Unified Threat Management Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About Unified Threat Management

For over 20 years, WatchGuard has pioneered cutting-edge cyber security technology & delivered it as easy-to-deploy and easy-to-manage solutions. With advanced network security, secure Wi-Fi, multi-factor authentication, and network intelligence products and services, WatchGuard enables small and midsize enterprises from around the globe to protect their business. As the cyber security landscape is constantly evolving, and new threats emerge each day, WatchGuard solutions keep you secure. Learn more about Unified Threat Management

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 11 of 11 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 11 of 11 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2018

“Our company uses the Watchguard UTM Firebox, and it is a beast of a firewall.”

OverallI feel very comfortable knowing our network and users are protected. Plus, I can easily modify the UTM with the help of Watchguard's support team should anything be needed.
ProsTons of features via its core offering but also through its additional subscription services like Gateway Antivirus, WebBlocker, Botnet Detection, and Intrusion Prevention Services. The traffic monitor is kind of intimidating but real-time and very searchable. I used a similar UTM before Watchguard and it did not have half the feature-set for tracking down issues with outside connectivity. We have had no attack issues since using the UTM. The support is very responsive and willing to take the time to address whatever the issue may be. I like this product a lot and feel very comfortable in its protection of our network.
ConsI really don't have any cons for Watchguard other than it can be hard to configure all the features without their support team. There is a lot of information out there to do everything with this UTM but it is kind of tough to jump right in if you don't fully know what you're dealing with as far as firewall issues go.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2018
Adam B.
Assistant Network Administrator
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 15, 2017

“Best Darn Firewall We Have Ever Used”

ProsWe were introduced to Watchguard by a consultant after years with a Cisco PIX/ASA. We love the intuitive user interface and the level of security that has been provided by the appliance. The proof is in the traffic monitor!
ConsThe interface may be a bit scary for a first time user of the appliance, however the Wizards can be extremely helpful.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 15, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Computer & Network Security, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 27, 2018

“Great appliance for SMBs, easy console and awesome support”

OverallOne thing that needs to be mentioned is the exceptional support WG offers. The engineers are great and answer to the point, or offer remote help. Also their documentation is very well written and detailed. Software is great, console(s) do what they're supposed to and the hardware is pretty good as well. I highly recommend it to small-medium businesses.
ProsWeb console is great for most of the options, it's fast and easy to use, even if you're not very experienced with networks. It doesn't have all the features (or not as clear as through WSM) but it does the job very well. We use it for protection of 3 sites and BOVPN.
ConsAs said, the web console is sometimes leading you to issues, such as faulty firewall rules or endless searching of where the option you're looking for really is. WSM (older/desktop app console) works great, but it's kind of old. Other than that, nothing else wrong!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 27, 2018
Susan M.
Systems Administrator
Insurance, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
June 7, 2017

“The WatchGuard is effective and easy to customize. ”

OverallWe were hit with the Crypto virus twice with our other firewall. This has given us complete protection.
ProsGreat intrusion prevention via IPS, URL filtering, Gateway AV, port restriction and APT blocker. Making entries for exceptions is fast and effective.
Source: Capterra
June 7, 2017
Amir K.
IT Manager
Telecommunications, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 4, 2018

“I try Watchguard and its an amazing product for us, we are under going on IT.”

Overallits a good price when I compaire to other products with same features.
ProsEasy to use "not complicated" and no need to be certified to work with, very strong and have all what Im searching for.
Consno words, and all is going good. im sure its a future product for many companies. whatchguard is the product we need at this time.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 4, 2018
Bridget N.
Director of Marketing & Communications
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2018

“Watch guard is good for connecting to our work VPN...now if our work VPN was faster it'd be great!”

ProsWe never used to be able to securely connect to our work VPN - and now we can! This has been a life saver so I don't have to save all my files locally.
ConsInterface just seems a little outdated, and not super user friendly...but any tech savvy user can figure it out eventually.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2018
Joey D.
Director
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
May 17, 2017

“Great features for a reasonable price. Setup is a bit tricky but tech support was great”

ProsI like the protection provided for a reasonable price. The ability to manage access points is a bonus
ConsConfiguration is a bit difficult. An example of this is connecting to one of the four available ethernet connections. By default those ports are not activated and it easy to assume they are.
Source: Capterra
May 17, 2017
Avatar Image
Ali D.
Ingeniero de operaciones
Banking, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 12, 2019

“This product changed my vision of the firewall.”

OverallI have a UTM installed in my company as a main firewall
ProsIts performance and functions are really amazing, in a single team I have been able to ensure the entire network.
ConsAs all security equipment maintaining active licensing is extremely important for additional functions, although firewall functions are maintained.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 12, 2019
Avatar Image
Louis J.
CTO
Telecommunications, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 14, 2019

“Basic UTM with Poor Manufacturers Support & Poor Reliability”

OverallWatchGuard is a leading vendor but lags behind its direct competitors, and it's reliability on the smaller range makes it questionable. However the pricing and basic feature set make it attractive to SMB's.
ProsThe GUI is user friendly and looks quite modern and slick. Generally the configuration is logical and easy to navigate. The pricing is generally cheap.
ConsReliability on hardware is poor, support isn't very helpful (e.g. they wont do a remote session to help), feature set is weak and generally the appliance lags behind its competitors.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 14, 2019
Grant W.
Sales and Technician
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 8, 2018

“I use these all the time for our clients”

ProsWe have been using these for a few years and have had great luck. Everything from the small Firebox series up to the XTM series that we have in place have been bulletproof.
ConsCosts are kind of all over the board. The units and subscriptions are available on amazon for less than what I can get them through my channels (mainly Ingram) for and my customer wonders why my prices are more expensive.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 8, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Government Administration, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 11, 2019

“Great Firewall solution”

ProsDeployment options and administration. Site to site VPN setup. IPsec options using standards.
ConsHad difficulty setting up a site to site VPN with another product from a different vendor.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 11, 2019