MicroSale Ratings

Overall
3.5/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Service
3.5/5

About MicroSale

For restaurants of all sizes to automate your business processes and improve profits. Learn more about MicroSale

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 22 of 22 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 22 of 22 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 11, 2018

“Fails to function on important features”

OverallI lost a lot of money because of Microsale
Proseasier to use than most other POS Systems I think, but there are enough problems that I cannot recommend it
ConsImportant features, including the reason I purchased MicroSale fail to function. There is a feature called "Text Overlay" that turns itself off after a couple days, a tech has to turn it back on. But it keeps turning itself off and it has been going on for years and I have given up. That means the money down the toilet for a fancy DVR that supports Text Overlay. The support company blames Microsale (not the new DVR that supports Text overlay) and they have never fixed the problem that has been going on for years. There are other buggy problems as well, including Microsale dropping Credit Card transactions after they are completed without leaving any error message., there is no error or warning message, and the Credit Card Transaction does not batch, and my business does not get funded. This was finally discovered by the Merchant Company since Microsale did not flag the long term problem. These are not short term problems, they are long term or permanent

Vendor Response

By KIS Software on July 2, 2018
Hi there, we are sorry to hear about the dissatisfaction. For DVR functionality, MicroSale creates a simple text export and sends the data to the DVR. As long as your workstations are on, the text overlay will send to the DVR. As far as dropping charges, is the internet on while running cards? It sounds like perhaps you had some offline charges using cards that did not have enough funds. I'd like to connect with you to work out these issues. Since this review is anonymous, I do not have your info. Please reach out to megan@microsale.net or 813-681-1875x509. We will get you taken care of ASAP.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 11, 2018
John B.
Owner
Restaurants, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Source: Capterra
June 24, 2017

“Customer service, none. Your dealer has to contact them to solve problems. EastCst hrs, no weekends!”

OverallHeadaches, bad dealer. Company takes no responsibility for problematic programming. As soon as they take your money your on your own.
ProsAesthetically modern, lots of manager capabilities and reporting. I like the sales statistics, and labor cost reporting. The options are limitless if you can figure out how to program them in.
ConsLimited abilities with button selection. Will not let you customize. Cannot have a drive thru operate as a dine and and to go station. They cannot simply add a button that flips to to go; what does that tell you? Also, you cannot do multiple batches unless they say if you use their processor instead of yours.

Vendor Response

By KIS Software on June 26, 2017
We are disheartened to see this review of our software. Hopefully this response will help clear up confusion. 1) Buttons can be fully customized-color, shape, size, pictures. 2) We can disable the functionality if you do not want to allow dine in orders on the drive thru terminal. However, many of our customers need this feature as they have a single terminal for multiple order destinations. This prevents the customer from purchasing multiple terminals and multiple software licenses. 3) You can batch as many times as you would like. We are not a credit card processor and do not have a specific processor that you must use. We have direct integrations to Mercury, Sterling, First Data North, Worldpay, CHASE, Solupay, Heartland and more. 4) We cannot control our dealers¿ support hours, as each dealer is an independent company. However, we have a 24/7 + Holiday support center. We would like to request you to consider these points and revise your review of our product. Thank you!
Source: Capterra
June 24, 2017
Kathleen B.
Owner
Food & Beverages, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2017

“Nice value and easy to learn. ”

OverallThe MicroSale system is good for small to medium restaurants. There are some quirks: my servers have learned not to add gratuity until the very end. The same is true for splitting checks ... it gets glitchy if you add things after. The customer support is really helpful. They have saved us after a power outage that lost all our data. Overall a good system.
ProsEasy to use. Good for new servers. Not too expensive.
ConsSometimes it struggles with split checks with large parties. You yet have to learn the work arounds for the glitches.
Recommendations to other buyersI was promised free customer support upon purchase. So I'm still a little miffed that 2 years later I had to start paying $ for it.

Vendor Response

By KIS Software on March 14, 2017
Thank you for your review. The gratuity floats which means the gratuity increases as the check total increases. You may have an older version that does not include that feature. We would also like to learn more about your issues with split checks - in the past year we have added additional flexibility to splitting checks such as touching multiple items (instead of individually) to add to a new check, the ability to split single items unlimited times and then combine items again that were accidentally split. Since we are not an ISO or credit card provider directly, we do charge for 24/7 support when customers use our direct services. I sincerely apologize for the issues and we want to get your site working correctly as soon as possible. Please email info@microsale.net and we will have a technician immediately look into your issues.
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2017
John B.
President
Restaurants, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
3/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 6, 2018

“After 3 years of product”

