concrete5 Ratings

Overall
4.7/5
Ease of Use
4.7/5
Customer Service
4.1/5

About concrete5

Mobile ready open Source CMS designed to allow your organization to build a website without coding. Learn more about concrete5

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 23 of 23 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 23 of 23 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
David K.
Owner
Accounting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 22, 2019

“Flexible, Customizable, Edit Anywhere Web Sites”

OverallWe needed to upgrade a very old website and do it in stages, when we had time. We needed the website to work on mobile devices as well as computer browsers. Finally, we are a professional firm, so we needed a website that looked professional and not canned or weak. Concrete5 provided us with a solution that worked on cross platforms and provided templates that look professional from the start. We have also been able to develop the site in stages. While we are not completed, we are much closer, much faster than other tools would have provided us. Page styles give us some structure on different sections and multiple users also allow faster setup and maintenance. I will use this on other websites I manage.
ProsConcrete5 is very customizable regardless of the template used, and many templates exist that let you hit the ground running. Most of the editing capabilities work on iOS, so you can perform most edits and design work on an iPad and mobile. The interface is clean and the version control allows some experimenting. I have used blog software and computer based software, but this allows the best of all worlds so far.
ConsThe learning curve to purchase a template and add controls to a web site took a little bit to figure out, but this is done very infrequently. Using a templated page, it also took some time to figure out some heading columns and other columns were fixed and not movable, but so many other areas are customizable, workarounds were fine.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 22, 2019
Tim C.
Marketing Director
Civil Engineering, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 13, 2019

“Solid Development Platform”

OverallOverall, this is the best open source site development solution I've used. The learning curve is a bit steep in terms of creating a fully functional enterprise-level site, but a casual user can get a small, good looking and flexible site up and running in a few hours.
ProsVery easy to maintain and manage with decent flexibility. It also makes use of very reasonably priced add ons through a user marketplace.
ConsUpgrading versions in recent years has become a somewhat harrowing experience. I'd actually suggest not upgrading until you have a compelling reason; say, for instance, you want the functionality of a new add on or theme or the installed add ons stop working correctly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 13, 2019
Jordan S.
CTO/Co-Founder
Internet, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 9, 2019

“Great for end-users and developers”

OverallLove it as a developer and I love providing Concrete5 powered websites to my clients. Doesn't get too much more ideal than that!
ProsI love to provide Concrete5 powered websites to my clients for many reasons. In particular though, the in-context page editing abilities of Concrete5, easy-to-use dashboard, customizable theme styles and extensibility through the Concrete5 marketplace make it a tool that suits a WIDE range of needs.
ConsMy only dislike with Concrete5 is the lack of native e-commerce functionality built into the CMS. If Concrete5 and/or the C5 community were able to develop some simple e-commerce functionality (much like woocommerce) I think C5 could re-gain some market share from other CMS tools in the industry today.

Vendor Response

By concrete5 on August 13, 2019
Good news, there is ecommerce for concrete5 here: https://github.com/concrete5-community-store
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 9, 2019
Jeremy R.
Web Developer/Director
Information Technology and Services, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2019

“concrete5 - The Best of Breed CMS”

OverallFor me as a developer, concrete5 is a great base to build almost any project on. The extremely powerful attribute system lets you add custom categories so you can reuse tried and tested code for free. You can even add your own custom attribute types which can pull from other data sources. The built in user management system, complete with support for Oauth is one less thing you have to code.
ProsAs a user, I love the in page editing features of concrete5. You simply click the edit button, click the content you want to edit, type in the content, save, publish and you're done. No messing about with the dark recesses of a hidden control panel. All that you need is right there in the page.
ConsAs a developer, the documentation is sometimes quite a way behind the product itself or doesn't actually exist at all. This can be frustrating because the underlying architecture of concrete5 is built on the best of breed open source components, and to do things correctly without modifying the core can take time to figure out. It's usually pretty simple once you've figured it out though.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2019
John E.
Lead web developer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 15, 2019

“Hands down best cms / framework”

