PowerSchool Learning Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5

About PowerSchool Learning

PowerSchool Learning is a learning management and classroom collaboration solution that empowers teachers with real-time student interaction inside and outside the classroom, bringing in more social and collaborative learning. Learn more about PowerSchool Learning

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 22 of 22 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 22 of 22 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Crystal G.
Special Education Teacher
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 1, 2018

“I've used PowerSchool as a teacher for 7 years. I use it everyday, all day for multiple uses. ”

ProsI like that I am able to track student attendance, grades, and assignments. Additionally, I like that I can access my grade books from previous years for reference. Even with the update, I can continue to access my past Grade books. With the program, I can also create attendance sheets and seating charts quickly and efficiently. Historically grades and attendance are stored within the program, in addition to state and national assessment scores. Student demographic information and familial information can be loaded as well. With administrative rights, one can access even more information; including the master schedule and teacher schedules. As well as, the student look up for the entire school or the entire school district.
ConsI do not like the new grade book update. The format is difficult to use and a time waster. As a teacher, I spend a lot of time inputting grades, therefore anything that is redundant is an irritant. I see how they attempted to make the program almost more like an app in some ways, but that format doesn't make sense for a grade book.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 1, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Non-Profit Organization Management, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018

“What a gift this has been!”

ProsI love that I have my children's grades at my fingertips! No longer do I have to wait for a quarterly report card, I have their grades right away when I open the app. All schools should be using PowerSchool Learning. It is so easy to use and gives up to date information on how your children are doing in school, everyday they miss, what assignments they are missing, and even if they are tardy.
ConsGetting signed up initially was a challenge. With 4 children in school it was difficult to get them all on the same account so I could see them all in one App on my phone. However, after many different codes to put in I was able to get them all in!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018
Andrew M.
IT director
Education Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2016

“Powerschool From Admin POV”

OverallI have been in charge of managing the powerschool server and database for a small school district. Updates are often straightforward to deploy for a single server environment but can be time consuming. To save time and hardware related costs we oped for the hosted platform which is very easy to work with except support is often slow to respond as you have to go through support to talk to the hosting team. There is no direct line to the hosting team and this can slow things down.
ProsIt is very capable and the new Powerteacher Pro which just replaced gradebook is very simple to use. There are still some issues with the new gradebook replacement but all in all it is sleek, online and easy to use. I have not used the new LMS so can not review that element. The system is fairly easy to manage as a self hosted system as the support tends to be good. The powerschool hosted version is very easy to manage from and IT managers perspective as it's very hands off.
ConsThe hosted version support is slow to respond. There is a very steep learning curve for secritaris and business managers.
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2016
Dan H.
Teacher
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 29, 2018

“Powerful software to help track data on our student populations.”

ProsThis software is our main student database. It houses all kind of data that administrators, teachers, and district level personnel can access and use. One of the best parts of the software is the ability to limit access to certain groups of people. I have been using PowerSchool for years and they always listen to feedback and improve things. I think this is one of their greatest characteristics.
ConsBecause Powerschool is so robust, it often requires many clicks to access what you are looking for. This is an obvious downside to a software that does this much.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 29, 2018
Angela F.
classroom teacher
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 19, 2018

“I have enjoyed using PSL for the last two years as a LMS for my students.”

ProsThe ease of use in creating pages, posting assignments, assessments and discussions. I like that it is simple to copy prior coursework to a new course and therefore not have to recreate everything every trimester.
ConsI don't like that I can't release assignments to individual students based on completing and mastering a prior assignment/assessment. It would be useful for self paced learning to be able to automatically move a student through a unit based on that level of completion and mastery.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 19, 2018
Matt P.
Technology Director
Education Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 12, 2018

“Great LMS Software”

OverallPowerSchool Learning offers a great way for our teachers to set up their classes online. We don't offer online courses, but we use PowerSchool Learning in our traditional classroom courses. It offers great tools for teachers to structure their classes, share class materials, provide web links and other content, schedule assignments, and more. Both our teachers and students picked it up quickly thanks to the intuitive design.
ProsThis is a really nice LMS platform. The Google integration makes it a breeze for our students and teachers to sign in and the IT staff finds it easy to create new users and manage the administration of the software.
ConsPowerSchool Learning isn't incredibly expensive, but the annual costs are a little tough to swallow when you see free alternatives like Google Classroom out there. We currently stick with PowerSchool because it offers many more features than Classroom.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 12, 2018
Mary B.
API
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 4, 2018

“Easy to locate multiple avenues of student informatiom”

ProsSoftware packages are extremely easy to navigate on both the scheduling and live ends. Once you understand the reports and how to run queries there are many stock, useful and helpful reports available in a few keystrokes
ConsWhile reports are extremely helpful, the learning curve on running them is extremely sharp and can be very cumbersome when first migrating into the PowerSchool ecosystem. Additionally search criteria has to be very specific and shortcuts are needed to be memorized
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 4, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Aviation & Aerospace, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 14, 2017

“PowerSchool is a helpful tool for basic education management.”

