ActiveBatch IT Automation Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
5/5

About ActiveBatch IT Automation

ActiveBatch IT Automation by Advanced Systems Concepts coordinates & consolidates automated processes for dynamic enterprise-wide task orchestration & visibility. This includes IT Process Automation, Big Data Automation, Managed File Transfer Automation, Business Process Automation, Infrastructure Automation, Workload Automation and much more. ActiveBatch's low-code approach allows users to build cross-platform, end-to-end workflows, faster & more reliably, improving agility and reducing cost. Learn more about ActiveBatch IT Automation

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 12 of 12 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 12 of 12 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Lourens P.
DEVOPS
Financial Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 24, 2019

“My experiences over the years in ActiveBatch”

OverallWe have used ActiveBatch for the last 5 years and are we happy. So happy that we have moved all our Automation and scheduling to ActiveBatch and that shows the trust few have in the product
ProsPreviously we have used a few scheduling systems but in recent years we have moved all our automation and scheduling to ActiveBatch. Which shows the confidence we have in the product The central location of all our workflows and an operation to view running, failed and successful jobs make ActiveBatch an outstanding product. The execute agent and job scheduler is very stable. ActiveBatch scheduler is brilliant and the use of custom dates and calendars makes scheduling powerful. The PowerShell script option in AB makes scheduling of PowerShell scripts easy. Reuse and reference of scripts in workflows make development quicker. The use of variables on Jobs, schedulers, folders, triggers and task gives us a lot of variety and flexibility. The support team is very good and always eager to help. The only issues we have is the difference in time zones in response from the support team due to that. But it has imporved over the last few months.
ConsWhat I found over the years is when a new version of AB has been released, jobs that were working in the previous release not working in the new version. The new GUI of v12 looks good but is a lot slower and crashes more often than the previous version. To do a simple task and using the internal steps like reading a from DB, loop through the records, setting values to a condition can be a confusing thing. Lately, we have been switching all our jobs that were using job steps to PowerShell scripts because we have more control and options in Powershell.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 24, 2019
Tyson H.
Senior Software Engineer
Financial Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 18, 2019

“Top Notch Automation Capability”

OverallOverall, ActiveBatch is a very solid and capable package that gives you almost everything you could ever want in automation.
ProsActiveBatch is the backbone of our automation operations. We use it to automate a wide variety of tasks from running our own custom data processing software to retrieving FTP to monitoring server status. * The scheduler has amazing variety and flexibility for automating tasks: jobs within plans, variables that change parameters dynamically, constraints on other tasks, triggers for other tasks. * Monitoring status of jobs and plans can be done in a variety of ways, through a UI, through email or other communication, even automated reporting. Almost however you want to look at status, ActiveBatch has you covered. * Great support for integration with other technologies and services. They have a number of packages for integration with third party systems. You can fairly easily integrate with command line tools, custom libraries or web APIs to create custom links. We've even used Powershell to automate ActiveBatch itself. * Their tech support has always been quick to respond and genuinely willing to dig deep to help solve the problem.
ConsOnly a couple cons come to mind. * With increased flexibility and capability come increased complexity. It's easy to get a couple jobs going, but there is a learning curve to use the full capability. There is no free training (like self-guided course), though perhaps that's changed since the last time I looked, and the documentation is difficult to wade through. * We do see quirky behavior indicative of small bugs that will manifest themselves after weeks of operation. Although I would consider it stable, every now and again something strange happens (weeks between occurrences) and it's time to restart the service. It's not the same thing every time and support has always helped us navigate unexpected behavior.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 18, 2019
Daniel H.
Principal Software Engineer
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 19, 2018

“I have been using ActiveBatch since 2015. This is the best Enterprise Job scheduler on the market.”

OverallWe now have a better Enterprise Job Schedule in our IT shop.
ProsI was tasked to find a Enterprise Job scheduler for LA Metro. I evaluated many job schedulers such as Redwood, Cisco Tidal and Activebatch. Activebatch was the one that stood out the most because of its ease to use and its features and functionality. I was able to setup the software and started to use it in 1 day. The user guide is really helpful specially the case studies. I was able to create jobs at no time. What I like most about this software is the ease of use and the versioning control. To ease the transition from other job scheduler to Activebatch, I created job templates allowing various group in ITS to convert existing jobs or create new jobs based on a template and then modify them accordingly to meet their needs. This has cut down the job creation/conversion time tremendously instead to creating them from scratch. This approach helps quickly bring ITS staff member up to speed and give them the confidence to start using ActiveBatch right the way. Finally, I would like to commend the customer support desk. They provide excellent services. I always learn something new every time I call them up. The problem resolution turnaround time is impeccable.
ConsMaybe, more advance case studies should be provided on the user guide such as Crystal Report, email workflow, ActiveBatch Web Service examples, etc...
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 19, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 9, 2018

“Active Batch Is One Of The Greatest Software Applications Ever Devised! ”

