Mailgun Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About Mailgun

A set of powerful APIs that enable you to send, receive and track email from your app effortlessly whether you use Python, Ruby, PHP, C#, Node.js or Java. Easy SMTP integration and a simple, RESTful API abstracts away the messy details of sending transactional or bulk email. Scale quickly, whether you need to send 10 or 10 million emails. Searchable logs mean you always know what is happening to your email while tags make it easy to A/B test and report on your data, all via our webhooks. Learn more about Mailgun

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 75 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 75 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Avatar Image
Daniel N.
Full Stack Web Dev
Internet, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019

“Setup and use anywhere any how even API or SMTP”

OverallWe use mailgun as transactional email services, their free tier fit with our basic usage.
ProsAPI is very easy to integrated, SMTP alternative is a quick start to use in software that require SMTP protocol to send email.
ConsCurrent dashboard is kind of complicated, sometime I could not find a setting or where I could set a adjustment.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019
Jon P.
Systems Engineer
Automotive, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 29, 2019

“Mailgun provides reliable email delivery and tracking software”

OverallWe use Mailgun to send emails from multiple domains through our ERP system. Mailgun as given us noticeable improvement to our email metrics and tracking. I would recommend Mailgun to others.
ProsOur ERP system added integration with Mailgun several years ago and our ability to track and verify emails had been delivered significantly increased. We noticed an immediate increase in our email delivered confirmations. This is significant for us as we send our monthly account billing statements through email. If our emails aren't delivered, we don't get paid. Mailgun also provided much superior email tracking so we can identify which emails weren't delivered and find another way to get in contact with our customer.
ConsOur biggest limitation with Mailgun is with our ERP system and how they only chose to provided limited support to the many features Mailgun offers.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 29, 2019
Avatar Image
Elliott L.
Developer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2019

“Great solution for mail sending from vps providers like AWS”

OverallWe use mailgun for all of our email sending needs across multiple servers and products. We implement mailgun as the default mail sender for any new projects too.
ProsIts api is very simple to use, most PHP frameworks come with mailgun integration out of the box - if they don't, mailgun supports standard smtp anyway. Great usage graphs and multiple regions to send from. Is makes it very easy to send emails from php applications which would normally be blacklisted if you use standard php mail from inside a VPS on e.g amazon/azure/vultr/digitalocean. Very generous free tier.
ConsTheir anti spam measures can sometimes not work - if your sending details have been compromised you can be hit with a pretty large bill before you realize someone has been sending hundreds of thousands of emails on your behalf.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2019
Avatar Image
Aaron D.
Owner
Internet, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 7, 2018

“Almost a necessity with server configs and email filters!”

OverallMailgun ensures that emails sent from your site make it the destination email inbox and not the spam folder. Easy to use, free for the first 10,000 and has mail logs. All around, a great product!
ProsMailgun ensures that emails from your website actually make it to their destination. With their free tier covering the first 10,000 emails, it's a free solution to a prominent issue: emails getting stuck in email filters or not making it at all. Mailgun is easy to sign up for and easy to integrate into your site, especially if you are using WordPress. Absolutely love the mail logs too - that's come in quite handy on many an occasion.
ConsAs a web developer, I understand the need and value of Mailgun. It can be difficult for new users to understand this though.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 7, 2018
Cuong T.
Founder
Internet, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2019

“The best SMTP provider I love most”

OverallMailgun worked for me seamlessly, no challenge and I'm happy to use it, even will buy their Pro Plan in the future.
ProsI use Mailgun for my email marketing services and it works perfectly. Mailgun helped all my emails go straight to my prospectors' inbox instantly without any challenges. With 10.000 free emails/month is a super deal for small business. Besides, Mailgun is truly flexible for developers with Webhook Support, API support, SMTP user manager, Email Template Builder.
ConsI hope Mailgun support Email Template Builder with Drag&Drop function that easier for me to create email templates for my workflow.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2019
Avatar Image
Gonzalo B.
Web Developer
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2019

“Finally, emails reaching their destination.”

