memoQ Ratings

Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About memoQ

On-premise & cloud-based tool that helps businesses manage translation projects by creating reports, tracking project changes, accessing voice commands and more. Learn more about memoQ

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 17 of 17 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 17 of 17 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Francis M.
Freelance Translator
Translation and Localization, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 9, 2017

“This is a very good CAT tool and it is steadily improving. I have used it for three years. ”

OverallProductivity. Works well with Dragon NS. All-in-one package, with one simple price you get everything for freelance work, no hidden costs or surprises later for "extras".
ProsSimilar to TRADOS but an easier and less cumbersome installation, easier to activate. I take issue with the "Waste of Money" review. She does not state that she worked for Trados and loves that product. On Proz.com she says "I have also worked for TRADOS Corp. demonstrating the use of the tools to freelance communities all over the US, Canada and South America. My experience using the Trados tools, and my computer skills in general, are advanced."
ConsThe company is generally progressive and well organized. The latest version, 8.2 (2017) is quite stable and reliable. They caused confusion with naming versions and rapid introductions of new versions in 2016, but since MemoQ 8,0 things are much better. More agencies and switching to MemoQ; Trados still dominates but seems to be losing ground. Like Trados, the product has a steep learning curve.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 9, 2017
Avatar Image
Dmitry K.
Founder
Translation and Localization, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2019

“Top-tier CAT tool for experienced translators”

OverallI use memoQ every single day and it's been a tremendous help for my work, my business growth and it helps me satisfy the ever-growing needs of my clients.
ProsThe sheer amount of thought that went into this software is incredible. They have an outstanding number of feature yet it doesn't feel overwhelming or overpowered like over similar tools. UI is very well done and easy to use and the whole project creation process is flawless.
ConsLack of ability to work with subtitle files without having to cover them in some other format, like XML, but perhaps this feature will be added soon.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 17, 2018

“Good CAT tool with most of the features you'd expect”

OverallA stable CAT tool with the usual features, suitable for professional translators. Not the most intuitive.
ProsAs a professional freelance translator, using MemoQ allows to expand my customer base by catering to agencies and clients that work exclusively with this software. It contains enough features for a professional and is stable. If you're not ready to commit to purchsing a license yet, you can always ask your client for an ELM license, since these work with a 4Free account as well as with the trial edition of the Translator Pro license. Moreover, the free version (Translator Free) offers a few features for basic use.
ConsMemoQ is not my first choice to work with, since I feel I am more productive when I use other CAT tools, such as SDL Trados or the Text United app. A certain learning curve is expected with any professional CAT tool, but perhaps because MemoQ wasn't the first software I learned to use I find it more challenging than other tools.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 17, 2018
Cristiana C.
translator
Translation and Localization, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
1/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 19, 2017

“I have been using this tool with my own translator pro licence for more than 6 years.”

ProsSome of my clients work exclusively in the tool, so... I'm "happy" to use it. If you are in this same situation, it would be smarter for you to accept/ask for ELM licences from your clients instead of buying your own licence (like silly old me).
ConsThe interface is unintuitive, it's difficult to find what you are looking for. I recently upgraded to the latest version (8.2). In the last 3 years, I did not notice any improvements or new features that have helped my own productivity when translating with the tool. This leads me to believe that development in the last few years has been mainly focused on the PM side. Overall, I would say I am less productive when using this tool compared to other similar tools. It is painfully obvious that the developers do not use the tool to see how unproductive it is and there are very few actual users of the tool, so they cannot rely on user feedback to improve it. There is a self-congratulatory mentality within the company that is simply delusional. They prefer to surround themselves with people that pat them on the back for some reason instead of looking at criticism from users and the reality of the market. Rambling uninformative webinars. The latest versions (8.xxx) install on some of my machines, not on others. No reason or solution found so far. Had to revert to 2015 on my desktop. Their ELM licencing system distorts the market and encourages unfair competition from translators who do not want to invest in tools and agencies that prefer to work with cheaper translators that rely on them for licences etc. As things stand I do not see why I would continue to waste money paying annually for this subpar tool.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 19, 2017
Kristen C.
CEO
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 15, 2018

“Best CAT tool on the market”

ProsThe user interface is very friendly. Functionality and cross-compatibility with other CAT tools is awesome as well.
ConsI would expect that memoQ would have a web-based platform for translation agencies by now, but don't think they do. I also wish that they develop a full project management platform for agencies that is connected to the CAT functions.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 15, 2018
Verified Reviewer
51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 31, 2018

“This is a very powerful tool that is gaining popularity in the translating sector.”

