DNSFilter Ratings

Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5

About DNSFilter

DNSFilter is revolutionizing the DNS industry. We provide a DNS based threat protection and content filtering service for IT professionals. Our product is powered by artificial intelligence that analyzes domains in real time, meaning we stop more threats than our competitors whom often take weeks through human review. We're U.S. based and operate a global anycast network with the most advertised network peers in the industry and offer fair, transparent pricing and no contracts or commitments. Learn more about DNSFilter

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 62 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 62 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Don B.
IT Guy, Assistant Principal
Religious Institutions, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018

“DNSFilter is the best value for money in content filtering we've found. ”

OverallGreat feature set, solid performance, easy admin control, fair pricing. Gives us a way to do advance content filtering at a very affordable price.
ProsOpenDNS went from free to unaffordable under Cisco. DYN got bought by Oracle, which then shuttered DYN's Internet Guardian. It was almost as if the market was conspiring to take away all affordable options. We were thrilled when we found DNSFilter (to their credit, the DYN people referred us!) DNSFilter gave us sound filtering at a very affordable price. We've got options to whitelist and blacklist , to create a bypass password, to customize the appearance of block screens and even allow users to submit possible false positives for follow up. DNSFilter offers a range of reports on usage and blocks on a level you'd expect to see only in higher priced alternatives. Their "per DNS request" pricing scheme is an innovative approach that's fair and reasonable and puts advanced web filtering out there for organizations which otherwise could never afford the features and functionality. After the initial configuration, it's more or less "set it and forget it" if you choose to take that approach, but even if not, normal admin work takes little time.
ConsSometimes it can be hard to keep up with new features. The company does send email announcements out, but I'll have the experience of logging in, seeing something new and wondering how long it's been there. That's about the worst thing I can think of to say about our relationship with DNSFilter. They deliver what they promise, and they continue to innovate and improve their product.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018
Alexander R.
IT Professional
Information Technology and Services, Self-employed
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018

“As straightforward as it gets when it comes to HTTPS filtering and haven't had any complaints over t”

OverallIt is far far simpler than private HTTPS decryption firewalls hosted on site.
ProsFast to setup Fast to update rule sets Filtering is comprehensive Pricing is very fair Dns Servers are reliable Instructions are clear and simple
ConsNot as much a con as an suggestion but if it could detect/exclude your ddns provider from the rule set it would sure help deployment speed especially in smaller environments where you find equipment which do not always allow ddns to be setup in the device itself or static IP's . I know its not really meant for that type of environment but it is an potential market I am exploring and the product is well suited to it. If you could release something like the small DUC client from No-IP that would be great.

Vendor Response

By DNSFilter on June 20, 2018
Hi Alexander, Thanks for your feedback! We so already support/exclude a large list of dynamic DNS providers, which you can find here: https://help.dnsfilter.com/article/9-dynamic-dns-setup If you use one not on the list, please open a support ticket and we'll see what we can do!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018
Avatar Image
Paul L.
Lecturer
Higher Education, Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018

“DNS Filter is a great option for protection that is almost invisible and easy to administer.”

ProsYou can easily configure DNS using the categories feature to block potentially hazardous or unwanted sites using DNS Filter's built-in database. You can also whitelist or blacklist sites in seconds. The pricing is usage based and straightforward. For SME's the pricing is very reasonable. Reports indicate sites that were blocked, and also identify where users are going. It's relatively easy to set up multiple filtering schemes for each location to have, for example, relaxed filtering before and after regular work hours, or to restrict certain activities during events (e.g., restricting streaming sports sites during March Madness).
ConsBased on site and not user, this is not a good solution for mobile users. They recently introduced a mobile client, but for Windows only. Filter bypass passwords are universal, and not configurable for individuals.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018
Avatar Image
Anthony J.
IT Manager
Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
2/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 9, 2019

“Went from usage to user pricing... Not impressed”

ProsIt's easy to use. Cloud DNS filtering that was cheaper than an appliance? Great!
ConsThey changed the pricing model from usage based (Which they were so proud of) to user based. We have lots of users and many volunteers with little usage. This pricing strategy invalidates any reason to use this company over the competition.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 9, 2019
Breandan S.
IT Specialist
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2018

“Simple and Easy to Use. Needs more browser support.”

