Bitbucket Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About Bitbucket

Bitbucket Cloud allows teams from start-ups to enterprise to plan, collaborate, test and deploy quality software. With its best-in-class integration with Trello and Jira Software, your team can connect their tasks to branches and get to coding quickly. Build quality software by collaborating around your code efficiently with enhanced pull requests. Bitbucket's built-in CI/CD makes it easy to confidently build, test and deploy code to your customers. Learn more about Bitbucket

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 775 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 775 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Avatar Image
Daniel F.
CTO
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 24, 2019

“We love Bitbucket”

OverallWe use bitbucket every day to backup our code, control version and publish the deploys on AWS & Google Cloud.
ProsThere is a lot of thing we love about Bitbucket. First one, the possibility to create any private repository you want. I know this a common feature today, but back in the time only Bitbucket allowed to create unlimited private repositories. Also the pipeline integration for deploys is a great thing and finally you can integrate it with a project managment software like Trello.
ConsI would like to have a better UX, mostly because it feels a little bit old today. Almost everything works awesome, but they need to update the UX definitely.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 24, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Real Estate, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 19, 2019

“Best repository management platform out there”

OverallOverall, our teams love BitBucket and we use it daily. We host our code up there and this allows us to review, manage, and share our code directly to all teams. It's easy to do things like set permissions or integrate other tools like Jira which make the platform even more robust than it already is. Although a bit pricey as you scale with your engineers, it's generally a cost-effective platform given your business size that is unmatched in repository management software and allows us to build products with a sense of peace and security.
ProsI think the biggest pro with using Bitbucket is that it integrates extremely well with JIRA. This allows you to track your tickets with the branches you're working on and to easily see its progress during each sprint. It's intuitive and straightforward to use. It's also quick and almost rarely did we have any technical issues. Whenever we did have some issue, it was just with some expiring licenses which was easy to resolve. Permissions are additionally easy to manage. Overall, it's just an amazing tool that is 100% essential for our software team as it manages our repositories and allows to share, review, and manage our code across all teams.
ConsThe only downside I can think of is the scaling costs associated with it for the paid plans. Bitbucket charges per user. We have around 100 software engineers so it adds up a lot. Also, our engineers are quite experienced so working in Bitbucket hasn't been that much of a challenge. I've heard that engineers will lesser experience in repository management find Github to be easier to learn and implement but again, with greater experience comes a more expansive toolset.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 19, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 30, 2019

“Market leading product by Atlassian”

OverallOverall Bitbucket is a great platform for professional developers for personal and commercial use.
ProsI have been using Bitbucket (personally and commercially) for couple of years and I'm really satisfied with the services and features that they offer. Letting free users create unlimited repos and allowing up to five users is a good way to go, which attracts more users. Pull requests helps to get code reviewed by experts and get them approve before it available for others and helps to maintain quality code leading to quality software. More useful features like Pipeline lets user to deploy/release more often.
ConsAs a market leader, pricing plans can be adjusted to attract more
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 30, 2019
Avatar Image
Muhammad T.
Web Developer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 29, 2019

“The simplest source code control”

ProsA better integration with other Atlassian products as well as other products like Slack, the very useful pipeline feature that automates the building process, the simplest interface, private repositories even for free users.
ConsTo get the most and complete experience for this product is only if you have the Atlassian ecosystem, not so stable as GitHub, but this problem is not common, unable to archive repositories, the search needs a little bit improvement.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 29, 2019
Ben K.
Software Engineer
Human Resources, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 2, 2019

“Much better than github”

OverallI love Bitbucket. It has always provided a more intuitive and easy to use experience. I highly recommend it.
ProsThe web-based app is fantastic. It has a great UX, its easy to use, and it just looks nice. My favorite feature is the side-by-side comparison for diff comparisons. Whenever you have code with particularly long lines, the traditional word wrap comparison becomes virtually unusable. But Bitbucket has a really nice side-by-side comparison that allows you to scroll horizontally. It is indispensable. It also integrates with Jira really nicely. Whenever you name a branch after a Jira issue, you get a really handly link in Bitbucket that will display the Jira issue card in modal. Lastly, Bitbucket has better prices for private repos (especially for smaller teams).
ConsNot a strong mobile presence (albeit, there are few cases where you really need to be able to interact with yoru code repos from a mobile device, but it does come up from time to time)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 2, 2019
Avatar Image
Luis Daniel R.
Lead Application Developer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 22, 2019

“Still good even if competition is fierce.”

OverallUsed for 5 years and still my daily driver code repository at work. I love it and wish they competed more head to head with github on the free tier which I use for my personal projects.
ProsI have to say that I've been using Bitbucket for over 5 years now. It's robust, it works and you can feel safe that your code will be secure in case anything happens. It has integration with JIRA which is a MUST and they've recently added board integrations with Trello. You can also automate your builds with Azure or other Web Services platforms so once you merge your branches, its compiled and published into your service of choice. It has code search and really good pull request management. Wish it had an on-line conflict editor, but regardless Bitbucket is amazing. The free tier gives you 5 private repo's but the paid tier it's unlimited and cheap!
ConsThey should honestly compete head to head with Github and make their free tier also have unlimited repositories. For the price, just go with Github, if you're with a company, I believe Bitbucket is a better deal, more if your company utilizes JIRA. I've used it over 5 years and the site has been re-designed like 3 times and some of the times It's feel buggy, incomplete or unresponsive/sluggish. When dealing with huge pull requests, the site can basically hang for minutes and recently the site's been having a lot of connectivity issues. They just seem complacent. They're not bad, but don't seem to be bothering much. Also for god sakes, add a Dark mode to your client Source Tree.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 22, 2019
Haja C.
Developer
1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 11, 2018

