Sync.com Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3.5/5

About Sync.com

Sync.com is a secure Dropbox replacement trusted by over 700,000 businesses and individuals worldwide. Sync makes it easy for your business to share and collaborate securely in the cloud. With zero-knowledge encryption built-in, your files are always safe, secure and private with Sync. Sync's secure cloud storage meets virtually all data privacy rules and regulations in the USA, Canada and the European Union, including HIPAA, PIPEDA and EU-safeguards. Get started with 5 GB free today! Learn more about Sync.com

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 19 of 19 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 19 of 19 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Brahm D.
President
Legal Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
May 12, 2017

“ After 1 year using Pro version of Dropbox and Sync, I now only use Sync.com”

ProsFast. Affordable. Secure. Intuitive. For half the price of Dropbox, plus the ability to recover old versions and deleted files. For business, teams are basically free, compare to Dropbox where an account with teams isan amount per user, sync is a small amount per user. Sync also has a vault feature, which is a nice for backup files and long term storage of files that you want to keep safe and don't need to work with everyday. Love that when you share folders with someone, the shared folders only count toward the original users quota. This makes it possible for a PRO user to share large files with free account users. With Dropbox, I couldn't share large folders with clients unless they had a paid Dropbox account.
ConsIf you try to change too many file or folder names in too short a time, Sync starts to produce conflicting files, especially if you have two computers syncing to the cloud at the same time. Dropbox algorithms seem to resolve file conflicts better. There is not much customer support to speak of, just help boards and email.
Source: Capterra
May 12, 2017
Callista W.
Office Manager
Law Practice, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 26, 2019

“Excellent Storage Solution”

ProsWe chose this software mostly for the security features. We also like that we can have multiple computers in our office sync together, so any one of us can be working on any file and instantly we all have the updated versions of the files. We like that we can share folders with our clients, and clients can also securely upload files into shared folders.
ConsWhen the files are uploading/syncing across multiple machines, it does seem to slow our internet down significantly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 26, 2019
Avatar Image
Eduardo R.
Software Tester
E-Learning, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 19, 2019

“Easy file sharing”

OverallIt's a good service overall, I have a 2TB paid plan. I've been using it to work with a remote team and it's been seamless most of the time. We work on different continents and time zones, as well as different file formats and I haven't encountered any major issues. The only downside I find is the conflicted files when two or more people are working on a document at the same time. Perhaps if there was a way to track changes and merge the files it would be better, but I guess that would be a different service.
Pros- Easy to set up an account. - Easy to install and use in your PC. - Real-time update of documents across machines, cloud, time zones and continents.
Cons- Sometimes due to connection trouble sync is lost and I had to do a manual pause > resume to make it work. - It's hard to go over the work on a conflicted file when two people had the same document open at the same time and saved changes to it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 19, 2019
Avatar Image
Kent K.
Business & eCommerce Consulting
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 8, 2018

“Easy, Secure and Priced Right. What isn't there to like?”

ProsI was looking for an alternative to Dropbox, Google and Microsoft's OneDrive and found it in Sync. I needed something inexpensive and easy for my clients to use. Most aren't tech savvy. They just want to set it and forget it. Another thing going for Sync is it is a secure storage system. They can't look at the file contents and no one else can either. It is encrypted end-to-end. With business plans from 1TB to 10TBs, there is something for any size business.
ConsThe only one that comes to mind is, when a directory is shared between several users/computers, it can take a moment after opening a directory on the computer for it to be updated to show the new files in it. But just a few seconds so nothing major.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 8, 2018
Jake D.
Vice President
Accounting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
November 11, 2016

“Easy Cloud Storage”

OverallI ended up creating a sync account for my tech-challenged aunt who wanted to be a snow-bird but still be able to access all of the files on her desktop from her laptop (for business purposes). I got it setup on both devices, moved the pertinent files into her sync.com folder and it worked like magic. Never any hang-ups and plenty of free storage space for what she needs. I have used dropbox for years personally and in business, but I started her on sync.com because it offers 5 GB of free space (compared to Dropbox's intro offer of 2 GB). I also access sync.com through the web interface to use her files because we collaborate on a few of our clients and it is so easy to download and upload files (that part I prefer sync.com to dropbox) when needed. I've never had any glitches, the speed is incredible, and I have nothing bad to say about sync.
ProsI love the amount of free space and the speed of uploads and downloads.
ConsNothing.
Recommendations to other buyersDownload the desktop app for seamless integration on mac and pc.
Source: Capterra
November 11, 2016
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 13, 2018

“Excellent security”

ProsFirst and foremost, I like that this backup service uses end to end encryption and with servers in Canada. The service works well and usually has a small memory footprint on my mac.
ConsTheir concern for security limits certain aspects of the iOS app, so it doesn't integrate into other apps like competitors. The only thing I miss is on the iOS app is a search function.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 13, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 2, 2018

“Great cloud storage backup for documents”

OverallSimple, safe cloud backup for corporate documents
ProsI like sync.com because it allows us to backup our corporate files and documents, in addition to having local copies. Synchronization is seamless and it supports multiple users to access the files and folders. The storage space they offer is also huge for the premium version. It allows you to create links to access documents, with expiry option for external users.
ConsThe cost can be considered high as compared to other cloud storage applications which offer similar features at no cost
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 2, 2018
Avatar Image
Jan P.
Research And Development Specialist
11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 10, 2018

“My goto file backup and synchronisation tool”

