Sage Estimating Ratings

Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Service
4/5

About Sage Estimating

More than any other solution, Sage Estimating software provides construction firms large and small with the power and flexibility to significantly speed up the estimating process. Sage Estimating works the way you do, helping you to build bids more quickly, accurately, and confidently; and includes takeoff and cost databases. Then, once the job has been won, estimate details flow automatically into Sage business management software, eliminating redundant tasks and data entry errors. Learn more about Sage Estimating

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 59 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 59 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Robin H.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 30, 2011

OverallWhy choose Timberline estimating over Excel or the Big Chief notepad? 1. Integration, Integration, Integration a. Dynamic link to Onscreen takeoff tools (I can be in the estimate quantity field and jump to the plans, measure the quantity while color coding it using the mouse, and it inserts the quantity in the estimate). b. Quotation/Procurement - one of the most important add-ons. Allows the user to create quote sheets from takeoff items, email them to vendors, negotiate prices, then choose to use that quote in the estimate budget or push it through to a purchase order or subcontract. Remarkably powerful integration tool, plus you develop a bid history library. c. CAD - beyond onscreen takeoff (which is only an image of the drawing where you still measure quantities). CAD integration uses CAD item libraries to electronically feed CAD driven quantities from the drawings (but you still have to "estimate" the work to be performed). CAD primarily provides the material components and quantities. d. Scheduling Integration - the ability to generate a text file recap of the estimate sorted by a schedule activity, or export the recap to a Microsoft Project Schedule native file format, or to create a Primavera native file format. NOTE - it is not a scheduling program; it is a utility to convert the estimate to specific data file format used by specific scheduling software products. 2. Reduction in errors. a. Database formulas work every time and warn you when something is missing. Excel can break formula links, fields, worksheet links, and references and become too complex to manage and generate a wrong calculation with no warning. b. Database estimates can be sorted in almost unlimited ways using "WBS codes" (work breakdown structures). This is a fancy name for tagging an item with a sortable field such as material class, building number, floor number, alternate, and then sorting the estimate by those tags in a multiple level sequence - on the fly. Very important with so many cuts and adds taking place in today's estimating processes. It also quickly generates field-oriented docs (bill of materials; by floor, by area, etc.), Budgets - sort by job cost summary instantly, etc. c. Cuts and Adds are a given in today's fast paced estimate environment, recalling a scope section and revising it repeatedly is a reality. This is the most common cause of estimating errors when bidding. Having an audit trail of changes and to quickly make a revision to all components by answering simple questions is very powerful (see smart assemblies and Modeling as well). d. Parametric estimates - increase the production of an estimator without increased rework or errors. Answer a set of parametric scope questions and the assembly generates all detail components for the estimator. Eliminates errors, reduces rework, ends the "takeoff for a bid - then takeoff again to build it" issue. 3. Database standards a. A standard item library for everyone in the company to use creating ease of assimilating new estimators, improving cross training of roles, having common logic that can be reviewed easily to see how the result was generated. How many times has an excel estimate template morphed into multiple complicated versions within a company? Not with a database central price book and takeoff system. b. Flexibility - allows the estimating "artist" to be flexible with their style of results. The assemblies will allow scope questions to be used differently by each estimator (one wants unit price, another wants man-hours, another wants total Square Footage). They can get all of that with a single common system setup. c. Pricing - many cost pricing service products integrate and can be combined with a company's own in-house price components. Run into that goofy system you have no idea what it costs - look it up in the pricing service system (and by regional pricing in the market). Have your own factors - apply them to the pricing. There are many other reasons to consider a database driven integrated estimating system. The above are just a few that show why excel or paper are outdated for today's fast paced estimating demands. It is not just the takeoff - it is all the other integration of "clerical / admin" grunt work stuff that an integrated solution improves within an organization. Four stars - there is no PERFECT system... but no others come close to this overall solution.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 30, 2011
Richard M.
Owner
Construction, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 1, 2017

“Pursuit of Excellence”