“A Smooth and Savvy Git Repository - ”

OverallAtlassian Bitbucket is a smooth, intuitive, low-profile and very capable git repository. It functions exactly how you would want it to and can be considered a solid alternative, or addition to GitHub. The user interface and functionality have been markedly improved from previous versions, which were slightly less forgiving for newer developers. It was always a good product, and now it is even better, with continuous improvement and wonderful new beta features being added regularly. I love this platform and I'm anticipating the opportunity to test out the new features and see where they will go in the future.
ProsAtlassian Bitbucket has a clean, user friendly interface. You can store full code, team projects, as well as code snippets, and search your code. There is support for large files. Bitbucket has easily accessible links with tutorials and tricks to get started, even at the very basic beginner level. It is fully collaborative for development teams with variable needs. The best advantage of this platform over GitHub is it allows for private code repositories in the free model. You can control access to your code with public or private repos, and even fine tune access control with additional rules and extensions on the premium mode. There are tons of excellent integrations, including AWS, Microsoft Azure, Python, Visual Studio, Circle CI. and more. New beta features seem to be added regularly. The free model is great and the upgrades are reasonably priced. This is a well-rounded, excellently performing, continuously expanding code hosting platform that is well-suited to support your individual or team projects.
ConsPreviously, there was a slight learning curve in the processes, but this has been smoothed out. There are no real cons that I can think of, except that the open-source social celebrity aspects of GitHub are not a prominent feature here. However, if you are not looking for these aspects, you will likely be very happy with all of the features which are included to support your building endeavors.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 11, 2018
Valerio P.
Director
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 18, 2017

“The best way to manage git repositories for businesses”

OverallIt allowed us to organize the work of our development team, dividing each task into a different branch. Our development team was able to work with GIT in a more intuitive way. The breakthrough curve for new employees also drastically decreased allowing them to adapt to our workflow more efficiently.
ProsOne of the strengths of Bitbucket is its ease of use and its great integration with the Atlassian environment. In our company we integrated it with the JIRA incident handler and it worked very well. With Bitbucket you can configure the permissions of each team member, this is of great help so that only authorized people can modify the most important branches of the project. It is also very easy to adapt the software to the company workflow. By integrating it with JIRA, we can create a branch for each issue that must be handled by our development team. At the end of an incident you can create a "pull request" so that other team members can review the job. It is an essential software for us and we recommend it extensively.
ConsAlthough it sounds hard to believe, our team has not found a single negative point for Bitbucket. So far it has proved to work according to our expectations. Perhaps we could say that for very large teams the costs rise very fast, so in some cases this can be considered as something negative.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 18, 2017
Avatar Image
Abhinav K.
Sr Software Integrator
Computer Software, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 24, 2019

“Bitbucket - A code collaboration solution for IT professionals.”

OverallWe are using the BitBucket from past many years, we have selected it over the robust integration with third part software like JIRA. Smart mirroring and IP white-listing are the most used features in case of cloud to improve the security. Bitbucket integration with build tool like Bamboo help us to achieve the continuous delivery of the project.
ProsBitbucket is a code collaboration solution for all IT professionals. The web based interface beautifully manage the GIT version control repository. The pull request & code review helps in review the code and providing the instant feedback. Code search feature is one of the best feature of Bitbucket, It helps in searching and jumping to the relevant code in it. Branch permissions help in managing the release. Diff view is the feature where a user can view the code side-by-side and view the difference with the latest or with the specific version. Merge check feature save our time as at the time of release we don't have to manually do the merges.
ConsWe are unable to add nest permission in repositories. Bitbucket is not just the version controller it is a code collaboration so it also needs some more improvement on management and tracking. Clustering the data center is really a complex part to be implemented if you want to host it on-premises.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 24, 2019
Tim W.
Lead Developer
E-Learning, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 28, 2019

“Best Git host around”

OverallWe have been using BitBucket for several years daily. We host our own code there and pull code directly to our production servers with every release. We set up developers into teams and assign permissions with ease. It is a great way to ensure developers (and especially contractors) are focusing on what they need, and not poking around or getting lost in several dozen other repositories that don't concern their job.
ProsI love the interface for Bitbucket. It is developed to be more business focused and oriented than a platform to host opensource projects. What I mean is that when you log in, you see your repositories and that is it. You can definitely search for other open source projects, but it doesn't have the same functionality GitHub has for searching. You can set up your teams and responsibilities very easily and watch your code as often as you need. There are webhooks to do anything, so you can have it be as responsive as you would like and build an entire deployment system with ease.
ConsGitHub has more of a beginner feeling. It really walks you through everything you need to do. BitBucket is a little more advanced and gives you the bare minimum to get started. This is fine for most people that are experienced, but for beginners it may cause a few headaches early on.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 28, 2019
Avatar Image
Gurleen K.
Software Engineer
Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 4, 2019

“Bitbucket - A web-based version control repository. ”

OverallBitbucket is a smarter way to write and deliver the code. Build Integration icon also shows the result for your complied code. Two step-verification is lengthy but surely make you safe from non authentic people for digging into your code. Merge check is a premium feature in cloud version but is really one of my favorite feature as it save my lot of time.
ProsAtlassian Bitbucket is one of the most popular web based version control repository. Managing code and project are simple with the help of it. We also use Git repository for some projects. Pull requests for facilitate code review also help in improving the coding and help in knowledge sharing with in the team. Code search is also an excellent feature which save time and help us to reach the right code in short time. The Bitbucket pipelines cares for your code from coding to till release. Storing the large media file is also easy with help of Git LFS. Diff views improved in the latest version and we don't need any third party tools for review the side-by-side code changes. Third party tool integrations is also improving day by day.
ConsBitbucket self hosted is complex to deploy and need assistant from experts as bad practices in branching can end up with the a lot of troubles. Managing different collaboration is complex so I prefer working on same branch. The free version is good to practice the things but they should also remove some limitation from it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 4, 2019
Avatar Image
Yaruby M.
Desarrollador Java Junior
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 26, 2018

“Web data repository that allows optimal management, planning and code collaboration.”

