Donorbox Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
5/5

About Donorbox

Donorbox is a powerful fundraising software that is simple to set up and attracts more recurring donors. Start fundraising with a fast, optimized donation payment system in 15 minutes. Our platform, available in 9 languages and 28 currencies, makes the donation checkout process quick and effortless by supporting donations via cards, PayPal, ACH bank transfers, and Apple and Google Pay. Quickly embed a customizable recurring donation form in your website or utilize our campaign fundraising pages. Learn more about Donorbox

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 18 of 18 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 18 of 18 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Lauren W.
Global Giving Database Manger
Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2019

“Donorbox's Customer Service Sets Them Apart”

OverallOverall, I would definitely recommend this product. Donorbox has helped my organization raise lots of money with their simple and easy to use platform.
ProsDonorbox is a newer, free platform for allowing donors of your nonprofit to make a gift to your organization. By far, the best thing about them is their customer service. If you or your donor(s) has an issue, you submit a ticket through email and they get back to you generally within one hour. They then work quickly with you to solve whatever problem you're having. They have sent out surveys to clients and asked what features we would like to see added.
ConsDonorbox has a login system for recurring donors, but none for donors who make a single gift or are regular givers. It would be great if that feature was included, as other companies that offer this type of service have. It would allow my organization to be more efficient and timely in other things we have to do.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 3, 2018

“Donor box review ”

Overall Even if text-to-give is not yet an option, I'd still recommend Donorbox over other donation systems. It's rare, from my research, to get this much of functionality, simplicity, safety, and speed for so little financial investment.
Pros Really appreciate that Donorbox is so simple to use and so affordable. It's very helpful to have the option of suggested donation amounts as well - since starting to suggest amounts to our donors we've noticed an increase in donations! Really value the integrations with Salesforce and Mailchimp as well. This has allowed us greater functionality while keeping the cost of a donation system low.
ConsThere are many great things about Donorbox that I thoroughly enjoy. However, a built-in text-to-give technology would really take it to the next level.

Vendor Response

By Donorbox on November 29, 2018
Thank you so much for your kind words! It¿s always great to hear that we¿ve helping our customers be more productive and successful. You¿ll be happy to know that we¿ve actually already started plans for a text-to-give feature. As soon as it¿s ready, we¿ll be sure to let you know. We¿re always working to make Donorbox better, so your feedback is really helpful and much appreciated. If you have any other ideas or features that you¿d like to see, please feel free to let us know. We wish you all the best with your fundraising efforts.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 3, 2018
Ed G.
Pastor
Non-Profit Organization Management, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018

“Off the Charts Useful!”

OverallAfter nearly 2 years use, it has been amazing to see the ongoing options added to this amazing software.
ProsSearched for a solution for a non-profit website donation page and found DonorBox interface. I was very happy with what I found, and have been even happier since starting use. From super easy end user experience, to simple implementation on websites, Donorbox rocks! Users can donate via bank card, PayPal, or bank account. No fees are charged by DonorBox unless $1000 per month is processed. Other merchant processing fees apply as usual. DonorBox loves mobile users too!
ConsOnly regret is that I didn't find it sooner!

Vendor Response

By Donorbox on December 27, 2018
Thank you so much for your sterling review of Donorbox! It really means so much to our team when we hear that our customers are enjoying their Donorbox experience. Our goal has always been to give organizations and donors alike the best donation platform possible. So, it's awesome to know that Donorbox is helping to make your workload just a little bit easier. We welcome any suggestions you may have for us. It could be anything like a feature you'd like to see or perhaps there is something that we can do better. Your feedback would be really appreciated. And, it will help us make Donorbox even better. All the best with your fundraising! And thank you again for your wonderful review.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018
Karen G.
Owner
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 11, 2018

“Easy to setup several giving campaigns”

ProsLove this tool because it is so simple to setup multiple campaigns that each have their own progress tracking and details. Embedding on my website is easy and just works. Set it and forget it type of thing. Pricing is simple. Entering donations received outside of the tool is easy.
ConsWish it had some additional integrations with my email tool or CRM.

Vendor Response

By Donorbox on November 29, 2018
We¿re so glad that you¿re enjoying Donorbox. It¿s always great to hear that we¿ve helping our customers be more productive and successful. I¿m not sure what email tool you are using, but Donorbox does offer a MailChimp integration as an optional extra feature. And I¿m happy to let you know that we do have future plans to develop our very own CRM feature. We¿ll keep you updated on that. If you have any other ideas or features that you¿d like to see, please feel free to let us know. We wish you all the best with your fundraising efforts.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 11, 2018
Avatar Image
James B.
Digital Media Specialist
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 13, 2018

“Donorbox is a great starter donation software that takes minutes to get running.”

ProsDonorbox is simple and intuitive with great instructions to help get setup. One of my favorite things about Donorbox is that I'm able to keep donors on the site, through an embedded Donorbox form. I don't need to send them to a landing page off-site. That's a big deal and keeps donors comfortable finishing the process of giving.
ConsDonorbox is still maturing and some features that I think ought to be built-in, they charge for. Like integrating with an integration software... I have worked with multiple other softwares that simply allow integration, and none of them charge, including other donation platforms.

