Who Uses This Software?

We serve companies and teams of all sizes who want to unify their phone conversation in one tool.


Average Ratings

9 Reviews

  • 3.5 / 5
    Overall

  • 3 / 5
    Ease of Use

  • 3.5 / 5
    Customer Service

Product Details

  • Starting Price
    $25.00/month/user
  • Free Version
    Yes
  • Free Trial
    Yes
  • Deployment
    Cloud, SaaS, Web
    Installed - Mac
    Installed - Windows
    Mobile - Android Native
    Mobile - iOS Native
  • Training
    No
  • Support
    Online

Vendor Details

  • YodelTalk
  • www.yodel.io/
  • Founded 2015
  • United States

About Yodel

Yodel is a business phone system that allows you to make and receive calls directly inside of Slack using your existing phone numbers. Yodel understands natural speech and transcribes the spoken words in real time into the chat. The Yodel voice assistant routes callers to the right department/person. Yodel can also answer FAQs and be personalized. It works in 17 languages and offers numbers in over 100 countries and area codes.


Yodel Features

  • Chatbot
  • For eCommerce
  • For Healthcare
  • For Sales
  • Multi-Language
  • Predictive Analytics
  • Process/Workflow Automation
  • Virtual Personal Assistant (VPA)
  • Call Parking
  • Call Recording
  • Contact Management
  • Encryption
  • IVR / Voice Recognition
  • Ring Groups
  • SIP Trunking
  • Unified Communications
  • Voice Quality Enhancement

Yodel Reviews Recently Reviewed!


Capterra loader

A Slack-centric phone system with amazing automation features

Mar 16, 2018
4/5
Overall

3 / 5
Ease of Use

4 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Yodel has some very cool features - the digital assistant can be customized to have a personalized greeting (or you can record your own), it can ask the caller for their intended department or person, and it can even answer simple questions using some integrations. These are features that I did not expect to find outside of a very expensive enterprise solution.

Running our phone system through Slack has been great for our productivity, as we're freed up from having to answer the phones without knowing who's calling (it's useful for our firm to be able to screen calls).

Cons: Answering/forwarding calls can be time-consuming, which is an issue when the phone is ringing. It's best to ensure you're signed into Yodel and can answer calls on your headset during business hours, but I'd really like to see a simple, in-Slack method for forwarding incoming calls to our physical phones. Yodel is working on Windows apps, so perhaps this will be more easily managed in the near future.

Overall: Yodel freed up our staff from answering our ad-hoc Google Voice system, and put it on Slack where we have most of our communication.

A bit complicated for some users, like myself. It has execiting features though.

Apr 02, 2018
4/5
Overall

2 / 5
Ease of Use

4 / 5
Features & Functionality

4 / 5
Customer Support

4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 7.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: It allows you to have a professional image with inbound calls to your company. Without the full time receptionist. It's not perfect, however the music on hold and please hold the line comments are what give that extra confident touch to callers. The robust features this has are incredible and allow you to even create an FAQ. It's a time saver from having to waste time answering questions that are easy done through the FAQ.

Cons: Confusing. Feels bloated, though I know it's not. But the integration with Slack, though very cool, is not completely clear. The interface has a lot going on. When a call comes in, I'm searching for which button to choose.

I believe they're coming out with their own app and software to handle this, so I anticipate it helping greatly.

Problem is answering calls ... many times they're already hung up by the time I'm able to get to the call. It's got some major refining in the area of speed and efficiency.

Overall: Great solution for looking professional, quickly.

Don't call. Yodel instead.

Nov 13, 2018
4/5
Overall

3 / 5
Ease of Use

3 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: I love how Yodel integrates with Slack so I'm notified of incoming calls and if someone leaves a message it is transcribed directly into the Slack channel of my choice. Other benefits that I really appreciate include:

- Zapier integration

- Set open hours for incoming calls

- the new mobile app which allows you accept incoming calls or dial out.

- The ability to forward calls or port an existing number.

Cons: I wish Yodel wasn't so dependent on Slack. I would love to desktop version as well. With the new mobile app, it does allow for additional ways to accept calls, but a desktop app would be great.