OverallThis application is the driving force at First Rate Inc. It flawlessly runs all of our overnight processing jobs and helps us to see performance trends. It help us to meet our SLA's wit our clients. Hands down one of the greatest software applications ever devised and keeps getting better!
ProsIf it's digital this application can probably create an automated task to do whatever you need, and do it extremely efficient. We have come up with some very complex plans/Jobs and I doubt we have even scratched the surface on what this application is capable of doing. I cannot stress enough how Active Batch can transform your company! The ROI on this application is astronomical. Once you see how powerful it is you will agree. I'm not being paid to say these things, I like and breath Active Batch almost every day and I always say, how did we stay in business before we started using Active Batch!
ConsIt's a complicated piece of software and we found it a little difficult to wrap our brains around the creating of jobs, and variables, however, ASCI support is the best in the business and they worked with us to get like the first 10 jobs working and from those 10 we were able to really branch out quickly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 9, 2018
Anthony R.
Programmer
Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 31, 2019

“All the tools you need under one roof”

OverallBiggest problems solved are scheduling and job dependency issues. ActiveBatch allows you to make sure jobs run in the order you need them to. Building a workflow on job step dependency where on job kicks off the next as expected. Or utilizing constraints to not run a job multiple times a day if it has already run. It also has a great feedback alert system. to send emails, text messages, etc to let you know when a job has succeeded or failed. New apps allow you to manage jobs from your phone.
ProsIt has tons of features, and options to integrate it's automation into many third party platforms for backups, email, sharepoint, tracking systems. The options for coding automation in your comfort zone is also great. Whether you script in ksh, bsh, cmd, bat, powershell, js, or vb; you can take existing workflows and start scheduling them into ActiveBatch seamlessly. Or do as I do; and integrate all those skills into a jobs library and create a custom ActiveBatch workflow.
ConsSome of those third party integration point cost extra. Probably expected. There is some challenges with security tokens when migrating to new systems.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 31, 2019
Jeanette M.
Programmer/Analyst
Insurance, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 18, 2019

“ActiveBatch is Easy to Use”

OverallWith ActiveBatch it is easy to design and schedule jobs for regular and repeated processes. Our batch runs are reliable on this system, and I have been able to find the functionality needed for all of our scheduling needs. The system is easy to learn and maintain.
ProsAs a developer, I like the option of using the Job Steps editor. There is so much flexibility in the editor. The preset job step types make designing easy, while the jobs steps that allow scripts and code to be run allow for a wide range of additional functionality.
ConsI wish the in system help was a bit more detailed with examples included.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 18, 2019
Karsten H.
IT Infrastructure engineer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 9, 2018

“Great Automation Tool”

ProsI like all the possibilities for automations, scheduling and managing tasks to be carried out automatically. Additionally, service and support from ActiveBatch is fabulous. They are really helpful and responsive.
ConsSince the product is so diverse and can do so much, it can be really hard to get started using the product. Documentation is plenty, but not, at least to me, always easy to understand. However this is definitely made up for by the help and support offered by their support team.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 9, 2018
Brent B.
Senior Solution Architect
Entertainment, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 31, 2019

“ActiveBatch Orchestration Software Works Well”

ProsIt is easy to use and they are constantly innovating and adding new features. The scheduling functionality is reliable and consistent. It makes it easy to automate software.
ConsCustomer support could be better. This reflects them being a pretty small shop without a lot of resources to put into support.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 31, 2019
Patrick T.
Production Support Specialist
Insurance, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 9, 2018

“Overall impressed with capabilities from users and developers”

OverallMaking workflows shorter and smaller.
ProsJob steps library, drag and drop. Calendars and Schedules. Constraints and constraints logics Restart options
ConsMap view in V10. Honestly I'm having difficulty coming up with something else that I like less with the ActiveBatch software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 9, 2018
Jacob R.
DBA
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 31, 2019

“Very useful and easy to use”

OverallScheduling maintenance and other jobs/tasks
ProsReliable no nonsense scheduling that just works.
ConsPowerShell errors can be cumbersome. Also getting other users to manage their own jobs.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 31, 2019
Shivjit S.
Developer
Investment Banking, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 31, 2019

“Automation with full control”

ProsActive Batch is a beast when it comes to running any type of script or package, with varying parameters and varying environments. It has advanced scheduling capabilities and has support for many different runtime frameworks/environments.
ConsIt can be a bit complex to understand once you are working under the layers. Some UI and flow functionality can be improved.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 31, 2019
Avatar Image
Rowan N.
Senior Business Intelligence Developer
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 21, 2018

“Rich features with access to variables in stream and API config allows us to replace other ETL tools”

OverallCuts down time spent creating custom solutions with other tools using critical features right in the tool (API, file trigger, constraints)
ProsRich features and flexibility Access to variables in stream, can replace other ETL tools API config is straightforward File triggers work well Constraints and SQL based variables Decent documentation
ConsSome bugs in UI Some features in UI are confusing and documentation doesn't always help
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 21, 2018