Vendor Response

By Donorbox on October 15, 2018
Thanks for taking the time to review Donorbox on Capterra! We truly appreciate your honest feedback. Since we aim to keep our fees as low as possible, we only charge when absolutely necessary. We are, in fact, working on building features so that some integrations won¿t be necessary any more. It will be built into Donorbox. We¿ll be sure to keep you updated with our progress. We've also recently launched our API and Zapier integration that lets connect with any number of other platforms. You can check that out here - https://donorbox.org/nonprofit-blog/blog-announcing-integration-zapier
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 13, 2018
Avatar Image
suryad p.
Digital Marketing
Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 3, 2018

“Best Fundraising Software ”

OverallInitially, we were sceptical of investing into a donation system, even affordable one, since we're looking for ways to save on all fronts. We thought we could just use PayPal. However, only when we switched to Donorbox we saw all the benefits of a donation system (i.e. the ongoing support, the variety of payment options, the suggested donation amounts etc.). Really recommend trying it out and seeing for yourself!
ProsWe have an international presence and also partner with a lot of companies so it's great to be able to accept company donations, accept multiple currencies and customize the donation forms in many different languages. It offers tons of features for a fraction of the price!
ConsAlthough Donorbox offers the Salesforce integration, it'd be great if the Donorbox dashboard could be a bit more detailed and functional.

Vendor Response

By Donorbox on November 29, 2018
We¿re so glad that you¿re enjoying Donorbox. It¿s always great to hear that we¿ve helping our customers be more productive and successful. Thank you for your feedback regarding our dashboard. We¿ll definitely take this to the drawing board and see how we can improve. If you have any specific capabilities that you¿d like to see on our dashboard, please feel free to let us know about them. We wish you all the best with your fundraising efforts.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 3, 2018
Jonathan K.
Owner
Apparel & Fashion, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 18, 2018

“Great for getting started with online donations”

ProsEasy setup for nonprofits or churches with recurring giving and low costs. Combined with Stripe, you can get pretty decent rates for payment processing. Easy to use interface and multiple giving pages can be setup.
ConsLacks a lot of the donor management features that other tools offer.

Vendor Response

By Donorbox on December 20, 2018
Thank you so much for your kind words! We're glad you are having a good experience with Donorbox. We'd love to learn your thoughts on what donor management features you'd like to see in Donorbox. Any input you could give us would help our Development team. We're always looking for ways we can get better, so your feedback would be very much appreciated.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 18, 2018
Christina P.
President
Non-Profit Organization Management, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2017

“I am a non-profit Christian ministry and donor box has mad collecting ad accepting donations easy! ”

OverallSo many benefits which include donation processing online, multiple donation accounts to keep track of specific events, built in donor management, automated receipts, and so much more! Love donor box, for the non-profit I would highly recommend it over PayPal!
ProsFree processing up to 1000 dollars per month, automatic reoccurring donations, ease of use, built in donor management system, receipt automation and so much more!
ConsIt is hard to find something but if I had to pick it would be the ability to sell tickets along with donations. Adding this feature would be fantastic and about the use of other ticketing sits like eventbrite.

Vendor Response

By Donorbox on October 15, 2018
Thanks for taking the time to review Donorbox on Capterra! We¿re so glad you¿re enjoying using our donation platform. You¿ll be glad to know that we¿ve already been making plans to develop a ticketing functionality into Donorbox. We¿ll be sure to keep you updated with our progress.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2017
Avatar Image
Ilma I.
Co-Founder
Education Management, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 17, 2018

“Simple and Effective Donation System - Great Solution for Nonprofits”

OverallFinding a system that is simple to set up, effective, that integrates with our website, and allows us to manage donors - all for a fraction of the price of some of the other systems is hard. This is why we appreciate Donorbox!
ProsDonorbox is very affordable and the process of setting up is very easy and user-friendly. I also enjoy that the forms are quite clean and uncluttered. They are very minimalist so and I can customize them according to my own brand. It's also great to attract and retain recurring donors. Highly recommend trying it out!
ConsI would want the dashboard to be a little bit more comprehensive and sturdy - but Donorbox is still developing and constantly improving.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 17, 2018
Maya B.
Marketing Manager
Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
November 16, 2016

“Beautiful donation widget that works great!”

OverallI've upgraded to Donorbox after using Paypal for the last 4 years for my nonprofit. After a few months, I noticed the difference when I reviewed my donations for my quarterly reports, and noticed an increase of 20% in recurring donations. Definitely recommended!
ProsRecurring payments, integration with Mailchimp, Very easy to install!
ConsMore languages! Or custom languages, I saw you had German, Spanish, and few others, but what about Russian?
Recommendations to other buyersTry it and see for yourself! Always good to look for more ways to increase your donations.

