InStaff Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About InStaff

Lightweight HRMS & ESS. Works with Sage Payroll, Viewpoint ERPs, QuickBooks, Payroll Mate and more! Printing, folding and stuffing envelopes every pay period? If you're looking for a better way to deliver pay stubs after processing payroll, meet InStaff. Optional HR modules are available such as: document & file management, employee directory, announcements, private files, time-off & vacation requests, timetracking & timesheets online. Learn more about InStaff

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 30 of 30 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 30 of 30 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Karen H.
Office Manager
Financial Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 23, 2018

“Excellent product; a real time saver”

OverallUsing Instaff has significantly reduced time spent issuing & filing paystubs & T4s. Historical information is stored in one place and easy to retrieve. We have experienced notable savings on time, paper, storage & filing
Prosthe software is easy to use, errors are easily corrected & support from Instaff is readily available.
ConsThere is a time stamp in the history that doesn't match up to real time. I find that very puzzling.

Vendor Response

By Hutility Integrated TechSystems on November 27, 2018
Thanks for the kind words Karen! As for the timestamp issue, your account's timezone settings were not set up. We've fixed that for you so the timestamps should show correctly now. -- The InStaff Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 23, 2018
Indu P.
Payroll coordinator
Railroad Manufacture, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 4, 2018

“User friendly ”

ProsVery friendly user Easy to follow steps Easy to send invitations Easy to upload pay documents Simple
ConsWhen uploading pay Documents, need to Refresh It should be automatic Rather than a need to refresh

Vendor Response

By Hutility Integrated TechSystems on November 23, 2018
Hi Indu, We appreciate your feedback. We've taken your suggestion and we're happy to say you no longer have to refresh the pay document upload page. It will automatically update the statuses once ready. Thanks! The InStaff Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 4, 2018
Ryan P.
Financial & Operations Coordinator
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 29, 2019

“Great Software”

OverallIt's been great! Any time I have an issue the support staff are very responsive and fix it right away for me.
ProsHow efficient and time saving it is. Just have to upload the paystubs and send a notification for the staff to let them know that there is a new document for them.
ConsThere really has not been anything to not like about this software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 29, 2019
Orjon L.
Payroll administrator
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 22, 2019

“Perfect business tool”

OverallWe are using InStaff for our payroll. All our employees have access on the portal, they submit their timesheets, with details of hours, overtime, project, task, units ect. Our Project managers are controlling the timesheets and approving them. Accounting is second level of controlling and gives the final approve. All the timesheets are uploaded to the accounting program. Now we need the 1/3 of the process time for payroll
ProsEasy to insert data, compatible with our accounting program
ConsCan't find for the moment. We use this tool for more than a year now
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 22, 2019
Sue H.
Payroll Manager
Construction, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 31, 2019

“Self Services ”

OverallFor most part, it meets our business needs.
ProsThat employees can access their paystubs and T4 's & Releve 1
ConsIt would only upload 1 T4 and we have employees who have multiple T4 Lack of communication when it comes to an upgrade therefore it caused us issues when processing our bonus run.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 31, 2019
Anna W.
Operations Team Manager
Oil & Energy, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 10, 2019

“Very pleased”

OverallWe have used InStaff to securely deliver employee pay statements and other important documents to our employees.
ProsThis is a user-friendly software that has allowed us to deliver important information to our employees in a timely manner.
ConsWe had some difficulties figuring out the setup, but once that was in place, it was a breeze. The support we received was excellent.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 10, 2019
Lynne A.
Business Co-ordinator
Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 17, 2019

“Best Software”

OverallCouldn't have a better relationship. Everything promised was delivered and questions quickly answered.
ProsVery friendly software. Easy to navigate.
ConsNo complaints whatsoever, have not experienced anything yet.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 17, 2019
Karen S.
Financial Manager
Mental Health Care, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 21, 2019

“InStaff is Great for our Small Business”

OverallInStaff has been an excellent platform for helping us solve our paystub delivery dilemma. Being new to direct deposited payroll we did not have an efficient means of getting paystubs to our employees in a timely manner. We have only used the product for a couple of month's, but things are working well. We have gotten nothing but positive feedback.
ProsThe platform is very user friendly. It is straightforward and easy to navigate. Users can manage their own password information, but administration can easily help out when the need arises.
ConsWe would like to see some formatting options for the email notifications. Options for Bold, Italics, and colors along with possibly a few font options would be nice in order to draw attention to certain points in the notification. It is customizable as far as wording, but nothing that draws your attention.