OverallI invested into my estimating toolbox and acquired my Estimating License in 1996. I have been a Sage Estimating Customer ever since. Being a single user puts into perspective the support service experience as I always felt that my business was the only business that mattered.
ProsHaving worked with much of the competitions to Sage Estimating software while working for General Contractors it has been easy to compare features and functionality. With a solid Audit Trail it is easy to review a projects work flow. Estimate reports are virtually unlimited in terms of formatting capabilities. Attaching takeoff graphics as well enhances the deliverable documents combining the Work Breakdown Structure it is very easy to communicate the scope of work to the client especially when they are not construction conversant. Support services are top of class as the platform the software is operated on has improved support services are required less and less.
ConsThere really is nothing negative that I can consider.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 1, 2017
Hogan H.
Glass, Ceramics & Concrete, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4.5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 14, 2015

“Sage Estimating - A Powerful Construction Estimating Package!”

ProsThere are many construction estimating software packages on the market, but none is better at breaking down an estimate in all the ways that are needed. Sage Estimating can handle multi-building estimates, multiple work breakdown structures, and any other bid breakdowns that are needed. For us, most bids require some sort of cost breakdown, but rarely is it completely the same from estimate to estimate. Sage Estimating handles all these variables with ease. Also, the ability to handle variable cost add-ons at the estimate "totals page" is a huge plus. Cost add-ons such as overtime hours or material cost escalations can be added via the database or on a estimate-by-estimate basis. When it comes to providing breakdowns to our GC clients, any cost add-ons can be spread throughout all or a few of the estimate items. This is a great feature. Sage has been a very good vendor. The support they've provided over many years has been great and they've done a great job with software upgrades. The upgrades, adding new features and feature enhancements have kept Sage Estimating at the head of the construction estimating pack.
ConsI've used Sage (and previously Timberline) for nearly 20 years, and the only consistent gripe I have is that installation of the program is tedious and has always required the help of an IT expert.
Recommendations to other buyersSage Estimating is a fantastic estimating tool, but be prepared for an arduous installation process and be willing to do some serious customization of the database. It's difficult to find a software program that does everything exactly like your company wants. With Sage Estimating, you can get the program to estimate and price work exactly as you want to, but it will require manipulation of the very robust standard database (many trade-specific databases are available for purchase).
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 14, 2015
Clay Z.
Manager, Estimating & Pre-Construction Services
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 14, 2017

“Hottest Estimating Software on the Market!”

OverallThis is probably the most flexible estimating software available today. Always a leader in the industry, Sage Estimating can fit the bill for entry level, single user needs and expand to an unlimited number of users. The estimating system can tie into one of the best accounting packages, as well.
ProsTotally flexible - can be used by virtually any trade as well as GC. From basic estimating needs to a complex reporting system, this software can do it.
ConsTakes time to set-up properly. The software is ready to go out of the box, but to fine tune to make it "hum" takes more than just starting it up.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 14, 2017
Mark R.
Sr. Field Sales Engineer
Construction, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2018

“I have worked with Sage Estimating all the way back when it was Timberline Estimating, excellent .”

OverallAccurate estimates and diverse reports
ProsThe power of Sages' Smart Assemblies is the best feature along with the results being displayed in a full spreadsheet format that can be changed in real time. The ability to slice and dice your estimate data is extremely powerful along with their use of WBS codes.
ConsThe tech support has been a bit of a struggle but thank goodness for qualified consultants and Business Partners that can act as your first line of support.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2018
Janet K.
CPA
Utilities, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 8, 2019

“Estimating multi million dollar underground utility construction”

OverallAnother pro is that this software can integrate with SAGE 300 Accounting, which will not only import the estimate, but also create purchase orders and email those purchase orders based on your estimate. Once you've learned how to use this and set it up it significantly saves time.
ProsWhile this product provides you with sample databases, it is best used by creating your own database with phase codes and pricing as you do your construction. You are able to separate each phase into categories, i.e., Labor, Material, etc. There are some standard ones, but you can also add your own categories which adds to the flexibility of this software.
ConsIt's not really a dislike, but it is quite complex. You need one main person who controls all changes to the database, keeps pricing updated, controls anyone changing/adding phase codes, etc. You would need that with any sophisticated database.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 8, 2019
Dominick G.
Estimator
Construction, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 16, 2015

“Intuitive & Time Saving Necessity for Estimating ”

