Tree Plotter Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5

About Tree Plotter

TreePlotter Software Suite is the leading web-based urban forestry software app, is designed for inventorying, managing, and informing decisions about trees. Use an existing inventory or create a new one to manage public/private trees in an online map. Replaces traditional GPS-based inventory programs with GIS and web cloud-hosting technologies and use any device with Internet connectivity. A powerful but easy-to-use tool for towns, cities, states, non-profits, and private tree care firms. Learn more about Tree Plotter

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 74 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 74 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Elise W.
Community Forestry Program Manager
Program Development, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 1, 2018

“Plan-it Geo is a professional, hard-working company with a fantastic product I'm proud to use. ”

OverallWith Tree Plotter we engage the public to plot private yard trees on our map, view public trees, and take self-guided tree walks. This enables us to better understand the composition of our urban forest and associated ecosystem benefits calculations. Not to mention, people will learn about the trees around them and hopefully become more informed about trees and advocate for planting and proper care. Tree Plotter also allows us to track our organization's tree planting and tree care activities on a digital map, for the first time! We also engage volunteers to survey trees in several programs, providing regular data on the status and needed care for young urban trees.
ProsOur organization needed a platform to 1) engage the public in plotting trees, and 2)help us manage our programs better. We reviewed several tree mapping software programs/providers, and chose to subscribe to Plan-it Geo's Tree Plotter system because we felt that the team and products would best suit our needs for the present and near future. The customer service is fast and attentive, with a skilled team that works with us to craft a custom map that we can use effectively. The software is user-friendly and highly customizable, which helps us create a tool that does what we want and looks how we want it to look. They also have several add-on tools that you can purchase when you have funding, or leave out if you don't need it. Being able to pay for what you need and not what you don't was a nice model for us.
ConsAs Plan-it Geo grows and evolves, we hope they will continue to take our suggestions to allow us (clients) the ability to customize some things on our own. It really helps speed things up if we are able to make some changes to our Tree Plotter map structure without asking them first. I think the only thing that is still an issue is some slowness and incompatibility with various Apple devices. It works great on android devices I've used, but many of our users with iPhones can have a tougher time with loading the map/features quickly. Any other things we've expressed a desire to see changed has been taken into consideration and they've shown that they value our feedback and make changes based on client wishes - which is awesome!

Vendor Response

By Plan-It Geo on May 3, 2018
Elise- Thank you so much for such a wonderful and thought out review! We appreciate you taking the time to do so! We've enjoyed working with you and your team to help make Tree Plotter work for you all, and look forward to doing so into the future. Thanks again! Matt & Plan-It Geo
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 1, 2018
Gerry B.
South Idaho Community Forestry Assistant
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
July 11, 2017

“Easy to learn, easy to use, and accurate. Reports are great!”

ProsI work in the Idaho Community Forestry Program. The State is supplying Tree Plotter at no cost to Idaho cities so that a statewide tree inventory is developed. It's easy to train volunteers or employees to use, it's cloud based including photos of the individual trees. And, the reports generated from inventory results offer much needed information that influences urban forestry management and planning decisions. The accuracy of the GPS coordinates is terrific, this helps not only for street trees, but for locating trees growing in parks and green ways. Data collection can be done using any device that has an internet connection, eliminating the need for expensive equipment such as a Trimble.
ConsTree Plotter uses Bing or Google maps. It's been my experience that one or the other contains more current imagery. But when you log on to collect data, Bing maps are the default map, even though Google maps may be more current. I'd like it if there were a way to set the default to whichever map was more useful. Also, at least in the Idaho Tree Plotter program, when collecting DBH information, only even inch measurements can be recorded. Measuring growth over time, especially in younger trees, requires measurements to the 1/10th of an inch to accurately assess how vigorous a tree is growing.

Vendor Response

By Plan-It Geo on July 12, 2017
Thank you so much for your review! I am happy Tree Plotter is helping you be more effective in caring for Idaho's urban forests. Our new App Manager will be out soon that will allow you to customize things like default base map, and fields and values. We will keep you posted when this is released. Thanks again! -Evan
Source: Capterra
July 11, 2017
Greg H.
Manager of Forestry, Horticulture and GIS
Government Administration, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 14, 2018

“Tree Plotter is SO Much MORE then a Tree Inventory System”

OverallThe customizing process was very well handled by the Plan-It Geo staff. They asked lots of questions and made quick changes and updates as Forestry staff began to use the software and found things they didn't like or wanted in another place in the database. As Forestry staff have continued to evolve the database whenever they needed assistance with Tree Plotter by either sending an email or by using the in app support responses were quick.
ProsCompletely customizable to include whatever information you want to collect. Scalable to your needs: Tree Plotter can be a simple, basic tree inventory database or by adding desired modules it can become a full fledged work management system. Or you can do appraisals or risk assessments. Its up to your needs and budget. Information can be exported for use in ArcGIS. Some lists you can edit yourself such as adding tree species, there by speeding up adding new trees to your inventory and not needing to send a support ticket to have a tree name added.
ConsBy fully customizing and scaling the software up with modules it can take a little while to understand where different parts of your data is located and how to use the filters to find what you want. Cellular and Wi-Fi connections or having a very large database can slow down the process of adding data. However Tree Plotter does have work around for this such as off line data.