OverallEven for complexly applications it's usually my preferable platform even over frameworks as it provides the functionality of a framework yet still provides additional functional that is almost always useful regardless of your use case.
ProsThe system is architected using modern object oriented php. It's very easy for front end devs to create websites from mocks that are intuitive to edit for end users using the cms. It provides a foundation similar to a traditional framework for more complex applications with enterprise level permissions and features out of the box. Extending the cms uses an intuitive pattern allowing changes to persist thru updates to the software. It promotes professional programming design concepts and favors traditional programming design patterns over strict convention. The editing experience from a end users standpoint beats drupal, wordpress and joomla hands down. The security track record is impeccable as well contrasted to other cms systems.
ConsOff the shelf plugins are limited but the plugins that are available are properly vetted and less likely to be insecure than wordpress. Developer docs are lacking but if you have a good understanding of php it's easy to follow the code as it follows industry conventions and concepts and theming is a breeze.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 15, 2019
Liv G.
CEO
Sports, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 13, 2019

“Concrete5 Easy to use”

OverallIt's easy and fast to post, edit, and update. The menus are comprehensive and simple and makes keeping your site running easy.
ProsIt's intuitive - the block system is much easier than Wordpress. This power is in the simplicity - but you can make it as complex as you need with add ons. It's much easier to organize your site with Concrete5, also.
ConsThere may be fewer add ons than Wordpress options? But I can't say for sure.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 13, 2019
Ed B.
IT Manager
Internet, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 31, 2019

“Probably the best CMS”

OverallI have been using Concrete5 for over 10 years and cannot see me switching to any other CMS
Pros- You can achieve absolutely anything your customers require with retaliative ease. - Happy customers - The community are always available to help and you can easily communicate with the lead developers.
ConsThe lack of development documentation can cause a few issues.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 31, 2019
Wayne S.
Owner
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 29, 2019

“Great CMS for 80% of websites on the web. ”

ProsConcrete5 ease of use for the end user, is its clam to fame. Simple to learn on page editing and the ability to build out more complex pages.
ConsFrom a development stand point, concrete5 can be hard to use for 3 or more developers on a project. There is no syncing process between local development environments and remote environments this can cause issues on large projects. Also scaling the CMS for very large project (250+ plus pages) might be an issue however, that is more of dev-op issue then a CMS problem.

Vendor Response

By concrete5 on July 30, 2019
Thanks for the great review Wayne, We regularly use bitbucket/github to collaborate with large teams on concrete5 projects and it works very effectively. We've also got sites that are serving well over 10m page views per month by just turning on full page caching and storing some assets in S3, all very easy with concrete5.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 29, 2019
Dimitrios G.
Web Developer
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 30, 2019

“Review on concrete5”

ProsThis content management system is by far the most user friendly system in market. It has a lot of features implemented by default and allows an easy extensibility.
ConsUnfortunatelly the concrete5 marketplace is not in the same level as marketplaces of other products.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 30, 2019
James J.
President
Design, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 28, 2019

“Concrete5 is the Best Content Management System for Small to Medium Sized Businesses”

OverallWe can build a beautiful, fully functioning website in a minimal amount of time and then train the client on how to manage their website with concrete5 in under an hour.
ProsConcrete5 is very easy for users to learn. It is intuitive. With just a minimal amount of training, non-technical users can manage a fairly complex website. Also, development is made easier than concrete5. Creating custom templates, extending concrete5 and designing for it is very simple.
ConsCommunity isn't quite as large as Wordpress so there aren't as many plugins/add-ons for it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 28, 2019
Daniel G.
Web developer
Program Development, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2017

“The greatest CMS”

OverallAs a web developer, two considerations are important when chosing a CMS. The first is the codebase, the quality of the core code. It technically up to date, well structured and the security is up to date. The second point to take into consideration is the usability for the user of a CMS. concrete5 has a very well thought and designed "In Page Editing" feature which makes it easy also for non experienced users to create and maintain their website easily. I can highly recommend concrete5 as a very powerful yet easy to handle CMS
ProsCLean & good code structure, Easy to create a website.
ConsNone!

