TimeIPS Ratings

Overall
3.799999952316284/5
Ease of Use
3.799999952316284/5
Customer Service
4/5

About TimeIPS

Computerized time and attendance system including software and optional hardware. Offers scheduling, payroll exports, and clocking. Learn more about TimeIPS

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 12 of 12 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 12 of 12 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Mark F.
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 4, 2014

“Great documentation and support, excellent UI and payroll export.”

ProsThe documentation for TimeIPS is extremely good. They have help (that can be hidden after you learn the system) right on each page explaining what it is doing and giving helpful hints. The online documentation is also very robust. With previous experience with a timekeeping system and the documentation provided, I have rarely needed help with the implementation setup. Their support has been excellent. They have solved any issues we have had and even rolled out a bug fix well in time for our go-live date. The user interface and the options it gives are excellent. It is obvious they have put time and effort into making the web interface easy to use. The help on each page is great (as is the fact that it can be hidden). The top bar can be hidden when viewing reports, giving more screen real estate. There is an option for just about any list of data, reports, or configuration to export to a csv file for easy charting and data manipulation. I also like that they have an onsite option. I am not yet convinced the cloud is the way to go. They have a nice little locked down Linux box that you simply plug in similar to a network appliance; just configure the network and away you go! The time clocks they use are not flashy or pretty, but they work better than the flashy ones we have. We have had little issue with dirty, greasy shop floor hands/fingers. And they have a replaceable keypad, so after the guys punch (literally) the keys for a few years, we can swap it with another $10 USB keypad. But one of the best and most surprising features is the extremely powerful payroll export engine. They have options for delimited, fixed width, justification, optional data, and even expressions so you can do data manipulation on the fly as you create the payroll export. It is a very powerful tool. I was fully expecting to have to do after-the-export data manipulation to the expected output, but TimeIPS was able to fully support our needs out-of-the-box! I would be amiss not to mention the cost. The price, at least for the basic modules, was the lowest of the products we decided to compare. You are allotted a certain amount of hours for implementation (that I have not needed to use) and you get support for a year. You can purchase a support agreement each year, if desired, and that is reasonably priced. Overall, this product represents great value.
ConsOne drawback is the department transfer feature is rather weak. I find this odd, as that seems like a pretty generic requirement. They did implement a bug fix on it, but overall, I think this could be improved. The only other minor problem is that "time snaps," as they call them, are not configurable per shift or schedule, but only by payroll group. Those terms may not make sense unless you are familiar with the product, but it is just an odd way of setting a group time adjustment. Licensing module mix up! We are using a pretty basic version of the software. It's pretty much strictly timekeeping. There are many additional modules you can purchase if you need more. This seems like it could be one drawback if you have diverse and complicated needs. For instance, you need additional licenses/module for employees to clock in from a web browser. That one especially seemed a bit too much!
Recommendations to other buyersAlways go through the demonstrations and play with the demo server if they have one. Hands-on use is a great way to get a feel for the usability of the product and to see some specific features in action. Frankly, most HR/Timekeeping software can do the basic tasks pretty well. They try to differentiate through the advanced features, such as performance review management, job tracking, and applicant tracking. If you need those features, spend your time reviewing those areas as most software can handle the basic tasks.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 4, 2014
Verified Reviewer
Wholesale, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 29, 2018

“Cheap, and a lot of features in a small package”

OverallAbove average support and feature rich backend is great, and the price is extremely competitive. After a couple of years we opted to spend more and get a system with better user interface. If we didn't have a lot of full time employees with PTO and/or had dedicated timeclocks instead of web clocking, we might have stayed.
ProsThe features that are available exceeded what we were use to at the time. If I was managing a large group of hourly people who punch a time clock, and don't mind self administration on all those features, this is a great deal. The uptime is great and in 2+ years we only had an issue once with the site being down.
ConsThe interface is dated by almost 20 years now. Since it's web-based that seems odd that there have not been any big improvements. The features are robust enough that it can make them very complicated. Support is almost always available and above average in knowledge, but I had to maintain a very long checklist for user set-up because each user has to be set-up in each area. It is functional on PTO benefits, but many users found it confusing and frustrating at first. The web interface really is overly complex and just very dated. The web clocking has some major issues as well. The sites uptime is phenomenal, but does have small delays from time to time. Less patient employees who don't wait for the screen to refresh will often double punch. I think this could be avoided by going over to dedicated time clock instead of web clocking.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 29, 2018
Alyson S.
Marketing Assistant
Hospitality, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 26, 2018

