Benevity Ratings

Overall
3.5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5

About Benevity

Benevity is the global leader in corporate social responsibility and employee engagement software. Some of the worlds most iconic brands rely on Benevitys award-winning solutions to power their Goodness Programs that attract, retain and engage todays diverse workforce by connecting people to the causes that matter to them. With an employee base of 10 million users, Benevity has processed over $3 billion in donations and 20 million hours of volunteer time to 200,000+ global charities worldwide. Learn more about Benevity

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 11 of 11 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 11 of 11 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Ida T.
Executive Administrator
Non-Profit Organization Management, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 15, 2019

“Benevity - Blessings”

OverallWhat a blessing to all!
ProsWe've been on the receiving end of Benevity - and have been blessed by donations. Our donors like giving anonymously and their donations have made a big difference. They like that it was simple for them just to pick a cause that they wanted to support and Benevity does all the work for them. With automatic payroll deductions - they take how much you want to donate and send it where you want it to go. It's as simple as that
ConsThe only thing that we didn't like was not being able to thank the people that donated to us but that what the donor likes about Benevity that their donation is anonymous. So it's a win - win.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 15, 2019
Sue A.
Sales Analyst
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 4, 2018

“Great for Volunteering”

ProsI currently use Benevity at my current employer to explore opportunities for volunteering inside and outside the company and to manage my donations to non-profits. The system is easy to use to be matched to events in my area. I can easily sign up and receive emails of any notifications. After the volunteer event is completed, i can receive credit for it.
ConsThe only con i experieced was that the search feature is only by region (US, Europe, etc) instead of by City or County.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 4, 2018
PETER N.
Executive Director
Primary/Secondary Education, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Features
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 22, 2019

“Potential Security Breach!! -- Setup of Electronic Donation Payments”

OverallOur foundation will receive the 3 checks "the old fashioned way". After that we will likely close our account until Benevity decides to change their policy in this regard. It is simply not worth one website.
ProsAllows online input of data. But then they do not have a way of capitalizing on this. (see cons)
ConsBenevity requires submission of a document that has ALL account information listed on the document. Benevity is asking to upload a document that has bank name, routing number, and full account number listed on the page so they can verify. This is a huge breach of security. To have such a document floating around an office or cyber-space is dangerous at best. Companies much larger and presumably with much thicker firewalls than Benevity are getting hacked all the time. In this 21st century their policy lacks the understanding of cyber and personal security.

Vendor Response

By Benevity on April 10, 2019
Hi Peter, thank you for your review. At Benevity, we go to great lengths to secure the data of our clients and the causes they support. EFT data submitted by a cause is securely submitted to us via our Causes Portal. Once submitted by the cause owner, the data is encrypted in transit and once received into our secure production network, is encrypted at rest. Access management controls are in place to ensure that the only individuals accessing cause banking data are those who require the access to either support the causes, or process donations to them. We adhere to best practices for network security and undergo regular 3rd party application vulnerability scanning and penetration testing in order to identify and remediate vulnerabilities. We hope to continue to support your charity through the Causes portal and thank you for all that you do at Multihull Youth SAIL Foundation.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 22, 2019
Chamry H.
Owner
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 28, 2018

“Easiest way to work with employer donations and volunteer matching”

ProsThrough my secondary employer I'm able to make donations or track my volunteer experiences to give even more back to the community. My daughter did a fundraiser through school and we were able to make our donation online through Benevity to take advantage of the donation matching, which overall doubled the funds raised!
ConsI have no negative experience with the software so far. It's very easy to use and charitable organizations have connections with Benevity built right in already.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 28, 2018
Miranda M.
Annual Fund Coordinator
Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 25, 2019

“Benevity”

OverallBenevity is a fine platform. It does what it needs to and isn't difficult to work with.
ProsThis is a great software for online giving and employer matching. It is relatively easy to use and runs really clean reports.
ConsThere aren't really strong cons to Benevity, it really only runs simple functions. It collects the money and then gives us a report. I guess the worst part about it is that it takes a portion of the donations we get, but that is pretty typical in the industry.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 25, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Education Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 26, 2018

“Tricky to get it up and running”

ProsI like the organized manner in which it keeps track of donor activity and the dashboard is organized and easy to follow and make sense of.
ConsIt was extremely difficult to set up and customer service was lacking. Also, I wish it gave us more regular updates than it does- often, there is a gift sitting in the system and we're not notified until we receive a monthly disbursement notification.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 26, 2018
Amanda M.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
April 12, 2017

“AWESOME for Non-profits!”

OverallBenevity contacted our non-profit as soon as someone requested to donate to our organization, and it was very easy to sign-up and create a profile. We have already had two sizable donations made to our organization, and the reporting features on donations are easy to find and very user-friendly.
Source: Capterra
April 12, 2017
Earle C.
President, CEO
Health, Wellness and Fitness, Self-employed
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 4, 2019

“Total waste of time”

OverallIt simply does not do what it is advertised to do. Looks like a scam.
ProsVery slick, gives the impression of professionalism.
ConsTime sink, does not perform as advertised.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 4, 2019
Ariel M.
Administrative Specialist
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2018

“Rarely use, but works well when I do”

ProsI like being able to see when donations are coming in. I also like being able to look into donations when we have already received them to get the donor information.
ConsI don't like having to download a report when I am trying to look up a donation. I would like to be able to just see all the info on the screen.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2018
Teja Y.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
February 22, 2017

“Decent portal”

OverallBenevity is a decent portal for donations and volunteering opportunities. However, their search, sort and filter options within the portal do not work very well. Overall, I would rate it at 7/10. I am happy with it, but it can be better.
Source: Capterra
February 22, 2017
Abbot T.
Bookkeeper
Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Source: Capterra
June 29, 2017

“Overpriced and inconvenient”

OverallThey send us other people's money, that's it.
ProsThey collect payroll and matching donations from several large companies. That's it, the only good thing about them. Everything else is crappy - the software, the lag time, the fees, the staff, the support.
Conspricey
Source: Capterra
June 29, 2017