GitLab Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4/5

About GitLab

GitLab is a complete DevOps platform, delivered as a single application, fundamentally changing the way Development, Security, and Ops teams collaborate. GitLab helps teams accelerate software delivery from weeks to minutes, reduce development costs, and reduce the risk of application vulnerabilities while increasing developer productivity. Learn more about GitLab

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 423 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 423 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Dennis F.
Software Engineer
Automotive, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 12, 2019

“One stop shop for planning, development, and operations”

OverallMaking it easier to build quality into the software development lifecycle without sacrificing speed. Let the computers do the heavy lifting of building and testing the changes. Bake in DevOps best practices by default.
ProsIntegration of CI/CD and Kubernetes for easily developing and running custom apps. Fantastic collaboration features like discussions, visual diffing. Some of this stuff you don't even get on desktop apps that charge big bucks. Frequent updates that inch its capability and usability forward. Good documentation. Wonderful community, welcoming atmosphere, pleasant to work with all the employees I've encountered.
ConsSometimes things break. When things are broken, sometimes it can take some time to be fixed, if you're not willing or able to fix it yourself. One of the consequences of such broad scope and feature development velocity. It would be advisable to keep another copy installed separately for testing updates before applying them to the live edition, if your IT has the capacity to do so.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 12, 2019
Luca M.
CTO
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 26, 2019

“Powerful tool - if you know how to use it!”

OverallGitLab is the code versioning system that our company uses on a daily basis. We found useful to have a fine-grained authorization management for your users/developers, that made it easier for us to ensure the only the right people can see the right things. We also use the "organisation" feature to have all our developers in the same place with the right access.
ProsThe products has plenty of features, as well as supporting all the basic Git operations/merge requests, you are given a wide choice of CI pipelines you can set up from within the project. Need more? Integrations with metrics, error tracking, kubernetes, snippets and more. I never had any problem so far, it's stable and always up.
ConsThe major issue for me is that these features are advanced, and if you want to use the repository as just that, you find yourself overwhelmed with loads of choices that you don't really need. Therefore, sometimes I find it hard to look for a button which should be the most visible element on the screen. Additionally, I found the arrangement of information in the "merge request" screen a bit counterintuitive compared with similar services.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 26, 2019
Avatar Image
Lilantha R.
Software Engineer
Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 26, 2019

“GitLab Review”

OverallGitLab resolved our version controlling problems, code review problems. It helps to maintain our code standards very easily. We can setup It on our local server also very easily. It is free anyone can try it.
ProsGitLab is a superb source code managemanet provide. It is free. We can install it in our privet server also. As well as we can use their server with a free account. We use git for version control. GitLab provides awesome support for version control. It is a very easy tool. Anyone can use it very easily If someone has no more knowledge about versioning but He can use GitLab very easy. We can maintain our Repositories/Branchers. User access level also there. Currently, We use GitLab. We maintain feature branches, dev branch, and master branch. Everyone does not allow to merge code to the dev branch. If someone add merge request to the dev branch, our one-person review code and merge. Then we use GitLab it is easy for us. GitLab provides superb dashboard it very easy to review code. It shows all code changes with file by file. Easy to compare. As well as we can compare two branches vary easy. It provides a clear, unique, user-friendly dashboard. GitLab also supports CI/CD process. It's superb we can recommend for anyone. If our commit has some conflict it shows how to resolve that step by step.
ConsWhen I add a new commit. If the file is large/have many lines. It not showing code changes directly. It shows a message file has many lines cannot show changes that kind of message. Sometimes when we compare two commits. It not more clear. Some times confusing. If I show some file history only show commits. not showing code changes by commits. We want to go and check every commits to show changes.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 26, 2019
Avatar Image
Arnold A.
SAP External Consultant
Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 7, 2019

“A complete tool to store your projects and configure your CI/CD”

OverallI have great thoughts about GitLab my experience has been really good. I was really impressed when I started working with it and configured the first project there. I definitely recommend GitLab to anyone that wants to start a new project and doesn't want to use too many tools, GitLab has everything that you need to start.
ProsI started using GitLab for an external project and I like the following: 1) Easy to work with and auto explanatory. Creating/configuring a new repository is really easy. 2) Great CI/CD implementation. Having the repository with built-in CI/CD is really convenient, you can have everything related to the build and deployment process saved along with your code. I have used bamboo and I really appreciate this feature, it might have its problems but it is really useful. 3) Unlimited private docker registry, you can have your own private registry for free. I cannot express how useful this is. 4) In order to help with the CI/CD process it allows the creation of tokens with access restrictions (read only), so you can use these tokens to download your code or your docker containers without having to provide your personal credentials. 5) It has its own task manager 6) It has free agents that are in charge of executing your builds/deploys so you don't have to provide your own resources.
Cons1) Configuring build variables is really messy and it is not an ideal implementation. I haven't found a way to set different values for them depending on the branch, so configuring different environments is not too easy 2) Even though having your code with CI/CD is really convenient, it has some drawbacks. If you have an established continuous deployment process that you repeat in many projects and you want to change it (maybe a fix it or improve it) you will have to add that change to all your repositories and all the branches that you want to deploy. So it is a really good feature but it is not too flexible 3) The task manager is messy, and I didn't find a way to have a shared board. 4) It does not have too many software integrations, as I mentioned before I have used bamboo and I really like their integration with other software
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 7, 2019
Istvan R.
Software Engineer
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 6, 2019