ProsIt is a nice way to organize student information for easy access. I really like that PowerTeacherPro allows me to access student grades from my personal computer at my home.
ConsThe software is kind of clunky and not the most intuitive. Additionally, when printing reports from PowerTeacherPro, the formatting is messy and paper-wasting.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 14, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2018

“Can check my grades, class docs, and homework”

ProsGood way to communicate to teacher and class, easy to see grades and find documents for class, and figure out homework assignments.
ConsNot always easy to see lots of information at once, you can only do one thing at a time, such as view a class PDF.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2018
Avatar Image
Chris H.
Senior Superintendent
Construction, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 12, 2018

“I LOVE IT”

Overalli absolutely love using this product
ProsThis is the only way to stay on top of you students grades, so nice to see what they have upcoming and what has been turned in and graded
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 12, 2018
Samantha M.
Teacher
Education Management, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 15, 2019

“Decent at first”

OverallOverall, it is a pretty good program with a lot of potential. I think it lacks in some features that would be fairly basic and would help to make this a better program for many teachers.
ProsThere are a number of different pre-entered selections to use for testing and whatnot, so that is helpful. Inputting your own is also not that difficult to do.
ConsYou can only search selections by one parameter at a time. I can either look stories up and see whether or not they cover the necessary standard I need to cover or I can look up the standard and hope a story covers that standard more than once. I wish there was a way to cross reference this. Also, there isn't a way to incorporate your own rubric on writing questions. You must choose whether it is a 4, 3, 2, or 1 point rubric. In my state, we have a three part, 10 point rubric and would be helpful to grade students' responses the same way that the state test and my classroom grades them.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 15, 2019
Jarred B.
Teacher
Education Management, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 26, 2019

“PowerschoolLearning”

OverallOverall my experience with powerschool has been decent.
ProsI like that powerschool offers an organized way to enter grades and other student data and keeps track of the necessary information in one place.
ConsI dislike the fact that it is not very user friendly and the UI isa little outdated. When entering grades values revert to defaults when something is changed.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 26, 2019
Ellen B.
school librarian
Education Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 24, 2019

“Interactive Online Learning Platform”

OverallI am taking an online course and trying to get used to distance learning.
ProsThe program is easy to use once you practice. It has many different features, lets you respond to messages, upload videos and pictures, and add documents. The layout is very clear and uncluttered. It is easy to find what you are looking for.
ConsThere was no button that immediately takes you back to the home screen. The userface requires you to navigate back to the course you are taking and then you must find the home screen for the course. It is better for people registered for more than one course; however, if you are just taking one course on this platform it can be a bit confusing.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 24, 2019
Steven P.
Principal
Higher Education, Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
October 9, 2016

“Powerschool review from a parent”

OverallMy freshman in high school is using powerschool/haiku sms. It is very clean and easy to navigate. We can see upcoming assignments and test. We can also view grades on quizzes and tests (if the teacher posts). The big thing that it is missing is one joint calendar of all assignments and test from all classes. This would be a great help for planning ahead.
ProsEase of use clean and not cluttered
ConsThat it does not have a joint calendar
Source: Capterra
October 9, 2016
Verified Reviewer
Education Management, Self-employed
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019

“PowerSchool”

OverallGreat software that is easy to use, especially for substitutes.
ProsI've used this as both a substitute and as an over-flow aide and I have not had any problems with it.
ConsThis software is super easy to use and I have not had any bad experiences in using it as a substitute.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019
Nicholas P.
College counselor
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 9, 2017

“I use powerschool to collect information about my students in a high school setting”

ProsI really enjoy the simplicity of the product. Everything is right where it needs to be and I picked it up very quickly
ConsThe difficulty it is to switch between groups of students. I would like more statistical items to as my job is to collect data on students
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 9, 2017
Alexander M.
School Counselor
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Source: Capterra
August 29, 2014

“Power School Gets the Jobs Done”

OverallAs a school counselor in a very large middle school in Southern New England, I relied heavily on Power School for scheduling, as well as data management. For a school that encourages data-driven decision making - PS was able to quickly disaggregate important information - it was relatively easy to learn compared to other programs. Furthermore, it allowed for colored schedules which for visual learners was a PLUS+ factor.
Source: Capterra
August 29, 2014
Samantha H.
Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 24, 2018

“I use this in high school”

ProsI like how easy it is to use, the steps are simple and the website looks clean and organized. No ads.
ConsSometimes it freezes and it takes me a really long time to get it back to normal, sometimes I have to just shut it down
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 24, 2018
Avatar Image
Melissa S.
Marketing and Admissions Associate
Education Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 20, 2018

“PowerSchool Learning Review”

OverallIt is a great program to use for schools
ProsI work as an administrator for a school so Powerschool helps us to post the weekly agenda and school calendar and also upload videos and photos. This can be shared with all of the staff and families.
ConsMany of the teachers often run into program errors with the analytics and tracking data in Powerschool.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 20, 2018
Melodie C.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Source: Capterra
November 3, 2016

“Power School”

OverallPower School is fairly easy to use, but it seems to go down at inconvenient times. Also, I feel like some report features that should be available are not. Example would be male/female totals per teacher for the school.
Source: Capterra
November 3, 2016
Lori S.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Source: Capterra
October 6, 2016

“My PS review”

OverallUsing Haiku Learning. How much will it change? What will domain admin be like? Please fix lack of scrolling in grade book.
Source: Capterra
October 6, 2016
Verified Reviewer
Education Management, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
4/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 31, 2019

“Very expensive PowerSchool add-on”

ProsCreates a direct link between a learning management interface/platform and powerschools grade book data entry No need for multiple portals which reduces the weariness of teachers having to remember and juggle multiple logins
ConsVery expensive add-on for what should be a built-in feature of the core SIS
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 31, 2019