ProsThe more data the user puts in, the more streamlined of a machine this tool can become for your company. I have to say the formulaic calculations are also very helpful especially when it comes to breaking out specific trade items in a proposal.
ConsThe updates process. I wish the install and update deployment was easier for the end user - especially for users migrating to a different machine. The UI could be also be "modernized", but when you look at the functional aspects of this products, as there many, it just performs well compared to other estimating tools on the market.
Recommendations to other buyersFigure out exactly how this program can mesh with the objectives for your company overall. Then spend the time upfront training on those aspects and then developing the unique database to support your workflow. In short, forget the components that are superfluous for your objectives and focus on only the components that can push your company forward in the short and long-term.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 16, 2015
James D.
Construction, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 30, 2015

“I have used Sage Estimating for 20 years”

ProsThey are always developing the product and always on the cutting edge of technology. Around 2000, they had a product called the CAD Integrator; it was BIM before anyone understood what BIM was. They do not try to do everything (anymore). Instead of being decent at everything, they set the focus on the estimating product to make it great. Then they create partnerships with other dedicated software products that are also determined to make their piece of the pie the best. It allows for an integrated product that is the best of all worlds. The product is very easy to use and customizable to the user.
ConsI would like it to have a better proposal output. However, most people I talk to say that it's not a big deal for them because every owner wants a proposal on their form.
Recommendations to other buyersI have tried most of the softwares out there. I see a lot of the other companies heading down the same path Sage went down and trying to put everything in one product. It does not work, and you will be left with less of a product. You may have a product that is decent at a lot of things but not great at any - knowledgable in all trades but a master of none. By leveraging the best products on the market and integrating them, you end up with a much better product. It also allows the end user to have choices.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 30, 2015
Tim B.
Operations Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 10, 2018

“Keep all of your estimate and bid information in one place”

ProsThis program lets us keep track of all of our estimates, bids, and other information in one fairly easy to use place that our whole team can access it. It has some great interactive tools to help build and share your estimates with clients, contractors, suppliers, and others.
ConsThe customer service on this product is the one thing that I absolutely have to mention. We have had some issues come up in the past and it seems that getting in touch with the right person can be a chore in and of itself. Once you do get through to that person you have to hope that they understand your problem well enough to assist you. I hope it's only us who have experienced issues with this, but I would not be honest if I didn't mention it here.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 10, 2018
Lyndon L.
Supply planning specialist
Construction, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 23, 2018

“Good Software”

OverallOverall Its great software when set up.
Prosfor several years I thought that Excel is the best of estimating but when I learn about Sage, things are getting more better estimating can handle multi building estimates. Sage is continuously developing its software it has upgrade of what is best for making it better .
Conswhen Upgrading sage I need the help of IT Expert to do it for me , It takes time setting it up so workers like me needs help of more experienced or encounter this kind of issues.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 23, 2018
Steven M.
Retired Senior Consultant
Construction, Self-employed
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 4, 2016

“The most dynamic ”

OverallSage estimating software allows companies and their individual users to literally make exactly the database that perfectly fits their needs. The only limitation is their ability to create tables, variables and formulas that will create the outcomes that they desire.
ProsTotal control, flexibility, and no "canned" locked in formating. Adding, changing and maneuvering existing data is made easy with "Database Manager".
ConsThe biggest con is the cost per user and the maintenance fee. Smaller companies can manage these cost with two or three estimators but larger world users such as cost consulting firms with large numbers of users find the initial investment and sustainability are over the top.
Recommendations to other buyersTo have all the advantages of this estimating product and keep the cost down you can purchase One database and put it on a server that can be accessed from anywhere and a minimal amount of uses per office that can be shared.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 4, 2016
Mo S.
Senior Estimator
Construction, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 11, 2018

“A Well-Organised Estimating Software ”

ProsSage (Timberline) has been used for building industry primarily. You can use the advantage of their database or set up your own one based on the industry and market you are involved in. I recommend the software for Mid to Large Size building projects including residential or ICI.
ConsThe software is not user-friendly for heavy-civil or infrastructure projects as the functionality of crew cost method is not as easy as other heavy civil software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 11, 2018
Avatar Image
Drew D.
South Division Purchasing Manager
Real Estate, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Features
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
3/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 23, 2019

“Not user friendly ”

