Who Uses This Software?

Small or Medium Retailers / Wholesalers who need robust inventory, customer and accounting management features that are fully integrated with their point of sale.


Average Ratings

22 Reviews
  • 4.5 / 5
    Overall
  • 4 / 5
    Ease of Use
  • 4.5 / 5
    Customer Service

Product Details

  • Starting Price
    $675.00/one-time
    See pricing details
  • Pricing Details
    Standard Version $675 Premium Version $1175 Add-On Integrations Available
  • Free Demo
  • Deployment
    Installed - Windows
  • Training
    Documentation
    Webinars
    Live Online
  • Support
    Online
    Business Hours
    24/7 (Live Rep)

Vendor Details

  • ACE POS Solutions
  • www.acepos-solutions.com/
  • Founded 1981
  • Canada

About ACE Retail POS

Looking for a full-feature inventory management software together with a built-in POS? The ACE system is an installed software for Windows users with integrated inventory, customer and purchasing management. Designed for retailers or wholesalers with full offline capability. One-time cost with NO monthly licensing fees. Web-based mobile reporting tool available. Integrated with Sage50, QuickBooks, Shopify, Magento, OSCommerce, MailChimp, Vantiv, Chase, Global, Elavon, Moneris, FirstData and TD.


ACE Retail POS Features

  • Barcode Scanning
  • Commission Management
  • Customer Account Profiles
  • Discount Management
  • eCommerce
  • Gift Card Management
  • Inventory Management
  • Layaway Management
  • Loyalty Program Support
  • Ordering Automation
  • Pricing Management
  • Restaurant POS
  • Retail Management
  • Returns Tracking
  • Sales Tracking
  • Touch Screen

ACE Retail POS Reviews Recently Reviewed!


Customer Support has been awesome, both easy to contact and quick to respond and resolve issues.

May 23, 2018
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Excellent inventory management through purchasing, receiving functions. Great reporting features and simple to use software.

Cons: No mobile app available and workstations are unable to work independently off line for short periods of time if there is an unexpected interruption in the network connection.

Overall: Software is extremely helpful in managing our inventory and providing financial reports to management.

Vendor Response

by ACE POS Solutions on May 28, 2018

Thanks for your great feedback Tom! When your network is down, your main server computer will always continue to be up but we do also have some customers that run our Store-on-the-Go licenses to be able to quickly start selling again if both their internet and their local network are down. We are also actively working on a new cloud application which we will be launching at the end of the summer. We'll be sure to let you know when it launches!

Support staff are friendly, but JR Techs are not knowledgable enough

May 22, 2018
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 7.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Sales screen is easy to navigate for new hires to learn. Integrates with nicely with payment processing.

Cons: Can't discount an entire sale, must discount each individual item. It is time consuming. Setting up new items and updating pricing must now be done in head office first before invoices can be entered in store database.

Overall: The main benefit is the sales and inventory tracking which automates these processes and then integrates with accounting software to save time.

Vendor Response

by ACE POS Solutions on May 24, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback Kathy! We are going to arrange for a tech to contact you today to go over the discounting options in ACE. To clarify, it is definitely possible to discount by line and for an entire order. Hopefully we can easily help you speed up your checkout process. Thanks!

Customer Service has been very good

May 22, 2018
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 6.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: It does everything we currently need it to do, The Support staff is amazing and answer everything question I throw at them.

Cons: Lack of training to use the program, Yes when I call they help me through everything but it would be nice to be able to figure somethings out on my own.

Overall: It works well for what we currently require

Vendor Response

by ACE POS Solutions on May 28, 2018

Thanks for sharing your feedback with us Jodi! So glad to hear that you're happy with our Customer Service :) To access some of our online resources on our own, we recommend that you bookmark https://www.acepos-solutions.com/help where you will find our general online knowledge base and where you can sign up for our exclusive web portal for active support members (pls scroll down to the orange section). You will find how-to articles and training videos here. Thanks!

Capterra-loader

The software gets the job done.

May 22, 2018
3/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 6.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: It's been reliable. The software works as it should in the sense that every action is clearly labelled, and I don't think I've ever seen it crash.

Cons: It could be designed a bit better, but no complaints necessarily. Also, there are moments when finding certain transactions could easier.

Overall: It helps us keep track of our transactions and monitor our register.