Pros1- Bitbucket is a web repository that provides optimal management and planning of the code of a project, while integrating versioning tools (Git), which provides greater integrity of the project information. Including Git in the web repository, it is possible for the developer to be more easily aware of the changes used in the different modules of the project, as well as to make better use of the time spent on the work performed. 2- In addition, Bitbucket offers the alternative of including collaborators in the code that is being worked on, giving the possibility of establishing permission on the same collaborators and on the different branches of the versioned project. 3- This tool also allows creating unlimited private repositories for free and it is also possible to create different development groups on these repositories depending on the characteristics of the project. 4-In addition, Bitbucket allows the development of code both from the web and from the IDE of the developer's preference. It is possible to import the project initially from the IDE and perform code updates from the web, all thanks to the inclusion of Git in the repository. In this sense Bitbucket grants great freedom of management of code development and remote collaboration of other developers.
Cons1- Bitbucket is not intuitive, which can hinder the use of this tool when interacting with it at the beginning. 2- It does not have an official client for Linux, leaving it out of the support of the tool.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 26, 2018
Avatar Image
Sean P.
Software Development Director
Internet, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 27, 2018

“A solid code repository/versioning system with all the right features”

OverallI use Bitbucket on a daily basis to manage and interact with 50+ repositories within my teams for various projects.
ProsI love how simple Bitbucket is to create a new repository, get code into it, and start working with a standardized git system. The code review tools make it easy to call out other users for comments, make inline recommendations, as well as keep a high level general discussion. Bitbucket can also integrate with Bamboo and Slack, which makes for a robust build and notification system for your CI/CD pipeline without needing to install Jenkins. You can also setup SSH keys and groups to ensure the appropriate team members get access to your code. On a final note, Bitbucket allows you to have private repositories under their free plan, which github does not. This can be valuable for startups getting off the ground.
ConsOccasionally the Bitbucket service has some degraded performance and accessibility times without a clear explanation as to why. The Bitbucket team does a good job and communicating these issues to the public. The occurrence of these issues is sporadic, but not frequent enough to be a major hinderance to work.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 27, 2018
Avatar Image
Gonzalo B.
Web Developer
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2019

“Best for private repositories and team management”

ProsBitbucket interface has evolved and became truly amazing through the years, now is easy to use, intuitive and beautiful. I love being able to search my code and the Downloads section where I can upload distribution ready executables for the team. Moreover, the snippets are nice to have as well. The integration with desktop is really straightforward with Sourcetree, some of my collaborators don't really like to CLI and they prefer the graphic way to manage their commits, Sourcetree just made it easy and smooth, the file version comparison is also really helpful if you want to see what have you or your team mates changed. I love that you can create Unlimited Private repositories, I use .git for every single of my projects and most of them I don't need or want to make public, BItbucket has been a life-saver on that. Last but not least their integration with Trello and Jira has helped a lot on bug tracking and the workflow in general.
ConsI would like to be able to group my repositories on their web interface, I have over 100 repositories right now and the list is rather clumsy and difficult to manage. It could be awesome to have a few folder grouping the repositories by the client, project type or anything else to make it easier on the eyes. Atlassian has its very own way to organize their UI, so it might take you a few days to find out what's going on if you are not familiar with the product family.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2019
Avatar Image
Michael H.
Site Reliability Engineer
Computer Software, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 25, 2019

“Another Valuable Atlassian Product ”

OverallOverall bitbucket has solved a need and kept our files secure and accessible(most of the time) as needed. I run several scripts against repositories for several constant pull/push processes that have automated away a fair amount of manual tasking. Integration into Atlassian's suite makes each new set of tooling easy to adopt and operate with little new learning required.
ProsThe GitHub alternative that comes pre-baked into the Atlassian platform provides yet another reference worthy tool in the Atlassian Suite. If you're already using HipChat(slack) and JIRA, this just makes sense for your source control. Easy to integrate with a single sign on, BitBucket includes all the necessary features of GitHub incorporated into your existing Atlassian Suite.
ConsThis is a mission critical tool that has far too much downtime. We've gotten into the habit of backing up repositories locally due to the repositories being unavailable on several occasions. Permission changes can get cumbersome and often overlap incorrectly. There could be better use of groups in Atlassian, but instead it's an isolated permission system which makes for a new task per Atlassian Suite offering.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 25, 2019
Avatar Image
Adam C.
Data Analyst
Defense & Space, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2019

“Perfect Git Solution for Teams”

OverallWe needed a cost-effective, self-hosted Git environment to house all our code projects, and since we already use JIRA, using Bitbucket was an easy choice.
ProsI love how clean it looks and how well-organized you can make your projects and repositories. Nothing against GitHub, but Bitbucket is just a much more elegant tool for DevOps use. It's also easy to set up integrations with other Atlassian products and build tools like Jenkins. I also prefer Sourcetree, Bitbucket's companion Git GUI, over GitHub's desktop app. Every aspect of Bitbucket's Git environment has been thoughtfully simplified to give you an uncluttered view of your repositories and branches. GitHub might be more well-known, but Bitbucket is a friend to businesses.
ConsI don't like that there's no visual branching commit graph on Bitbucket Server, which is what my company uses. There are plugins you can add to Server to show a graph, but it's not there out-of-the-box on the Server product. The Bitbucket Cloud product (free and paid tiers) has this. Why not the Server product? You can, however, see a graph in the companion Sourcetree app, which is where I prefer to see it anyway.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2019
Ramakrishna G.
Lead
Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 12, 2018

“Simple and Good UI - Very good integration with other attlassain products like JIRA and Confluence.”