ProsFilters like a boss. Can't beat the price. Easy setup and forget about it. Multi NAT, Filter by Catagory. CIPA compliance. Black/white list abilities. Filter by PC or Filter my Router / Switch / NAT / All depending on how you want to set it up. You can Set the DNS at your Security Gateway level and/or set it at the Switch and/orAP and/or machine level.
ConsSometimes I have to change browsers in the website to manage it. Short of that nothing else even comes close.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2018
John P.
Group IT Manager
Insurance, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 20, 2018

“DNSFilter Review”

OverallAs well as my comment in the Cons section, it is likely to early to actually tell the full business benefits however it's pretty obvious that by reducing the ability to waste time browsing the likes of Facebook and streaming media the benefits will be reflected in bandwidth consumption and work output.
Pros1. Simplicity to configure. 2. Ability to monitor individual use through agents rather than Active Directory. 3. Ability to set schedules for policies including free time for surfing during lunch which appeases the staff somewhat from the shock of having filtering introduced. 4. Attractive GUI. 5. Superb value for money. 6. The additional features such as crypto mining protection, bot protection, etc are very welcome.
ConsI really don't have any criticisms for this product. It does so much more than other cloud based DNS products on the market, and that I tested, that within a day of installing it for a 14 day trial I had already decided to buy this for my company.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 20, 2018
Verified Reviewer
51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 23, 2018

“Easy and very helpful”

ProsFiltering at a great price, It is easy to setup and select the filters you need for that particular site and I love the branding feature
ConsDoes not have an option for School Filtering, I use this application to filter schools and home internet but I have to also use K9 filtering because this doesn't cover it all and sometimes SSL could not be filtered
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 23, 2018
Christopher W.
Helpdesk Manager
Computer Networking, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018

“The product has been solid and works perfect for our needs so far.”

OverallMalware protection, end user surfing auditing, and general organization protection.
ProsEase of use and the fact that there is an agent that allows me to create filters per user. This is very useful.
ConsThere is no way to submit requests to a "wish list" in the panel or in general. If possible I would like a button in the panel where I could submit ideas for improvements. I would also like to be able to add my own RBL servers to the filtering.

Vendor Response

By DNSFilter on June 20, 2018
Hey Christopher -- Thanks for your feedback! Actually we have always had a feedback function on the site where you can suggest, and upvote features. If you click your image in the upper right, there's a 'Feature Request' dropdown. You can also visit it directly here: https://app.dnsfilter.com/feature-request
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018
Nathan S.
Clinical Director
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018

“We have been with DNSFilter for quite some time, and WE LOVE THEM!”

OverallSecure data, employee productivity
ProsGreat functionality, easy to use, easy to configure and manage. This software helps keep our systems safe and has increased employee productivity.
ConsI honestly have no cons. We have been very pleased with every facet of DNSFilter. Any cons I ever have, the very quickly make an update that fixes them before I can even complain.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018
Graham S.
Director
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018

“Completely bulletproof”

OverallBulletproof reliability. Secure as all hell.
ProsThe interface is responsive, reliable and two factor authentication is a godsend. It's never gone down for even a minute in the 5+ years we've been using the service.
ConsFor some reason multi-select editing doesn't work. It's possible it's not meant to do this but the checkbox makes me thing it could?
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018
Avatar Image
Gabino S.
President
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018

“Excellent”

ProsSimple to install and it actually works !! Support is excellent always prompt and knowledgeable. And the override button sorts out any issues
ConsNo fixed per month fee and sometimes bank websites don't work and need to be whitelisted. Otherwise it would be nice to have separate password levels for accessing websites
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018
Rob E.
Senior Engineering Manager
Broadcast Media, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018

“I have tried them all, DNSFilter exceeds all my expectations.”