OverallVery difficult! Cannot reach anyone from customer service easily. Not available on Weekends and only available on East Cost Time. After 1:p.m. on PST no body is available for certain. We have always had issues of receipts printing incorrectly (ex. customer paid with CC, and the total at the bottom of the receipt say $0 balance cash.) We always wanted 1 receipt for the customer only, yet we get 3! The problem is that they always blame net e pay or our bank, they do not take responsibility for their programming. I really feel that as soon as we get our money worth and we have used up the system as best as we can, we will probably look elsewhere in the next few years. Too bad, there is potential but the program is too big to have so many limits on small requests we have asked for.
ProsThat after it sends the order it does not allow the cashier to go back and make changes; this helps to avoid theft.
ConsToo difficult to make menu changes; especially in sub category sections. Very sensitive when making a change, a lot of bugs. Too many options, not user friendly from the Manager menu. Very buggy with CC chip reader, at times not compliant with the banks systems and with Microsoft 10 Pro.

Vendor Response

By KIS Software on September 13, 2018
Hi John. Thank you for taking the time to fill out an additional review and providing useful feedback. We will be in touch to address your concerns. Thank you.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 6, 2018
Avatar Image
Michael S.
Service Technician
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 26, 2018

“Microsale PoS dealer since 2005 and KIS/Micro$ale has been amazing”

OverallGreat software, easy installation with the right dealer, runs fast in good solid hardware, support is amazing!
ProsOur staff of IT technician are able to troubleshoot 90% of the issues ourselves for the customer very rarely do we have actual software bugs or issues and when we do they are fixed quickly with an update free to all customers in that version. (COTS)commercial off the shelf solution on hardware allows the software to be extremely compatible with hardware. Fast programming of menus, discounts, employees and jobs. Payroll is unbelievably easy, reports reports reports seriously so many reports and graphs and pie charts. Transaction review and audits create more accountability than any other pos I've installed or used, giving managers and business owners the ability to see everything that was touched, rang in, etc (great trading tool, also stops employee theft giving the owner yet another tool from Microsale.
ConsNo ability to text from reservation screen yet High upfront purchase cost (but you get what you pay for so con/pro)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 26, 2018
Eva W.
Manager
Restaurants, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
March 15, 2017

“Use Microsale!!!!!”

OverallOur Company had Microsale installed from the first day we opened and it has been great. The system is very easy to use and it does include support with the package that was included for our company. Sometimes you have to leave a message with a description of your problem, but someone does call you back and try and help fix any issue you are having. The menu is very user friendly and employees are able to pick it up very quickly. A couple of items I do want them to fix on Microsale machines are ... The time the order is due to the customer should be printed on the kitchen ticket and any dessert items should show up on the kitchen ticket as well. Right now there is no time due on the tickets and the dessert items ordered do not print out on the kitchen ticket with the rest of the order.
ProsSoftware is very user friendly.
ConsSome items did not print on the ticket ... like time order is due to the customer.
Recommendations to other buyersN/A
Source: Capterra
March 15, 2017
Avatar Image
Sam E.
Student
Higher Education, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 25, 2018

“We used this POS system at a bar and restaurant I worked at during summers the last two years”

ProsI don't have another POS system to compare to, but this one worked great. I mainly tended bar so what I needed was to start and close out tabs, store credit cards for regulars, and do it all quickly and easily. This program did that. Also very easy to customize buttons and button locations for food add-ons or menu changes. Great customer service, our rep would answer phone calls at all hours and was helpful.
ConsIn general it had a steep learning curve, as would most of these types of programs I'd wager. Lots of areas of the program that I never used, so it felt bulky and dense and confusing. Would occasionally crash causing absolute mayhem on a busy Friday night and we would have to wait until Monday morning for the guy to come fix it. Cash only!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 25, 2018
Erik S.
CFO
Restaurants, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 11, 2018

“MicroSale”

OverallOverall the experience has been ok. It comes down to the basics, you get what you pay for.
ProsThe most I liked is the support is always willing to try to help as much as possible even when they have no idea what they are talking about or if they have no idea how to solve the problem I can tell they try really hard anyway.
ConsI do not like the fact that after many phone calls and emails regarding our pos, our issues are still not solved. The daily close feature always errors. Also the credit card tips are not able to be applied for some reason, it says "tip not found." So anyway there are many bugs that need to be fixed before anything.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 11, 2018
howard l.
managing partner
Restaurants, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 5, 2018

“love the software but the support is sometimes challenging”

OverallI have used microsale for 7 years and am very happy with the software although the support can sometimes be trying.
ProsIt is easy to learn , great options, easy to add to, allows for so many multiple variances on each menu item. We have a very extensive menu and it allows for all items and options to be listed.
Conschanging color options on menu buttons sometimes challenging...but could just be me. Sometimes, to make modifier or button changes, etc. can be a bit confusing
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 5, 2018
Mallory M.
Manager
Restaurants, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 28, 2018

“Worked with this system for years!”