“Gitlab: A Feature-full alternative to Github”

OverallWe are utilizing gitlab to handle our code versioning and our continous integration and delivery pipeline. This includes our whole workflow from writting code to building it, testing it and deploying it to production.
Pros- Excellent UI that is easy to understand: many of our developers are migrating for the first time from other software (github, bitbucket) and a constant comment is that the ui is intuitive and easy to understand compared to previous software. The transition is always smooth. - Feature-full product: Gitlab offers a variety of features that I have found to be excellent and of high quality. The code-review process in gitlab is always smooth with the ability to resolve or re-open discussions, address specific comments or the whole of the discussion, the ability to suggest and even apply and commit code from the ui is also a huge plus. The IDE is decent and the file editor is also decent. The CI/CD integration with gitlab runners is smooth, the notification system is great. I get an email whenever a test fails. All from the gitlab ecosystem, i do not need to go to circleCi or some other provider for all of this, which allows the ui and experience to be consistent.
ConsAt this very moment there is no feature or issue that I have found to be detrimental to my experience.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 6, 2019
Avatar Image
Damian N.
Chief Executive Officer
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 9, 2019

“GitLab is the best for its CI”

ProsGitLab CI is by far the most valuable feature of GitLab. Travis CI was the first one to offer a YAML-file based build system - but it's GitLab CI to make pipelines very flexible and expressive. While Travis was okay for most popular languages in open source projects. GitLab made it possible to run enterprise-grade pipelines with many stages, each having multiple simultaneous jobs. This, plus git repository, Docker registry, and several other tools, making it a complete solution - starting from an early development cycle, through build, to deployment and monitoring thereof.
ConsSeveral pages perform bad, e.g. pipelines list in big projects. Some pages don't have search and sorting. These are minor issues though.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 9, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 16, 2018

“Great Open Source Software!”

OverallThe overall experience was good. It's highly recommended for companies who want host their code in their own infra and are ready to maintain the code hosting software itself
ProsI use the GitLab Community Edition (CE) and the first thing I love about it is it's Open Source! I am a believer of Open source software! In my company, we host our own instance of GitLab CE and it's been smooth. We use it for source code hosting and for CI/CD. Source code hosting has been great. CI/CD is nice too. GitLab has all the features required by a code hosting software - groups, groups within groups, repos, role based access control for members. Members can also be grouped with names - helpful to create a group for a team and add members to the group and give access to the team/group. It has forking, SSH/HTTPS git repo access, Notification/Watch repo features. It also has lots of integrations. We use slack a lot and we have integrations with slack which GitLab provides, and we have configured it to get notified for different things, starting from commit pushes to pipeline failures. We also use the GitLab pages for hosting the Wiki site for repos. It's pretty neat! The GitLab CI/CD has the concept of runners which run the CI/CD tasks/jobs. Runners have tags, and you can easily use the appropriate tag in the config to run the task in the appropriate runner. We use different runners for different things like, pushing to a Docker registry (requires special permissions), accessing a prod DB/application, running normal tasks (scripts) etc. All in all, it's quite good
ConsAlthough GitLab has lots of features. I do have some complaints about it. I hope that newer versions will make my complaints obsolete! Starting with the CI/CD, it's quite good. But it lacks some features and flexibility which we expect in the upcoming versions. Features like one CI/CD pipeline triggering another pipeline (not present in CE, not sure about Enterprise Edition) and things like grouping jobs in a stage. Also, the CI/CD UI is not very good. It has glitches, there's no auto refresh in all the UIs to show the status of a job - if it's successful or if it failed. The job UI also isn't very great, like, if the job names or stage names are big, it becomes tough to read. Also, when the job log is very big, it reloads the page when the job finishes and truncates the output of the job and makes it available for download instead. This can be good or bad, based on the use case. For us, it was mostly not a soothing experience.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 16, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Civic & Social Organization, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 3, 2018

“Great software wit a minimal but efficient design but can definitely use improvements”

OverallBest way to use it is to keep your gitlab organized is keeping pr's as functional as possible and not mashing 1000 changes into one pr. otherwise gitlab performance go down and so will the interest of the other people who review your merge request!! Setting up gitlab to manage your software projects is child's play, and although the UI is minimal in design it which gets the job done but could definitely use some enhancements and that would make it a top tier no nonsense go-to-software-management-product. Overall it is a great software. I am not aware of the quality of the customer service on the paid tier so can't comment on that. One can manage and maintain gitlab inhouse without needing any paid support. I would recommend it without reservations to any and all software developing companies.
Pros1. Free of cost 2. Highly efficient, does the job without uncertainty. 3. Never observed any downtime 4. Very frequent and proper updates to the software. 5. easy to maintain 6. can easily integrate with jenkins for Continuous Integration- Continuous Deployment. 7. Easy to setup and use, no support or setup or external teams required. Anybody with minimum computer skills can get this up and running. 8. easy integration with youtrack for issue tracking and merge requesting tracking
ConsThese are not very big cons, but I find them annoying and could definitely use improvement: 1. The edit description on an open merge request also shows up on the history. So If somebody were to make a 10 different changes to the title while keeping the 2. The code formatting in the description box is not too good. It can take several tries before getting it right. 3. There is no way of searching for something based on a line of text. For example if you were looking for a commit or a merge request but you only remember the 4. sometimes very challenging to go back and undo merges which are quite complex. 5. on a given pr, it shows icons of all the participants but doesn't say which participant did what... for example if 5 people have just viewed a pr and done nothing else even then it shows all of them as participants. It would be nice to have a feature which will only show activity by participant on every pr. 6. text based Search via ui is practically no existent. So if you search for something using a text which is part of a commit message, chances are it will not show up 100%.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 3, 2018
David "Teddy" O.
Co-founder
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2019