Vendor Response

by ACE POS Solutions on May 24, 2018

Thank you for your feedback Mateo! We will continue to improve ACE so that we can earn the remaining stars from you ;)

Great System, good customer service, Nine years and counting...

May 21, 2018
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: I like how user friendly the sales screen is. Very quick to train someone to run the cash register, even someone who is not computer savvy.
I like being able to block employees from different areas of the software, so they can only access what I allow them to.
The reports are flexible and are great for assistance with re-ordering based on sales(if you don't already use the min/max qty option). Being able to quickly see which vendors products are selling the best is a huge asset to me.
The easy connection with Quickbooks saves me a LOT of time in my bookkeeping.
The customer service is good (and if for some reason you get someone who you may think is in training, they're honest and get someone else to fix the problem and do it in a timely manner). I have been enjoying this software for nine years.

Cons: I find it time consuming to find some of the features that I likely should be using but are not utilizing because I can't find it or I can't remember where to find it.
I would prefer the Help/user manual be part of the software not just online. When you don't have internet access on a computer that your employees are using, the help feature is inaccessible.
The yearly updates are a bit more expensive than I feel they should be. I don't need new features and any "fixes" should come with the original purchase of the product, but if I want it to continue to run on newer computer systems and likely need it reloaded on a different computer down the line (ie. changing from windows xp to 7 or 10), I would otherwise have to pay the whole amount up front a second time( and third time etc...).

Overall: The main benefit was easing my accounting burden! That was my initial reason for searching for a POS system.

Vendor Response

by ACE POS Solutions on June 02, 2018

Andrea, thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. We understand your wanting to have access to certain resources offline. We made the decision to move to online training resources as this way, we can maintain documentation more easily for customers. It also allows you to be aware of any updates. Besides new features, we need to maintain a development team to keep the software up-to-date for security reasons - e.g. Windows updates, PINpad upgrades, integrated solution updates. This is why updates are always included with annual support plans and include phone calls that you can use for support or training. We know that you don't always need the assistance but we have tried our best to keep our annual support plan pricing steady even though our costs of maintaining live support assistance around the clock and development in Canada continue to increase. Thanks again for your continued support!!

POS computer died, has to purchase a new one and get the software loaded and operational overnight

May 18, 2018
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: Very user friendly, easy to train volunteers, financial reports are good, technical support is very good. Alex is the best

Cons: inventory issues not really understanding what is going on, effects and changes especially at year end

Vendor Response

by ACE POS Solutions on May 21, 2018

Thank you for your kind words, Betty. We were glad to be able to assist you when your POS computer failed recently. We will also make a note for the support team to review outstanding inventory issues with you to clarify any questions you may have.

It isn't pretty, but this software does the job very well for the price.

May 18, 2018
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: All in all it does most of what you'd want a software to do. It handles all manor of transactions very well.

Cons: The User interface is clunky. The Reporting is archaic. Lack of good exporting and importing, especially for reporting. The special order system could use an overhaul to make it more useful. You can use me as a sounding board if you need some guidance on making it a killer feature

Vendor Response

by ACE POS Solutions on May 21, 2018

Thanks Rob, we like to think of ourselves as the workhorse of POS systems but we know that we need to keep improving. We will let the product development team know that you are open to being a sounding board. This is exactly the type of constructive feedback we need to earn those remaining stars from you :)

Ease of use

May 18, 2018
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: All the features that we would need for our business can be found with Ace pos. Reports are very detailed and customizable.

Cons: Wouldn't say that there are any disadvantages at the moment. Still haven't had a chance to use most of the features

Overall: Inventory management as well as cash flow monitoring and management.

Store changing! A computer software system that is expandable and reliable!

May 16, 2018
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Support. When something went wrong i had help right away to get things going again. Easy adding items. Generic POS parts compatible. Multiple stations. Good reports and labels. Nice layout. Worksheet price editing - amazing for having to change multiple prices in a flash.

Cons: Many features you may not use or understand. just ask. Manual covers most issues. Costs a bit to start. Multi line scanners are better than single line i purchased. Read Barcodes from any direction.

Overall: Tracking stock, doing pricing easily, scanning products.... customer accounts. im pretty happy.