OverallOverall great value for the free tier, 10.000 emails for free plus great deliverability and integration, great for Wordpress users.
ProsWhen developing a custom PHP app or using Wordpress you often face the issue of your notifications and customer emails getting stuck or not passing the mails filters. This is a big issue, when for example you are sending out important information like an order confirmation or a ticket for your event and your users are not getting your emails or they are arriving into their SPAM folder. Mailgun has proved superb on improving email deliverability and their logs are super helpful as well, you can track what went wrong if anything. Their interface is easy to use and to the point. Moreover, their free tier gives you 10.000 emails for use, for free. Something great for companies doing product research, I found their API easy to use and easy to integrate with my projects, Wordpress being the easiest: a plugin + an API key/secret. Regarding Wordpress I found Mailgun the best amongst options tried for email deliverability.
ConsCost of the paid tiers is pricey if you compare with the alternatives. Everything in Mailgun goes through their API, so if you need a Full UI alongside the API this might not be the best choice.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2019
Avatar Image
Bruce B.
Senior Operations Officer
Research, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 3, 2019

“Rock solid delivery”

OverallHaven't had a complaint yet.
ProsConfiguring email is like conjuring drunk dragons with black magic: most of the time it only works so-so and any tiny mistake gets you burned. Mailgun has very good documentation on setting up your domain and configuring things so that your reputation is great and does not suffer. The REST API makes dealing with events a pleasure and the dashboard gives you great insight into where your mails are going to or coming from and why your audience is behaving the way it is.
ConsThere's not much not to like. The price is great (mostly free) and the documentation and reliability are 100%.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 3, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2018

“One of the best SMTP/API mail integration solutions”

Overall10,000 free emails a month, easy to use API, easy to integrate and send emails reliably.
ProsMailgun offers 10,000 free emails a month, which is much higher than a lot of the competing services in this category. The web interface is clean and provides you with the information you need right on the landing page. Integrates easy with many services and plugins exist for many platforms (eg Wordpress). API is well documented.
ConsWhile the Free tier of 10,000 emails a month is class leading, when you begin entering the paid tiers there are much cheaper alternatives available. Email validation service is pricey for what it is.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2018
John M.
Director
Financial Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2019

“Love Mailgun!!! ”

OverallAllow me to remove the send-mail function away from the web-server, which can mean mail is affected (classed as SPAM) because of your website (HOSTING) IP address. Mailgun fixes this.
ProsLike the fact that it helps your emails avoid Spam filters, which it achieves by ensuring the IP address(s) are clean.
ConsWhen setting up the DNS (for the first time), if you have any conflicting records e.g. spf then this may / will prevent your account from being authenticated. A 5 min job can take 5 hours of waiting. Fortunately, Mailgun support is brilliant and can spot an error and offer a fix in seconds.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2019
Avatar Image
Brian C.
Partner
Internet, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2019

“Great service with easy integration.”

OverallFirst 10k emails through Mailgun are free, why not give it a try. Transactional outbound emails originating from Mailgun and are less likely to be blocked as spam.
ProsFree options for small/startup businesses with reasonable prices for larger companies/projects. Mailing lists included. WordPress integration is quite simple with the Mailgun plugin. Once installed and configured, the WP plugin allows websites to send form email responses with relative ease. The mailing list feature is nice bonus. Management portal was updated recently and vastly improved the UI/UX experience.
ConsExtended log access is only available in more expensive plans.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 10, 2018

“Reliable”

ProsI'm using mailgun for transnational emails and I'm very happy I never encountered any problem, the interface is very good and simple, I like the fact we can setup multiple domains in the same account. All in all it's the best!
ConsMailgun didn't notify me when my account was suspended for a verification and in that time I lost many emails that may have resulted in contracts if they were delivered! You need to check you account regularly to make sure everything is OK!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 10, 2018
Avatar Image
Michael H.
Co-Founder | Creative Director
Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 27, 2019

“Robust SMTP API for your sites, with no comprimises”

OverallWe use Mailgun alongside other services such as Mandrill and SendGrid, depending on our clients needs for their site/app.
ProsMailgun has a really easy to implement API (for devs) with a bunch of different languages support like curl, PHP, Java, etc. - Within minutes, we were running the PHP API on our app, and sending out transactional emails. Also good for devs: the extremely in-depth official docs provided by Mailgun. Along with case examples, and demos, you'll be ready to go, even if you're a bit less experienced with implementing an API of this sort. One of my favourite features is the email validation API, which easily integrates into your forms via jQuery, and uses the Mailgun API to validate email inputs as users type their email. We use it on all of our forms now!
ConsIt's worth noting that everything that operates through Mailgun is through API, unlike something like SendGrid which offers a full dashboard alongside their API. This may or may not be an issue for some people.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 27, 2019
Avatar Image
Héctor A.
CEO / Lead Architect
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 4, 2018