“Best Value Suite of Software Development Tools”

ProsGitlab has an extremely robust free tier with tools that go far beyond simple source/version control. We use the Gitlab CI/CD pipeline runner extensively, allowing us to not only use Gitlab for source, but also for our deployment/build pipeline. Gitlab also has the ability to manage Kubernetes clusters from the suite, which is super helpful. We also extensively use the issue board for tracking scrum issues, which includes time estimates. Gitlab used to be most popular for offering free private repos, and it still does, but these other free features make it an absolute home run. We use Gitlab for every project because of how great it's been.
ConsThe pipeline runner can occasionally be a bit buggy sometimes, but nothing critical. For example, if you prematurely stop one pipeline and immediately start another, it can take 10 minutes for the new pipeline to start for some reason. Also, the time tracking on the issue board does not automatically put the sum at the top of the column, which I find annoying - we built a small gitlab api integration to pull that info for us. They have been updating this feature recently, though, so it may be solved soon.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2019
Avatar Image
Caleb M.
IT Consultant
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 9, 2018

“Fantastic git project management tool with good integrations”

ProsFull suite of tools including but not limited to repository and issue tracking, milestones & issue boards, group and user management including project and even branch level permissions, continuous integration, scheduled jobs, project wiki, etc. All the features work together and using it to manage projects tends to pulls the details together rather than fragmenting them across different spaces. The general workflow is similar enough to Github that most developers find it familiar. In fact there is probably feature parity or beyond, so other than needing another account there has never been much resistance to adoption among our developer team. At the same time the interface well designed enough for non developers to figure it out and stay involved as well.
ConsThe setup and update process is somewhat cumbersome on bare metal (probably easier using dedicated virtual machines and/or their omnibus package). There are a lot of dependencies and assumptions about the environment that make it much the most dreaded package to upgrade on my production servers. It does kind of make assumptions about workflow that don't hold true for all projects. While it is flexible enough to adapt even when using only a subset of features on a project, it can leave people a little confused and overwhelmed because all the other unused bits are still around in the interface.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 9, 2018
Avatar Image
Matthew C.
Software Engineer
Environmental Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 16, 2019

“An incredibly useful tool for version control and CI/CD”

OverallHaving migrated a number of Subversion repositories to GitLab, its extended functionality compared to the more simplistic approach of SVN has undoubtedly saved a significant amount of time.
ProsGitLab comes packed with a number of helpful facilities for managing continuous integration/deployment tasks. The option to self-host a GitLab instance is also appreciated.
ConsComes with something of a learning curve and can take a while to fully introduce non-technical users to its functionality.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 16, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 2, 2019

“Awesome Git Service”

ProsGitLab is a great place to host git repositories - for both private and commercial use. With its pretty and intuitive design, GitLab offers a great experience to work with. Collaboration is managed in a really great way. Their pricing is also amazing: it's mostly free to use. We've had multiple private repos on GitLab for years now and haven't had any reason to upgrade to a paid plan so far.
ConsGitLab's customer support team is really slow at responding to support requests. However, since I'm on a free plan, that's okay and I think they probably allocate all of their support resources to their paying users - and that's totally fine.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 2, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Games, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2019

“Very solid Git server”

OverallVery satisfied and will consider it also for the next professional projects.
ProsThe installation is pretty straight forward and easy. It's the only free git server solution I found that offers LFS support. We started our project without the support of Git LFS but as the project grew, we had to find a solution and transfer our repository to an LFS ready server. GitLab offered the perfect solution, allowing us to keep our existing SSH keys for authentication, existing LDAP users and transfer our existing project pretty easily. Since then, we never ran into issues and the server is running smoothly since the first day.
ConsThe server is based on RoR so it's heavier than a simple Git Server. You need to make sure you have enough resources to get it to run properly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2019

“Amazing source code and CI/CD system”

OverallComplete source control and CI/CD system for writing computer software
ProsIntegrated CI/CD!!! can't emphasize how much this is helpful to have, I hate using Jenkins so much The UI is very slick and good, while GitHub is the "de facto standard" I actually really love GitLab's GUI as well
Consnot really their fault at all, but, a lot of -other- projects are already on GitHub.. so it's a bit annoying to cross collaborate with GitHub users (say - you want to open a pull request to a GitHub project so you're forced to do it on GitHub). It kinda sucks to have stuff spread out across multiple sites and have to get used to multiple UIs/concepts
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2019
Avatar Image
Marc Jhon L.
Senior Software Engineer
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 7, 2019

“My two cents for Gitlab”