Vendor Response

By Plan-It Geo on November 20, 2018
Thank you for the detailed review Greg! We appreciate you taking the time to do so, and your feedback is always valued. Please let us know if there is anything we can help you with!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 14, 2018
John H.
President, Landscape Economist
Renewables & Environment, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 9, 2018

“Review from John Harris of Earth Advisors”

OverallThe simplistic user interface makes it easy to learn and use, but having the data input window scroll and reset each time a data field is entered takes time to scroll back to the next data field to enter and is frustrating. The background aerial photos work well, but we want to be able to zoom to smaller scale in the Google Earth Map than the overall Tree Plotter subscription for the aerials allows. We usually download the shp files and make our own ArcGIS maps so we can input our company title block and needed labeling, and to allow for setting the print scale to not have overlapping points. We continue to use and expand our use of Tree Plotter, and continue to provide useful feedback and revision ideas to Plan It Geo staff for improving the program. Thanks for working with us for a better shared environment.
ProsOperates well in any mobile device we have used from tablets and handheld data recorders to phones. The real time and multi user environment allows us to both monitor our staff in the field and also for everyone to work cooperatively in completing inventories and damage assessments. We use Tree Plotter for full landscape inventories and contractor work audits, as well as tree surveys and tree inventories.
ConsWe do not want our work, or our client list, to be visible to others, as we have many competitive advantages and legally protected work products in our projects. Having our Tree Plotter account visible to anyone who can enter the url has been an issue for us that we want resolved so our account is not publically visible at all.

Vendor Response

By Plan-It Geo on November 20, 2018
Hi John- Thanks for the review! We appreciate it. Also, we'll be reaching out regarding the data visibility you mentioned and hopefully taking care of that for you.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 9, 2018
Dylan G.
Tree Trimmer 2
Facilities Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 20, 2019

“Best Tree Inventory Software”

OverallMy experience has been great. I love the customer service.
ProsI think the best thing about tree plotter is the visual layout of the trees and the search capabilities. It makes it really easy and fun to interact with the software. Also, the fact that tree plotter can be customized to the needs of my organization makes it fit our work flow really nicely. Probably the best part about tree plotter is the customer service and the fast response I get from Tree Plotter developers.
ConsI think some of the work flows to do with work management could be streamlined more. Also, it would be nice if tree plotter had some kind of calendar feature built in where we could pull up a schedule of work and due dates.

Vendor Response

By Plan-It Geo on June 26, 2019
Thank you so much for that thought out review Dylan! We pride ourselves on having a very versatile product with a great support staff to back it up. We actually have two rounds of updates coming out this summer in regards to the Work Order Management so stay tuned! Abel & PlanIT Geo
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 20, 2019
Nathan S.
Consulting Department Manager
Environmental Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 2, 2019

“A necessary tool for communication”

OverallTree Plotter has become an essential tool of communication in our daily operations. We brought Tree Plotter into our Consulting Operations as a means to offer our same premium level consulting services to a wider range of clients. We have had success with that goal, and have realized a "TREEmendous" benefit of better communication internally between management, sales, and production staff. We utilize Tree Plotter to create maps for our various Plant Health Care treatments. These maps allow our sales staff to efficiently gather data for these treatments and easily share high quality maps to our production staff to access from their smart phones in the field. We could not be happier!
ProsThe design of Tree Plotter is user-friendly and professionally functional.
ConsThe early days (2015) required an internet connect to utilize the app. This was difficult for some of our rural and remote client properties. PG solved this problem with the offline functionality!

Vendor Response

By Plan-It Geo on July 10, 2019
Nathan, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this well thought out review! We have certainly come a long way from when we first started and continuously work to push the bar higher and higher. Thanks for being such a great client throughout all these years. We really appreciate your business! Abel & PlanIT Geo
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 2, 2019
Katie K.
Urban Forestery
Government Administration, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 6, 2018

“Tree Plotter Review”

OverallThis has been incredibly helpful for our data collection methods, which were previously collected on paper then inputted in to the computer. It has streamlined this process to a great extent!
ProsEfficient data collection. Ease of use. Data compilation to show summary. Sorting capabilities.
ConsHave had some glitches, including data incorrectly calculating. Difficulty to attach photos in the field (however that may be a problem with our connection..) Would like to have parcel information available - click for property owner info would be helpful.

Vendor Response

By Plan-It Geo on November 14, 2018
Thanks for the review Katie! We are glad that Tree Plotter has helped your workflow. Adding parcel information is certainly possible within the application and can be done a few different ways depending on the data format.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 6, 2018
Stacy B.
Arboriculture Superintendent
Higher Education, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2019

“Tree Plotter Review”

ProsThe customization and features offered are far superior to the previous inventory software we were using.
ConsThe Tree Risk Assessment Module does not reflect the complete TRA form and could be improved.

Vendor Response

By Plan-It Geo on June 25, 2019
Thanks for the great review Stacy! Glad to hear that you love TreePlotter and its versatile functionality. We are always looking for ways to increase the value of the add on modules and that process starts with our users input so I really appreciate your feedback! Thanks again! Abel & PlanIT Geo
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2019
Chris M.
Tree Care Sales Arborist
Environmental Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2019

“Great product and support”

OverallI use Tree Plotter to map trees on townhome association properties that we do lawn and tree maintenance on. It is great to be able to give the production crews a map and spreadsheet listing the trees they need to work on.
ProsI love this software! The company is very good about always updating it based a lot on customer feedback and requests. Customer support is great and they always respond quickly. My issues are sometimes self inflicted but I think I have helped them improve the product based on my suggestions.
ConsNothing that hasn't been fixed.