ProsSage is able to generate many helpful reports which assisted us in deep analysis.
ConsThis software was far from user friendly and The time it takes to learn the system is much longer than similar competitors.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 23, 2019
Ana M.
Estimator
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 11, 2016

“User friendly”

OverallAs an estimator, I use Timberline to estimate projects with value of $1M+. The platform is very user friendly. I can perform quick takeoff or more detailed item takeoff with just a click of a mouse. The autosave mode ensures that my work is saved every five minutes minimizing the risk of losing the data. The extended version of the software came with a sample database that we customized for the needs of our company. The reports function is absolutely amazing as it allows me to send the estimates to customers, project managers, superintendents, and fellow estimators for cross checking by just selecting the items that they want to see. It saves me plenty of time! I would highly recommend Sage Estimating (Timberline) to companies that are looking for an efficient estimating tool.
ProsUser friendly Data autosave Customizable reports
Recommendations to other buyersHighly recommend it if your projects are $1M+, otherwise it may be quite costly for your office.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 11, 2016
Susan J.
Estimator
Construction, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3.5/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Service
3.5/5
Features
3.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 5, 2015

“Estimating with Sage/Timberline”

ProsI know that the spreadsheet adds up correctly. This is key when it comes to bidding work. We have built our own databases, and use them quite a bit for concrete, masonry, and drywall.
ConsUpgrades with pervasive can be cumbersome. It would be useful if the download was something that could be pushed down to users. Granted right now I am behind on my upgrades because our IT department does not like to deal with the upgrades.
Recommendations to other buyersEvery estimating software has commonalities, Timberline/Sage is a tried and true product
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 5, 2015
Todd C.
Project Manager
Construction, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 30, 2018

“Timberline is Huge!”

ProsThis estimating program can do anything you want it to. It has the ability to be molded into however you want it to work for you.
ConsBecause it is so flexible it is also a little clunky. Quick takeoffs and estimates can be difficult. This feels like it is set up for the commercial realm of construction, in fact, I don't know many in residential construction that use this program.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 30, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 16, 2018

“It has been a heavily used piece of software, but we are probably not using it to capacity.”

ProsAssemblies. This has been the most efficient part of the software for us. Keeping track of markups and material costs are helpful.
ConsDatabase organization and lack of save/undo features. If I update a material price, will that effect everyone else? It is still very confusing. The integration with CRE300 is pretty sad (Address Book and Export/Import). An undo button would really be helpful.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 16, 2018
Ben B.
Estimating Manager
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 25, 2018

“Sage Estimating”

ProsGreat database options for General Contractors that allows for more complex and complete estimates.
ConsDue to the layout of the software it is hard to use Sage for hard bid jobs and incorporating alternates.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 25, 2018
Kevin v.
Controller
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 15, 2017

“Nice product, integrates well with Sage 300 CRE”

OverallOverall, a nice addition for your Estimating team.
ProsWe used this product for our estimators in my last Commercial Construction company. Works well with Sage 300 CRE. Allows you to set certain standard prices like labor rates. Calculate burden, buys, etc.
ConsA little on the pricey side but that's about it. Many good features like importing into your Sage Project Management software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 15, 2017
Steven S.
Estimator
Construction, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 24, 2015

“Error free, but long processing times.”

ProsThis product automatically saves after every key stroke, and the built-in formula's never make a mistake.
ConsThis software is often very slow to respond (drag and fill commands can take several minutes to complete, and trying to insert rows into an estimate can be tricky). There is also no quick or easy undo button in case the wrong command or key is pressed.
Recommendations to other buyersIt would be good to try similar software from others to understand where to improve.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 24, 2015
Cory M.
CEO
Construction, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 11, 2015

“Sage Estimating! The key to succesful project victories!”