OverallFrom a developer perspective, gitlab shines when it comes to devops and developers needs for git integration. However I'd use different issue tracking tool with it, since the issue tracking that gitlab offers is pretty much lacking in some areas such as sub-task and etc. However It's still far superior against Bitbucket which I absolutely does not recommend
ProsThe integrated CICD is what makes this stands out for me. The .yml configuration is powerful enough to access your servers from gitlab making every push you made build automatically. Deployment Keys, Access token, its just way more powerful than github and much more UI/UX Friendly than Bitbucket. Its also note to take that the pages are lighweight, you hardly ever feel the loading time. More top of it it's free.
ConsWhile the git related features are astounding I feel like the Issue trackers are way more clunky to me. The board is quite nice, you can drag items of it to different board categories, however. the lack of sub task for a task is killing me. Suppose we have a feature task, I'd like to put a mini sub task under it so i can track all of it on one parent task. Just like how you can do it on redmine or asana. One thing that github is superior to gitlab is this area.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 7, 2019
Jessica E.
Technical Writer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2019

“A good alternative to GitHub”

OverallOur company uses GitLab for app development and docs. As a tech writer I'm mainly working in "developing" docs, and need to follow corresponding issues for software development in multiple projects/repos. I suspect there can be easier workflows to integrate the two (linking issues from different projects) but overall it's easy to manage working in multiple projects/repos. I've used JIRA previously, and feel that the issue/bugtracking/task board side is comparable in features and reliability (though JIRA may offer more categories of information). The Git side is standard, I don't miss any feature and always worked out snags without problem based on GitLab documentation. I haven't used GitHub as much, but from my experience GitLab mirrors the functionality with only slight differences, and covers more or less the same business needs.
Pros-nice to create a branch directly from an issue so all related information stays handy in one place -integrates well with local git client (tortoise git, vscode git integrations) so you can switch between tools without git-related errors -easy to create to-do list workflow with issues from multiple projects/repos -easy to revert a bad merge -good docs
Cons-preview doesn't work well with some file types (like rst) -interface is kind of fussy when trying to edit things like labels on an issue, could be easier -UI can get a bit crowded, and not many options to hide or change view -wiki is hard to maintain unless you pull a local copy
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2019
Narendra V.
Co-founder
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 25, 2019

“A complete tool for software development lifecycle with DevOps”

OverallMy team loves GitLab so much. Since the last 3 years, we use it regularly and we don't have a single complaint about it. We host all our repos here and manage our development stuff via milestones, issue boards, and other features. Overall it is an awesome platform will all the required features and tools.
ProsGitLab is a complete set of tools which are required for software development. - It provides self-managed version as well as the community version. Both are free of cost. - It provides Continuous Integration and Continuous Development. I use it for most of my projects. - Built-in issue boards, milestones - a very good feature for tracking development. - Built-in Web IDE - a very nice feature to edit your files online. - Groups, sub-groups for the repository - it helps to manage the repositories easily with user assignment, permissions, etc. - A nice UI
ConsThere are no major cons with GitLab. It provides most of the things with its free edition. To list a few, - With Community Edition, we sometimes face downtime. - The wait time for running CI pipelines is sometimes higher. - The pricing for the paid version is a little bit high for small agencies like mine.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 25, 2019
Peter W.
Web Developer
Higher Education, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
November 28, 2018

“Great tool, hard to use”

ProsOur team have been using both GitLab and its main competitor for a number of years. We use GitLab when our projects require a slight bit more fine-tuning and control over our repositories. GitLab easily offers the ability to hide repos / projects from public view, something its competitors rarely do for free. The team management within GitLab is great, we have multiple different teams in the system all with different access, and its very easy to share repositories with colleagues and control who can see what. Integration with other Git applications is great, we use this with GitKraken all the time and we've never had problem.
ConsMy main problem with GitLab is its user-interface, in comparison to its competitors it's not good at all. Various functions seem to be hidden within obscure menus and hidden drop-downs. Not too much of a problem once you're used to it, but for new users, its a real issue. The comment system isn't great, for some reason GitLab stores any and all edits that are made, meaning even the slightest change to a pull / merge comment is noted.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
November 28, 2018
Avatar Image
Bruno C.
IT Service Engineer
Computer Software, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 2, 2019

“Why use Github when we have GitLab?”

ProsI can have private software git repositories by free. Differently by Github, that charges you to have a private repository. The interface is beautiful, has a wiki, and the commits work fine from Linux.
ConsDoesn't exist an app to make the commits (like in GitHub), thus you just need to use the terminal line (which shouldn't be a problem for any programmer), and the community isn't very well developed, thus you still will need to go to Github to find software repositories.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 2, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 18, 2019

“A task management platform developers love ”

ProsGitlab combines git, CI/CD, task management, wiki and lots of other features. I found that this is a platform that developers like more than some other task tracking software because of its simple but flexible functionality. Organizing tasks and boards with labels provides for a very flexible experience that each team can design for themselves. The platform is constantly updating and improving. From the latest updates, I like that you can now respond to a comment, so you get a thread, instead of individual comments that require referencing other comments to tie things together. Your code base is right in front of your PMs, QAs and Engineers, so everyone can dive into it if needed, nothing extra needs to be setup. Gitflow is supported very well, and CI/CD gives visibility into your pipelines to the entire team all in one place. In short my entire team loves GitLab!
ConsThe wiki is very simple and lacks in functionality, mentions didn't work for us right, and organizing content can be challenging. The initial learning curve can be a challenge for not-technical team members, having to learn markdown. Not a big problem though that can be overcome with a few tutorials and reference pages.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 18, 2019
Verified Reviewer
11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 6, 2018

“Intuitive, simple and effective way to setup CI/CD through "pipeline as code" paradigm.”