Vendor Response

By Plan-It Geo on June 20, 2019
Chris, thank you so much for that great review! We love providing our clients with the tools they need to be more efficient with their business. We work hard to meet expectations like yours, and we're happy to hear we hit the mark for you. Thanks again! Abel & PlanIT Geo
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2019
Luke D.
Urban Forestry Coordinator
Government Administration, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2019

“Tree Plotter is key to our success ”

OverallWe use Tree Plotter to communicate with our in house tree crews and contractors to save time. We also use it to track health and size.
ProsTree Plotter is very easy to use and the support is terrific. One one occasion, I deleted the majority of our data. One quick phone call and everything was restored.
ConsIts not the easiest software to use in the field.

Vendor Response

By Plan-It Geo on June 20, 2019
Thanks for the awesome review, Luke! We pride ourselves on customer satisfaction and quality of service at PlanIT Geo and are always here to help. Make sure to reach out to us with any questions you may have including how to maximize the software's performance out in the field. Thanks again! Abel & PlanIT Geo
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2019
Corinne S.
Business partnerships manager
Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
2/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 25, 2019

“Great support staff!”

ProsThe support staff are excellent! They are quick to respond to challenges.
ConsNot as user friendly (public interface-wise) as we hoped it would be

Vendor Response

By Plan-It Geo on July 1, 2019
Corinne, thank you so much for your review! We are constantly trying to improve TreePlotter's interface and have it be more streamlined for our users. We actually just released our biggest update in years and think you will find it to be very useful. As always, feel free to contact us at support@planitgeo.com with any additional questions or concerns you may have. Thanks again! Abel & PlanIT Geo
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 25, 2019
Daniel M.
Director of Operations.
Environmental Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 18, 2019

“Consultants must have! ”

ProsVery comprehensive and customizable Everything a consult needs to inventory or document trees and plants. Increases productivity and reduces the time need to write professional reports. And most of all my competitors don't have it and I have a great competitive advantage, haven't lost a project since I purchased Tree Plotter.
ConsThe offline collection features aren't the same as the online. While it is very functional it would be nice to have it updated.

Vendor Response

By Plan-It Geo on June 20, 2019
Thank you for taking the time to review, Daniel! We love hearing about our clients taking full advantage of TreePlotter! We recently released our biggest software update in years which includes a major overhaul to the reports section. If you haven't checked that out I highly encourage you to do so. Thanks again! Abel & PlanIT Geo
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 18, 2019
Avatar Image
Brian G.
Shrub and Tree Care Manager
Environmental Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 11, 2018

“Commercial User”

OverallWhen managing large commercial or large residential sites data collection and review is usually the most difficult part. The client usually does not know what he has on property and what services he needs now or in the next year. Collecting the data and presenting the information to the client can help them use their budget efficiently. Most of the time site managers do not realize the clarity that can be provided by implementing a product like this.
ProsProperty management has become simple and profitable through the use of the software. From the beginning consultation with the client all the way through to delivery of the management plan, Tree Plotter has the data we need.
ConsDuring the collection process the app has a tendency to slow down when a picture is taken and saved to multiple trees. The best way to overcome this deficiency is to log out, refresh and/or delete browser history and cookies.

Vendor Response

By Plan-It Geo on November 14, 2018
Thank you for the review and feedback Brian! We appreciate it. Great to see the tool being used to further your business and communicate with clients. Please let us know if we can do anything for you!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 11, 2018
Sean T.
Landscape inspector
Public Safety, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019

“Urban forest diversity”

OverallWe are figuring out how diverse our urban forest is regarding tree species and age of trees
ProsEase of use in regards to mass population changes with the click of a button. The ability to add on more features as our needs grow.
ConsI cant think of anything at the moment. In the future I will need it to talk to our new work order system for in house tree work.

Vendor Response

By Plan-It Geo on September 13, 2019
Sean, thank you so much for the great review! Glad to hear TreePlotter is meeting all your urban forestry needs. Make sure to reach out to us whenever you're ready to talk about how to best incorporate TreePlotter with your current work order system, we're here to help! Abel & PlanIT Geo
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019
Cory M.
City Forester
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2018

“My experience with Tree Plotter has been nothing but positive. Supportive staff and easy of use!”

ProsThe Customer service and frequent webinars/training is one of the best aspects of this product. It takes a lot of the confusion out of a software that offers so many different functional options. The folks here are always looking to improve the functionality and make it easier for the end-user to achieve their individual needs and goals.
ConsThis has already been addressed and at this time, and I have no complaints with the software itself.