OverallSave money, protect our users and network from Malware.
ProsQuick response, low cost. Excellent alternative to the slow and expensive competitors. New features are constantly coming.
ConsNo email alerts available. Reports could be better, I would like the ability to drill down to the user/machine level.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018
Avatar Image
Anand N.
Freelance Writer and Blogger
Online Media, Self-employed
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 22, 2019

“Effective filtering tool”

OverallThe real purpose of the DNSFilter is to protect your system from viruses and other attacks. The company has adopted advanced technologies. The product team offers excellent support and also maintains a dedicated blog.
ProsWith the help of DNSFilter, you can block unwanted content emerging from obscene websites and other devices. These sites are prone to viruses and hence DNSFilter will be able to protect effectively. The company maintains several data centers, which ensures low latency. The DNSFilter includes the ability to protect from phishing, malware, and ransomware including the ability to provide real-time domain analysis. The company has adopted powerful AI technology for reliability and is compatible with several popular operating platforms.
ConsDNSFilter is a paid product. You have to opt for a suitable package after the expiry of the trial period. I would appreciate if the vendor offers a free express version of the product.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 22, 2019
Jason W.
Comp. Sys. Spec.
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018

“Amazing value and an effective reliable service. ”

ProsVery good value and constant improvement of services offered. Service has never been down and easy to implement.
ConsFiltering sometimes has false positives but support is quick to respond. The interface Is light on details in the account management section.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018
Avatar Image
Levon B.
VP
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 18, 2019

“Layers of Security”

OverallWe use DNSFilter at our clients sites as part of a standard "Border" security set. It is used along side Hardware Web Filtering, Malware/AV scanning, etc. It is great to add as an additional layer, as well as having the client software on roaming laptops help us protect these devices when they are on the go!
ProsEase of integrating into customer sites.
ConsAt this point, there is nothing I do not like.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 18, 2019
Christopher W.
Owner
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018

“Overall software is great. It allows for easy management over multiple sites and groups within sites”

ProsEase of setup and configuration. I was able to get sites up and running in no time and with the templating option it makes it that much quicker.
ConsIf anything, web interface is a little clunky when trying to manage from a tablet or phone. There are times I'm not near a workstation to make minor quick adjustments and using a phone would be great.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018
Avatar Image
Andrew K.
Director of Information Technology
11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018

“Great, awesome service, does what it describes”

OverallSecurity and reporting
ProsIts quite easy to use and the dev team has a great plan for the future. They are actively listening to their customers and I personally hope to increase my 'Features and Functionality' rating to 5 in the near future!
ConsSome of the missing features specific to my business, and the adaptation of the service in our business was slightly difficult. Its sometimes hard to determine the cause of a problem (ie, SMTP mail failures due to false positives by DNS Filter).
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018
Anass B.
Network and System administrator
Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018

“DNSFilter was definitely the right choice for our company. Easy to install and easy to use .”

ProsDNSFilter is a software that offer a lot features that we may find somewhere else but really expensive. We have been looking for a good web-filter with a limited budget, DNSFilter offered a better, easy software to use and a perfect price for us. The support team are awesome, always answering quickly and efficiency. I will would recommend this software as they keep doing update and add more features without asking to pay more. Really good deal.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018
Scott G.
IT Manager
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 19, 2018

“Good bang for your buck”

OverallSo far its filtering has been less intrusive than previous products that have been tried. Other products that were attempted also did not have a Domain Lookup tool to see whether or not a domain might be getting blocked without a block page to display it (like for mobile apps).
ProsIt is effectively turnkey. There are enough categories to filter that it feels granular, and the reporting features are a good start.
ConsCurrently there is no Chrome OS app. At this point deployment of different policies, like for a Guest Network, is difficult as it requires changes to the DNS server of choice for those devices (either on a network or device level).
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 19, 2018
Joseph J.
President
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 20, 2018

“Great, very reasonable cost, and just works!”

OverallFiltering our internet connection.
ProsCompared to the competition their service cost is very reasonable! The features are great and everything just works.
Cons*Needs a mobile client (they are making one though) *Does not currently support IPV6 (however neither does most of their competitors)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 20, 2018
Dustin S.
VP | Engineering & Operations
Telecommunications, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018

“Exactly the content filtering system we've wanted for a long time!”