OverallBeen using this system for years. This was the first POS system we used when we went away from button cash registers.
ProsYou can customize the data screens to make it the system easy and efficient for your staff.
ConsSome of the programing in the back office is difficult. I feel like there should be easier ways to program items and search reports.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 28, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 11, 2018

“Always felt that tech support wasn't a priority - needed it more often than I would have liked.”

ProsThe time card management was super good. I loved that feature. I also liked the way it printed a time card for employees to review. I liked the feel and look of the front end.
ConsThe reports didn't download to excel - only pdf. The cost to upgrade was out of reach for us - tech support license was too expensive as well.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 11, 2018
Jennifer B.
day manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 11, 2018

“You get what you put in. Can be very detailed if you take the time to set it up completely.”

ProsFor the most part easy to use. Customer service is always friendly and work till they solve any issues.
ConsRPM is my least favorite part of the software. If the reports were in alphabetical order it would be so much better and easier to use.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 11, 2018
Richard B.
owner
Food & Beverages, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 7, 2018

“Simple, pretty straight forward,”

Overallvery easy to train on
ProsEasy to use, reports are very accessible. Gives the information to you that is relevant. payroll is very easy.
Consinternet connections seem to be finicky. sometimes shows error messages for no reason. shuts down sometimes for no reason.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 7, 2018
Richard M.
Owner
Restaurants, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2017

“A great customer support Company.”

OverallI have been with MicroSale for over 20 Years. I have always received top notch support and advice from the support staff. He reacts quickly to any problem I come across. This is very important for my restaurant business. MicroSale provides value and experience to my business.
ProsEasy to use! Great support.
Consnone I can think of now.
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2017
Lori W.
Office Manager
Restaurants, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 11, 2018

“Been using Microsale for over 20 years. Great product!”

ProsThe software is easy to use and we always get prompt answers when we have questions. The team are great.
ConsIf you restart one of the machines, you tend to have issues during the reboot with the other machines.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 11, 2018
Lori W.
Office Manager
Restaurants, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2017

“Review for Microsale”

OverallWe have been using Microsale for over 20 years. It is a great product, great people! Very user friendly. Staff is knowledgeable and respond very quickly.
ProsUser friendly. Easy to use and also teach new employees.
ConsFew more options for emailing and automated reports.
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2017
Michele C.
Director of Operations
Entertainment, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2017

“Microsale POS review”

OverallMy tech support has almost always been excellent. My only concern is the time that tech support is available.
Prosflexibility and ease of use
Consinability to modify printer settings without tech support intervention
Recommendations to other buyerscompliance issues need to be addresses for chip cards
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Food & Beverages, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 31, 2019

“Great POS! ”

ProsI have used this back in college days when I'm still working while studying. This is the software our restaurant is using to take our customers order and to process their bills. Well, it's very easy to learn how to use. You can customize the menu. This is beneficial on our case since our restaurant is changing the menu daily and sometimes weekly.
ConsI think they can do better with the graphics and display.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 31, 2019
Kurt Z.
Owner/Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
1/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 5, 2018

“One of the worst POS systems we have used. Bugs galore. After hours service is snail paced.”

OverallEase of use to customize orders.
ProsThe range of depth to the system. The system has the ability to add many features to an item which makes it easy to customize orders.
ConsThe system runs slowly. When we reboot the system, random things change. One day credit cards work, next day they don't. The screens move slowly between changes. Sometimes a beef button is selected and a chicken will pop up. Just random crazy things happen all the time.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 5, 2018
mike g.
Owner
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 17, 2018

“switched for the support, what a mistake”

Prosi can't think of one positive this to say, nothing but problems every day, i have lost so much money because of issues with not being able to close checks and having to let customers leave without paying because the help desk wouldn't answer the phone to fix the issues
Conswe have issues on a daily basis , no one that works at the help desk has any idea EVER how so fix them, i have been on hold for 25 minutes as I'm writing this at 3am wanting to go home and unable to run end of day
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 17, 2018
Kerri D.
Owner/Operator
Food & Beverages, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
March 17, 2017

“Positive experience ”

OverallWe have been very happy with the system ! We appreciate all the associates help with getting us set up & enabling us to work the bugs out! We recently did an extensive remodel & this has been a great addition!
ProsIt has really sped up our nightly closing, helps track staff, & the reports are great!
ConsSlightly challenging for non-English speakers
Recommendations to other buyersNone
Source: Capterra
March 17, 2017
Heather C.
Manager
Restaurants, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 20, 2018

“Easy but with Faults.. ”

ProsThis is a great system if you are new to POS and are looking for something easy to learn and inexpensive in comparison.
ConsThe customization with this system is not very wide. Certain features are standard and you can not reprogram or position them.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 20, 2018