OverallA free way to be effective and to go straight to your goal. Lot of work is saved by this tool with respect to other similar solutions. This software is stable, you can install it wherever and it will work. You can upgrade it whenever with no surprise. Very nice tool. Forrester recommendations are all deserved.
ProsVery simple and effective. Setting up a pipeline is immediate. It is pretty documented and also newbie can approach a good result in short time. Issue and agile management of a project is a big plus and recent capabilities to monitor project performances are impressive. It is powered by docker containers and kubernetes and this make isolation and a sort of orchestration possible and easy. People can focus on their own objective rather than spending time understanding the tool.
ConsIt is based on a project centric approach, but here the project is a single piece of code. Orchestration and release automation for complex scenarios must be delegated to other professional software. Standardisation of projects is not obvious since a pipeline refer to a single project. Environments refer to a single instance of an application. They are great but they do not easily correspond to what an environment usually means: an aggregation of nodes and software instances connected to each other.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 6, 2018
Pablo S.
RPA Developer
Information Technology and Services, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019

“My Own Experience working with GitLab”

OverallMy overall experience using GitLab is incredibly good. Without GitLab, no project carried out would remain stable, since all suffer modifications over time, and on numerous occasions a "rollback" must be made to old versions. Thanks to GitLab I was able to recover lost code due to a serious PC failure. Thanks also to GitLab, anyone has been able to share their code without problems, even publicly, which really encourages the use of this application.
ProsThanks to GitLab, I have all my code protected and accessible at all times, from any computer. On the other hand, thanks to GitLab, in my team we maintain a hierarchy so that everyone uploads their code to the "Develop" branch and I am able to check their code and know if it is correct. In this way, too, I make sure that in the "Master" branch only correct and functioning code is found. This is something vital, that every project needs to remain stable and avoid problems in new code versions, modifications, etc.
ConsPerhaps something bad about GitLab, is that it is not implemented in all applications, that is, many applications have the ability to synchronize the code directly through it, without using the web version. It could be modified in such a way so that the desktop version was compatible in some way with all applications.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Retail, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2019

“GitLab is the easiest communicative tool for and with development teams”

OverallGitLab has helped our team streamline between showing what issues are being worked on, where they are in the process, where the code is, and who is looking at or working on it. Our processes have less hiccups and our communication between the different team roles (devs, designers, QA, product owners) has skyrocketed!
ProsI love the tools for comments/discussion threads in the merge requests. Being able to highlight the line of code in question, and even adding suggested code edits, makes the code review process some much smoother and practically seamless. The ability to require code approvals, from a suggested or certain user(s), and the different roles allow a safer merge process. Issues can be linked to merge requests, which also makes things easier.
ConsTransitioning from using GitLab for repository management only, to trying to link merge requests to the issue boards has been a bit difficult for the team. I think part of the issue was that the projects and repositories don't completely align with our team structure that we're using the boards for. There's a lot of overlap.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2019
Avatar Image
Neeraj B.
Software Developer
Retail, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 2, 2018

“Using this pro git tool for a year, I never need to look for alternatives...”

OverallGitlab is our repository bank, It's powerful features (very less git providers have such) like branch level user access streamline our work.
Pros-Even its free tier is really powerful to drive a full startup company, I used it for like a year. -Really impressive UI/ Its web IDE (I use it for commit very critical patches/ resolve minor conflicts) is out of the box. -It has everything like a user access control on repository level, that is too simple to use with Its web interface. -Its support for CI/CD is really impressive, It provides these tools at its core in both free and paid tiers, I'm using Jenkins with it. -Even it provides time tracking/ time estimate module in Its free tiers, I never used it but these things really look impressive, we even check it's applicability within our office and found it good to move in near future. -The cheery pick is a little tricky git command, it provides this functionality at a button click (I really like it).
ConsIt's downtime when my team were using its free tier, we face downtime, runtime error or SSL downtime problem many times a day, but when we start using it paid services we are now less facing such issues.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 2, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Computer Networking, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 24, 2019

“Best-of-breed source-code management tool”

OverallWorking on a dev-team where multiple engineers work together on discrete projects in different technologies, GitLab has enabled us to manage a complex codebase, keep version conflicts to a minimum, allowing our developers to focus on writing code rather than fighting things like merge-conflicts. In short, we wouldn't be half as productive and efficient using a lesser SCM tool like Mercurial. Git rules.
ProsIt's simply the best version-control tool on the market. Being based on Git, most senior developers already know how to use it, so it makes my dev team automatically more efficient and responsive in collaborating. Using merge requests, we're able to monitor and approve changes to code. A huge benefit of GitLab is the automatic security scan with each commit (e.g., connection strings with Db credentials are flagged, etc.)
ConsThe learning curve is steep if you want to master the intricacies of Git, but the basics (creating repos, forking, merges, pushes, pulls and commits) are fairly easy to learn in a few hours.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 24, 2019
Dillan S.
Web Developer / Developer manager
Marketing and Advertising, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 17, 2017

“Great, but missing some features.”