ProsI love sage products best they represent the best of breed. New features are always being developed and the ease of use is excellent especially in construction is important. Service is amazing as well
ConsI am not a fan of the license manager. They need to develop another way of licensing machines.
Recommendations to other buyersGive it a try and you will see the power of sage. Try the assemblies function and you will absolutely love it.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 11, 2015
mendel g.
Owner
Construction, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
1.5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 29, 2016

“OVERVIEW SATISFACTION”

Prosit is very detail oriented which gives you good tracking and reporting
Consnot user friendly you have to use the list very often to accommodate data . almost impossible to create reports unless you are an expert in all the codes.
Recommendations to other buyerstraining is critical in all aspects using the university takes a lot of time and effort
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 29, 2016
Glenn F.
Facilities Manager
Construction, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 25, 2016

“I set up and used the product for 12 years”

ProsA stable, robust, customizable, construction estimating software
ConsThe initial setup can be complicated. The databases available at the time of purchase were not of much help for my specific use
Recommendations to other buyersHave a datbase plan structure planned out. Follow the industry standatrds divisions of labor.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 25, 2016
Michael G.
Project Manager
Construction, Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
2.5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 23, 2015

“Sage Estimating for Facilities Project Planning”

ProsCustomer support is the most extensive I have ever seen, and they were extremely patient with me. The product is extremely powerful and almost intimidating at first, but the help folks knew their job well, and got me up and running. I am able to produce project estimates for planning on campus renovation projects large and small.
ConsThe help system is extensive so you get forwarded around a bit, but I did get to the people I needed to get to, it just took a little time.
Recommendations to other buyersBe aware that you need to do the training on line by yourself when you won't be distracted. The information is great, but there is a lot.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 23, 2015
Aurelia D.
Construction, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
3.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 26, 2014

“AVI Inc - Review”

ProsI like that it has more options for reports, forms, and queries than QuickBooks. Also, the program links between different areas of accounting and production, like work orders to invoicing and purchase orders. It performs well with Job Costing as well. I also like the functionality and organization that Sage Contractor provides.
ConsThe customer support is too expensive for the limited support we are granted. We pay for an outside consultant as well, who assists us more with the program than the customer support we sometimes get. It is also very expensive to add users, especially as a smaller business that does a lot of volume.
Recommendations to other buyersHire a consultant to help you in the beginning process, and hire an employee to do the technical sides of this to update parts, reports, forms, etc.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 26, 2014
Barb M.
Bookkeeper
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 23, 2019

“Easy to use”

ProsVery easy to use and userfriendly and customer service is great as well.
ConsCould work on the customer service, sometimes very hard to get through but once you do, they are very knowledgable
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 23, 2019
Stuart E.
Mechanical Engineer
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 13, 2019

“Amazing estimating program, but pricey”

ProsSage Estimating can provide a detailed level of estimating analysis based on material and labour libraries that either come with the software or are custom defined by the end-user.
ConsCreating a custom material library is a very involved process which costs a lot of time and money to establish.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 13, 2019
Nick F.
Project Engineer
Construction, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 17, 2018

“My Estimate Backup”

ProsWhen I dive into an estimate, Sage Estimating helps identify all scopes and pricing that i need to present to a client for an accurate future budget.
ConsSome items are buggy and I'd help if I can edit my tool bar for only the items I use. Lastly, is importing into Google drive excel spreadsheet which is very specific but we use that between the client and ourselves.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 17, 2018
Justin L.
Owner
Construction, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 7, 2017

“Save estimating program is a solid and trusted program”

ProsThat most estimators are familiar with the program and it is easy to use. It really helps that it is so widely used that even if your company is new to it one of your employees is most likely experienced in it.
ConsIt's just like any other program. They all have their limitations and you have to review multiple products to make sure it meets your needs.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 7, 2017
Dana M.
Government Administration, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 25, 2014

“Teaching Sage to the workforce”

ProsSage's Timberline Estimating allows more flexibility in all aspects of estimating. From building specific items to substituting items, working with smart assemblies, and modeling, there is no other system that I have used that lets me customize the materials, subcontractors, and crews the way Sage does. The support received from Sage is top-notch.
ConsThe upfront time in loading in and customizing the database consumes a lot of time. Once in place, the time savings are incredible!
Recommendations to other buyersLook over the available databases to see how well they fit your particular business. If one is not available, build your own!
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 25, 2014
Ron A.
Junior Designer
Architecture & Planning, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 25, 2019

“Helps speed up our estimating processes”

ProsTheir training sessions help onboard our designers and estimators to using Sage, and this has really helped reduce our training time.
ConsThere's no such thing as a free lunch. This software is pricey for small companies to absorb, but if you fully embrace it you'll recover those costs quickly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 25, 2019
Connor K.
Intern Project Manager/Estimator
Construction, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 4, 2017