Vendor Response

by ACE POS Solutions on May 21, 2018

Thank you for your support Christopher! We're glad that you are happy with the software and our support. There are a lot of features built-in to ACE. Please don't hesitate to contact us at support@acepos-solutions.com if you would like to schedule a training session to determine if there are other ways ACE can help your business.

So far I love the Ace POS. It is fairly easy to use and great with keeping up with inventory.

May 16, 2018
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 9.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Least amount of update requirement. Easy to use for most part. Great customer service and tech support.

Cons: Does not work well new windows updates. Seems to crash almost every time there is any new major update from Windows. Ace wouldn't start up or there are other issues which prevent from from making sales. Then I have to call tech support and wait for it get fixed.

Overall: One of the best POS software I've had. Helps me with my inventory and keeping records of customers and merchandise sold.

Vendor Response

by ACE POS Solutions on May 21, 2018

Thank you for letting us know your experience with ACE Husain! We will definitely let the development team know that Windows Updates are frustrating for you. While we cannot control how Windows runs their updates we can do more to proactively help customers minimize the impact of update issues.

We have been Ace users since 2004 ,

May 15, 2018
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: I like it because it's easy to use. Easy to scan and sell and easy to add inventory. Easy to teach new staff to use.

Cons: The reports are sometimes difficult to navigate, but once you find the right one it can be useful. I do wish that it would automatically transfer to simply accounting like it used to .

Vendor Response

by ACE POS Solutions on May 21, 2018

Thank you for being a long-time supporter of ACE Patricia! We're glad that you continue to enjoy using ACE for your business. If you have any questions regarding reports (both built-in and with our online reporting tool), please don't hesitate to ask or check our online resources at www.acepos-solutions.com > More > Support

I have been very pleased with my experience with ACE POS Solutions.

May 15, 2018
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 9.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Ease of Use and there are so many features that are helpful to my business. We are always evolving and finding new ways the software can help run our company smoothly.

Cons: Quirky things like not being able to quickly see the address an order was shipped to without a long work around.

Overall: Running the many facets of our business from one solution. Being able to capture a lot of useful info on our customers and keep a history of all purchases.

Vendor Response

by ACE POS Solutions on May 21, 2018

Thanks for your support Dana! We will continue to do our best to keep improving ACE :)

Ace Pos is extremely easy to use. Lots of functions but layout of the program is organized and strai

May 15, 2018
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: Easy to navigate and cash out. Buttons on the screen is a good size and layout is easy to use. Steps to complete a sale can't be any easier

Cons: Getting sale reports needs to be a bit easier. Would like tabs in the future for faster readout for monthly totals and weekly ones as well

Vendor Response

by ACE POS Solutions on May 21, 2018

Really glad that ACE is able to help you run your business Joanie! We will give the development team your feedback regarding the accessibility of sales reports and your suggestions regarding tabs. Thanks!

overall good experience

May 15, 2018
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: it is easy to use and easy to train new people on it. Customer support is very good with this product very knowledgeable!

Cons: I wish there was an online manual to explore options that I don't use. Wish updates were automatic! and built into the software. like sage 50 accounting software is automatic within the program once you have paid your subscription!

Overall: point of sale and inventory control are much improved!

Vendor Response

by ACE POS Solutions on May 21, 2018

Great to hear that you are happy with ACE Kathryn! And we're glad to let you know that there is an online knowledge base (general public one and exclusive portal for support plan members) similar to an online manual if you go to www.acepos-solutions.com > More > Support. Regarding updates, other ACE customers has also let us know that they prefer automatic ones. The reason why we have chosen to avoid this is because of the number of hardware and third-party integrations ACE works with. Many customers, like yourself, use other applications which can be mistakenly reset if updates are automatic (it happened a lot in the past). Currently when customers update, we make sure to double-check any integrations and hardware settings to make sure everything is smooth sailing. We will continue to try to find ways to improve this process for customers. Thanks again for your feedback.

Installing our new POS with ACE has been a great enhancement for our store.

May 15, 2018
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: This software is very user friendly and customer support is always there to help with an issue or even to listen to issues for enhancement.

Cons: There is so much still that we do not use because we have not had the time to venture into all the different aspects of the program.

Overall: So much more information at our fingertips and the speed in which we can now check out customers is awesome.

Vendor Response

by ACE POS Solutions on May 21, 2018

So glad to hear that you're happy with the software and our support Julia! We're here to help whenever you have any other questions about new and existing ACE features.

