farmsoft post harvest Ratings

Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About farmsoft post harvest

Simple to use solution for medium to large fresh produce businesses for better traceability & less waste, maximize accuracy of production planning & shipments. Comprehensive features: inventory & barcode, labels, packing & processing, costs, orders & production planning, dispatch management, invoice/BOL, sales dashboard, quality control, traceability/recalls. Cloud based OR install locally. iOS/Android/Mac/PC Apps. Training & support. Can be tailored for your specific needs. Learn more about farmsoft post harvest

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 13 of 13 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 13 of 13 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Jake G.
Operations Manager
Food & Beverages, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 30, 2018

“Great service, saves time, better inventory control”

OverallI think the better inventory control is a serious benefit. rotation and FIFO, possibly less waste. Probably lots of savings of time for invoice, bill of lading, configuring labels for each run, export docs etc. I get less phone calls now about customer orders and pack progress since the team now use dash report screens that are live and much more accurate than our old spreadsheet system (I can also check all this stuff out of the office now, could not do that with the old spreadsheets) Our pack shed is a bit different from most, and we got the guys to make us some new reports to analyze deliveries and packout from each. This is handy for our performance monitoring and also for the supplier and even our own farms. They did a good job of making our new reports, all we had to do was tell them what we needed and they provided final report design with some enhancements. As operations manager for our pack shed, I can now monitor progress of packing compared to the orders we have. We also use reports and dash systems to coordingate with the farm manger to ensure harvest meets the demand of orders. I like the alert emails I get when someone messes with an existing order or the packout from a batch has unusual waste (this is great, you can set maximum acceptable percent of waste, if there is more waste at the end of the batch I get a pdf of the batch analysis so I can see what was packed, and what the quality issues were). this has helped me stay on top of potential issues and also been used to spot that four pallets were not entered at the correct time i think reducing the ability of the team to enter incorrect info compared to our old system that would let you enter anything and had no alerts.
ProsWe pack 14 varieties from our own farms and other suppliers into supermarket and food service packaging. The farmsoft has replaced dozens of spreadsheets that we used to enter manually, and a couple of separate programs that didn't talk to each other. Now our labels, bill of lading, export documents, and invoices are generated automatically saving time for the production, shipping and office teams. Example the receipt automatically emailed to external suppliers saves time (yeh, we still print it as well, but their admin is usually very happy to have an instant receipt delivered) Inventory management and rotation is now much more easier, and I reckon there is probably less waste slipping through the cracks. Our quality control is now more consistent than the old spreadsheet method, and our QC manager can see instantly if QC isn't being performed by the right people at the right time. This has probably helped with quality of products consistency. When we setup, our farmsoft consultant was really helpful, they replicated our existing documents, and even improved several docs, and also made new labels for our private branded fresh packs. About a year into using the farmsoft, we asked for a new label to be designed for us on a Saturday morning it took them less than two hours and then we could print our new custom label in farmsoft. Frankly that's good service you dont often see on a Saturday morning!
ConsWould be nice if there was integration with camera systems so images from the grading line could be added to each batch (we can take photos now and manually attach them to the batch, but there is no automatic system to do this at present) There are a lot of features we don't really use right now, perhaps in the future, our consultant turned them off from the settings screen and told me I can turn on at any time myself.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 30, 2018
Alex W.
Safety & production manager
Food Production, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2018

“We don't have to worry about traceability anymore, all done! Better inventory visibility.”

OverallInstant audits, more accurate traceability, better inventory management, less paperwork for the office, auto reports and case labels
ProsTraceability info is being captured during deliveries on tablets, ensuring the correct info captured at the critical point of delivery. We can now perform recalls using lots of recall info such as supplier, or delivery date, or customer order etc. Audits are now very fast, and our auditors commented that are traceability is now "excellent". The pack shed team says inventory management is easier now with less mistakes and better visibility of what product is waiting to be packed, packed and ready to be built into an order, and also shipped. Labels are now all automatic from farmsoft so we don't have to mess around with our old label program every time we packout a batch. Our shed manager says its faster an more accurate to plan orders since she can now see product on order, product in the cool stores, and balance that still needs packing. orders are assigned to batches and packing lines, with a live view of progress real time. The office says they save time with all the paperwork being generated by the dispatch team automatically instead of them having to make paper for each load. During dispatch we now photo the truck and plates for proof of shipment, photo attached to the BOL so we can reference at a later date if there is a prob with the order. Quality control allows us to capture photos of fruit during the packing process, this is great for reference with suppliers that query the accuracy of our qc on the incoming product.
ConsI want an iOS app! Our team uses the Android app, but I need a native iOS app for my iPad since i don't have any Android devices. We were given specially written manuals that match our processes (very short and simple), however, i would have preferred videos or something more interactive.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2018
David J.
Manager / Partner
Food & Beverages, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 22, 2018

“Helped us reduce inventory waste and force FIFO, less mistakes !!!”