“Need email notification support? This is the one”

OverallIs easy to use, has great support and customer care is THE option for email notifications in your App/WebApp.
ProsEasy to use! Supports integration with a lot of languages including PHP and Rails, we were able to use it in no time, They provide you with free mails monthly for when your startup is starting and is blazing fast, much better than connecting the app to a conventional email.
ConsNothing at all, hoping they can implement PWA notifications soon.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 4, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 3, 2019

“Reliable base for emailing in a product”

ProsWe liked the simplicity and set it and forget it nature of the product. We never really ever had to go in and perform maintenance since when we first set up the service on our app a few years back.
ConsWe recently had an issue of emails not getting sent out that was due to a different service we had integrated with mailgun. Because of this issue, we had wondered if we were able to go back in the mailgun logs to see the old emails. Unfortunately, the logs only go back to about 2 months or so which meant we had just lost all the old data. It would have been nice if there was some option to perform automated backups of everything or automated exports after the 2 months period.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 3, 2019
Avatar Image
Ivan C.
Founder and Director of Business Development
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 18, 2018

“One of the best email marketing solutions price wise”

OverallWe send email marketing to our user base through Mailgun, monitor results, and save money when compared to other solutions that are more manual..
ProsWe use Mailgun to send to large email marketing lists because it's more affordable than many alternatives. The UX is pretty solid and the reporting tools are nice.
ConsSometimes there are things in the report that don't make sense like an open rate dropping considerably one day and then back to normal. We can't really tell what caused that. Also the open rate is lower than other tools that are not marketing based. So perhaps they're tagged as marketing server. Not sure there's any way around that and they take email server health seriously
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 18, 2018
Verified Reviewer
E-Learning, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
December 19, 2018

“Cost Effective Email Solution”

Pros1) Customer Support, through the inbuilt ticketing channel is very prompt and often resolves queries within the first attempt. Even if you're running the account primarily on free credits. 2) Seems to be reasonably priced if you need to send more than 10,000 emails a month
Cons1) Delivery reports are saved for only 30 days, and doesn't have a CSV download option with delivery statuses. 2) Dedicated IP address is prohibitively expensive
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
December 19, 2018
Scott B.
Marketing Operations Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 19, 2018

“Decent Transactional Email Service with Great Dashboard and Logs”

ProsEasy to set up; attractive log and web dashboard UI that makes it easy to track and identify bounces and errors
ConsCost isn't as attractive as some other similar alternatives (i.e. SparkPost); customer support is sometimes hit and miss on the level of helpfulness/knowledgeably they provide
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 19, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 12, 2018

“good for Transactional email and more”

ProsMailgun's system is set up so well, and their SDKs for different languages are so complete, that these days I add a domain, add a Ruby gem, and my new Rails project has transnational email ready to go, highly deliverable, and I just don't worry about it after that. It just works.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 12, 2018
Harpaul S.
Software Engineer
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 6, 2018

“Best SMTP API available”

ProsMail-gun lets you handle all you send any number of email using a simple rest API, who intgration is available in almost the leading technologies.Let Developers to focus to business logic, as it handles email part itself.
ConsNever found any con till day, but once we had an issue, one of e-mail address which was deactivated for a small span of time, it stopped working with mail gun. that might be some kind of bug may be.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 6, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Information Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 24, 2018

“Excellent mail log makes tracking mail activity simple”

OverallWe run software that includes both manually sent as well as automated email. Inevitably, users will either not receive or claim that they did not receive an email. This quickly helps alleviate those issues and show proof of delivery with timestamp.
ProsI don't have a ton to benchmark Mailgun against but it's made my job much easier when needing to track our outgoing email. At it's simplest, I can quickly search for failed email messages or confirm that email was sent and received along with the content of the email.
ConsThere may be a way to filter or create saved filters that I'm not aware of, but I've been restricted to searching either by an email address or by an event type (ie Accepted, Delivered, Rejected, etc.) I do sometimes have to search for a bit to find what I'm looking for.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 24, 2018
Minakshi K.
Software Engineer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 18, 2018

“E-Mail API for your project”

ProsOnce you have connected your domain with mailgun, you will get mailgun secret key using which all your project and applications can send emails. It makes work a lot simpler and easy. Its client tools are available in all the leading technology platforms and integration is very easy.
ConsSometimes there can be some delay in receiving emails due to heavy loads on mailgun servers.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 18, 2018
Tóbiás F.
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
May 19, 2018

“My transactional mail provider”

ProsI have searched a cheap, but reliable transactional mail provider for my various products, finally found it, and use it with delight.
ConsI would be fond of a service if I can make responsive newsletters from templates with this provider.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
May 19, 2018
Florian P.
CoFounder & CEO
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 11, 2017

“Great Email Service for Your Application Backend!”