Very easy to use and great for our inventory

May 15, 2018
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The information you can store for customers, inventory and vendors. The fact we can email the invoices, orders and statements to the customers and the PO to our vendors.

Cons: Can not email to a vendor if the billing address is different. They still need copies of the invoices but we cannot email them because it goes to the billing address and that's it

Overall: Great inventory control and accounts receivables

Vendor Response

by ACE POS Solutions on May 21, 2018

Thank you for your review Bonnie! We continue to try to improve ACE and will let the development team know about your feedback regarding billing addresses.

It works, but is not ideal for a butcher shop... had I known, I would have found something different

May 15, 2018
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: Once learned, it is simple to use. Keeps track of staff and their activity. Good analysis feature. Attractive.

Cons: Can't connect a scale with a viewing screen.

Vendor Response

by ACE POS Solutions on May 21, 2018

Izabela, thank you for letting us know your feedback. If you are interested in scale integration options for your shop, you may want to check the hardware integration list on our web site as we keep this list updated for customers: https://www.acepos-solutions.com/hardware

The technician is very helpful

May 15, 2018
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 9.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Affordable, good customer service, good software for retail, easy to use, has a really good inventory module, and good reporting

Cons: The settings are change whenever you do an upgrade, when you do back date transactions, the date on the receipts still shows the current date,

Overall: detailed report, faster check out speed, accurate report, easy tracking of inventory, multiple payment types and customer accounts

Vendor Response

by ACE POS Solutions on May 21, 2018

Thanks for your great feedback Masrina! We will let the product development team know about your comments regarding settings changing with updates. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do to improve ACE!

Good software

Feb 22, 2018
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 7.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The product is suitable for basic needs, it has really good features, easy to understand and use for most users.

Cons: The customer experience could be improved and more features and functions should be looked into so they can suit various customer needs.

The software compares to some of the big guy's yet the price is much cheaper. Love the people too.

Aug 16, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Functionality is as good as many of the big guy's. Really easy to use and customize. Technically sound.

Cons: Software does have issues as regards to screen resolution. On screens with lower resolution it cuts certain items off. Definitely needs work there.

Overall: Every kind of benefit you can get with a POS system.

Vendor Response

by ACE POS Solutions on August 16, 2017

Thanks James! We will do our best to keep delivering on what you need. We'll look at the resolution issue you mentioned too.

Best POS out there!!

Mar 27, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Reports, webstore integration

Cons: Would like to be able to download an app to track the system from outside the store.

Overall: I searched for months trying to find the right POS system before opening my retail boutique. ACE made the most sense for my inventory, sales, and tracking reports. The value compared to cloud based POS systems that require a monthly fee is outstanding. Also love the webstore integration which has helped me attract more customers!

Vendor Response

by ACE POS Solutions on March 27, 2017

Thanks for your review Reena! We have recently launched web based online reports for ACE plan members and will have more mobile-friendly applications soon.

Wonderful product, easy to use software, with fabulous customer service

Sep 27, 2016
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Easy to use interface, has all the features a small to medium size retail company would ever need.

Cons: Some functions, like correcting errors, or having a different shipping and billing address, could be easier to implement, but once you know how to do it, it's ok.

Overall: I've been using Ace Retail for 11 years, from when it first became available for Microsoft Windows (earlier versions were using the DOS o/s.

There have been many improvements over the years, with the program just getting better and better. Some features are a challenge to use, including having a different shipping and billing address, but once you know how to use these features, they work well.

In addition, many of my requests, including the ability charge local taxes for customers who live in other provinces, or the USA who visit our Winnipeg store, are greatly appreciated and functional.

Recently the ability to process "card not present" transactions was added, which we love, for phone or Internet orders.

I'm very happy with the stability and functionality of Ace Retail, and highly recommend it to any small to medium sized retail company. It may also work well for larger companies, but it's perfect for my company, Aviva Natural Health Solutions.

Nathan Zassman,
President

Recommendations to other buyers: Great product, with even better customer service. Everyone at Ace support is wonderful.

Vendor Response

by ACE POS Solutions on September 27, 2016

Thanks Nathan! We appreciate and value your support. We have several exciting projects/features in the pipeline that should be of interest to you. We'll be sure to let you know once they are ready!