“Easy to Use”

OverallAccessible across multiple team members and locations, customizable to our needs for each location.
ProsIt's accessibility, reliability, ease of use. Very easy to add users, change and update information and manage reports.
ConsCan be slow to run reports; which is not abnormal when pulling a lot of data, and not prohibitive beyond an annoyance.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 26, 2018
Charles Z.
CEO
Medical Practice, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
1/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 3, 2018

“long time customer let down”

OverallWatch out, do not recommend, this company let me and my business down .
Proswe used Time IPS at my doctor practice from 2006-2017, intially the software and service were great during the initial years ....however deteriorated over time
ConsWe have a small office , and used the system fine from 2006-2012, we were forced to upgrade due to lack of compatablity and paid to upgrade a few year later we were told that they switched to a pay by month system and have been no help to us since. I am loyal to busiensses that treat me right, and i do not recommend this company unless you wish to get extorted for money. I through their system in the garbage and went with a cheaper better customer service option
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 3, 2018
Alexis E.
Data Manager
Retail, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 19, 2018

“TimeIPS Review”

ProsGreat product, better then Kronos, switched from Kronos to TimeIPS. The functionality in the reporting was the main cause for change.
ConsThe system appears to be out dated but in all reality just needs just a revamp in design but functions great.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 19, 2018
Adrian H.
Medical Practice, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3.5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 29, 2014

“Easy to use system, user-friendly, lots of features”

ProsI like the message system that allows me to have a message appear to all my employees when they clock in. It is difficult to communicate to all employees because we don't have an intra email system, so this helps get the word spread around.
ConsI do not like that we have to pay for extra service hours and we can't call in whenever we want without worrying about being on the clock for it or service problems.
Recommendations to other buyersSee if it works for your business. This is a really cheap platform that has been comparable to the time software of other more expensive companies
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 29, 2014
Edgar A.
Medical Practice, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 25, 2014

“I love how easy it is to use. Excellent support staff.”

ProsI love the tools and the convenient layout of the entire product. Editing and adjusting is a breeze. Editing the time clock and managing employees has never been this easy. Thank you for this product!
ConsI don't like how some forms of time are displayed in the hour:min:sec format and how others are as decimals. I would like to see it uniform across the board.
Recommendations to other buyersThis product will save you time and money. It's fast and very easy to use. The support staff is very courteous and helpful; you can't go wrong.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 25, 2014
Scott M.
Medical Practice, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2.5/5
Features
4.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 9, 2014

“TimeIPS Review”

ProsIt is easy to use. The reporting function has all the reports we need, and it is not too complicated.
ConsThere isn't any ongoing support unless you pay for it.
Recommendations to other buyersIf you are in need of an inexpensive system that is not complex, this is a great option. I believe it can be more complex than how we use it, but we like to keep things simple. The exporting functions are very easy to use and nice. Make sure you understand the support aspect after purchase and get your money's worth the first few months you are able to.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 9, 2014
Lauren T.
Medical Practice, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 4, 2014

“Review of TimeIPS Software”

ProsI like the ease of use and the promptness of the support center feedback and help provided. Support staff is often able to accommodate features needed.
ConsWhen certain features were not obtainable, such as notifying employees of an approved time off request. Certain features for the tracking of salaried employees' hours
Recommendations to other buyersPrioritize your system requirements. It's unlikely that a program will have all features. Weigh the pros and cons.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 4, 2014
Jeremy B.
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4.5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 18, 2014

“We have used this product for about 4 months.”

ProsThe basic feature of the software is easy to use and understand. The customer support has been excellent.
ConsThe software menu for advanced features is still very technical and not as user-friendly for people who are not as capable on a computer.
Recommendations to other buyersThe customer support for any product is invaluable. Verify with any potential vendor about their customer support program before purchasing.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 18, 2014
Lisa H.
Medical Practice, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Service
2.5/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 26, 2014

“Employee TimeIPS review”

ProsI like the ease of clocking in and out. I can request time off via web and am able to view carried hours concurrently.
ConsThere are many options available that we do not use. It's confusing to be able to view features that the employees will not use, such as reporting.
Recommendations to other buyersNot sure; this is the first timekeeping system I have used.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 26, 2014
Lori H.
Management Consulting, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 4, 2015

“Time IPS Review”

ProsIt's extremely user-friendly, which was crucial in my particular environment.
ConsThe only thing I am not 100% happy with is the way the automatic lunch break functions.
Recommendations to other buyersIf you're looking for a basic time system, this is a great choice!
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 4, 2015