Vendor Response

By Plan-It Geo on May 3, 2018
Thanks so much for the review Cory! We are glad you have had such a positive experience. As you know we're always here to help. You can reach us at support@planitgeo.com Thanks again! Matt & Plan-It Geo
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2018
Pieter T.
Arborist
Civic & Social Organization, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2019

“Tree Plotter User”

OverallVery responsive customer service, which makes all the difference when dealing with questions. Transferring data from our old system was handled well and subsequent changes was not a hassle to the personnel. Very positive can-do attitude.
ProsEasy to use and fast with no need for synchronization of tree data. It's all live!
ConsI can't buy all the packages. The CTLA valuation system is very complex and not easy to use

Vendor Response

By Plan-It Geo on July 10, 2019
Pieter, thank you for the excellent review mate! We pride ourselves on having a great support team and work very hard to meet our clients expectations. As always, let us know if there is anything we can do to continue to enrich your experience with TreePlotter. Keep on plotting! Abel & PlanIT Geo
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2019
Anaisa A.
Youth Tree Team Coordinator
Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 25, 2019

“Everything has been amazing. ”

OverallEverything that we find that needs to be fixed costumer service is on it every time!
ProsEverything is all in one software! Ordering trees, maintenance and all the info about our trees!
ConsUsing the software in a cellphone or tablet it can become really slow. Maybe having an app it would work faster.

Vendor Response

By Plan-It Geo on June 26, 2019
Anaisa, thank you so much for that great review! TreePlotter's performance is dependent on a few different factors including the device you use and how strong your internet connection is. I would love for you to reach out to us at support@planitgeo.com to further discuss this topic and see how we can better assist you with this. Thanks again! Abel & PlanIT Geo
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 25, 2019
Kyle V.
Manager
Environmental Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 9, 2018

“Amazing application with outstanding support”

ProsVery user friendly making it a breeze when collecting data on large sites. Exporting the data into spreadsheets was easy and allowed you to filter the data as required. The TreePlotter support team were top notch as they answered my emails over the weekend and were there to help when I had questions, and I had a lot of them!
ConsPhoto uploads are exported separately from the data adding time in preparing reports when tethering photos to the data. Once sorted with a proper spreadsheet template, it was a breeze.

Vendor Response

By Plan-It Geo on November 14, 2018
Thanks for the feedback Kyle! We've enjoyed working with you and are always here to help!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 9, 2018
Dale B.
Arborist
1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
October 20, 2016

“Arborist, Sim Tree Health Specialist ”

OverallOur company has been using Tree Plotter for the last 3 years. We are now able to offer a tree survey service to our customers not available to us before Tree Plotter. The program is easy to use. Customer service is excellent. Whenever we have a question there is an answer right away. The program has evolved to help us better serve our customers. During the short time we have been using Tree Plotter are business in this area has grown enough to support a full time employee.
ProsEase of entering data about the trees into the program with all the information needed.
ConsAt times depending on the location we are working the program is slow. But this weekend new developments in the program will impover this area of concern.
Recommendations to other buyersIf you want to increase your business this is a excellent product to use.
Source: Capterra
October 20, 2016
Avatar Image
Maria Maryelis D.
Coordinadora
Government Administration, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2018

“One of the best tool avaliable for tree mapping ”

OverallWorking with Tree Plotter has made my work both in the office and in the field so much easy and efficient.
ProsI truly love that I can use it in all my devices and I can even do it offline, those two things are definitely the ones that I like the most.
ConsFor me the only thing I like the least is the high price of Tree Plotter apart from that is a pretty good software for tree data management and mapping.

Vendor Response

By Plan-It Geo on November 15, 2018
Thanks for the feedback Maria! It is great to know that Tree Plotter has made your work more efficient. Please reach out and let us know if we can do anything for you!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2018
Rick K.
Community Forester
Government Administration, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2017

“From the research in the beginning to the implementation and follow up, this has been excellent.”

OverallConfidence that we will yield an accurate up-to-date inventory and use the benefits statistics to our administrative advantage.
ProsEase of use, customer service, and long term stability. We have trained an intern do begin the inventory of 17,000+ trees, and he is already independently almost done with 1/2 of the work in 3 months.
ConsI might have appreciated some face time with the staff as I might have more easily understood some of the ins and outs of the program...that being said, we are now easily able to create the inventory but might need help working through other possibilities using the software as we expand its utility for our City.

Vendor Response

By Plan-It Geo on July 18, 2017
Thank you for the review Rick! In-person training is always preferred, but we try to make the best out of screen shares and online resources as an alternative. It would be great to meet up at some point! In the meantime, feel free to send any questions or concerns to support@planitgeo.com for a quick response. Thanks again. - Plan-It Geo
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2017
Guy G.
Owner
Environmental Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 10, 2019

“Great product and Serive”

ProsEasy to use and custmer support and training outstanding
ConsLoading time can depend on data and wifi

Vendor Response

By Plan-It Geo on July 12, 2019
Guy, thank you so much for taking the time to leave this great review! We truly appreciate your business. I'm glad you have continued to have a positive experience with TreePlotter throughout the last couple of years. Keep on plotting my friend! Abel & PlanIT Geo
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 10, 2019
Shannon A.
Timber Management Officer
Government Administration, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 2, 2019

“Tree Plotter Review”

OverallI am working with a small community group to inventory trees in Las Vegas, New Mexico. We are assessing street trees, park trees and trees accessible from the public right-of-way throughout the city.
ProsOnce the software is set up it is easy to use with local volunteer groups and students in our community.
ConsI do not like that a WIFI connection is required for the GPS to work, it would help to be able to ground-truth tree locations now and then to stay on track. The program was glitchy when first setting up and the maps did not always load correctly.

