VIPRE Business Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About VIPRE Business

Business antivirus and mobile device management system that includes small-footprint anti-malware agent and email protection for PCs. Learn more about VIPRE Business

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 26 of 26 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 26 of 26 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Eve G.
VP
Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019

“This Beats All Others We Have Tried”

OverallGreat company to work with! Their software is great and continuously updated.
Pros* Does not interfere with daily work flow * So inconspicuous that we forget it is working in the background * In the 5 years we have been using this software, we have encountered ZERO issues * Product was recommended to us by our Computer Software Consultant who tried many other virus protection products previously * From time to time when our subscription comes up renewal, we have opted for other software based on price, and within weeks would cancel and return back to Vipre!
ConsThere isn't a single issue we have had with this software. For several years Viper was not compatible for Mac, however that has changed and all is well.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019
Dennis F.
Technology Services Officer
Banking, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 21, 2019

“It starts working immediately”

OverallVery positive experience and little or no issues with this product. We do wish support would be more proactive especially with updates.
ProsVery easy to setup and install agents packages. Detection rates are good and does not bog down our systems.
ConsThe mobile device management has been hit and miss for us. Agents do not always check-in. The 3rd party patching is OK, however there are other superior products out there. We just use it to justify what is missing.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 21, 2019
Chris J.
IT Admin
Information Technology and Services, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2018

“Vipre Business is a very solid product that kept our network secure for many years.”

OverallVery consistent & easy to work with software that managed our client computers well.
ProsOur version of Vipre was server-based and gave us a lot of granular control over our clients. I could initiate several AV functions immediately from the control panel, and I could also check the status of many software patches for each of those clients. The overhead of the used resources was low, and the nightly scans performed well each night. Reporting and notifications were also good.
ConsWe left this software in favor of a more moderately priced web solution in terms of seats. Vipre would occasionally let in some files that were infected and that would need to be detected/removed by other malware specific programs. Not many, but enough to make me think of other solutions. I'm not sure if they have come out with a cloud solution since we left in Fall of 2017, but that would have been a nice option as well.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2018
David H.
Senior Accountant
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 9, 2017

“I tested Vipre with a variety of penetration tests and it stopped most attacks immediately”

ProsI threw a littany of attacks at Vipre and it immediately recognised and stopped all but those I ran by eminating an HID device for which I had physical access to the computer. While there are certainly ways to bypass Vipre, it has, in my experience and research, a constantly updated list of attacks and an immediate response time. The power of this software also makes it a less desirable target for attacks as one could spend much less time creating an attack for a weaker and more commonly used program
ConsWhen Vipre runs a scan it takes up a ridiculous amount of processing power. I'm running dual xeon processors with a SSD and 32Gb of ram and I still have to kill the procoesss. That said, scheduled the full scans for the middle of the night and you should be good to go
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 9, 2017
Greg A.
President
Information Technology and Services, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 12, 2019

“Great anti-virus product”

ProsI have been using Vipre for 10+ years now, it's a product that works quite well and is fairly light on system resources.
ConsSometimes malware gets through, but that is true of every product, it can still be annoying.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 12, 2019
Peter S.
IT
Retail, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Features
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 4, 2019

“Low Quality Product Not Detecting Even Old Viruses”

OverallTried to contact support but they could not find my license, which we paid money for a number of years back. The company has gone through many mergers, Sunbelt, GFI, ThreatAware etc. and seemingly lost records. They refused to give me even a bit of support. So I not only does this antivirus not protect you, not only does it not even handle older viruses let alone any new threatas, not only does it not find your computers in your network and requires painful manual installation requiring dozens of hours. there is also no support. This product is absolutely not recommended.
ProsGood is that there is a centralized console, which is supposed to be capable to detect workstations on your network automatically and push out agent installations + updates to them, in theory at least.
ConsThe central console only detects about 60% of your workstations. No amount of reboots handles this situation. You literally have to generate a MSI file from the server console and walk to each station physically to install the MSI. And that install is painful again - on most computers it took us 5 (five!) reboots and 2-3 re-installs of the MSI before it finally become active and recognized by the central console. Some computers even never got recognized, no matter how many times they were rebooted and re-installed. That's a really poor show. And I am not alone with this - I have asked a few colleagues in other companies, and they all said this is a "normal" problem with Vipre, it always does this. Tried to update to the latest version - no change, still does the same. The worst part is that the detection rate is absolutely awful. If you look at the history of threat detection it usually finds nothing. On several workstations I ran a full deep scan with Vipre, and it found no threats at all. Then ran a scan with Malwarebytes and it found 40 threats! All the way from really old threats like Conficker and a v5.vbs virus to other type of malware. Vipre had found nothing for weeks!
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 4, 2019
Avatar Image
John B.
Owner
Information Technology and Services, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018