Overall: An affordable business phone line.

Capterra loader

Insanely Expensive

Jun 21, 2018
2/5
Overall

3 / 5
Ease of Use

3 / 5
Features & Functionality

1 / 5
Customer Support

1 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: The integration with slack is innovative, though buggy. The voicemail and other features are well thought out and useful

Cons: When I signed up it charged per team and phone line. . I still get just one line, one voicemeail. So for my 5 person team one phone line costs is so much more expensive than a real phone line or vonage or similar services. Convenience of being in slack is nowhere near worth that premium.

The integration with slack is buggy. When a call comes in it takes a while to notify people and multiple people can answer at the same time without realizing it and it sounds really stupid to the caller. All this was forgivable when it was an inexpensive service, but for being 10x the cost of a real phone line this is a deal breaker. No mobile app is a deal breaker. No integration with gsuite or CRM software is a deal breaker. Customer service takes hours to respond to a "chat". That's not how chat works. This software just not anywhere near worth the cost with the new pricing structure.

Overall: None. It was a useful alternative to a real phone, but the effort to switch away from it when it got obscenely expensive more than made up for the convenience.

Yodel Will Have you Yodeling with Delight

Nov 22, 2018
4/5
Overall

3 / 5
Ease of Use

4 / 5
Features & Functionality

4 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The developers are constantly making this very capable telephony product better.

Cons: The program is still young, and your mileage may vary depending on the release you're using and the platform you're using it on.

Overall: This is already a great product-and the developers seem to be all over making it better. On a recent trip to Hong Kong, I decided neither to pay my cell carrier for international service nor to mess with a foreign SIM card and service, and Yodel was my go to method to phone home via wifi. It worked pretty flawlessly, with excellent sound quality.

Capterra loader

Yodal, for when you need a number and a call waiting service

Aug 30, 2018
4/5
Overall

3 / 5
Ease of Use

3 / 5
Features & Functionality

4 / 5
Customer Support

4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 7.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: I like that its simple to setup, and i can set answering machines for specific times of day etc

Cons: I dont like that it is so integrated in slack.. i know thats its USP. But i want to get away from using slack as i think it is a time waster.. Yodel doesnt have a dedicated app for itself, and if it did it would be great,

Overall: OVerall, my experience is good. It does what it says on the tin, and i have rarely needed to change the settings.. Just set it and forget it :)

Capterra loader

They Still Haven't Released My Number

Jan 31, 2019
1/5
Overall

1 / 5
Ease of Use

1 / 5
Features & Functionality

1 / 5
Customer Support

1 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: It had a phone number that I really wanted and was excited was offered through a solution I needed

Cons: It didn't do anything I was told it would. Even integrating it was a huge hassle that didn't work and future updates that brought new integrations didn't work. That and they said they would release my number to another provider and they didn't to multiple different solutions I tried.

Overall: This is simply a product that isn't what they advertise, they don't provide what you pay for and customer service will make promises they don't follow through with

Vendor Response

by YodelTalk on February 12, 2019

Hi Pritesh,
I am really sorry to hear about this. We understand that Yodel is not the right solution for everyone but we always do our best to offer the best support possible. Phone numbers can be ported out from active accounts. We just need your support pin for confirmation reasons. Maybe you didn't see our responses and this is the reason why the number hasn't been ported out yet. You can contact us at support@yodel.io and I'm sure we will solve this in no time!

pretty basic customer support through slack

Apr 02, 2018
5/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

3 / 5
Features & Functionality

4 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: - slack integration is handy

- good customer support

- free US number

- personalized greeting

- transfer to dedicated department team member

Cons: - Limited to Slack app

- Call forwarding can be pretty limited and slow

- No custom Yodel web app

Capterra loader

A digital receptionist

Mar 12, 2019
4/5
Overall

3 / 5
Ease of Use

4 / 5
Features & Functionality

4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 6.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: A solution for companies that do not need a full-time front desk staff, but are looking for a virtual inbound calls system.

Cons: Rather difficult to setup

The Slack integration is the only option