Vendor Response

By concrete5 on April 17, 2017
Thanks!
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2017
Nikolas V.
Director
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 4, 2017

“Amazing Website Editing Experience!!! ”

OverallOpen-Source with MIT License, soure code provided and is free, many blocks available and it can easily be modified to have different look and feel.
ProsDrag and Drop editor, customization of blocks and layouts is a piece of cake. Really don't think that I would live without this software.
ConsNo mature ecommerce package available for this software, there is package but is outdated. It could have an ecommerce package that would but as awesome as the CMS.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 4, 2017
LUIS N.
Online
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 9, 2019

“Good functionalities”

OverallPositive experience. We have used it for a project and also decided to use it for other similar projects because it is very easy to deploy
ProsVery easy to use. A project can get running in no time. Very intuitive and good numebr of themes available
ConsLimited amount of plugins for some specific purposes
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 9, 2019
Chatchom J.
VP
Outsourcing/Offshoring, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2019

“Awesome, Professional.....Good for programming dumb like me”

OverallI need a website that is responsive to the customer with choices of theme and concrete5 served it.
ProsDrag and Drop, What you see is what you get, Fast and simple to understand procedure
ConsIt consumes a bit too much storage and too little choices of font.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2019
Jamey M. Y.
Content Creator
Internet, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
December 16, 2018

“A brilliant CMS solution for the real web developer”

ProsIf you're a web developer, this is a powerful solution for building a content management system without tricking a blog into being a website and without building a solution from scratch.
ConsIt's not as quick to get up and running as say a WordPress site, but the customizability and efficiency of not having to trick the system to do something it's not really made for is well worth it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
December 16, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 20, 2019

“Concrete5 Has Lots of Potential”

OverallConcrete5 has made it easy for my company to build sites/blogs for the niches that we market to.
ProsConcrete5 makes it easy to get a novice blogger on their way to building a content-based website with a short learning curve. Writing and adding photos is pretty simple. One of the cool features is the ability to create a site that also has its own blog, without having to create two different sites or use two different platforms.
ConsBecause it's not wildly popular (yet), finding add-ons and plugins takes a bit of work and research. And some functionality just isn't available yet.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 20, 2019
Eva K.
Director of Youth and Young Adult Ministries
Religious Institutions, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 20, 2019

“Concrete5 has all you need to get the job done!”

OverallWe've been using Concrete5 for many years for one of our youth summer camp programs. I have very limited website management/design experience. But I find that Concrete5 has easy to use interface that allows me to change and update pages with little to no issue. In all the years we've been using Concrete5, there have been no major issues that would make me considering using different software. Very happy with this software!
ProsEasy to use Updated regularly Free Customer resources for issues
ConsIf I were to pick ANY con, it would be that there isn't a more customer service. But I've never felt like any issue I've had didn't have resources to solve the issue.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 20, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Insurance, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 26, 2018

“Easy, drag and drop type of website creator”

ProsConcrete5 allows its users a sweat-free creation of a website. It's versatile and simple. Being a content producer, I am tasked to create websites to promote our clients and their offers. Concrete5 has helped me achieve that goal without the need for coding.
ConsPackage is good but outdated. Bugs are also noted a few times. Besides that, it still works better than other similar software. Still gets the job done easily and without much hassle.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 26, 2018
Gina G.
Executive Director
Civic & Social Organization, Self-employed
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 27, 2019

“Not much to compare it to, but it works for me!”

OverallI did not choose it, but have learned to work with it. It meets my needs adequately. Any shortcoming that I have with the website are due to the design and not the CMS.
ProsIt's user-friendly for those who are not technologically savvy.
ConsCustom modules are difficult to create and implement for an intermediate-level user/admin.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 27, 2019
Justin R.
Web & Brand Design
Design, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: GetApp
August 13, 2016

Source: GetApp
August 13, 2016
Scott S.
Owner
Internet, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2019

“Great balance between power and ease of use”

OverallMy business often recommends this CMS instead of WordPress for novices.
ProsEasy for novices to use. Easy to build custom plugins and widgets WYSIWYG editing
Cons"Under the hood" documentation is lacking.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2019
Jason P.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Source: Capterra
April 20, 2017

“Quality vs price”

OverallA developer has to make a living, but some of the much needed add-ons for concrete5 are very expensive compared to other counterpart CMS systems. I like some of the features including active dev forums, but it also still has a lot of bugs and limitations. They just made a huge update not to long ago that really nullifies anything you are running previously.

Vendor Response

By concrete5 on April 20, 2017
I'd love to know which add-ons you're referring to? Generally concrete5 ships with far more in the box than most of our competition. Advanced permissions, caching, even bulk SEO tools are all built right in.
Source: Capterra
April 20, 2017
Michele L.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2017

“The best CMS”

OverallI've been using concrete5 for years, and I've been always happy with it. I love its powerful features, it's simplicity, its flexibility and its user friendliness.

Vendor Response

By concrete5 on April 17, 2017
thx
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2017