“Vipre Business Antivirus Antimalware Kicks Butt”

OverallSupport is great, sale team is also very good.
ProsLove that you have a centralized console to monitor all the computers you you manage. They do not need to be in one physical location. The reporting is great and the instant notification if a computer because infected is something every IT pro needs.
ConsThe console needs to sit on one computer. You can use the cloud version which fixes this problem but if you have many computers connects to the console the migration can be a pain.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 5, 2019

“A Good Solution for Small Businesses”

OverallIn my minimal interaction with tech support, they have always been helpful and responsive.
ProsThe licensing is flexible. Some companies charge extra to install on a server OS vs a desktop OS. Vipre does not impose that restriction. A simple one-license, one-device policy. Also, a US based company.
ConsUnfortunately, like all anti-virus solutions, you need to run a local AV server to get the best opportunity to fine-tune machine policies to your liking.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 5, 2019
Aimee B.
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
1/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 10, 2018

“Updates cause issues with other software”

ProsThis system is GREAT at shielding your computer system. Its like a fortress that has been built to protect.
ConsSeems that with each update that comes, it wipes away settings where I have allowed certain files from my office management software to pass through the antivirus system. The result is needless time spent trying to figure out if the issue is being caused by the OM software or AV software. I now check Vipre first everytime.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 10, 2018
Rodrick M.
Ing
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 11, 2017

“It's an antivirus that really work and your device bearly notice about it”

OverallSecurity and safety of my information
ProsIt doesn't slow down my pc, works because i have no virus problems in years, and the only time i need support (for setup after a windows upgrade) the support team solve by remote control.
Consi think the only think that vipre does not cover yet is the multi-language UI, and it's not really a Con but will be a plus to include this option in the future for this product.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 11, 2017
Aaron L.
IT Manager
Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 20, 2018

“Great Home Backup Solution”

OverallWorks well and I like the product. Would recommend to users that are not as worried about security
ProsThis works great on home based computers or home based businesses. Blocks a lot and gives a lot of options for managing.
ConsI would not use in a big business with all the other options that are out there.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 20, 2018
Ben M.
IoT Manager
Retail, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 14, 2019

“Secure | Economical | Superb Support”

Pros1. Vipre knows digital security inside and out. 2. The Cloud Endpoint enables easy deployment, efficient management, and economical. 3. Vipre support is 100% U.S based, knowledgeable, and fast.
ConsNone for our setting. Could be cumbersome for some businesses.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 14, 2019
Brandon E.
Project Manager
Construction, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
4/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 9, 2018

“Good if You Have an IT Pro”

OverallTrust you IT Guru.
ProsLots of options for tracking threats and also white listing safe addresses. Can be maintained remotely.
ConsComplicated to set up and implement. Exceptions are required for a lot of sites relatively. Won't work at all with VMware.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 9, 2018
Diane L.
Corporate Secretary
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 13, 2018

“Excellent Antivirus Software”

ProsVipre is a fantastic software to protect your computer from viruses and malware. I highly recommend this product to everyone.
ConsThere is nothing I do not like about Vipre. It is a great antivirus software and great and protecting your computer.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 13, 2018
Mark W.
IT Director
Architecture & Planning, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
1/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2019

“Vipre Review”

OverallVery poor. I had a 5 year subscription with them that I stopped using after 2 years.
ProsWhen we purchased the software, it was fairly easy to set up and push agents to the endpoints within our organization.
ConsWe were using the Enterprise version of Vipre Antivirus on workstations and servers. Unfortunately, we had an outbreak of some Trojan viruses that spread to several of our workstations. I contacted Vipre tech support but had to leave a message. When they finally did get back to me, they sent me a boilerplate list of things to do to try to quarantine the machines. My main problem was how this could have happened when we had active protection running on all of the machines. Vipre was never able to take care of the problem. I downloaded a trial version of Bitdefender and it cleaned the infected machines within a day.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2019
Matthew E.
Engineer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 6, 2018