Vendor Response

By Plan-It Geo on July 10, 2019
Shannon, thank you so much for that great review! It's great to hear that things have progressively gotten better for you and that TreePlotter has become an important tool for your every day tasks. We are constantly looking at ways to improve TreePlotter's interface and functionalities and truly appreciate your feedback. Thanks again! Abel & PlanIT Geo
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 2, 2019
Mike H.
Grounds Services Manager
Higher Education, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 18, 2019

“Tree plotter”

OverallIt is intimidating at first. We are just getting started with it.
ProsVery versatile, many people can sign on and view which I can control who see what. I know that our sustainability director will like the Eco benefits. you can keep track of so many things. I am pretty sure our Contracted Arborist will really like it. This will also help me with other departments we can plot items other than trees.
ConsIt does so many things it can be intimidating however i think that once i get use to it, it will be great.

Vendor Response

By Plan-It Geo on June 19, 2019
Thanks for the great review Mike! Glad to hear you and your team are taking full advantage of TreePlotter. Make sure to reach out to us with any questions!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 18, 2019
Ralph G.
Broker and Auctioneer
Real Estate, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
October 20, 2016

“Tree inventory of a private golf course, for planning and management of removals and plantings.”

OverallOur traditional old golf course was built in 1921 & 1922. It had been primarily open farmland with few trees left on the playing field. Over time, many mistakes were made planting trees of the wrong specie and in the wrong locations for the health of the turf, for maintenance, and from a golf course architectural perspective. I was involved with a Certified Arborist and fellow member to create an inventory, for which we selected Tree Plotter. First we used the free version, but quickly realized its limits and value. We then leased the full version and have not looked back. We could remove as many as 650 trees +/- over time. the emrgent and more immediate benefit is that we have identified and located several hundred ash tress on and surrounding the golf course proper. The significance is the emerald ash borer infestation here in Western NY. They are surrounding us and have been detected on our property. Tree Plotter has us prepared and able to quantify our exposure.
ProsFunctionality and access from a number of platforms.
ConsEspecially early on, the ability to customize it down to our limited needs.
Recommendations to other buyersNothing new.
Source: Capterra
October 20, 2016
Kristoffer R.
Manager II
Public Safety, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 2, 2019

“City of Dallas Street Repair Division Urban Forestry”

ProsTree Plotter is easy to use and very intuitive. The custom features are great and the customer support is first class. The add on modules are great options to grow into as we utilize the Tree Plotter program.
ConsI truly don't have anything negative to say about the software. I wish I could dedicated a full time person to enter data and managing the program.

Vendor Response

By Plan-It Geo on July 10, 2019
Wow, thank you so much for that incredible review, Kristoffer! We work very hard to meet expectations like yours and we're happy to hear we hit that mark for you. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and for being such a loyal client these last couple of years. Keep on plotting! Abel & PlanIT Geo
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 2, 2019
Greg H.
Horticulturist
Government Relations, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 29, 2019

“Fargo Parks, Landscape Dept”

ProsIt takes a while to figure this program out, but once you do, it is easy to make Work Records and Jobs for my crews. I do like that there are multiple ways of doing the same task. You can find a routine that works for you.
ConsI work for the Fargo Park District Forestry dept. I am in charge of the landscape department. I use a layer that we put amenities in(i.e. my landscape beds.). One thing I don't like is that the program always defaults back to the tree layer.

Vendor Response

By Plan-It Geo on July 1, 2019
Greg, thank you so much for the great review! We really do appreciate your business. There are many ways to customize your app including users and permissions settings. I would encourage you to contact us at support@planitgeo.com to further discuss this and see if we can find a way to have the Amenities layer be set to the default layer for your particular account. Thanks again! Abel & PlanIT Geo
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 29, 2019
Hal M.
Executive Director
Non-Profit Organization Management, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
October 27, 2016

“Great technology at a reasonable price”

OverallAs a small greening organization operating in the Industrial District of downtown LA, we must keep a close eye on our trees to guarantee their survivability. Plan-It GEO's tree-plotting software combined with various add-ons has been a huge help in mapping and tracking the status of our trees to ensure they reach maturity. Our Program Director Gabrielle Newmark, a CA licensed landscape architect, said she had been looking for something like this for years. And while the current platform supports most of our needs, the development team at Plan-It GEO is regularly releasing updates and enhancements. We look forward to growing with Plan-It GEO in the application of geospatial technologies to the management of urban forests.
ProsFunctionality and user friendliness.
ConsHaven't used it sufficiently to find any glaring issues.
Recommendations to other buyersNot as of yet but will be in touch with development team about some features that could be useful to our and others tree maintenance regimes.
Source: Capterra
October 27, 2016
David S.
Urban Forestry Program Manager
Government Administration, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
October 25, 2016

“Tree Plotter Statewide Application”

OverallTree Plotter is an easy to use, visual and web-based tree inventory program. The statewide version allows use of the software by cities for their tree inventories, and for the state to roll up that information statewide. This aids in targeting assistance efforts and planning for potential invasive species. Customer support is excellent--issues are often resolved within hours of a request. The program is intuitive, visually displays results, has many built in statistical tables and charts that can be linked with advanced queries. Overall an excellent tool at a good price.
ProsEase of use, good customer support, no software to install, visual, good value.
ConsBecause it depends on an internet connection, it can be slow if the connection is slow.
Source: Capterra
October 25, 2016
Betta E.
Program manager
Non-Profit Organization Management, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 2, 2019

“Tree plotter”

OverallLove tree plotter for helping us design tree plantings.
ProsAbility for multiple users and the support.
ConsWould like to be able to customize tree species colors. Not quite able to hardwire these in yet.