OverallA solution to our content filtering woes. All other solutions were convoluted or expensive. This comes from a guy that held frequent video calls with OpenDNS engineers helping them design and beta test their early content filtering system even before it was re-branded Umbrella..
ProsEase of use. Reliability. Performance. Cost. Stellar support team!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
ConsAD integration is still a need. Would also like to see a master view map that shows stats from all locations with the bubbles.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018
Mark P.
IT Director
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018

“Good function for good value”

ProsEasy to use, easy to set up, easy to monitor. Very simple to use in multiple locations. Good support. Minimal performance impact.
ConsThe online reporting sometimes has issues when switching between time periods. It appears to get confused on the time period.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018
Ike C.
IT Director
Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018

“Great service and affordable”

Overallurl filtering
ProsIt helps us block websites by name or classification which is great. It also allows us to setup multiple locations.
ConsThe reporting is a little light. Would like to see detailed reporting especially for those trying to circumvent the filter.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018
Brett H.
Pastor
Religious Institutions, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 19, 2019

“Easy, helpful and effective”

OverallThis has been a great experience, as we did not have any type of specific dnsfilter that was near what dnsfilter is. This is a great product and I look forward to continuing to use it in the future.
ProsDNSfilter's services are so helpful because it adds a layer of protection between the clients on our network, and what may be trying to get on their screens or devices from the web. This also prevents people from using our internet service for purposes that are not in line with our organization.
ConsThe router we use on our network is a big step above a simple home router, so it took some research to make sure I was setting it up properly. Even in that, the dnsfilter team was helpful in directing me to some online articles to help guide me through the process.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 19, 2019
Avatar Image
Robert H.
Chief Technology Officer / Vice President of Information Technology
51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018

“Great basic web content filter”

ProsEasy to setup. Easy to block/whitelist domains. Really affordable. Good for offices from 1-250 employees. Recently added end user client.
ConsReporting options too basic. No free option. Honestly, this product is pretty great for 95% of the use cases I've come across. Any organization needing really specific features may need to look elsewhere.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018
Ken J.
Electronic Systems Manager
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 12, 2018

“A DNS Filter for the rest of us”

OverallI found DNSFilter very easy to get up and running with my two sites. I have one corporate site and another small retail store. Both are covered now and it is very easy to keep an eye on what is being blocked and allowed. Making adjustments to white and black lists is very easy and quick.
ProsThis collection of tools is not only robust and easily implemented but it does its job at a reasonable cost. I reviewed several others before picking DNSFilter and all of the others were over the top in terms of cost.
ConsThere is only one thing wrong in my view. The text on the web page interface is too light and is difficult to read at times. I have a question in to support to see if this can be adjusted.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 12, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Education Management, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 2, 2019

“Dnsfilter review”

OverallWe have a very good experience with DNSFilter and it's very easy to use
ProsI liked that their website explains very clearly what how their service works and has a very tech oriented approach. The road map is a very open way of seeing progress and when certain features will be available. The DNS response time and filtering is also very good
ConsIOS and MacOS agent is not released yet. Hopefully will become available soon
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 2, 2019
Kelly E.
Founder/Director
Education Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 29, 2019

“New to this...”

OverallOverall, it fits our security needs for our students and our budget! Great service and product!
ProsI loved that it was quick and easy to set up and "install". The weekly reports help keep our students safe and the faculty aware of nev'r-do-well activity. It gives our faculty, me and our parents an assurance that we are looking out for their student's best interest.
ConsAt first it was difficult to figure out where I could access the specifics of the weekly report. But after simply responding to the report email , I received an answer that was mostly helpful.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 29, 2019
Nicolas F.
Network Administrator
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018

“Great Alternative To "Package Selling" Cisco Umbrella :)! ”

OverallThe fact that i can protect users connecting to our free wifi system at a short price is a real benefit !
ProsAdding Networks is easy ! Dashboard is responsive ! A lot of informations ! Great pricing ! And Whitelabelling Options making it as yours ! Glad i found them !
ConsLook like More and more features will come and dnsfilter will be even better in the future ! DNS over https is here ! but DNSSEC Please !
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018
William H.
It
Farming, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 1, 2019

“A DNS solution worth paying for. ”

OverallSo far I have enjoyed DNS filter to the fullest. They offer everything that I have been looking for as a company.
ProsThis DNS Solutions is diffrent then other old school providers. With their AI technology they can instantly calagorize website. Which is what others lack. They offer the option to enable safe search and they are a very transparent company that is willing to adapt and work with their customers.
ConsI would not be telling the truth if I would claim there is something is company is doing wrong. Simply no cons.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 1, 2019
Carlos C.
IT Tech
Non-Profit Organization Management, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2018

“DNSFilter is a great service!”

