Symantec Ghost Solution Suite Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5

About Symantec Ghost Solution Suite

Symantec Ghost Solution Suite is an award-winning software solution for imaging and deploying desktops, laptops, tablets and servers. Ghost Solution Suite 3.1 includes the Deployment Solution 6.9 console and its core capabilities for operating system deployment, migration and cross-platform management. Combined with key functionalities from Ghost Solution Suite 2.5, like Ghost Cast Server and DeployAnywhere, Ghost Solution Suite accelerates and simplifies imaging and deployment. Learn more about Symantec Ghost Solution Suite

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 25 of 25 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 25 of 25 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
F Y.
IT Management Consultant
Information Technology and Services, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
November 3, 2016

“One person can setup 100 PCs at the same time in 10 minutes using Symantec Ghost!”

OverallIn the past I worked in a university where classroom PCs needed to be refreshed after every course, that means wiping the drives clean, reinstalling the operating system, drivers, updates, applications, and configuring everything to be the same as the other PCs in the classroom. As you can imagine that process takes several hours to do just 1 PC but with Symantec Ghost I can create a baseline image in a few minutes and push that image to the PCs I want simultaneously and the whole process just takes about 10 minutes (your mileage may vary depending on your network speed, number of PCs, size of image, etc.). Symantec Ghost Solution Suite provides several tools to manage the above tasks such as the Ghost Server, Ghost client boot media, Ghost Explorer to view and edit image files without having to rebuild them. Once you understand the concept of multicasting, the software is pretty straightforward to use: Create an image of your baseline PC, Create bootable CDs, discs, or USB sticks for your client PCs you want to image, start a Ghost multicast session on the Ghost server and give it the image file you want to push, boot the client PCs to the session you created and sit back and watch 10 or 100s of PCs get all their needed software in a few minutes.
ProsSpeed, support for wide variety of hardware, wizards make even complex tasks easy to master.
ConsRequires a good understanding of TCP/IP and networking fundamentals to use effectively.
Recommendations to other buyersFor organizations that need to install operating systems on large numbers of PCs or organizations that require refreshing their computers' operating systems often such as training centers and labs, Symantec Ghost Solution Suite is a must have product that significantly reduces the amount of time it takes to manage that process.
Source: Capterra
November 3, 2016
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 13, 2018

“Symantec Ghost Review”

OverallAs an end user, Symantec Ghost Solution Suite was easy to use and simple. Although I wasn't involved in deployment, I had used the application almost every day to image new or old machines. From my perspective, it was easy and simple. That made it effective for new hires to quickly catch on as well.
ProsVery easy to use from an end user perspective Simple interface that allows for a lot of functionality
ConsOur deployment and management team seemed to have trouble with upgrades. However I cannot speak on behalf of them as I was not involved on that project. Updates took a while
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 13, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 4, 2019

“Symantec Ghost ”

OverallWe have used it for automated system rollouts and its a cost and time saver
ProsWe use ghost for all of our corporate imaging needs, it makes computer deployment a breeze with a click of a button..
ConsGhost does not have any cons. Its a time saver and always just works for all of out imaging needs
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 4, 2019
Iwan A.
Security Assessment Specialist
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 27, 2018

“Windows migration”

ProsSymantec Ghost Solution Suite is quite good for imaging and distributing Windows. The system works very well in large environments.
ConsDriver installation is relatively poorly automated. The system is relatively difficult to handle at the beginning.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 27, 2018
Verified Reviewer
51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 24, 2018

“A backup solution suite”

ProsSymantec Ghost allows you to create system images through guided wizards, that greatly speeds up the backup process, and the deploying process as well
ConsI remember using a version (not the last one though as I recently switched to another solution) and it caused some compatibility problems on my machines, and it also appeared quite a heavy software to me
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 24, 2018
Avatar Image
Carlos R.
Head of Industrial Metrology Lab
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 28, 2018

“For prepare many PCs in little time with low personal this software is a winner”

ProsI use Ghost since winXP, in my lab have 5 PCs identical and each time that begin to malfunction only backup data and put the image store. Very easy to manage and use, many and variate options.
ConsI don't have problems with my few PCs, no compatibility inconsistencies , for now. A little problems will arise if you no have knowledge about configuration of your LAN.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 28, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Computer Networking, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2018

“Great for disk duplication!”

ProsI use this mostly to duplicate hard drives that are failing. It's important that we get a good copy so that we don't lose our client's data and Ghost let's us do just that!
ConsThere is really nothing negative I can say. Another great product from Symantec!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 10, 2018

“Great for imaging laptops/desktops with images built”

ProsSimple to use to flash images created to machines with ease of use, load drivers on the go with each image.
ConsConfusing at times with outdated interface, support is tough at times depending on the issue and if they re willing to troubleshoot outside of the product
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 10, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 23, 2018

“Client Management ”

ProsEnd-to-end client migration operating system settings, application data/settings, user data/settings.
ConsAutomated replication of tasks, images, configurations, packages, policies, and software compliance.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 23, 2018
Gilad E.
Certification Engineer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 11, 2018

“"Ghosting" HDD for PCs”

ProsI like the graphical interface of the product including it's bootable one, also the drive image capabilities are pretty successful from my perspective and is doing the job.
ConsThe product offer tiring advanced option menu which contains too much information for the average user dispite some of these features might be relevant, also, the copying process is not 100% and might miss some files, maybe due to the technology it leans on.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 11, 2018
Brian T.
Owner
Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2019