Vendor Response

By Plan-It Geo on July 10, 2019
Thanks for that thoughtful review, Betta! I am so glad to hear that you are loving TreePlotter and putting it great use. There is a way to customize the color of the tree species that get displayed in TreePlotter, however, depending on how large your tree species list is, this may hard to achieve. If you have a few species that you think could definitely be changed or would like to talk more about this, please reach out to us at support@planitgeo.com. Thanks again! Abel & PlanIT Geo
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 2, 2019
Denice B.
Consulting Arborist
Environmental Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 6, 2018

“Good database but needs better offline access ”

OverallFor the most part we've been able to replace two other mapping programs with this one. It's easy to download the map and data for the site. It does take some time to get the program truly customized. We are enjoying the ease of use.
ProsEasy add clients, trees and data. Customizable, which is necessary.
ConsI need better access in remote areas. I have to physically map where my trees are on a real map and then enter them later. This happens about 25% of the time. However, when I am in a populated area the program is quite easy to use. The faster we can be able to customize it ourselves, the better it will be.

Vendor Response

By Plan-It Geo on November 14, 2018
Thank you for the review Denice! Please let us know if you would like any additional training on using the Offline Collector module. This may help your workflow. As always, reach out with any questions or training needs you may have!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 6, 2018
Ben C.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Source: Capterra
October 20, 2016

“TreePlotter to the rescue!”

OverallTreePlotter has helped me to manage the community forest more efficiently. Before, entering data and working with the tree inventory was a tedious and time consuming job. It required special skills and a lot of time to update the inventory, to enter data and make queries. Now, we can make changes from the field or in the office. We have the ability to update attributes or even add trees or remove trees from the inventory, anytime and anywhere. Additionally, there are numerous features in TreePlotter that help me communicate to staff, contractors or to the public. The easy to use graphs and charts provide real data in a meaningful way. The fact that our tree inventory is available for view to the public and they can see important facts like the ecological benefits of the communities forest, is highly valuable. Further, the Work Order Management (WOM) application is an ideal way to manage the tree care that has been performed over the life of the tree. I can be half way around the world and issue a work order to our Forestry Crew or contractor at any time. I am very happy with the product that Plan-It Geo provides and would highly recommend their TreePlotter program.
Source: Capterra
October 20, 2016
Jerry P.
Program Coordinator/Horticulture
Higher Education, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 25, 2019

“Tree Plotter Review”

ProsThis software has helped us organize our tree inventory and has a small learning curve. We were able to train new people on the software easily.
ConsThe software is a little slow to download sometimes

Vendor Response

By Plan-It Geo on June 26, 2019
Thank you for the review, Jerry! We're so happy to hear that TreePlotter has helped you better organize your tree inventory. As always, reach out to us at support@planitgeo.com with any questions you may have. Keep on plotting! Abel & PlanIT Geo
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 25, 2019
Maricela A.
Community Arborist
Environmental Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 25, 2019

“KIB”

OverallOverall, this tool allows us to track trees planted, maintenance, tree orders, deliveries! The main complaint is how slow it runs.
ProsI like what it can do. It does what we need it to do.
ConsIt is SO SLOW and not very intuitive. Doesn't work well on iOS.

Vendor Response

By Plan-It Geo on July 1, 2019
Thank you for the review Maricela!I'm sorry you are experiencing slowness with TreePlotter. We are aware of issues with entering information using our Data Table feature in particular on Apple products, like some iPhones and iPads, though not all Apple devices perform the same when using TreePlotter. Please contact support@planitgeo.com with details about which iPad you are using, and where you are experiencing slowness, and we will make sure the information is used to prioritize upcoming improvements and bug fixes. Thanks again! Abel & PlanIT Geo
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 25, 2019
Jason L.
Certified Arborist
Construction, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2019

“Tree Plotter”

ProsI like the overall functionality of the software and how you can customize it to your liking.
ConsSometimes I had minor issues with placing a tree in an exact location.

Vendor Response

By Plan-It Geo on June 21, 2019
Thanks for the review Jason! Are you familiar with the Move tool? This basically allows the user to adjust the trees location accordingly. You can find more information on it here: https://support.treeplotter.com/?ht_kb=faq-how-do-i-move-a-tree. I also know that sometimes different interfaces work better. For example, our tree inventory crew use a tablet with a good size screen (10") and they also incorporate a stylus for better accuracy. Some of our clients adjust tree points when they get back to their desk since often times they are easier to move around with a mouse. Hope these tips help! As always, feel free to reach out to the support team with any further questions or concerns you may have. Thanks again! Abel & PlanIT Geo
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Non-Profit Organization Management, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 7, 2018

“Great resource!”

ProsI love the ease of access and understanding for new users and residents of our city (Grand Rapids). Our volunteers and supporters are amazed when I tell them about this tool, and it is one of the most popular tools we share on our website. I even share this tool with kids at some of our school events, and it is
ConsNeighborhood boundaries have changed in our city, so they don't match up 100% anymore.