Vendor Response

By Hutility Integrated TechSystems on May 22, 2019
Thanks for the review Karen! We'll pass on the feedback regarding email formatting to our development team.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 21, 2019
Cindy C.
Bookkeeper / Office Manager
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 24, 2019

“Great Resource for HR Communications”

OverallWe post paystubs, year end tax statements, health insurance booklets, policy notices, etc. InStaff techs are very easy to talk to and make the changes that I need.
ProsEasy to use. All employee communications in one location.
ConsThe monthly cost is a bit higher than we would like to pay.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 24, 2019
Trevor M.
Controller
Packaging and Containers, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 14, 2019

“Paystub Perfection”

OverallThe staff are professional and know there stuff. Any issues I have had have been addressed extremely quickly.
ProsThis software is an absolute breeze to use. We were looking for a solution without breaking the bank or outsourcing our payroll function. InStaff provided a perfect solution that allowed us to stop printing out pay advice and upload them to the cloud for our employees to see their information on a self-serve basis. Overall, this is the exact solution we were looking for, and its easier to use that I anticipated!
ConsNothing - its exactly what we needed. Couldn't have asked for a better solution.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 14, 2019
cynthia c.
accounting manager
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 17, 2019

“First time payroll user ”

Proswas very easy to get set up. is a very helpful tool in our office . We have to add and delete employees sometimes weekly as we have union workers doing most of our work. .. the program is easy to edit and keep updated .
ConsI really cannot find a thing i do not like with this .. yet anyway .. have been using it since the beginning of this year .
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 17, 2019
Frank T.
Payroll Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 23, 2018

“Excellent and easy to use”

OverallThe ease of payroll process, no paper friendly for environment
ProsThe ease of use of the software and the support team is wonderful to deal with. The training was very easy, the implementation
ConsThere is no cons to speak of as it is al working well and implemented perfectly The ease of use of the software and the support team is wonderful to deal with. The training was very easy, the implementation
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 23, 2018
Jennifer G.
Bookkeeper
Accounting, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 25, 2019

“Good product”

ProsEmployees had T4s and paystubs all in one place. Didn't have to email everyone out individually. Was easy to use.
Consupdating with new employees sometimes was a pain.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 25, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 9, 2018

“The Instaff Portal provided the perfect solution for our organization.”

ProsInStaff has a few benefits that exceed any software that provides the same functionality. We love the scalability. We are very pleased with the cost for distributing Pay Stubs as it is document based rather than a fixed fee, The support and Implementation assistance we received was very fast and effective with virtually no implementation issues. This software and the Instaff Team has been a great experience for our Company.
ConsWe have nothing but positive things to say about the Instaff Portal... Since we discovered the Instaff Portal for Distributing our Paystubs, our employees have had no issues retrieving their Pay Stubs.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 9, 2018
Ksenia B.
Payroll Coordinator
Construction, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 29, 2019

“Instaff Review”

OverallI would say that now I have a very pleasant experience working with Instaff. It's been a while since I had any issues with the system
Prosit's user friendly: easy to setup and operate
ConsThere had been multiple issues at the very beginning, such as the problem with parsing the paystubs
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 29, 2019
Megan K.
Accounting Technician
Accounting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 24, 2019

“Great Product”

OverallThe biggest benefit of InStaff is that once the documents are uploaded there is no time wasted having to resend payslips because employees deleted or can't find the original emails. The employees have access to their portal and all the information that they need without having to go through their employer and then through our firm.
ProsI like how user friendly the software is, it makes explaining to clients how to use the portal really straight forward and uploading documents is very easy . I also really appreciate the response time of the support staff. They answer within minutes and work very quickly.
ConsSo far I don't have any complaints about the software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 24, 2019
Shawn B.
Accounts Payable/Payroll Coordinator
Furniture, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 14, 2019

“Instaff Customer Review”

OverallThe overall experience using instaff for our paystubs needs has been a positive and was a good decision. In the short time we have been using the software we have not had any issues and have noticed changes made on their end that have improved the program on our end.
ProsThe Instaff Software that we currently utilize is very user friendly and easy to learn and navigate. And most importantly is saves our company valuable time mainly in administration and reducing lost production time.
ConsIf I had to pick something I would say occasionally the time some files take to upload/process can linger but this is usually resolved through a refresh.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 14, 2019
Denise B.
Payroll Manager
Hospitality, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 17, 2019

“Instaff Review”

OverallI no longer have print pay stubs and all that entails. We are saving on supplies and time. I love it!
ProsIt uploads quickly and there is very little lag time when inviting an employee.
ConsSo far I haven't had any problems which is great.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 17, 2019
Katja R.
Bookkeeper
Accounting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 24, 2019

“Great support”

ProsSupport staff was amazing in helping us getting set up. We are only using it for publishing paystubs and it works great for that
ConsInitial trial with time keeping seemed a bit complicated
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 24, 2019
Avatar Image
Tammy M.
Business Solutions Consultant
Accounting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 26, 2018