OverallIt would be awesome to build out the profile view a bit more. I lead a team of developers and we use Gitlab and really like it for its privacy and ease of use, but because our repos are private we are unable to showcase our profile views on our portfolios etc. This has pushed me to split usage between gitlab and github. Gitlab for work / github for my private repos / gists / etc.
ProsPrice, private repos, ease of use for teams, (almost) all the features of github. We use gitlab for all of our client repos and it works great. Setting up teams and getting up and running is fast and easy. We've also looked into the option of self hosting gitlab on our own servers, but the web service is so good we haven't felt the need yet. UI is nice as well. Anyone familiar with github can easily jump in and enjoy gitlab.
ConsNot as much community, profile view is not as robust / flushed out as gitlab. Feels private. Love the ease of private repos but that seems to be the main thing users are utilizing and there is less open source projects on gitlab. Also the profile view is not as well known as gitlab and there isn't the option to showcase private commits on your commit chart, which is a bummer.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 17, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 19, 2019

“Vast features and an unlocked set of tools”

ProsI love everything about this product. We've tried bitbucket, github, and now GitLab and I think we've found our home. This is a very solid software set and ci/cd tools that are easy enough to implement.
ConsI wish that you could group repo's by category and use that during the search. If you could do that then it would be perfect. I also wish you would consolidate the project/group/etc search on the top and turn it into one smart search.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 19, 2019
Josep Anton M.
Data Scientist
Internet, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2019

“Like GitHub, but a bit better”

ProsEase of use. Highly customizable. Free private projects, which are perfect for hobbyists. At production, it is easy to run pipelines and get logs about them. It integrates perfectly with Heroku.
ConsIt took a bit of a learning curve to exploit all possibilities of the software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2019
Julian Jacques M.
Office Automation Developer
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 9, 2019

“A strong alternative to Bitbucket and Github”

ProsGitLab is Open Source, so trying it is free, and the community edition has a generous set of features. The self-hosting aspect is critical to our clients and us. The enterprise edition offers almost anything a developer could want from a source code management system, including continuous integration.
ConsGitLab is not as well integrated as GitHub in other software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 9, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Internet, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2019

“GitLab is way underrated”

OverallLife changing. Really. Like, it makes my life easier by giving my insight and control. Dump multiple tools, and try GitLab.
ProsI can't understand why everyone is not using GitLab, it is incredible. The feature set is mindblowing, and used correctly, it really is a full-cycle product!
ConsSome things can feel developer orientated, so onboarding designers can be tricky.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2019
Ken L.
Product Manager
Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 21, 2019

“Solid code and artifact repository that continues to evolve”

OverallStrong CI/CD contender which has increased our TTM.
ProsInitially we looked at Gitlab for use as an internal code repository. We used gitlab in conjunction with jenkins and docker. Creating projects, submitting code, integrating Gitlab with Jenkins all worked well. To setup a jenkins pipeline with Gitlab is very straightforward. Just create a new pipeline, provide the gitlab project URL, and supply credentials. You can set Jenkins to poll at specific intervals, then kick off the CI/CD process when new commits are detected. At first we had provisioned a docker private registry, but gradually moved to hosting images using gitlab itself. The feature velocity is quite impressive and it looks like Gitlab will be able to handle the entire CI/CD pipeline in the future.
ConsWhile the actual installation of GitLab wasn't too bad, figuring out how to configure Docker Engine to work with Gitlab was quite tricky. It's not well documented on the website but the key was to place the certs in the appropriate gitlab folder. It's always annoying to deal with TLS certs, especially if it's not clearly spelled out which path the application looks for the certs.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 21, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 31, 2019

“Great suite of tools for developers”

OverallI use Gitlab to manage my personal and team projects. The main characteristic that brought me to Gitlab was their project management capabilities and the possibility to have private repositories for free.
ProsAmong other features, it has CI/CD capabilities, a clean and elegant UI, free and unlimited private repositories and since it is open source, allows for you to run your own self-hosted version if you have a particular set of requirements that requires this type of security.
ConsGiven the amount of features available, it can be a little hard at first to get things going, specially if you are new to some of the features they offer.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 31, 2019
Avatar Image
Ranvir G.
Co-Founder
Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 14, 2018

“If you are a developer you will love this”

ProsGitlab is free, open source and is a dream come true with its feature of unlimited private repositories. You can even put it on your own severs if you do not want to keep your code it on their servers. Gitlab is an amazing tool for developers and it even comes with CI now. It has a premium tier as well but one can gradually upgrade as one's scale of operations and company size increases.
ConsWith gitlab there are really very few cons, the biggest reason is that they keep on improving their product at such a rapid pace and almost all of them are spot on in terms of user need and their implementation. It does hwever have a community size no where near services like Github has and we also need to consider the fact that almost every major open source project resides in Github. Also it does have a little downtime which does cause a little loss in productivity but with all its other features and the fact there is so much right there in the free tier itself I'm not complaining.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 14, 2018
Alexander B.
Software Engineer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 29, 2018

“Simple and powerful”

ProsIntuitive and easy-to-use interface, enlisting and cloning repos, browsing & viewing files, switching between branches and repositories, configuring rights/groups, locking branches etc. We've integrated it with Jira and Jenkins and it worked seamlessly.
ConsIt needs to improve the interface and features for file comparison in merge requests and commit history. 1. Files with moderate amount of changes are collapsed by default. Many reviewers do not notice that and skip reviewing the code and miss major bugs. 2. Larger diffs are not even loaded in review window. Again, it's easy for reviewers to miss such files in merge requests. 3. When viewing the diff, you're limited to a certain unchanged area before and after the diff within the file. You'd have to view the entire file separately and locate the diff in plain file viewer.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 29, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2019

“Keep your project private all the time”