Vendor Response

By Plan-It Geo on November 14, 2018
Thank you for the review and positive feedback! We should be able to update those neighborhood boundaries as well if provided with current data. Let us know how we can help!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 7, 2018
Robert S.
Pgrm. Dir.
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
July 11, 2017

“Urban Forestry; Community Outreach”

ProsIt's price point. This product is competitively priced. I appreciate the management functions built into a basic tree plotter. I appreciate Plan-It Geo ability (willingness) to customize at prices that are within reach of a non-profit.
ConsSometimes it get's a little buggy depending on how the Cellphone coverage is. The buttons could be bigger on the screen as well.

Vendor Response

By Plan-It Geo on July 12, 2017
Thanks for your review Robert. We value your feedback in an effort to create the best possible user experience with Tree Plotter. We will use your comment about the button layout in our design discussions. We also have an offline mode that could resolve your issue with wireless coverage. Thanks Again! -Evan
Source: Capterra
July 11, 2017
Avatar Image
Thaddeus C.
Prrsident
Management Consulting, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 26, 2019

“Asset management for urban forests”

ProsWith 400 trees on the property "Tree Plotter" helps with maintenance and management of an important assett..
ConsAs it stands, the product performs well.

Vendor Response

By Plan-It Geo on July 1, 2019
Thaddeus, thank you so much for the amazing review! We really do appreciate you sharing your experience with us. As always, make sure to contact us with any questions you may have. Thanks again! Abel & PlanIT Geo
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 26, 2019
David B.
Independent Sales Representative
Government Administration, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 9, 2018

“Excellent Tree database”

OverallA great way to actively manage trees in our community as well as a good tool and data to share tree benefits to the public
ProsPretty easy to use, In the cloud, available to more than one person either in an office or in the field via wifi or celluar.
ConsAs with any new software or system, takes practice to learn the program. The more you use the easier it is to use.

Vendor Response

By Plan-It Geo on November 14, 2018
Thanks for the feedback David! Please reach out with any training needs as you continue to work in the software and we can help!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 9, 2018
Avatar Image
Sam K.
Owner, CEO
Environmental Services, Self-employed
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 6, 2018

“An all around useful product”

ProsIt saves me time, money, and adds a lot of professionalism to my firm. I can keep track of treated trees, use aerial maps to show tree locations and give the url to clients so they can view the tree locations and information. Most of all, this can all be done with my phone or tablet in the field with or without service.
ConsThe upload and click ability is a little slow sometimes when on service, but overall it's still way better than transferring later back at the office.

Vendor Response

By Plan-It Geo on November 14, 2018
Thanks for the review Sam! Great to see you using Tree Plotter's capabilities to grow your business and communicate with clients. Let us know if we can help with anything!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 6, 2018
ECHO B.
Horticulture & Forestry Sup.
Recreational Facilities and Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 26, 2019

“ Tree Plotter review”

ProsI like to be able to make a work order and track our work.
ConsThere are way to many options. Its nice to be able to customize it but all I need is a three step process!

Vendor Response

By Plan-It Geo on July 1, 2019
Echo, thank you so much for that review! We are always looking for ways to increase the value of the add on modules and that process starts with our users input so we really do appreciate your feedback. We actually have two rounds of updates coming out this summer in regards to the Work Order Management so stay tuned! Abel & PlanIT Geo
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 26, 2019
Jennifer G.
Consulting Community Forester
Environmental Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2019

“Great for the beginner or advanced user”

OverallIts been great so far. I primarily use it in the field and with my smartphone. I did not have the added expense of buying field hardware.
ProsIts almost plug-and-play! After watching a few short tutorials, and with a little help from the great support staff, I was ready to use Tree Plotter in the field and office.
ConsWhile data analysis is no problem, creating customized reports was not intuitive.

Vendor Response

By Plan-It Geo on June 20, 2019
Thanks for the great review Jennifer! We are continuously working on updating our training articles and videos and we actually just created one for our latest Hub release that I think you might find very helpful! It's titled "Stats & Reports" and you can find it here: https://support.treeplotter.com/?ht_kb=stats-reports-video. As always, feel free to reach out to us with any questions you may have or if you would like to schedule a short training meeting as well. Thanks again! Abel & PlanIT Geo
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2019
Daniel M.
Director of Operations
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2017

“A powerful management tool that has increased our productivity and end product.”

OverallIt has increased productivity and our end product to our clients.
ProsIt is far more than a "tree inventory " app. It is a great tool for everything from construction planning and risk assessment to tree appraisals and work order management. The app is highly customizable to meet any arboricultural need. The tech. support is great and highly responsive. Tree Plotter is a consultants must have tool that will take your company to the next level.

Vendor Response

By Plan-It Geo on July 18, 2017
Thank you for the review Daniel! We greatly appreciate the feedback. We're here if you need us - support@planitgeo.com. Thanks again, and have a great day. - Plan-It Geo
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2017
Erin B.
Forestry Analyst
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
July 11, 2017

“Tree Plotter provides multiple ways to manipulate and record data instantly.”

OverallAbility to track, edit and report in order to analyze the urban forest in the city as a whole. Able to manage service requests and work orders in a more meaningful and effective manner.
ProsEasy of use for all types of users makes for more fluid training. Workers are able to have more autonomy.
ConsHas some glitches - need to refresh the website a lot while using it out in the field. Some fields don't update after they are edited, saved and closed.