OverallReplaced my old Dropbox account for client files management
Pros- Easy to setup and control the workflow - Fast sync and you can choose exactly what folders to sync - Easy to share folders and documents for sync with other and collaborate - Includes a history for your activities - Can check if a file has been downloaded (great for clients review) - Team shared folders - More pricing options - Easy access and management through the web application
Cons- Does not have as many integrations with third parties yet compared to other platforms - Hard to tell which files and folders are shared and to whom within the desktop app
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 10, 2018
Orlando L.
President
Construction, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 9, 2018

“Great cloud alternative”

ProsIt's a cloud service that is well-priced and with many great security features for sharing files.
ConsIt still needs to have some features that other famous cloud providers have, like unlimited file batch upload from a smartphone.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 9, 2018
Sherri C.
IT Engineer
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 2, 2019

“Don't even think about these guys”

OverallI wanted to like these guys so badly. Now I just want to warn everyone to stay away. I have no idea how anyone uses this product. it is barely functional. I am stuck with a 5 mbps download speed. Nice trap. It will take me most of this year to get my files off Sync and onto a better provider.
ProsI wish I had something to fill in here, but I don't. Every time I try to work with this product, it is just hours of frustration....
ConsPoor tech support. Download speed of 5mbps...seriously. Try to download terrabytes of data with that speed. Raw photography files are not supported for preview..We are talking a standard that is 12 years old now.. You want to find that picture of your summer vacation? You will have to download every file and browse it on your desktop. No version control. No ability to upload or download only. Sync across multiple platforms means everything gets deleted if you make a mistake. Uploading through the browser alters the metadata of the file. I have not had any positive interactions with their tech support since I opened my account with them
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 2, 2019
MUHAMMAD S.
IT Coordinator
Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 26, 2018

“InSync”

ProsSync.com is cloud based drive like drop box. It supports end to end encryption. You can set no of download on any shared file that may help you restricting further distribution of your shared files. You can grant view only, read only, upload and other rights to users. You can set a session timeout limit to avoid too much bandwidth consumption.
ConsSlow upload and download due to end to end encryption
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 26, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Accounting, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 28, 2018

“Sync safe tool for online cloud storage ”

ProsThis platform is a great low cost (free) tool for backing up data files to the cloud in a safe and secure format. I found it very easy to navigate the platform and was able to quickly upload files of various standard formats: pdf, jpg, word, and excel. The mobile app provides ease of access to your e-cloud storage as well the the webplatform that can be accessed from any device.
ConsI can't say that there is anything that I don't like about Sync. I havent run into any specific issues since i started using it a little over a year ago.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 28, 2018
STEVE T.
Owner
Writing and Editing, Self-employed
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 13, 2019

“Sync cloud storage”

OverallI write books. Whenever I close down my writing software it updates the cloud storage automatically to cloud storage.
ProsIt simply sits quietly in the background and gets on with its job. It's free!
ConsNothing. It does everything that it claims it can do
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 13, 2019
Marina Z.
---
Research, Self-employed
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2019

“No No No! This is the most terrible experience I made with clouds ”

OverallNo benefits, only problems and data lost.
ProsNothing positive, only negative experience
ConsI am a private user with 500 GB storage paid for 1 year. 1. The desktop app (version 2.XX, the latest sync.com offeres) is NOT WORKING. Neither under Windows 7, nor under Windows 10 Enterprise. Even after many installations and deinstallations it just keeps indexing, freezing, not synchonising and uploading the data. Instead, it looses the files while the so-called "synchronisation process". 2. The data upload via the browser panel is just pure pain. Watching the upload progress from Europe to the sync.com servers in Canada makes me cry bloody tears: it is just so terribly slow, slooooooow. The browser panel is also not able to reconnect to the cloud once the Internet connection is lost. I do not even mention that while uploading a list of files, some files are not uploaded and I mostly have to restart the WHOLE process. After using the service only for a few days, I am already thinking to ask for the refund. Sync.com is definitely NOT an alternative for Box, Dropbox, Google Drive, OneDrive, etc. It is just pain in the ...s.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Management Consulting, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 31, 2018

“Encryption is great”

ProsPrivacy is the biggest thing that sync offers. Absolutely no fear of losing any files. Easy file upload.
ConsThis offers very limited free storage as compared to google drive or a few other freely available tools. 5GB is certainly not sufficient in today's digital world.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 31, 2018
Amanda G.
Paralegal
Legal Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2018

“Great product... Very pleased so far ”

OverallPositive and efficient
ProsI have used Dropbox for storage in the past but Sync is a better option when considering price per month. It's a secure way to save files which I particularly love because I am in employment law. There are many documents in every case and a safe way to protect these documents is crucial.
ConsI've been using Sync for just under 6 months. I have not noticed any downside to the software to date.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2018
Douglas W.
Executive Director
Non-Profit Organization Management, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 18, 2017

“Straightforward cloud backup”

OverallSecure cloud storage in Canada
ProsCanada based - thus keeping sensitive files in Canada. Encrypted, more secure than some competitors. Easily share files or directories even with non-users. Accessible in browser or app. Maintains a log of activity. 5GB free to start but simple ways to get that increased.
ConsNot as much free space as Google Drive. Easy to overlook compared to Google, Dropbox, etc. Haven't really encountered any issue yet.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 18, 2017
Amanda C.
Owner
Hospitality, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 2, 2018

“Best Ever”

OverallGreat!
ProsEasy to use and secure! Meets my needs! I trialed at least 3 cloud services and this one was the one that I went with!
ConsNo complaints, I have enjoyed using this software. The only thing I would change is instead of having to download a file to view that it just pop up in a view window once uploaded.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 2, 2018
Mark K.
President
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 6, 2019

“seldom updates”

Overallthis problem is affecting our business I do not trust it at all
Prosnot sure what to write here, I don't like anything about it this system doesn't sync
Conswe make changes in our files and it takes days to update, if you are lucky
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 6, 2019