OverallBrought down waste levels considerably, stopped screw ups during order picking and shipping process. We had previously tried to improve our processes many times using random checks, regular stock takes etc, didn't have the desired outcome. this new computer system has added positively to the line; also happier customers because they get exactly what they ordered. Probably made offices job easier with invoice and shipping documents being made and printed or emailed automatically.
ProsWe were dumping two to three pallets (300 crate) a week before implementation. Now its down to almost 0 crate. our inventory is now accountable and tracked at all times. Often orders would be filled using product that was not the oldest product. This could lead to some product being left in a corner of a cooler for a few days too long, resulting in either waste or downgraded product quality. Now each shipping team member can see orders on their tablet (we mounted to forklifts) and view the location of the pallets that should be assigned to the order. The pallets are usually barcode scanned onto the order (sometimes selected from a list if pallets hard to reach). This process forces shippers to take the correct pallets based on FIFO. We also saw an accuracy increase for orders, since shippers are being told by farmsoft which pallets must go on the order, there are now no errors where we ship a pallet of the wrong product (this has produced savings, we don't like paying double shipping to recover a pallet). the traceability and recalls are easy to use and a great feature, but we think the real value here is reduction in mistakes and waste. the entire shipping process seems faster now, from telling the team the orders, to the automatic BOL and invoices that go with the driver. Guessing the ROI on this computer system will be well less than 6 months.
ConsNot the cheapest tool out there, but certainly works for us from the get go and had all the required fucntions. would like more comprehensive integration with Sage in the standard system.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 22, 2018
John R.
Sales manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2018

“Orders filled right, every time. ”

OverallI reckon we save about 1 hour a day since we dont have to mess around with invoices and BOL, and the stocktake is kind of already done at all times. orders now filled more accurate and each load sent on time, not sure how to quantify reduced errors or not having annoyed calls from customers when a truck is late. I can now keep an eye on the entire pack & ship operation from anywhere, and now enter orders on the go.
ProsI use the Dispatch Dash to plan packing to match orders. We now pack to match our orders more accurately than before. I can now assign trucks to multiple orders, and print the BOL and invoice rapidly - all automatic now. Saves a heap of time telling admin what is shipping and waiting for invoices and BOL to be produced. A few of our customers want to be notified every time we send a truck of potatoes to them, the farmsoft system does this automatically which is great. We now have an accurate picture of our available inventory at all times, which i can check from my phone from anywhere (before i had to call the production manager and ask them to go do a pallet and bag count). we give each farm a new 'Delivery receipt', so they can match up their delivery with the pack out, and the sale of that delivery using the Delivery Analysis feature, this product is from our own farms mostly but is good to let the farm teams have transparency through to sale and pack out weightrs and quality.
ConsThe QC system is a bit complex to setup, but I got it right eventually. would be nice if every customers qc was already setup as a standard or template or something.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2018
Armando C.
Food Safety Director
Food Production, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 29, 2019

“Extremely pleased with Farmsoft and the Customer Servce..”

OverallAs the Food safety director for our company, the addition of Farmsoft to our business has made the audit process and record keeping one less thing to worry about. We have reduced certain audit processes by half the time it took us before having Farmsoft. Traceability and Mock recalls are a breeze now. Highly, Highly recommend Farmsoft.
ProsThe thing I like most about Farmsoft is the ease of use and the way in which Al (Customer Service) and his team can tailor Farmsoft to meet the needs of your business. The bang for you buck is also a huge plus. As a mom and pop operation, a huge budget is out of the question, but farmsoft delivers everything and more than some of the other Post Harvest software's out there.
ConsWe are only 2 years into using the Software so really no negative things to say about it. About the only thing that comes to mind is sometimes an Error message might pop up on a Report or Invoice but Al and his team usually have it back running within minutes.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 29, 2019
Avatar Image
Chris M.
Co Founder & Owner
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 1, 2018

“Worst software experience EVER.”

OverallNone, we wasted a significant amount of time and resources, were treated with disdain by their sales manager.
ProsThe idea of it. If the tool had the functionality described for the use case we need - it would be amazing... however as their Sales manager said regarding those representations "That's just SEO". Farmsoft has a well optimised SEO campaign, that shows every conceivable agriculture operation with it's own page (IE MUSHROOM FARMING SOFTWARE), with detailed language clearly lifted from research on the industry.
ConsUnfortunately, the software HAS NEVER ACTUALLY BEEN USED ON A MUSHROOM FARM, and the staff and devs have NO IDEA what would need to happen to make it use-able. Strategy is to continually offer to charge an arm and a leg to try and make it do what they already advertise it as being able to do. Despite being significantly more expensive than other solutions, we decided to go with Farmsoft SPECIFICALLY BECAUSE THEY ADVERTISED AND EXPLICITLY EXPRESSED THEIR TOOL WAS APPLICABLE TO MUSHROOM FARMING. We were VERY patient in the 'on-boarding' phase, which describes in the sales literature a process that would identify elements needing rectifying or custom dev, however what we actually experienced was a cookie-cutter roll out attempt and only right at the end when it was clear all our concerns were not going to be uncovered or addressed, we requested.further information about use in other mushroom farms, only to get the sheepish admission that it hadn't ever been used, & nobody in the business had any experience with mushroom farming or insight as to what would need customizing. Our consultant was apologetic and offered a refund, however their sales manager refused and continually offered more expensive development work as a 'solution'.They had no regard for or willingness to consider that 'TERMS' isn't an 'out' for the software being fit for purposes advertised or that their marketing material was misleading and deceptive.they have NO PHONE CONTACT DETAILS for their NY office. Considerable effort has been made to ensure no customers can call the company.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 1, 2018
Mark H.
Operations Manager
Farming, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 28, 2018