OverallIt is a very good version controlling system to maintain our code with proper reviews and comments, after reviewing the code we can reject and again we can approve without any difficulties.
Pros1) It is having a very good version controlling system and with this we can commit the code and review and also check for the history. Inline discussions of code which allows for easy collaboration. This allows our senior developers to mentor newer developers and coach them in better ways to code. 2) It works perfectly as a remote repository, and it as a good UI and also I can have unlimited private repositories. 3. The ultimate thing is I can able to view Bitbucket information directly in JIRA has been a great help to me to do the things much faster.
ConsIts hard to say anything negative about Bitbucket . There is a very little amount of a learning curve is required to the developers who doesn't have familiar with source control platforms. It is a little kind of difficult to setup you encryption keys in the beginning because there are so many things that you see in the UI.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 12, 2018
Marius K.
Lead Programmer
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2019

“If you are small team this is the place to keep your projects.”

OverallThey deliver what's expected from them and more.
ProsThe interface is easy and intuitive, so on-boarding people who have experience in similar platforms is easy, their provided way to organise repositories by organisations and projects is fantastic. Also possibility to have a website under organisation namespace can be lifesaver, to host documentation, or simple website.
ConsIt's not popular among open source projects, so need account with github.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2019
Caroline S.
Software Engineer
Computer Software, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
May 30, 2019

“Ideal tool for the management of private repositories without limit”

OverallHandling repositories is much simpler than there is no number limit for it, it is advantageous that private repositories can be managed or imported from other platforms, as well as it is much simpler to store and work in the development of projects since It provides the necessary tools for this and it is easy to adapt to its interface, so the work with it is fluid and saves a lot of time and money.
ProsA software that I like because it has an interface that is very easy to understand, dynamic and visually attractive, it has a control panel that is easy to use because it contains a very well structured design, which makes working with it ideal for carrying out coding in a collaborative way as well as organize and manage several repositories, being able not only to work with private repositories of their property but also import repositories of other tools or platforms like GitHub, the repositories have no limit so it depends on the user how many you want to use to cover your needs and the best thing about this service is that its prices are accessible, so it can be used by any type of company regardless of its size.
ConsIt still has features that could be implemented to further improve its operation, such as the fact that for some reason it stops working for a few minutes and in that time you can not enter codes or anything so it would be ideal to solve this small error.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
May 30, 2019
Avatar Image
Vignesh B.
Technology Specialist
Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 24, 2018

“Complete control on your Code with Better than GITHUB”

OverallBitBucket acted as one of the best version control software in both financial and technical perspectives. And helped my team to organize the repository as per the client needs.
ProsBitBucket is the excellent version control with enterprise features that are missing in Github in multiple places specifically on the safety and reliability. Easier to customize the repository settings to edit the user roles and permission set, that allows me to take the full control of my repository. And works better with JIRA, so I can easily identify the number of code changes done for the specific issue to fix it and also the SourceTree client tool for Mac Client that supports easier code management without any hassles.
ConsThe Pull Request system needs to updated to handle the MergeConflicts directly in the web portal instead of going back to the source code in the native client to modify the changes. And also the desktop companion SourceTree need to fixed in lots of places like file status and fetching the multiple request for the different branches.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 24, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 14, 2019

“Smooth and easy”

OverallLiked it, it could be better if more ease to use can be added.
ProsThis is simple to integrate, easy to manage code. Makes life easy for you when there is conflict while merging the code, Easy to create hotifx branch, as it already knows for hotfix what has to be done. Good graphical representation of life cycle of code branch.
ConsTutorials are less. Need more tutorial videos to explain each functionality. Login for the first time is little confusing, Could be better on login process and choosing the correct flow.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 14, 2019
Avatar Image
Tamseel A.
Full stack JavaScript developer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2019

“Bitbucket comparative to other tools as a version control system”

OverallIf you are looking for features like builtin CI/CD, free private repositories , integration with other tools like jira and trello you should go for bitbucket, But if you work mostly on free source ,public projects and want larger community support, have larger team github would be best choice and you could get features like CI/CD with other third party tools.
ProsI have been using bitbucket for both my private projects and professional project, first its free for even your unlimited private repositories and that's a great thing, VCS like github which has the largest public repositories does not give you private repositories for free. If you are familiar with git then bitbucket has every easy UI. Second it has CI/CD builtin which is the major reason I have choose bitbucket over github for project which need CI/CD. One of great feature is its integration with other popular tools like jira, trello, slack etc.
ConsOne of the major downside of bitbucket is its community support, currently github has the largest number of public repostiories while bitbucket lags behind. Bitbucket does has plugin support but if we compare to github then github has larger plugin set. Github gives you lot of free source project which you can fork, bitbuck doesn't have that much public projects.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2019
Avatar Image
Rick M.
Growth Strategist
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2019

“Bitbucket might loose our business to GitLab...”