OverallI am using the GitLab for my startups and the projects that I have and I have a developer team and this tool makes easy to contribute to the project and our project is always private and only the members of the team could access it.
ProsGitLab is also a version control system and it has all the functionalities as other competetives. The cool thing about gitlab is that it provides you free private repository for free. As it is known that in most software projects the confidentiality is one of the key issue and people always want to keep their codes private. For this people GitLab is the right place
ConsWhile using this tool I have not faced with any problems or case that I dont like. The only reason is that there not to much people who know about this software and they are preferring other platforms for version controls.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2019
Avatar Image
Sourav K.
Administrator
Higher Education, Self-employed
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 12, 2018

“The best code repo manager”

OverallI have been keeping all my software repos, which is the life blood of our business, on GItlab since quite some time.
ProsWhen I started out freelancing I was very worried about where to keep all my code repositories. Though Github was available, the free tier did not allow private repos. Not only does Gitlab's free tier gives me private repos they put no limits on the number of repositories as well and to top it all also supports Continuous Integration. I could also download their source code to host all our repos in our private server if need be. If you are a dev, signup for gitlab right now. You really do not know what you are missing.
ConsThere is nothing I would consider as a con to Gitlab, but just for the sake of being non biased I would say that it does miss a feature its arch rival Github provides for free and that is being able to host static pages right on their servers, from the HTML code in your repos. I wish Gitlab has this too.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 12, 2018
Gareth N.
Web Developer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 14, 2019

“Great but with hiccups”

ProsIt provides almost everything you'd expect when hosting your projects. The workflow from merge request to assigning reviewers is as easy as it gets. Being able to use Docker with our pipelines and creating runners makes deployments a breeze. The look and feel of the UI when compared to its competitors is also a major plus. Gitlab really makes it easy to dissect your ever changing code repositories, I'm glad it's one of the few services that make my job easier.
ConsThe only downside is the uptime with their services. It doesn't happen too often but always when you don't want it to, I think that's what causes the annoyance. When their systems are struggling, you'll have pipelines hanging or taking forever to complete. It's not ideal when you need stuff deployed ASAP.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 14, 2019
Muhammad Syafiq H.
Software Engineer
Human Resources, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 8, 2019

“The Best Alternative”

ProsBesides the fact that it has unlimited private repositories on the free tier, it also gives you build minutes. Build minutes basically mean that you can tap on their CI/CD network of machines to run and test and even deploy your code. All for free! GitHub can do that with external providers, but having it all in one platform is awesome. For those who are afraid of your code getting stolen or something when using an online platform, Gitlab also provides the ability to self-host. With the self-host option though, you have to configure the runners yourself -- not a big deal, just a small hassle.
ConsThe self-host option has a certain degree of complexity to it. The gitlab.com version does not have too much traffic like that of GitHub.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 8, 2019
Dylan E.
Software Programmer
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 7, 2018

“Our main versioning system because of its easy of use”

OverallThis software versioning system is very easy to use and allows us to have confidence in the fact that our software is always safe and protected.
ProsThe interface is clean and modern. It is easy to navigate and every option is in a logical place. The GitLab team is working very hard on updating the application, adding new features, improving the interface etc. and they are generally very good in updating customers about these changes. They also regularly send out security updates and information, which is very comforting for us as users.
ConsAlthough the updates are helpful or improve something, the number of them, along with the fact that the changes they incorporate on the front-end are quite big, often mean that it takes me a few days to adjust to the changes of an update as I am looking for where certain features have been moved. In the end it is a minor inconvience, but I would appreciate less changes to user interface management.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 7, 2018
Joseph P.
Game Designer
Computer Games, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 1, 2018

“The best version control solution I have ever used.”

OverallI've been using GitLab for years as my project management and version control solution. Having this vast tool-set in one place has significantly cut down on the tedium of trying to manage project across multiple services, and resulted in a drastically more efficient workflow.
ProsGitLab is incredibly rich with features, too many to list here, all of which are fully integrated . The level of control and specificity you have at every step of the process is unparalleled, from project planning and issue tracking to code review and documentation. On top of that, the open-source nature of GitLab makes it really difficult not to recommend.
ConsJust in my personal experience, I've found that the onboarding process for new collaborators can be somewhat intimidating when it comes to GitLab.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 1, 2018
Avatar Image
Elliott L.
Developer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 18, 2018

“The absolute best git hosting solution, paid and unpaid”

OverallI have been using loads of git providers for years, GitLab when i want to host my own git server within a company. GitLab definitely gives GitHub a run for their money, I will continue to use it for the foreseeable future, and might even switch to it now that Microsoft own GitHub!
ProsI love the fact that you have the option to host it yourself and you will have feature parity with the paid version. I run it at home for personal projects and its insane how much it can do out of the box with no set up at all. Despite not being a paid customer i recommend the paid version to colleagues regularly.
ConsI honestly have nothing bad to say about GitLab - maybe the command line set up is a bit hard for beginners - but they provide a paid version so that beginners don't have to set it up! 10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 18, 2018
Luc D.
System administrator
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 8, 2018

“I installed and run Gitlab Community Edition for my job, open to everyone.”