Vendor Response

By Plan-It Geo on July 12, 2017
Thanks very much for your review. We appreciate your feedback in an effort to create the best possible experience. I will ask someone from our support team to contact you regarding the field experience, and saving functions. Thanks again! -Evan
Source: Capterra
July 11, 2017
Tom E.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
October 25, 2016

“Couldn't be happier!”

OverallThe version of TreePlotter that I work with is aimed at gathering information about community planting projects. Plant-it geo has developed a tool that allows individuals with little to no GIS skills to accurately plot newly planted trees and collect important urban forestry data. Our application was originally developed as a way to count how many trees are being planted, but because TreePlotter is so highly customizable, we are able to gather other information that will benefit urban forestry efforts in the future such as tree size, stock type and source. I am particularly grateful for the ecosystem benefits calculator, because it gives me the information that I need to pitch the importance of tree planting to individuals who may care more about the bottom line that the trees themselves. As an urban forester, the ability to show someone exactly how much money was saved by planting projects in their community is invaluable. Furthermore, if I ever have questions about the app, Plan-it GEO responds immediately.
Source: Capterra
October 25, 2016
Myles R.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Source: Capterra
October 18, 2016

“Review of Tree Plotter”

OverallHaving used this software for the past four and a half months, I can say that Tree Plotter has quite a lot of potential for everyone from foresters to university students. However, with that being said, there are still glitches that occur as a result of it being a web browser program. Frequently the page freezes and needs to be reloaded which loses the current location and any data being entered. On top of this, the need to have an internet connection makes this a challenge for some to use. Finally, with the zoom extent being 100 ft maximum off of the ground, it is often hard to see where you wish to place the icon and when there are groves of trees, this becomes nearly impossible to do, as well as analyze later on due to so many icons in a close proximity (pretty much on top of each other). Being able to enter coordinates obtained in the field back into the software while on a computer would be very beneficial for locations that are crowded (rather than clicking on the locations). However, should these things be fixed, I think it could be one of the top mapping software programs around.

Vendor Response

By Plan-It Geo on October 21, 2016
Really appreciate the review and input Myles! As you know, we happened to make an update to Tree Plotter at the exact time you were submitting this and users can now zoom into base maps as much as they want, useful for adding locations more accurately but also analyzing the data after as you said. Does this change your star rating of Tree Plotter? Also, our new offline collector app will resolve issues with internet connectivity. We haven't had any users tell us they've had an issue with the page freezing and we've never had anyone lose data since edits are saved instantly with each entry into the Tree Details popup form. Hope this helps!
Source: Capterra
October 18, 2016
D.G. H.
Parks Foreman
Recreational Facilities and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 9, 2018

“Tree Plotter”

ProsOnce you use it a few time it is very easy to use.
ConsHaving to add on to existing fields is very confusing some times.

Vendor Response

By Plan-It Geo on November 20, 2018
Thanks for the review D.G.! Glad you find it easy to use. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to help out!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 9, 2018
Todd M.
U&CF Coordinator
Government Administration, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
July 14, 2017

“This is a great product and Plan-It Geo has the best customer service you could ask for.”

ProsI like the versatility. Anyone with a computer, phone or pad and a little time can begin logging useful data for the city. Customer rep and the PG team are great to work with and very patient when dealing with users who are technologically challenged.

Vendor Response

By Plan-It Geo on July 18, 2017
Thanks for the review Todd! We're so happy to hear you're enjoying Tree Plotter. Feel free to reach out any time with questions via support@planitgeo.com. Thanks again - Patrick & Plan-It Geo
Source: Capterra
July 14, 2017
Natalie B.
Education Director
Education Management, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 28, 2019

“Canopy, Palo Alto”

ProsI like that the software is very customizable for our organization's needs. It's pretty cool that it has so many available features. I like that I can login in with google account and that it uses google street view.
ConsI think the public and volunteer interface should be way more simplified. When surveying a tree, it would be amazing if it functioned with pop up questions for the survey (like Duolingo) versus a form that you scroll through to enter info. That way volunteers would know exactly what to enter because they'd be promoted, versus having to be told what fields to use and what to enter.

Vendor Response

By Plan-It Geo on July 2, 2019
Thank you for taking the time to review, Laura! We appreciate any and all feedback as it helps us to constantly improve TreePlotter. We will make sure the feedback you provided regarding the Crowdsourcing module is used to prioritize upcoming improvements and bug fixes. Thanks again! Abel & PlanIT Geo
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 28, 2019
Adrian M.
Arborist - Operations
Government Administration, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 21, 2018

“ Tree Plotter”

OverallWe've been trialling it for 12 months and I can't fault the team for their support and high quality customer service. The online webinars and tutorials are also very handy when you're on the other side of the world! I highly recommend this product
ProsThe ability to do quick spatial analysis without knowing the insurance and of specific geospatial software. The input I provided to the development of the Inspection module was welcomed by Plan-It Geo developers and streamlined the functionality of the module.
ConsThe complexity of work records, work orders and jobs.

Vendor Response

By Plan-It Geo on November 26, 2018
Thank you for the review and feedback Adrian! We appreciate it. And of course, thank you for the input on the inspections functionality. Please visit our support site at https://support.treeplotter.com/ for more info on the Work Order Management module. This will help to clarify some of the complexity surrounding those features that you mentioned. Thanks again!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 21, 2018