OverallBitbucket has all kinds of standard stuff that you'd expect from a code repository service, and they got as big as they are because they offered free private repositories, unlike Github. However, they don't offer unlimited team members like GitLab does. So, not only did we integrate GitLab with our new product we're launching, but we might move exclusively to GitLab at some point. It's history repeating itself. If they want to keep people around, they'll need to make it have unlimited teams, and instead charge for other features, such as compute time on Pipelines. If they make it so you can run Pipelines on Mac and Windows as well as Linux, we'll certainly stay with Bitbucket, as no one does that yet. That'll give them a cutting edge advantage that a lot of people want. Right now we need to use Travis CI for Mac, and some other one for Windows when we do our app testing for those platforms.
ProsBitbucket has been a part of our operations since the beginning, and it comes with built-in CI/CD. When we push to the repo, Pipelines runs, and it calls the webhook to deploy it on our servers when it passes.
ConsThey limit the number of users account...
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2019
Ariel G.
Software Engineer
E-Learning, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019

“Cheaper than Github, almost as good”

OverallBitbucket is as good as GitHub when it comes to working on a closed source project and may even be better if you use Trello.
ProsBitbucket has kind of been the underdog for a while, so to compare it with the elephant in the room, yes, Bitbucket is almost as good as GitHub. The interface is about as good, and there's Trello integration which is fantastic, because since we use Trello this integration is much more useful than GitHub's issue tracker. Atlassian has shown their commitment to Bitbucket by improving it over the years and I'm confident in being able to use Bitbucket for years to come, as well as motivated by the fact that it gets better all the time. Oh, and it supports security key 2-factor authentication.
ConsIt's lacking a lot of the fervor around open source development and collaboration, but this doesn't matter a lot when you're working on a closed source project. The issue tracking features are basically worthless if you aren't using Trello.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019
Avatar Image
Gerson C.
Arquitectura, Diseño y Desarrollo de Aplicaciones Web
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 30, 2018

“Controller of high level versions, an option among the most used.”

OverallExcellent tool for version control and error handling, allowing the integration between various tools and collaboration with teams, a great alternative that is worth trying.
ProsWhen one is a software developer, it is essential that a version control tool be used to maintain the integrity of our code and avoid the loss of work and progress in the face of errors that arise, and here Bitbucket enters, an interesting alternative to the most used tools, its main attraction is that it allows you to choose git or mercurial to control the versions, offers excellent funconalidades for error control, you can integrate with Google Analytics, and its main strength is that it allows you an unlimited number of private repositories which gives you total freedom to upload as many projects as you want, you and your team can work at ease and enjoy this excellent tool.
ConsAlthough I mentioned previously accounts with an unlimited number of private repositories, the disadvantage is that when the free versions of Bitbucket limit only 5 collaborators in each project and users who need a larger number of these will have to switch to a subscription plan .
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 30, 2018
devaun f.
software consultant
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 22, 2018

“Pull request process makes git so easy!”

OverallPOWER over your sourcecode! See all, from any branch, any commit, any code review. Linkage to Jira.
ProsPULL Request! As a software professional, I use git as the source code management. The thing about bitbucket is the seamless integration of "gitflow" or similar processes with Jira. Say I pull a bug from Jira. I create a branch, develop the fix, commit. Now, here is the best part: Pull request. I create a pul request and invite my peers to review. My peers can make comments, approve or mark as needing more work. We can merge into branches, see the source code for any prior branch. This software is so powerful, it is the best SCMS support software out there! MERGING! So there is an amazing feature of bitbucket: Pull requests can be used for merges. Pick the source branch, say 18.01. Then, you need to merge to 18.02...just create a pul request. It will show you the differences, and be a excellent tool for the team to track merging.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 22, 2018
Avatar Image
Alwin A.
Senior Delivery Specialist - Innovation Lab
Human Resources, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 22, 2019

“Best private GIT repo”

OverallUsed both on-prem and online with free accounts to store source code. It's integration with Bamboo makes life super easy.
ProsBitbucket is super easy to use if you are familiar with GIT. Perfect for developers who want to create private repositories. The UI is also super clean and it's integration with SourceTree is beautiful.
ConsManagement of user permissions are a bit complicated to find in the UI. Other than that, the software is perfect.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 22, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Real Estate, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2019

“A Necessary Tool For Development”

OverallI really like bitbucket. It appears though, that there are different versions and implementations of bitbucket. The version I had at my last company was great and heavily used. At my new company the interface was completely different and we don't use it as much for comments (unless its a comment on a persons code). I definitely liked the interfaces and heavy use that we had at my last company as opposed to this new interface and use.
ProsThis is an awesome tool. The thing I like most about it is the ease of use. It has a convenient area for show you your work as well as Pull Requests you're assigned to. It makes navigating and seeing what you want super easy and user friendly.
ConsThere isn't really anything I dislike about the software. I guess if I had to say one thing it would be the lack of integration with Jira. I'll make notes on bitbucket and can't see them on jira and vice versa. It would be nice if you could see all the comments on both interfaces instead of having to jump between jira and bitbucket.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2019
Avatar Image
Sanchita A.
Software Engineer
Telecommunications, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 19, 2018

“Bitbuket - The enterprise level GIT repositories”