OverallOur entire backend runs all of its email communications through that service, its super reliable.
Pros - easy to install and set up - great reliability - nice dashboard where you can check the details of every sent email - large free email volume plan!
ConsWould be nice if it offered pre-designed email templates (created on their website) with CSS etc. which you could then call via the API with some custom values.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 11, 2017
Jack F.
Support Lead
Financial Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 4, 2019

“Great Mail Server”

ProsI like that I can see in realtime the status of emails, remove supressions and have everything logged in one place.
ConsI like this server, there is not really anything I would change at this time.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 4, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 14, 2019

“Easy to set up”

ProsIt's been easily customized for our applications. Bulk emails out to users with the ability to read responses. I've been happy with this product
ConsNone. It has served us well for all our purposes
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 14, 2019
Nathan P.
Young Adult & Communications Pastor
Religious Institutions, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 21, 2017

“Great solution for Churches and Non-Profits”

ProsEasy to set up. Easy to use. Our church was using another solution but they got rid of their free/non-profit tier. Mailgun has a generous free tier that has served our church of 700 well.
ConsRight now it seems that we have issues with AT&T/SBCGlobal.net e-mail addresses rejecting a lot of our e-mails. This has been problematic at times but not a huge issue.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 21, 2017
Avatar Image
Dart T.
Consultant
Logistics and Supply Chain, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2018

“COnnected to our ticketing system”

OverallMailgun enabled us to send thousands of confirmation emails every day to our customers for a good price.
ProsWorked perfectly well with Google Suite email server.
ConsConfiguration required an adept tech guy
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Internet, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 7, 2018

“Reliable way to send email with a great and well documented API”

ProsI've worked for various software companies who ran their own mail servers, which were great for tracking and integration, but a real headache to maintain. Mailgun has fulfilled all my email requirements and more - providing a reliable way to send and track emails, and a good API that support integration with many clients and languages. I've used it for simple personal projects and large-scale customer deployments, and it works brilliantly throughout.
ConsThe main limitation is that there is a single API key per account. If this API key is compromised you have to change it on all services, so I often end up having to manage multiple mailgun accounts as a workaround.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 7, 2018
Sven E.
Web Developer
Information Technology and Services, Self-employed
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2019

“Stress-free eMail with Laravel”

OverallI use Mailgun for most of my in-house & customer developed web applications to handle the automated delivery of eMail notifications.
ProsMailgun is the simplest & most stress-free of the transactional eMail services I've encountered so far. It's integration that ships per default in Laravel, a PHP framework for creating rich webapps, makes the setup & usage of Mailgun especially easy and painless. The Mailgun API is simple and well documented, their service "just works", the support is always there when you need them and they have a whole slew of community packages that enable you to do more with their API without writing a ton of sourcecode yourself. I don't think there's anymore I could ask for in an eMail provider.
ConsMailgun is a bit on the pricey site compared to AWS and other SMTP based options on the market.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
April 16, 2018

“Sad to see it going”

ProsReliable email automation service. Easy to see reports and track email delivery for emails coming from our website. Was quite easy to set up and configure.
ConsService is going to end in the near future as they are shutting down the software. We are forced to find a new product that will work for us.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
April 16, 2018
Petr V.
Developer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 8, 2018

“The best mail sending service with free of charge plan.”