“Sage 300”

ProsSage is a very practical estimating software in the construction industry. It ensures everything is a accounted for and is much easier better than Excel
ConsSage is a little clunky sometimes - not the easiest program i've ever used
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 4, 2017
Greg M.
Construction, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 12, 2015

“I have used Timberline Estimating since the mid 1990s. ”

ProsPrecision Estimating is exactly what it sounds like--the most exact way to estimate a project! Sage is easy to work with, and their technical support staff is fantastic.
ConsThe most difficult part of using the software is in the initial setup.
Recommendations to other buyersYou get out of the software what you put into it, so it is best to allow plenty of time for your estimating staff to set it up, check it for accuracy, and then implement! It took me about a year to become completely comfortable with it, but I haven't seen another estimating package that even comes close to Timberline.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 12, 2015
Ebtisam A.
Project manager
Construction, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 26, 2018

“Everything you need ”

ProsIf you're looking for a software that focuses and really takes estimating to the next level, then this software is for you.
ConsDon't really know what to say regarding cons, I really enjoyed using this software when I did use it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 26, 2018
Jesse W.
Estimator
Glass, Ceramics & Concrete, Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Features
4.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 9, 2015

“Concrete Estimation”

ProsLots of customization. User friendly, and very detailed estimates.
ConsThe database building and assembly building is complex. There is support available for this however.
Recommendations to other buyersEvaluate the size of your company. There is a lot of upfront setup and ongoing maintenance with the database in order to remain accurate. Take advantage of any training you can.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 9, 2015
Richard D.
Construction, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
1/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 28, 2015

“Think twice”

ProsI like all the functions of this dinosaur. The software still uses fox pro old arcane DOS language.
ConsI dislike the amount of money they want yearly. I hate their amount of money I have to spend every year to maintain this software with limited tech support.
Recommendations to other buyersDon't buy this software, it's like a broken boat. I keep throwing money at it, and it's never quite working.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 28, 2015
Glenn T.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 4, 2011

OverallI have been estimating commercial construction projects for the past 15 years. If you are on the fence with estimating software, look no further than Timberline. I have tried them all and none of them are as fast and refined as Timberline. Other companies put on a good sales show but the application doesn't measure up. We actually spent about $15k on a company's software licenses, and after using it we found it to be slow and klunky. How good is Sage Timberline Estimating? Well, we walked away from $15k to use Timberline. Yeah, it's that good.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 4, 2011
Ameen S.
Senior sales consultant
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 20, 2018

“I am never had a chance to use this software”

OverallI want this software to be able to use in middle east and support
ProsGood for estimating. I want some partbers of sage to help me use this software in saudi arabia. I saw this product is only available in NA
ConsNot supported in middle east. How can i find a partner in middle east who can help me supply this software and provide training
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 20, 2018
Laurie C.
Construction, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
3.5/5
Ease of Use
2.5/5
Customer Service
3.5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 19, 2014

“Sometimes great, sometimes very frustrating.”

ProsIt is excellent for sending info from one module to the others. It is very helpful during the cost analysis process.
ConsIt is not user-friendly. You can't "read the screen" and muddle through on Sage like you can with other accounting software.
Recommendations to other buyersMake sure you have a savvy person to run the software. It is very involved and not something you can just jump into and teach yourself as you go.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 19, 2014
Michael G.
Project Manager
Commercial Real Estate, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 19, 2017

“Powerful product that is well integrated”

OverallFor project estimates that are all inclusive and cover all aspects of a project you are bidding or developing a project budget for, there is no product more powerful than Sage Estimating. With its powerful ability to create well-defined estimates, it also has the ability to connect to many other facets of Project Management, Accounting and Construction. The product is capable of being enterprise-wide for a contractor or construction management firm, with the ability to bring in information from external sources.
ProsPlenty of customization is available to have the output look and feel the way you want it, many modules to attach to and the ability to draw from database pricing information from external sources.
ConsThere is a steep learning curve for the beginning user. This is not a product for the occasional user.
Recommendations to other buyersDetermine if this much power is needed, but if it is, this is the ultimate product and it is well supported.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 19, 2017
Brendan D.
Project Manager
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 2, 2017

“Does what I need it to.”