OverallBitBucket is helping use in managing the code and deploying the system in a quick way. Configuration management is possible with third party software like JIRA. Power of the tool can be understand when you start working on it and making the things easy for you.
ProsBitbucket is enterprise level GIT services provider with provide the web repository for manage the code. It user interface is very simple and easy to understand. Version Control also make it simple and merging the code also become an easy task. Managing permission in web based environment is also remove the confusion when you same console in different environment. Code review and other operation can be also take it form web-based interface. Integrity of Bitbucket with other DevOps is also great and encourage for management for pick this up as version controlling.
ConsThere a some learning curves in it as a new feature come in their is no demo for it and add with just a small note and a documentation which make that feature completely out of the league. Setup is also little confusing as you have to set up the security and permission in the beginning of the setup.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 19, 2018
Avatar Image
Rahul A.
Back End Developer & Programmer
Information Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 19, 2019

“Awesome tool for maintaining codes into Git repositories”

OverallMy experience is very good with Bitbucket. I maintain all my projects and collaborate with my team using this best tool. Maybe it's easy integration I like it the most.
ProsI have been using Bitbucket form almost 2 years and keeping all my project repositories in my Bitbucker account. The implementation of commands into SSH terminal to integrate with Bitbucket account is simple and always works as expected, it never fails. Secondly, the branching and collaborating with team is also simple and easy to follow. The UI of website is very eye-catching and informative. The graphical representation of your project commits and branches gives you exact overview of all work and updations going on with project. Either you use GUI to make and control your repositories or SSH command line, both the ways are available and easy to use. The documentation and online community is very well organised that you can easily get help if you are stucked into some problem.
ConsSeriously, I don't find any con using this tool. So far it is my first priority for my projects.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 19, 2019
Avatar Image
Kennedy M.
Senior Developer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 5, 2019

“Bitbucket - the best version control repository hosting service.”

OverallWe use bitbucket to host our web applications codebase and collaborate on the code as our developers are in different continents. This has seen us reduce time to launch for our web apps as all developers are working on their individual branches which are later merged into the master branch.
ProsI like that bitbucket automatically creates a README file for me when I create a repository, which is a time saver as I don't have to do it every time after creating a repository . I also like that Git Large File Storage (LFS) is supported which enables us to push large files into our repositories. With LFS, I can specify which file extensions will be managed ensuring not all files will be added to LFS. Further, the snippet feature allows me to share code segments with fellow developers. In addition, Bitbucket provides unlimited private repositories which distinguishes Bitbucket from other hosted version control services.
ConsThe customer support is lacking and this causes a lot of frustration for me. I expect support issues to be responded to within 24 hours. They need to improve on there customer support.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 5, 2019
Avatar Image
Matthew R.
Software Test Engineer I
Computer Software, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 30, 2019

“BitBucket: An excellent tool for maintaining your code repositories”

OverallWe use BitBucket to store our automation test code. With many people pushing code to these repositories around the globe, BitBucket makes it easy to determine who pushed what into where, making debugging who broke our code easy. We haven't had any problems using BitBucket for our business needs!
ProsAs with most Atlassian products, BitBucket is very easy to use. It's easy to navigate through the app to find exactly what you are looking for. You are not overloaded with information on the screen, but the information you are given is extremely useful. This makes for a great user experience! Similarly, it's very easy to give users the permissions you want them to have on the repos you own. Moving through and maintaining all of your repositories is a breeze with BitButcket!
ConsIf you aren't familiar with Atlassian products and how their UI is laid out, it might take you a day or two to get familiar with the app. Once you get it, though, it's easy to navigate!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 30, 2019
Avatar Image
Nadusha V.
Software Engineer
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 28, 2018

“Best solution if you're working as a team”

OverallI'm a software engineer and I've been using bitbucket from the very first days of my dev life and I haven't encountered many problems using this. the same company offers you many tools that you can use along with this. and the customer support is exceptional
ProsI've been using bitbucket for more than 3 years now and I love working with this. when you're working as a team or a company , this is the best one you could use . There are alternatives too, but this tool has more support any other tool. Specially the customer support they offer. And there are tools like Jira which is from the same company , so that's extra support. And the user interfaces are very simple and even a beginner can just "plug -n - play " it from the very first day.
Conssometimes there are some problems with logging in to the account and sometimes you have to retry a couple of times when you're performing an action. other than that this is all fine.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 28, 2018
Avatar Image
Jacob M.
Front-End Specialist
Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 28, 2018

“Perfect platform for hosting sourcecode”

OverallWe use Bitbucket every day to manage our source code and we use the pipelines feature to handle deployment. Bitbucket integrates really well with just about every piece of software with an API. It's much cheaper than some other options (especially if you want private repositories) and it is just as robust. The interface is clean and polished. I highly recommend it!
ProsBitbucket's most competitive feature is the built-in integration with Atlassian's other products as well as their pricing for private repositories (their free). I love how easy it is to set up continuous delivery for our products via Bitbucket Pipelines. I also really love how the interface isn't distracting, there is very little extraneous content to distract you from the project you are viewing.
ConsI don't have much negative to say about Bitbucket. It can sometimes be hard to find things if you are working in an account that isn't set up well...but if you set up your organization correctly, it's not an issue.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 28, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 29, 2018

“No major difference with GitHub. Cheaper for big teams though”

OverallActually, when we moved to ButBucket from GitHub we didn't find much more new feature that we could use. The biggest advantage we got is money savings on hosted edition.
ProsReach set of functions for collaboration when writing software code. In particular, ability to comment code inline in merge requests using MarkDown (this is great for providing formatted examples). I also love ability to configure permissions in flexible way, so different user groups are allowed to perform particular operations on particular repositories. E.g. some users can just read some repository, other can also push the code, trusted reviewers group can vote to enable merge request for merging.
ConsIt is complicated to create pre-filled merge request templates (opposite to GitHub). In order to implement behavior so merge request have pre-filled description, labels, etc., you'll need to make a piece of average complexity scripting work.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 29, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 31, 2019