OverallBest choice if you need to send mails over external SMTP services.
ProsVery easy to use, settings and tutorials how to are very intuitive. Fast delivering not only transactional emails. SMTP + API
ConsUp to 5 domains only in a free plan (10000 mails per month). Not so detailed info of mail, when you send it over SMTP.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 8, 2018
Ariel G.
Software Engineer
E-Learning, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 31, 2019

“Good pay-as-you-go pricing structure, simple but powerful tools”

ProsMailgun's pay-as-you-go pricing structure is fantastic, especially if you don't need to send that much email. The pricing, including the free tier, is much more generous than what you can get with some pricier providers, like SendGrid. I mainly just use Mailgun as an SMTP server for web services, and the service has been set-up-and-forget, which is great because I never even have to log onto the Mailgun website and do any work. Mailing list support also looks great for rolling-your-own and not relying on more expensive mailing list services.
ConsIt would be cool to have some client libraries like those that SendGrid provide, but this is also pretty superfluous because the REST API works great and is language agnostic.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 31, 2019
Gareth N.
Web Developer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 14, 2019

“Insanely easy to send emails”

OverallMailgun provides a great service, using and integrating it is easy. We've hardly experienced any downtime or any major issues.
ProsI liked that the setup and configuration is quite easy. The dashboard allows us to see any analytics or debug data that we could need. The best thing about Mailgun is the integrations that are available. We've never had any issues getting Mailgun up and running in projects. It's to the point where you have multiple package options with varying features or use cases.
ConsThe only downside is if you are using community packages to integrate Mailgun into your projects. You're left waiting for new features or fixes. That is to be expected but you win more than you lose with the help of the open source community.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 14, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 4, 2018

“The best email processor for developers”

ProsAs a developer I often need to add email to my application during the testing phase. Mailgun is my go to provider because of their support at the code level. There are thorough examples for every programming language I've come across, and their SDK's are second to none.
ConsTheir pricing doesn't appear to be as competitive when you want to scale as opposed to other transactional email providers.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 4, 2018
Avatar Image
Prateek V.
Head of Information Technology
51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2017

“Awesome product, and very easy integration”

OverallI use MailGun for multiple projects, and all of them work just as they should. So far, regarding services i have no complaints.
ProsThe mail delivery is very good. The process to integrate SMTP APIs is easy, and fast to setup. Good documentation.
ConsMaybe the pricing can get a bit better, there are companies that provide cheaper and similar services
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2017
Andrey F.
Business Development
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 11, 2018

“Pretty solid transactional Email service”

OverallPowerful API for transactional emails
ProsThey have a powerful API that enables you to send, receive and track email effectively. We used it on a few our core projects and it was great.
ConsI didn't like the reporting system as you can't have a customized report generated for you. As I would like to see more data on my campaigns.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 11, 2018
Kevin W.
Web Developer
Wine and Spirits, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 15, 2018

“Great for devs”

ProsLove that Mailgun is focused on developers. Free plan is generous and allows you to avoid landing in spam without knowing how to set up a full blown SMTP server
ConsSupport wasn't very helpful when I reached out to get help with my account
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 15, 2018
Avatar Image
Michael C.
Customer Service Specialist L2
Internet, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 13, 2018

“Easy to use”

ProsMailgun is an excellent enterprise solution. It has been quite stable, and it's user interface makes troubleshooting a breeze.
ConsThe log search page can be a bit wonky when you're trying to select data for cutting and pasting. A very minor though and still works fine.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 13, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Internet, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018

“Powerful email sending engine”

OverallWe were able to send newsletters to 15 000 addresses without risking to loose our company reputation as an email sender.
ProsMailgun is able to deal with thousands of email sending queries with an excellent quality of service. We used this tool to send newsletters automatically generated by a Drupal website, to 14 000 clients for one of our customers. Mailgun can then track mails opened, links clicked, and so on. In the dashboard, you can find a page that displays charts for each newsletter - perfect for the client ! And we pay only for each 1000 mails we send, having the 10 000 first free. An API allows developpers to interact very easily with the Mailgun engine and all of it's features.
ConsMailgun admin area could be improved, as the statistics of user link clicks. Maybe one useful feature could be to allow some accounts to only access specific statistics pages, not all of them. But it's a detail, globally this tool is a really good one.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018
matthew s.
Customer Service Officer
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 19, 2019

“Gun of a program”

ProsEase of use for servicing our mail servers Easy to spot and workout problems from clients not getting emails from our system
Consdowntime of the systems servers can be a bit frustrating at times.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 19, 2019
Joshua P.
Senior Web Developer
Public Safety, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
August 7, 2018

“They Delete your account without warning”

ProsSends emails, sometimes. Most of the time it took a while to get the emails sent. They have a free plan, but limited.
ConsFree plan is no good Emails have delays all the time Shared IP has issues with spam all the time, good luck sending to yahoo or other big companies They will delete your account if they do not make money from you Customer Service is hard to contact, and when you do, it takes them 24 hours for each response
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
August 7, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2018

“Great option for high delivery, and good support.”