“Makes it d so easy to deploy our images”

ProsI've used Ghost since the early days when it was command line. Now, with it's advanced deployment tools. Ghost is an incredible product. Very easy to use.
ConsI don't have any complaints about this product
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2019
William H.
IT provider
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2017

“Long time user”

ProsVery easy to use. Flexible options. Have used for many years. Enterprise and consume editions. Very pleased.
ConsCompatibility can be an issues sometimes, but you have this with any software. Back can be slow based in the size of drive and data that needs copied.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 3, 2018

“Best way to backup and deploy”

ProsI've used Ghose suite for taking backups and deploying over on a network. Its a great tool for system administrators.
ConsThe UI for this tool needs improvement when compared to its competitors. Basic tutorials on how to use the tools should be present for helping novice users.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 3, 2018
Douglas D.
IT / internet director
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 13, 2018

“Great software deployment for new PCs and Harddrives”

ProsDeploys a software image to new drive in a few steps. The wizards provided in software allow people with limited IT experience to deploy software to new PCs.
ConsYou do need a little understanding of network connections to be able to connect to Ghost Images from workstation. Support is not very responsive.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 13, 2018
Sunil M.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Source: Capterra
April 21, 2017

“Symantec Ghost ”

OverallWe used Symantec Ghost on our computers we had at college both in the labs and throughout the public locations on campus. Using Ghost greatly simplified the setup and maintenance of public use computers. The suite made it fairly easy to update the various images for the different computers we maintained as well and allowed us to deploy images en' mass over the network. The initial setup of the system and server was a bit complicated, but once that portion was complete, using the suite was straightforward. For lab management, or public computers that need to be maintained regardless of who uses them, I would recommend looking into Symantec Ghost Suite.
Source: Capterra
April 21, 2017
dorothy c.
Financial Analyst
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2018

“Although it installed, there were some serious files missing and errors occured”

OverallWe did not really benefit, we could not use it because of some critical errors and omissions in the software that could not be remedied. Very frustrating to work with Symantec
ProsThe software functioned 99% correct, but that 1% was pretty critical. It was easy o use once it was installed, we followed the directions that we found on line and was able to set it up and fuctioned well.
ConsThere was absolutely no real support. We tried to call but waiting on hold for endless time and was disconnected three times. Very frustrating when there are errors and we can't figure them out and there is no support to be had. We did get through, but the support techs transferred us around a bunch and never really helped us.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2018
Avatar Image
Matt P.
Network Administrator
Real Estate, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 7, 2018

“Symantec Ghost Review”

ProsI liked that it simply worked. I was able to load my image, and deploy to countless machines simultaneously.
ConsI don't recall having ever having an issue with this product. The issues were always related to my machines.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 7, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 27, 2018

“Symantec Ghost is a great way to create standard image files. ”

ProsI found Symantec Ghost very simple to use. We utilized it to create a clone of a standard desktop or laptop image. We then utilized these images for all of our PCs.
ConsI don't recall having any issues with the Symantec Ghost software. We utilized the basic cloning/iso feature.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 27, 2018
Avatar Image
Michael G.
Network Engineer I
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 27, 2018

“Great Ghost Solution”

ProsWe use Symantec's Ghost suite for all of our new machine deployments. We have a system set up that when we plug in a new machine, we navigate to map-able drive and within one click it's blasting on our ghosted image. Very convenient and quick.
ConsNot as user friendly as it can be, but it's pretty understandable given the boot environment we typically use it in.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 27, 2018
Dustin Y.
Self
Computer Hardware, Self-employed
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2019

“Easy Imaging Tool”

ProsSymantec Ghost is very simple to use. I like being able to select what I need to be included in my images and easily being able to created one and fairly quickly as well. The images are easy to deploy and throughout each new version of Ghost, things are made easier!
ConsThe software is kind of expensive to purchase.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2019
Avatar Image
Brian D.
Help Desk Analyst
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2018

“One of the best imaging software”

ProsThis was the first imaging tool i learned to use. I love it
ConsIts a little complicated at first but after using it for awhile, its a great program
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2018
Burt J.
Systems Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 24, 2018

“Very effective and thorough solution. Definitely worth the investment.”

OverallEffective way to manage data protection and certainly part of our Disaster Recover strategy.
ProsGreat options whilst using the package. Compression, password protect images to name a few. The time it take to capture images also is relatively fast.
ConsLittle compatibility issues. Works with all recentmost platforms though. Could be a tad bit more user friendly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 24, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Telecommunications, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2019

“Imaging software”

OverallWe used to have this solution in our company but was replaced with a more efficient one
ProsYou can deploy windows images faster than running installation drives one by one on each PC
ConsIt is not that fast if compared with other Softwares. PXE imaging is supported but gives trouble to set ip up
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2019
David B.
Computer systems administor
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 27, 2018

“Back up your computer”

OverallDid make a backup of my computer
ProsOnce setup its easy to setup and make a copy of computer. You can restore a computer in 10 mins with this software.
ConsNeed to understand how to setup tcp/ip on your lan. Not the best support when you have issues its hard to get a hold of someone. Can miss files when backing up.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 27, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2018

“About 2 months I had started to use this software, and it's good addition.”

ProsYou can easy imaging and deploying desktops, laptops, tablets, and servers, and that can be happen from a single management console also you can migrate to the latest operating systems, deploy software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2018