“Great SCM tool as an alternative to Github”

OverallIt acts as a lifeline for developer community since all the code is stored and securely managed there. For admins, it provides easy administration mode to fine tune and customize. Also marketplace is expanding with every passsing day. Also Atlassian support has been top notch for any trivial issues.
ProsAtlassian provides multiple implementation options (cloud vs onprem). Organization can get going in less than 10 mins with a cloud instance. It competes very well with Github and provide enterprise features like High Availability using data center, Pull requests for code review, plugins, marketplace.
ConsThey have starting but need some work in building integrations with other non-atlassian Software DevOps tools to aid in building stringent quality gates and continuous delivery pipelines.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 31, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Internet, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 19, 2018

“Great Github Alternative Especially for Private Repos”

OverallGithub is the standard for open source projects, but if you want private repos, they charge money. Bitbucket is a great free alternative for private repos (or public if you want) and works exceptionally well with Jira.
ProsI like that is is free to use even with private repositories. Sometimes you do not want everyone seeing what you are working on. For example, if it is a secret project or your company's website source. Bitbucket is great for this. Fairly easy to figure out and looks like all the other Atlassian products. This also integrates well with most any other software such as Slack, Email, and especially Jira. You can have Jira tasks automatically link to or create branches. This is nice to keep track of what task goes with what branch. Works seamlessly.
ConsI wish there was more data like Github has about how many commits in the last week/month/year without needing any integrations.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 19, 2018
Avatar Image
Zack H.
Senior Software Engineer
Insurance, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 28, 2018

“Bitbucket, could be better”

OverallBitbucket does the job, but it just barely squeaks by. There is so much more opportunity that it hasn't drilled into yet. They need to take note from other platforms and dumb things down a bit.
ProsBitbucket is a pretty good source control software. It's easy to integrate features into Jira and Confluence (if you are using those). It provides a clean interface for code merges and code pull requests. You can integrate a release plan into the software as well if you want to automate any of your release schedule.
ConsOther source control platforms are just better, period. The amount of customization and team features that others have is just superior. Like a lot of Atlassian products, Bitbucket feels clunky and seems to be trying to solve too many problems, but not well. It doesn't allow for statistics for commit and user usage either. Bitbucket should stop over complicating things and go back to the basics of what users want.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 28, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Biotechnology, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 31, 2018

“It is very easy and comfortable to use and it has everything you ask for managing GIT repositories.”

OverallThe biggest benefit is you get everything you need in software development in one place, from project management al the way to Continues Integration and Delivery. That saves a lot of time and energy in setting up and putting together different software together to get a full development ecosystem.
ProsThe pricing model is a plus. You get unlimited private and public repos for free for a team of 5 which makes sense for a pilot team that reviewing or experimenting GIT for migration purposes. And for side-kick projects with your friends, that is enough for most cases. It has a built-in pipeline which also has a free tier so you can start out free to review how the bitbucket CI pipeline works and if it is something you need/like. You can create projects or teams or organizations even under free tier which is great for controlling access (makes lots of sense for startups). And you can pretty good UI, pretty standard issue tracking system (in which you can have triggers), other standard GIT features like pull requests/wiki, etc. And another nice thing is that it has built-in integration to Trello (Trello is owned by Atlassian now.) for project management purpose.
ConsOne of the things I miss on BitBucket is the social coding concept that Github mastered, not many public repositories due to the pricing model I guess. So if you are starting or creating an opensource project, Bitbucket is probably not the one you want.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 31, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2019

“My day to day experience of bitbucket has made it my favourite over time.”

OverallI enjoy using bitbucket more than github. I find it easy and simple for everyone to understand and use. We use it in the organization I work for and it has been very capable through the time. So I would conclude bitbucket to a smarter way to write and deliver the code.
ProsBitbucket is very easy and convenient to use for anyone who are familiar with GIT. Also a great choice for developers who create private repositories. The UI is very convenient and and easy to use. It is easy to integrate to other atlassian products such as slack and confluence wheich we actually use. Bitbucket is easy to manage code, especially when there is conflict while merging the code. It also provides a good graphical representation of life cycle of code branch
ConsThe number of user in an account is limited which is definitely a problem for a project with many contributors. That way is not very ideal for opensource projects. CI is not provided for free of charge (with free tier). Also, the integrations are limited since it is only integrated with tools from atlassian.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2019
Giulio M.
CEO
Computer Games, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 16, 2019

“It's a good git system”

OverallWe keep all our source code in Bitbucket from years! It's a long time friend.
ProsIt's easy to setup and it integrates with Jira, which is our project management tool!
ConsI see what Gitlab is doing and I like it. I'd love to see the same things in Bitbucket as well in the future!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 16, 2019
Avatar Image
Aaron D.
Owner
Internet, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 22, 2018

“We are Bitbucket junkies!”

