive experience with Recurly. I have used many billing platforms and this might be one of the easiest.
ProsThe ability to set recurring billing on automation is great and easy to set up. Plus their customers service team is awesome and always their when you need them. It's also very easy to add new members or terminate existing. You don't have to go through a million steps like other softwares.
ConsEmails go to spam most of the time and the cost is kind of high.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2019
Heather D.
Director of Marketing
Retail, Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Features
4.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 4, 2015

“I am a fan”

ProsI enjoyed recurly! Easy, fast and not hard to learn. I would def recommend to a friend or colleague.
ConsCant think of anything right now. Which I say is a very good thing.
Recommendations to other buyersRecurly is a good pick- at least try it for the free month. I used it years ago and wish I could again now.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 4, 2015
John K.
Controler
Legal Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Features
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
1/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 11, 2019

“New miserable experience”

OverallRegret selecting this product for use. Go with a firm that will provide customer support that will actually help you.
ProsYet to find a feature I like. Still trying to work through simple setup with Recurly. Maybe one day it will be setup - losing money every day because of bad support.
ConsTerrible on-boarding support. Wish Recurly had a better customer service team that would help setup the product. I just get a run around that they don't have the correct information even though all other providers said that is all the information needed.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 11, 2019
David C.
Founder
Internet, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: GetApp
April 28, 2016

Source: GetApp
April 28, 2016
Linh C.
Business Development Specialist
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: GetApp
July 21, 2017

Source: GetApp
July 21, 2017
Jon H.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
October 30, 2015

“Super easy to integrate and manage”

OverallAs a SaaS company, we'd rather focus on our service, not wrestling with billing software. Recurly makes it easy to plug subscription billing into our product without worries.

Vendor Response

By Recurly on December 11, 2015
Thank you Jon. We love having you as a customer!
Source: Capterra
October 30, 2015
Mateusz P.
Co-founder
Internet, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
July 11, 2018

“Great way to manage subscription payments”

ProsAn effective way to manage subscriptions payments without large commissions, easy coupons/credits creation.
ConsCould be more user-friendly for software's beginners. Would be great to see a tutorial on how to use a software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
July 11, 2018