OverallVery happy with Sage. It makes short work of my estimates, it's also very customizable.
ProsEasy to use
ConsExpensive
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 2, 2017
Lindsay Helmick H.
Director of Finance and Operations
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 1, 2017

“Cloud Based Need”

OverallWe purchased this product in attempts to find a link between our estimating teams and production teams and to improve the job setup time. However, this product does not link to the systems in the manners we had hoped. We are currently working on workarounds, so hoping we can fix that issue. The other issue we have with the product is it is not cloud-based, so our team always needs to be connected to our servers to make updates which cause issues for our remote teams.
ProsI like the ease and functionality
ConsIt isn't cloud based.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 1, 2017
Douglas M.
VP Commercial Sales
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 8, 2016

“Sage-Timberline Estimating Review”

OverallBeen using this product for 20 years- fairly simple
ProsFamiliarity
ConsLack of flexibility
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 8, 2016
Nishant M.
Student
Construction, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 1, 2017

“A must use software for construction industry !!”

OverallEstimating project while bidding this software is a great help. It has does estimate exactly 90% - 95% of the actual budget of the project. But, depending upon the level of detail calculation you do, It has almost everything you need for estimating. Easy to learn and get used to it. the only draw back is the user interface, I would enjoy to use it more if the made it look a bit more organized and neat. Still, a must use software for the construction industry.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 1, 2017
Emad Y.
Sr. Estimator
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 27, 2016

“Timberline ”

OverallTimberline is a good old program that can be utilized for estimating however, you need to have a good database of prices to make it effective and you need to update these prices often to make it effective.
ProsGood once you have learned it. It does complex estimating.
ConsIt has old features that are hard to change. Timberline does not change the programming technology to make it easier to use..
Recommendations to other buyersIt is expensive. Excel can replace this program.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 27, 2016
Chuck A.
Construction, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
3.5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
2.5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 5, 2014

“20+ year user review”

ProsIt offers the flexibility to price anything you could dream up in detail and break it out any way you want.
ConsThe base databases are unreliable unless you develop them.
Recommendations to other buyersGet some basic training, read the help manuals, and don't be afraid to click buttons.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 5, 2014
Wade B.
Estimator
Construction, Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5
Features
4.5/5
Value for Money
4.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 7, 2016

“I have used Timberline for over 17 years.”

ProsI have used it for many years and I am very fast with it. You dont have to be a computer programmer to use it. Once you learn a few simple steps you can build an estimate in half the time it takes using an office spreadsheet...
ConsThere are a few quirks with some assemblies that you have to work out...
Recommendations to other buyersPick one and stick with it... Dont keep switching you will never get really good at any of them that way.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 7, 2016
Robert M.
Design, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Service
2.5/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 5, 2014

“Easy to use, very few difficulties”

ProsIt's easy to use and works well with Digitizer.
ConsThere are issues after updates. If you skip a few updates, it seems that some things don't work as well when you finally do update.
Recommendations to other buyersIt's not always easy to get the address book to keep working.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 5, 2014
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 25, 2018

“Recently, I was tasked to upgrade the Sage Estimating from version 15.1 to 17.13. ”

ProsVersion 17.13 uses Microsoft SQL Server instead of the Pervasive database which is basically a file system engine. Overall, the product is pretty easy to install and configure. I was able to quickly set up the environment to allow the users to migrate all the existing estimates over. The documentation are clear and precise.
ConsPermissions assignment to individual estimates is by user only. For example, you can grant a user permission to view or edit estimate A, but not estimate B. It will be more convenient and efficient that we can also assign permissions by global group as well, specially for big companies that have over 1000 employees.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 25, 2018
james b.
owner/ceo
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 9, 2018

“sage customer service”

ProsNothing really to put there because my company didn't purchase the software because of sage's lack of communication and valuing it's new customers.
ConsCustomer service of sage is horrible. I spent the time to take the test drive. Communicated with a rep from sage. When I asked about pricing she couldn't tell me nothing. Just wanted to ask more questions and then told me I would have to contact an authorized reseller. Could've saved me and my company a lot of time just by mentioning that on their website and being up front. I will only deal with companies that value their customers as we value our customers.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 9, 2018