“One of the best”

ProsVipre is one of the best enterprise anti-viruses I've ever used. Central management, easy deployment, great reporting.
ConsThe UI for the server side needs to be updated. Looks like it's from the 90s. Client side looks great.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 6, 2018
Jake I.
IT Support Analyst
51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 15, 2019

“Great Easy to Use Anti-Virus”

ProsVipre is easy to use and stops virus from latching onto your system. It's one of the more easy to use AAs and doesn't take up too many resources.
ConsA little pricey compared to some other anti-viruses. Not too many cons for this program and its consumer and business based.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 15, 2019
GABRIELA G.
college professor
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 23, 2018

“This product is worth trying as it provides good antivirus protection to our equipment.”

ProsIts interface is super simple, very well designed, easy to use, intuitive and those features were the ones I liked the most
ConsLittle known, I did not know of its existence until I found it in the list of capterra and I tested it. A bit of flaws when it comes to support and documentation.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 23, 2018
Michael K.
IT
Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 9, 2018

“Reliable protection for your business”

ProsEasy to manage, instant quarantines and threat protection, automatic updates that require little management.
ConsI have not had any luck getting Vipre to push installs to any workstations, servers, or laptops, but it is very easy to create a custom package and install it straight from the client.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 9, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Financial Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
4/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2018

“Its good, just not something I would use personally.”

ProsCommon threats were stopped in their tracks (on work laptop) Central reporting Reasonable compatibility with different systems Minimal install
ConsSlowed my business laptop to a crawl during its daily scanning. I grew very aggravated with it. Shared login for the root account, no option to customize schedule if an individual employee. The built-in firewall protection definitely cuts internet speed down considerably. On a 300MB line, I showed 70MB speeds. Had to disable the Windows service to restore the expected transfer speed. Unknown effectiveness on actual servers. Different exe versions for laptop, desktop, server, etc...
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2018
Danni J.
Office Manager
Hospital & Health Care, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 12, 2018

“I would recommend this product”

OverallI would recommend this product. We have had it for years and it has worked well.
ProsIt is nice to see all of your computers in one place on the console machine. It is easy to add agents to the computers. The customer service is helpful.
ConsSome of the tasks are hard to navigate at first but if I do have issues the customer service is really helpful.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 12, 2018
Jasmine C.
Alternate Admin
Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 4, 2018

“VIPRE has allowed me to feel safe”

ProsSince we have started with VIPRE, I have been comfortable in knowing our data is safe. I don't open an email with fear anymore.
ConsBeing a novice in anti virus, at first figuring out the settings best fit for me were a bit confusing.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 4, 2018
Avatar Image
Pedro B.
Coordinador académico
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 26, 2018

“ VIPRE AntiVirus allows me to protect all computers in the office against computer virus threats”

Overall Run other programs while running the VIPRE antivirus on the PC
Pros that works without problems without compromising the performance of the system and has a powerful antivirus and antispyware engine that combines the detection of all types of malware in a single efficient system.
Cons That if the computer does not have enough ram memory, the search engine slows down the computer to execute other programs
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 26, 2018
Jeremiah B.
IT Manager
Primary/Secondary Education, Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 29, 2016

“I used this product for 2 years as our business anti-virus product.”

ProsExcellent console and dashboard, Good customer support, saves $$.
ConsProtection is not as good as other products. It does not catch everything and does not prevent cryptowall.
Recommendations to other buyersIt saves $$ from other high end products. This is a good balance of investment and protection, but there are better products out there.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 29, 2016
Tommy B.
IT Director
Computer Software, Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Features
4.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 18, 2016

“One of my favorites, must be on your evaluation list”

ProsThe antivirus is very complete, with all the features you need. The UI is clean, with a lot of customization and tuning to make it right for your needs. Great virus detection, not resource intensive, end-user will like it! (Except maybe the firewall).
ConsDoesn't support the new Mac OSx (Based on the website). Not Cloud-Based management. You need the premium to have all features.
Recommendations to other buyersI don't know if it scales for large organization, but I really like this antivirus, you should try it. BUT, if you are a SMB without On-Premise servers... pass.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 18, 2016
Mallory W.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Source: Capterra
December 8, 2016

“VIPRE Review”

OverallOur company uses VIPRE and I feel it is secure. I do not receive obnoxious notifications from it, as some other protection software does. That's nice.
Source: Capterra
December 8, 2016