“Excellent Customer service”

OverallProvides a professional look and feel to this component of our firm's payroll service. This was the last piece to the puzzle that gives our firm the ability to offer a complete payroll service to our clients.
ProsWe really like that we can run our payrolls on our schedule, but have all the paystubs go out at a designated time in the future. The support team at InStaff is very responsive.
ConsOnly one small issue, we have to reestablish a connection to QBO each payrun to update employees. Thankfully doesn't take long to do and appears to be an issue on the QBO side of the integration.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 26, 2018
Avatar Image
Holly B.
Server/Bartender
Food & Beverages, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 17, 2019

“Love this program ”

ProsI like that any information that you need is right at your fingertips
ConsI did not find anything that I didn't like about this software
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 17, 2019
Cathie H.
Owner
Accounting, Self-employed
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 14, 2019

“Such a Time Saver”

OverallInstaff is easy to use and saves a lot of time. Support is responsive and quick.
ProsI can easily upload all of my pay documents to one secure please. Before I used to have to put a password on each one and email them. Such a Time Saver!
ConsI would like to be able to upload other documents aside from T4s and Pay stubs - For example: T2200 and ROEs

Vendor Response

By Hutility Integrated TechSystems on May 15, 2019
Thanks for the review Cathie! Someone will be reaching out to you regarding a possible solution for T2200s and ROEs
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 14, 2019
Cynthia G.
CEO/President
Telecommunications, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 18, 2019

“Awesome”

ProsEasy, Efficient and good value. Provides a self service employee portal for my call center agents to view their paystubs, company policies and other pertinent information.
ConsN/A-Provides me exactly what I need. No cons.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 18, 2019
Ray M.
Operations Manager
Food & Beverages, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 14, 2019

“Great Product”

OverallInStaff has been great for publishing my employees paystubs, saves paper and saves time as before I was creating OneDrive accounts for all my employees and then uploading their paystubs to their accounts individually.
ProsI love the ability to upload all my employees paystubs at once and have an easy place for them to login and view their paystubs and t4's.
ConsThe program itself could use a bit of a face lift
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 14, 2019
Camille D.
Digital Marketing Specialist
Health, Wellness and Fitness, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 6, 2019

“Eco-friendly, time saving, money saving!”

Pros- You don't have to wait after your accountant to send you your pay stub anymore -Everything is gathered at the same place: very useful and nothing to worry about anymore -Eco-friendly (less paper) and money-saving (less paper, less ink, less sendings
ConsNothing to add, I'm totally satisfied with my experience so far!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 6, 2019
Nikkie L.
Office Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 9, 2018

“Easy to use plat form”

OverallNo longer need to email out paystubs one by one.
Prosthe ability to upload paystubs and not have to worry about distributing them via email or printed copies.
Cons1) needs to manually sync employee list every time when there is a new employee added. 2) needs to manually upload paystubs on every payroll. it would be great it everything is automatic.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 9, 2018
Verified Reviewer
11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 9, 2018

“Cover our need!”

OverallPaystub portal for employees.
ProsGreat customer service, quick reply! Has all the features we needed fast. There's still some that I want to try in the futur.
ConsNeed some help to setup. Not user friendly, even for a power user. Could use a tutoral our highlight some common feature on top of the menu.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 9, 2018
Michelle M.
Owner
Food & Beverages, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 14, 2019

“Awesome Program!”

OverallIt's been a great asset to our operations.
ProsIt's easy to use and having one place for my employees to access their paystubs is perfect!
ConsIt could use a fresh look, it looks like a program made in the early 2000's, updated colours, different font, just an overall smoother look would be nice!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 14, 2019
Richard M.
Owner
Accounting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 14, 2019

“Excellent Solution for Large Number of Employees”

OverallInstaff is a great and efficient solution to our payroll record distribution needs. The function and end results are exactly what we were looking for in a system like this.
ProsOur payroll consists of nearly 30 employees. Instaff takes away the work out of having to manually email or hand out paystubs to employees. It's also great for sending the numerous T4's at the beginning of the year.
ConsThe menus and interface aren't particularly intuitive. It takes some time to get used to where to find all the features that we need.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 14, 2019
Bianca P.
Financial Analyst
Telecommunications, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 14, 2019

“Instaff - software to have”

ProsYou save time cause dont d'ont have to print each paystubb of each employee. You dont be disturb every time by employere who want is paystubb.
ConsAt beginning, when we change accountant, i have difficulty to log into quickbook, we dont have the good autorisation, and i dont find any information about that. but i chat with customer service and we fix the problem :)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 14, 2019