OverallThe more we use the continous integration, the more development is easy for us. We manage to create a workflow that allow non-tech people to contribute to HTML code, knowing that it will be valid HTML code thanks to CI. We also use the continous integration to automatically deploy softwares on our infrastructure, reducing our workload.
ProsI like so many things about Gitlab. Continuous integration with Gitlab runners, the Gitlab pages, the webhook system, the fact that it comes with a Mattermost instance And the fact that it continously gain features with each monthly release it's like Christmas presents every month!
ConsWell, the backup of Gitlab takes time, and it sometimes slows down the server. But hey! Security first! And it's not the fault of the software if we host a lot of people and projects.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 8, 2018
Caleb K.
Contract Software Developer
Computer Software, Self-employed
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019

“Unlimited Private Repositories”

OverallSimple and easy collaboration on closed-source projects.
ProsThere are no limits on private repositories in a free plan. Unlike competitors which limit the number of collaborators or have a more difficult feature set.
ConsI am more used to the UI of a competing platform, so that had some getting used to. But I wouldn't say that's GitLab's fault.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019
Miguel H.
Senior Software Developer
Defense & Space, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 24, 2019

“GitLab for git Management”

OverallManaging multiple repos is a breeze with GitLab.
ProsGitLab is the perfect implementation of a git version control. My favorite parts of GitLab are the extremely confgiruable role-based access levels I can implement for my repositories - allowing people at all levels of my company to freely interact with our source code without having to worry about certain user groups being able to see certain proprietary content or accidentally deleting the entire repo.
ConsOlder versions of GitLab lacked certain quality of life features such as an in-browser diff tool. However new version of GitLab are constantly coming out with new features like this even in the free version so it's not a big complaint.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 24, 2019
Verified Reviewer
201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 27, 2018

“I used Gitlab when I was a member of the Programing development team in Parrot. ”

ProsFull suite of tools including but not limited to repository and issue tracking, milestones & issue boards, group and user management including project and even branch level permissions, continuous integration, scheduled jobs, project wiki, etc. All the features work together and using it to manage projects tends to pulls the details together rather than fragmenting them across different spaces.
ConsIt does kind of make assumptions about workflow that don't hold true for all projects. While it is flexible enough to adapt even when using only a subset of features on a project, it can leave people a little confused and overwhelmed because all the other unused bits are still around in the interface.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 27, 2018
Avatar Image
Mahmud M.
IT consultant
Business Supplies and Equipment, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 6, 2019

“Tool for automated integration and development ”

OverallWith my team, We manage our project. Basically we refer to gitlab in our projects.
ProsGitlab one of 3 tools that I use in my project. Best place to store your repositories and code. It using git version control. There is one nice that, Gitlab always bring updates to features. There are variety of choose to organize and manipulate your code. Gitlab allows to work with larger and smaller teams in order to manage your project. Beside all this, static application security testing (SAST) and dynamic application security testing are very important features that presented by Gitlab. ther quite a lot features that you can utilize from Gitlub. The last one, I want to indicate, for individuals and teams it is very cheap.
ConsI encounter problems while merging. There are many errors in free version and sometimes slow down. according to new features in every update, it is hard to keep in mind every thing. beside all of this, I do not have any bad experience with Gitlab.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 6, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 1, 2019

“Excellent code repository and much more”

OverallGitlab is a great alternative to the market leader and has evolved beyond just SCM to full CI/CD develops.
ProsGitlab is a very versatile devops platform. It works very well as a git code repository but also includes additional features (image registry, CI/CD, wiki, issue tracking) that allows it to manage the entire devops lifecycle. Setup is simple with the Community Edition, it runs on-premise or in cloud with minimal hardware requirements. Setting up users, groups, projects, repositories are very straightforward. You can combine gitlab with another CI/CD tools like Jenkins to automate CI testing or just use Gitlab on its own. This gives you the flexibility to use existing investments while having Gitlab for source code management. I especially liked the issue tracker which allows for better collaboration towards solving issues.
ConsCompared to the market leader, there is less of a community-vibe. If I go to github.com, I can search through thousands of different repositories and find many examples and solutions. Same can't be said for gitlab, it really just feels like a private enterprise product. Not necessary a bad thing but it would be nice to have more community focus.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 1, 2019
Avatar Image
Adrian M.
VP of Engineering
Internet, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 11, 2019

“The Entire DevOps Lifecycle”

ProsGitLab isn't just for hosting your code, it's for the entire lifecycle of your code. Since they host code, it makes sense for them to provide services around development and getting code into production. Their integration into other services is really easy. They give you GitLab-CI for any CI/CD needs, driven from a yaml file. You also get integrations into Prometheus and Kubernetes, which make deployment and monitoring a breeze.
ConsGitLab could do with a bit more polish. Due to the many features, it's often difficult to find a setting that you need. Often you need to search around a little to find it. Some of the documentation isn't very good either.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 11, 2019
Ishara P.
engineer
Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2019

“Best Distributed Version Control”

OverallI have used with jenkins for CI/CD and developing PHP projects.
ProsEasy to use and easy to cope with rather than other.
ConsFree tier is must increase to more users.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2019
Dominic R.
Systems Architect
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 13, 2018

“A great alternative to the market leader”

OverallGitLab was a lifesaver for us as a small startup development team. Once we graduated to more enterprise-grade development, we switched from GitLab to the market leader, however we didn't NEED to "upgrade" for any particular reason.
ProsGitLab has all the functionality of the other major players in this segment and even a few unique ones, all for a better price, especially if you self-host. For an small development team, it was invaluable to get all the benefits of git in a free self-hosted repository platform.
ConsThere are not many cons, but the one is that it is NOT the largest market leader (trying to not use their name in this review). While there is a large community for GitLab, if you are troubleshooting or trying to figure out exactly how certain features work, you'll end up with a lot of results for GH instead of GitLab.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 13, 2018