OverallOur Agency was up for renewal with our Barracuda WCF, and decided to take a look at other options. Signed up for the free trial and tested out the service at our main office. It was great and very ease to deploy even with creating additional firewall rules to ensure our users could not cheat the system. In addition we were able to protect all of our location (We have over 20 small remote locations) at a fraction of the price, and don't have to worry about hardware failure.
ProsThe service was very easy and quick to setup. No issues with deployment.
ConsI have not run into any issues as of yet. I really like service so far.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2018
Avatar Image
Andrew C.
CTO
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018

“The service works well and is reliable.”

OverallBetter internet speed, and in today's world that is huge.
ProsEasy to use, setup was a breeze, and the service reliability has been 100% uptime. The response speed of DNS resolution and the reliability is better than the local ISP. DNS resolution affects the user's perception of the internet speed and reliability. This service is becoming a must-have for my customers.
ConsI would like the ability to blacklist and whitelist IP addresses for customers who do not have a local router.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018
Jesse K.
IT Admin
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018

“Easy to use and setup. Great features at the most competitive price!”

OverallAdditional security through DNS filtering and employee safety online.
ProsThe service is stable and the pay for what you use price structure is way more attractive than other competitors. It's easy to setup and has lots of features to restrict websites and block threats.
ConsThe whitelist/blacklist adding additional urls was confusing at first because it wasn't clear to me that I had to click a button to add another text box to type in the next url I wanted to add. Then click save.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018
Mahlon O.
Owner
Information Services, Self-employed
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 11, 2019

“No "Fun" at Work”

ProsI like the easy implementation, specific categories, and the user interface. The default network filtering page when you visit a blocked site is really clean as well.
ConsNone, I'm super happy with the service and haven't run into any issues yet.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 11, 2019
Randy S.
President
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018

“As an MSSP, DNSFilter provides us a solution that's easy to implement, cost effective and brandable.”

ProsPRO: As a DNS-based filtering solution, DNSFilter is easy to implement as it does not require additional hardware and can be enforced on "corporate" & "guest" devices without any device-specific configuration.
ConsCON: As a DNS-based filtering solution, everything is captured in the logs; user and system generated events. This makes its difficult to generate reports that show events that are exclusively generated by users.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018
Trever J.
CEO
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018

“Was easy to setup and change filters.”

OverallIt was nice to have a cloud based option for DNS filtering without having to have an appliance.
ProsPredefined filters make it easy to block content that we wanted blocked, while not blocking the content we wanted. It was also really easy to unblock a site if it was needed.
ConsUsing dynamic dns was a little bit more complicated. Our sites all use dynamic dns and would have just been easier if we did not have to go through the setting up of a dynamic dns name.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Staffing and Recruiting, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 11, 2019

“Collabera”

OverallExcellent and quick solution with granual report and also protect both on premise and off premise.
Proscomplete solution good for quick security solution
Consneed little more granurality with site integration, its very less perview
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 11, 2019
Mark S.
Senior Security and Cloud Engineer
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2019

“DNSFilter - great extra layer for security, satisfies client content-control requirements”

OverallSales and onboarding process was smooth, pricing is flexible and straightforward.
ProsDeploy is simple, was able get the sites set with a good policy, then customize by deploying agents for more granular content control.
ConsNo Mac agent - while I can lock down content by Site, I don't have mobile protection or granular content control for my Mac using clients. Hopefully they will add support for Macs in the future.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 18, 2019

“DNS Filter”

Overalleasy to setup, easy to view results, very happy, haven't had to contact support yet so i can't speak to that.
ProsIts been good, without it we would have less information on how badly our clients browsing habits are, its also been catching a few things here and there, and anything to make our clients safe in this day and age is very welcome.
ConsAgent install requires a code to link to the proper client, but no big deal really.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 18, 2019
Avatar Image
Dustin B.
IT System Administrator
1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018

“Superb product which is easy to manage!”