“Very satisfied customers”

OverallWe needed to streamline the process in which our inventory is tracked, including the organization of incoming orders to ensure proper calculation of current inventory. We moved from a pen-and-paper system to the Farmsoft system. The difference was like night and day. We knew exactly the inventory we had, what we needed to pack to fulfill incoming orders, and what inventory was on hand but not sold. One of the biggest unrealized benefits we saw was keeping the field crew harvesting the proper amount of each variety. In years past, once one variety was harvested, someone would have to physically walk through the coolers counting the product and inventory manually. Then we would begin the time consuming process of counting how much of each product was needed, what was surplus, and so on. Our first year using Farmsoft is the first year we can say that each shipment left our loading docks loaded with the correct products and amounts.
ProsThe customization for our specific operation.
ConsWe experienced some minor system glitches.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 28, 2018
Lok C.
Agronomist
Farming, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 9, 2018

“Farmsoft for a horticultural bussiness”

ProsThe Farmsoft system provides a well thought out platform to run operations from planting through to harvest as well as post production procedures. The level of detail and customisation that is allowed on the program provides flexibility to smoothly run farming operations. The ability to also create additional functions to suite our particular enterprises' needs is highly valued.
ConsDue to the high level of detail and customisation required by our business, the implementation of the Farmsoft system can be a lengthy task. If errors are made, editing these details can also be drawn out and uninviting, so be sure of what you are entering when doing so!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 9, 2018
Sharon S.
production manager
Food & Beverages, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2018

“Simple to teach the guys how to use.”

Overalleasy paperwork, auditors are happy (and audits faster), access to new reports that we don't have to manually compile in XLS
Proscovers all incoming, processing, qc, and shipping/sales requirements. reduced time taken in the office to make invoices and bill of lading. makes labels for crates and pallet easy. simple recall/audit process.
Consi wish the android app worked offline (if your internet goes off you are no longer able to save new inventory etc)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2018
Georgie S.
Food Production, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
November 7, 2016

“complete business management”

OverallFarmsoft has provided us with a system that meets all of our business requirements and more. Implementation, support and customer service has been second to none and of a standard l have not witnessed before. The flexibility of the system and the support by Al and the team to ensure our business needs were met and delivered is highly commendable. Would highly recommend the software and the Company as a provider.
ProsCovers our entire farming and post harvest processing, packaging, storage, sales orders, and export of fruit.
Source: Capterra
November 7, 2016
Mike G.
Farming, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
November 7, 2016

“farmsoft runs our pack shed very well.”

OverallTraceability and reporting has been excellent. Third party auditors have been more than impressed with the traceability. FarmSoft support, training, and requests for customization to FarmSoft to fit our company has always been prompt and effective in response.
ProsEasy to use, takes care of entire packing operations
Consonly available over cloud
Source: Capterra
November 7, 2016
Robert K.
Packing Shed Manager
Farming, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 3, 2019

“Farmsoft”

ProsThis software made it so easy to invoice customers and provide full traceability of our inventory. Being able to see what stock is currently on hand is also a great feature.
ConsThe user interface display is not fantastic and the time taken for fields to automatically populate can be a problem for repetitious entries.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 3, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 13, 2018

“Horrible Company”

OverallNone
ProsNothing was good about this software except for the concept, which the staff couldn't follow through with.
ConsThe software itself is much too involved. The amount of customization that they promise is not up to standard. The 'Training' you get is nothing but a disappointment. After every on boarding session, we were left feeling even more confused than the time before. We were forced to continue switching between two platforms while they were doing a switch in design. It was almost impossible to get a grasp on the content. We were continuously talked down to by our 'instructor', Al, who would actually laugh at us when we couldn't figure out how to implement some of the features, Now, after we gave this company a fair shot, we decided to request a refund because of everything listed above. They had tried offering more on boarding sessions, or offered a refund. We sent in our refund request and was told it could take up to 90 days for us to receive our refund. We waited patiently and on the 90th day we received an email stating that they would NOT be refunding us. This has caused a large amount of frustration. Our lawyers will now be involved.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 13, 2018