Vendor Response

By Donorbox on November 16, 2016
Thanks Maya! Good luck with your nonprofit!
Source: Capterra
November 16, 2016
Jeremy B.
Nonprofit Consultant
Non-Profit Organization Management, Self-employed
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
February 3, 2017

“Best Recurring donation plugin for Wordpress”

OverallI've switched to Donorbox about 2 months ago , and I can't be more happy with the results. The forms are simply beautiful, and really help in increasing conversion rates for donations and monthly commitments.
ProsThe look & feel of the forms. Very simple to make recurring donations
ConsWaiting for the option to do test donations.
Recommendations to other buyersIf you're using it for Squarespace or Wix as your donation widget, make sure to enable SSL on your site. It's free.

Vendor Response

By Donorbox on September 10, 2017
Jeremy, thanks for the kind response.
Source: Capterra
February 3, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 28, 2018

“Inexpensive and simple donor-management platform”

ProsDonorbox is the most inexpensive program I found when researching donor management software. Its pricing is exceedingly fair, and the setup process is very easy and user-friendly.
ConsI wish the dashboard was a bit more robust, but it's nothing major. I also wish that I could import past donations via a spreadsheet rather than having to enter past transactions individually.

Vendor Response

By Donorbox on October 9, 2018
Thank you for your feedback on Donorbox. We're always open to suggestions on making Donorbox better, so this is really helpful. The CSV Import feature is something our developers are already considering for the future. We will keep you updated on that when it's released. Regarding the dashboard, what other functionality would you like to see on it? You can always contact us at https://donorbox.org/contact
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 28, 2018
Bobbi C.
Project Manager
Non-Profit Organization Management, Self-employed
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2018

“Donorbox could be a good addition to your non-profit website”

OverallI originally resisted adding this software to our arsenal because it could add additional expense. However, I believe it will encourage donations as it creates a simple and beautiful interface right to our webpage. It is much more flexible than using PayPal alone, and probably interfaces better with other payment vendors.
ProsEase of use, flexibility, seamless integration to our website.
ConsRan into one snag today where I added a feature twice and couldn't figure out how to delete the duplication.

Vendor Response

By Donorbox on October 15, 2018
Thanks for taking the time to review Donorbox on Capterra! Our goal is to create the best possible donation platform for our customers. If you¿re still experiencing the duplication issue or need our help with anything, you can drop us a support ticket at https://donorbox.freshdesk.com/support/tickets/new.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2018
Anndriene B.
Finance Manager
Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 27, 2018

“Simple Donation Platform”

ProsEasy to navigate for users and to retrieve funds on the back end.
ConsDonorbox isn't an easy platform to embed into the Weebly web hosting platform, but once embedded is simple enough to use.

Vendor Response

By Donorbox on November 29, 2018
Thank you so much for your kind words! It¿s always great to hear that we¿ve helping our customers be more productive and successful. We do understand that embedding a Donorbox form on a Weebly form can be a bit tricky. We¿ve put up a blog post with some helpful info on how to do this. You can check it out here - https://donorbox.org/nonprofit-blog/weebly-embedding/. Or you can contact our Support Agents at https://donorbox.freshdesk.com/support/tickets/new. We¿ve got some excellent developers that are more than glad to help. If you have any other ideas or features that you¿d like to see, please feel free to let us know. We wish you all the best with your fundraising efforts.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 27, 2018
Avatar Image
Jaq L.
Keynote & Graphic Design
Hospital & Health Care, Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2018

“Inexpensive donation service, fairly basic”

OverallWe were able to get our form up and going pretty quickly and it looks nice.
ProsI like that it is easy to setup and get going. They have a nice clean website and interface. The forms you create look very clean. Support is very responsive.
ConsThe customization options of the forms are a little sparse and basic. It was difficult to fully change the colors of the form to our organization's colors. I had to email support and use css code to change it. Kind of a hassle!

Vendor Response

By Donorbox on October 15, 2018
Thanks for taking the time to review Donorbox on Capterra! We¿re glad you had a good experience with our Support Team. We will definitely be taking your experience with customization options into consideration and seeing how we can improve. Your feedback will help us make Donorbox better.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2018
Melanie W.
Design & Communications Coordinator
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
May 30, 2017

“Does everything I need - great solution for non profit donations”

ProsIt's simple to use and the forms are very aesthetically pleasing. Simple to integrate into WordPress site. Customer support was amazing, quick responses and very helpful.
ConsIt would be nice if more of the setup was handled within WordPress (save having to jump across from donorbox.org), however this isn't a red flag for me.
Source: Capterra
May 30, 2017
Avatar Image
Erica S.
Director Of Marketing And Development
Civic & Social Organization, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 14, 2019

“Great product”

ProsDonorbox is simple and easy to use. A variety of donation campaigns can be created to match the brand of your organization. They are to create, maintain and track. You can even set up specific links and campaign goals.
ConsI have not found anything that I do not like about this software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 14, 2019
Avatar Image
Leonardo C.
CEO
Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 23, 2019

“easy website integration”

OverallMakes our job a lot easier. Our clients are happy.
Pros-Free donate system for small nonprofits. -Very easy to integrate on WordPress sites, where we built 70% of our client sites -Seamless integration with PayPal payment options -Easy branding on forms and pages
ConsWe could not find Magento Integration in Marketplace
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 23, 2019