OverallDNS filtering without breaking the bank. Ability to rapidly deploy to potential clients with minimal configuration. Love the continual development as well.
ProsContinual development of new features, dead simple pricing, granular configuration and reporting mechanisms.
ConsLack of transparency when choosing a particular category to block. Would love to have granular control over items in blocklists, with the ability to add my own to the category (or create my own category)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018
Kim S.
Sr Network Operations Admin
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 26, 2018

“14 Day Trial and Reporting”

OverallVery ease tool to setup and use. It's reasonably priced.
ProsIt is extremely easy to setup and use. Easily supports multiple sites.
ConsLack of detailed reporting that can be exported to .pdf
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 26, 2018
Roman S.
IT Manager
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2018

“NERO Consulting ”

ProsEase of use of the software, mobile friendly, amazing support.
ConsMissing some important features, such as a local resolver and immediate alerts upon blocking threats
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2018
Jeremy S.
IT
Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 8, 2019

“Best So far!”

OverallAm pleased to have a trial service and try and have an idea how things work!
ProsProviding timeblock, Social Media URL links
ConsNeed clarity setting up more rules in specific sites
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 8, 2019
Nate B.
Systems Administrator
Religious Institutions, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 12, 2018

“Great Service”

ProsThe pros of this service is the price for what you get.
ConsNo cons so far... No content filtering system is perfect but something is better than nothing
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 12, 2018
Andy B.
IT Manager
Research, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018

“Effective, affordable, and easy to setup”

ProsThe best thing about this software is the value. The same service as other big name providers, but at a fraction of the cost. The pricing based on usage is fair and beats the per user model. We've been very happy with it.
ConsI haven't noticed any issues with this service. It works well and the billing is very straightforward.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018
Austin M.
IT Manager
Consumer Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 5, 2019

“Business Review”

OverallI wanted to increase the security of our business
ProsThe software has a nice dashboard and is easy to configure
ConsCurrently we had MARCS updater update our Dynamic IP address to DNS O Matic which then pushes that to CloudFlare, our domain registrar to update our remote host-name. When switching our DNS servers to DNS filter instead of CloudFlare's public DNS it caused the MARCS updater to frequently flip flop between our real Public IP and some other IP. When we switched it back after a few days of this it was fine again.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 5, 2019
Kevin M.
CEO
Computer & Network Security, Self-employed
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 16, 2019

“DNSFilter a great option to OpenDNS”

ProsHow easy it is to setup and use. The portal is easy to use, straight forward, and it has the flexibility I need for my environment.
ConsAt this time I do not see any cons. So far the support has been very helpful and very knowledgeable about the product when I contacted them.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 16, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 19, 2019

“Great product - but if I wanted to be stuck with email-only support I'd use Umbrella”

OverallContent filtering with exclusions (teachers can get to facebook but students can't)
ProsFlexible deployment with a mix of DNS and software client base deployment options...
ConsSupport is email only - and inadequate when you have a K-12 client who needs an answer quickly.

Vendor Response

By DNSFilter on April 1, 2019
I apologize for your thoughts on e-mail only support. For what it's worth, please note that for customers who are Tier 2 and above we do start to offer chat and phone support.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 19, 2019
Keith J.
IT Tech / CIS
Computer & Network Security, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 8, 2019

“Excellent ”

OverallI was up and running in less then 30 minutes
ProsI use this dns filter in combination with my ubiquiti network devices and I got to say I probably have the most secure network in my city.
ConsI have no negative ratings. Its a great way to protect my network from the bad things that exist on the internet
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 8, 2019
dennis s.
owner
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 25, 2019

“free trial and great success”

Proseasy to load, run and config, really easy
Consnoting so far, works great, blocks bot and more
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 25, 2019