OverallGithub was our gateway drug until we got hooked on Bitbucket. Atlassian does a tremendous job of making Git repository management, projects, keys etc as simply as they can be. The unlimited private repos lured us but it was the ease of use and great documentation that kept us. Great work!
ProsGithub was our gateway drug until we got hooked on Bitbucket. Atlassian does a tremendous job of making Git repository management, projects, keys etc as simply as they can be. The unlimited private repos lured us but it was the ease of use and great documentation that kept us. Great work!
ConsThe only limitation that we've found so far is repository size limit - 1GB soft and 2GB hard limit. Atlassian does point out that anything larger than 1GB should really be handled more appropriately and fair point - sometimes though, that limit does get in the way. When deadlines and budgets push in, can't always do it the "correct" way. =)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 22, 2018
Avatar Image
Nidhi S.
Co-Founder & CTO
Computer Games, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 16, 2019

“Version Control by Atlassian”

OverallOverall experience with BitBucket help in enhancing the user experience. Integration with JIRA help in streamline process of development and collaboration. Diff Views beautifully compare the code with the other version or branch. Large media files are easy to manage with the Git LFS. Code search is a one of the best feature of BitBucket.
ProsBitbucket by Atlassian is a web-based code collaboration tool. It helps us in managing the projects, code, test. The in-build architecture help in continuous delivery which help in immediate feedback and fast delivery of releases. The user friendly code review features like checklist for design and source code comments enhance the code quality in-team collaboration. Bitbucket pipelines and deployments are easy to configure to get help in easy tracking of deployment with using it.
ConsWe have started using it for our media house and found no major issue which are creating hurls in our process. There are few learning curves as we are new startup. Amazing Documentation by Atlassian helping in a lot.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 16, 2019
chris j.
it developer
Automotive, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 2, 2019

“helped us to visualise software changes”

OverallIt has given us huge benefits compared to using Subversion without any kind of visual interface. Just being able to easily see how my commits behind my branch is so that I can update it saves me so much time.
ProsMoving from Subversion to GIT and bitbucket was a big change but it has really worked out for us as a team. We also find it much easier to put code live and like how the cloud version can link into Jira so we can see instantly which code has been commited for each task. Makes it much easier for code reviewing. I also feel a lot more confident putting things live. If you have big projects near 1GB its much faster using the local version rather than the cloud version.
ConsIn the local install version (not cloud) to allow the Jira links to work we would have to open up our firewall too much so would be nice to find a solution to this.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 2, 2019
Ben L.
CTO
Commercial Real Estate, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2017

“everything you need, nothing you don't”

Overallwhen we were selecting a source control system for our startup we narrowed the short list down to three options: github, TFS for git and bitbucket. After evaluating all three, bitbucket was the obvious choice because it allowed us to simplify billing because we planned on using atlassian's jira. In terms of overall experience using the product we couldn't be happier - its fast and reliable. Since starting with bitbucket, we've expanded our use of atlassian products, which as a suite, is second to none in the software development management and productivity space.
ProsIts simple and reliable. we use git from the command line so we don't often use the web user interface, but when we do, its not a chore to figure out what we need to do in order to accomplish the task at hand. As a software development manager, I also appreciate how easy it is to manage access to repos for my teams.
Consviewing large number of branches could be a better experience.
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2017
Rebecca R.
Software Development Engineer
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
September 26, 2019

“An excellent way to control versions and work in private repositories.”

OverallUsing this software is an excellent advantage since it is possible to clone repositories with ease, evaluate along with other members the progress of the code, its errors and even work together so it is a good way to evaluate any code before Your final delivery so you can deliver a stable and successful project.
ProsBitbucket is an excellent alternative when it comes to working in private repositories and that is why I like it since it has a very intuitive interface so browsing through it is very easy, so having this navigation so fluid is very helpful to share code between colleagues, evaluate it so that if any error is found correct it in time, in this software nothing is lost since it saves the history of the files and even has the ability to save based on a particular code or its line number so it is very specific, it is also a software that when working with others gives us many more advantages so it depends on the user if you really want to get the most out of it or not.
ConsThe aspect that I find that I don't like about this software is that its web interface requires more specific features to make it easy to carry out some complex task.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
September 26, 2019
Avatar Image
Sophie W.
Developer
Computer Games, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2019

“Great for Git; Sunsetting Mercurial...”

OverallWe were able to implement a necessary version control on our files which needed them most.
ProsWe use this service to maintain a mercurial repository of our in-development game files. Since we work remotely, this keeps everyone up-to-date with progress of the development and provides us with version control we desperately need.
ConsAtlassian has recently announced they are dropping Mercurial repository support next year. This will force us to change our workflow and/or find another service to accommodate our current needs. Other than this issue, this service has been great, especially if you want it for a Git repository instead.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Telecommunications, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 20, 2019

“Great machine for software delelopment”

OverallI wouldn't change to anything else, simple installation, simple configuration and a lot of features.
ProsI think its best repository for companies, good integration with Jira, a lot of repository configuration, webhooks, role based restrictions
ConsPrice, its awesome for really small software houses, but when you have over 10 dev's...
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 20, 2019
Avatar Image
Chelsea P.
User Experience Designer
Financial Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 23, 2019

“Bitbucket rocks!”

ProsBitbucket allows my company to version control our different product's code. Plus the integration with the Atlassian suite made it so we didn't have to get any special permissions for it.
ConsHonestly, no complaints! It's a great software and does everything we're looking for when it comes to version control.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 23, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 16, 2019

“Excellent version control hosting for software”

OverallI use Bitbucket to host my own codes at work. The ability to keep my codes private while still using an online VCS service has been extremely useful.
ProsBitbucket is a version controlled hosting service including support for git and mercurial. It has an excellent, easy to use, modern interface and support for importing Github repositories amongst others make this my go-to VCS host. Even its free plan allows one to host an unlimited number of private repositories, which in my opinion is a masterstroke. In addition, integration with code quality checking (called Pipelines) and review facilities (during Pull Requests) have proven handy for my work.
ConsMore information about repositories, including date/time of last commit, number of forks, etc., in the dashboard overview will be useful.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 16, 2019