ProsWith a dedicated IP and representative, delivery is amazing! Very easy to use for developers and works well with our app integrations for the transactional emails. Their support is unparalleled.
ConsMore expensive than other alternatives, and shared IPs can kill your delivery to certain things as others ruin the IP for you - strongly recommended to get your own and build your reputation.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2018
Avatar Image
Link P.
Founding Member
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 19, 2018

“I view my foray into the capabilities of Mailgun as only just beginning. It is robust and powerful.”

OverallI got access to a solid and well maintained platform where I can centrally manage all of my transactional email.
ProsI found Mailgun when looking for a better transactional solution for a client's WordPress site, and it wasn't long before I was finding new ways to incorporate it into other email flows, such as ownCloud. Hands down, my favorite feature is the ability to house all of my clients under one interface, without sacrificing granular control or reporting. The ease of configuring SPF and DKIM is fantastic, and their support team and online documentation have both been a pleasure to work with.
Cons
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 19, 2018
Jax W.
Solutions Engineer
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 1, 2018

“Does what it needs to do”

OverallIt works for mail, in every aspect, and works well. We send out hundreds of thousands of notifications, updates, announcements, and alerts as part of the communication system we run. Mailgun works smoothly for all of it, and invariably any issue we run into is with the other end, not with Mailgun!
ProsDo you need a service that sends out lots of emails? Mailgun does it, with all the tracking that goes with it, from delivery status to spam reports, Mailgun provides the interface for managing all of it.
ConsIf you need it to do other things, well, it probably doesn't do that. But then why are you even looking for those things?
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 1, 2018
Avatar Image
James D.
Search Engine (Web Search) Evaluator
Computer Software, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2019

“A Solid Option for Low-Volume Email Delivery”

OverallMailgun allows us to freely distribute emails for our SaaS startup, without the worry of whether they'll actually be delivered or not.
ProsMailgun provides a surprisingly extensive email delivery solution, especially for a product that is initially free. Mailgun is ideal for a small startup that doesn't intend to be sending thousands of emails, and wraps everything in a neat user interface that is easy to use.
ConsThe initial setup of Mailgun may be a struggle for those who do not have a programming/developer background.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 19, 2019

“Easy configuration for sending emails”

ProsI really like mail gun. It's easy to configure and you can start sending emails immediately. The documentation they provide is easy to use and in an easy way you can implement it.
ConsTheir support it's a little bit slower, I was expecting a faster response from them
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 19, 2019
Avatar Image
James G.
Lead Developer
Computer Software, Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 4, 2018

“Fantastic as an email API”

OverallEmail API service
ProsI love their API and SDKs made available. It's extremely easy to use. The free tier goes all the way up to 10000 emails a month which is a lot. Their reporting on sent emails is very detailed.
ConsWebsite could be made a little bit more modern. Lots of small text and small buttons, just needs a little work.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 4, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 10, 2018

“Free and awesome.”

ProsI used mailgun for 2 of my customers for sending transnational emails, it's very fast and reliable, the api is well made and makes your life easier if you need to send more emails in less time.
ConsI'm a happy customer, everything I need is already provided by mailgun, the customer support is very fast and professional.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 10, 2018
Joe H.
Owner
Internet, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 22, 2019

“Top Two Email Services”

OverallSendGrid and Mailgun are both rock solid and very affordable. You could probably flip a coin on which one to use.
ProsVery easy to use and works flawlessly. Used it on two projects and it was a pleasure.
ConsNot really a con but I typically choose SendGrid over Mailgun simply because I've been using SendGrid for so long.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 22, 2019
Ankit W.
Programmer Analyst
Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: GetApp
January 24, 2016

“Better solution for transactional email sending ”

OverallI have used the mailgun service for many months, as an email sender for my blog's newsletter. Even with the free mailgun account, I was able to send about 10k emails from my blog's domain name per month. This seems quite a good number of emails for a blog newsletter. Mailgun provides easy to use API support which makes it better competitor in mail service providers. It's simple and updated documentation makes it perfect for consuming full power of the mailing service in your application. I will always recommend mailgun over it's competitors.
Pros1. 10,000 emails per month in free account 2. Simple API support 3. Easy to use and configure
Cons1. Lacks mobile version of email application, like Zohomail
Source: GetApp
January 24, 2016