ProsIt offers plenty of customization options in terms of filter creation. This is one of the biggest assets of this tool. The ability of using multiple filters on a given file using the cascading filter function makes the filtering of a file easier and with less pre-processing needed.
ConsAll these functionalities come with the drawback that you need to have some technical background in order to profit them. On the other side, their support is able to help on that if needed via their professional services.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 31, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Translation and Localization, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 2, 2019

“User friendly and efficient workhorse”

Overallmemoq is our primary CAT tool. Other tools are used merely as front- and back-end to prepare/deliver translations with 100% guarantee of consistency with client's requirements`
ProsUser-friendliness, efficiency and reliability
Conspricing of servers, QA desires improvement (too many false positives)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 2, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Translation and Localization, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 28, 2018

“MemoQ - Intuitive and efficient tool.”

ProsA thing I like about MemoQ and that I believe is good to start with is its ability to handle tags, tables of content and images which is done seamlessly. It also processes headers and footers - often have I had to deal with those manually, that is no longer needed with MemoQ.
ConsWhat I dislike is not so much about the software itself, it's about the presentation of information done by the developer. Over 30 pages manual and 1 hr introduction video, definitely makes it seem complex and each source provides more information that needed.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 28, 2018
Benito M.
Teacher / Translator
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2018

“Using Memo Q has helped me to become a more efficient and consistent translator. ”

OverallI have become a more efficient and consistent translator. Besides, the use of translation memories is a unique feature very useful to all translators.
ProsWhen I first met this software I was not quite sure about its features and functionality. However, once I tried it, it changed into my first translation tool because it is very easy to use, and I am a more efficient and consistent translator. Its translation memories provide me with an excellent tool to be more accurate and fast when translating long texts.
ConsI think the only problem is its high cost. They should offer a low cost package to independent translators.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2018
Susmi O.
Linguist and Localization Project Manager
Translation and Localization, Self-employed
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 4, 2017

“A waste of money”

OverallNone
ProsSupport answers quickly, i.e. within 1-2 days. I have to write 100 characters here, but I have no more pros to mention.
ConsPretty much everything. MemoQ is hard to learn. It tries to copy SDL Trados, only using a new set of terms and shortcuts. But, the tool is far inferior to Trados, and much harder to learn. In every project, I've done for clients, I've had issues. And using the server version for one client didn't work at all, I had to ask the client to take it offline. The last straw for me was, when I had to install MemoQ on a new system after a crash. The installation didn't complete, and the error included a Visual C++ Redistributable error. I contacted support, and I was told to uninstall all previous versions of Visual C++ Redistributable, install the latest version (provided in a link by Kilgray) and then try the installation again. This did work. BUT, uninstalling previous versions completely messed up other installations, e.g. my installation of Trados Studio, and my TMs and termbases then had to be fixed! Having had only problems with MemoQ, I now translate all MemoQ files directly in Trados (yes, this wonderful suite lets you translate them directly in their tools), to completely avoid MemoQ altogether. After the reinstallation disaster, and as I've had a lot of problems with MemoQ, I asked for them to cancel my license and return my money. They declined. BEWARE, and watch out. Do not waste your money on this tool - SDL Trados may be more expensive, but it sure is worth it!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 4, 2017
Avatar Image
Iryna K.
Independent Translator
Translation and Localization, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 14, 2018

“Memoq Review”

OverallI have been using MemoQ for more than 6 years and it helps me translate and proofread various texts, I regularly use it for working as a PM too.
ProsWhat I like the most is integration with other CAT tools, very user-friendly interface, opportunity to connect to server-based TMs and TBs, the function of quick add of terms to the termbase.
ConsThe QA feature is not very precise and shows a lot of false positive errors.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 14, 2018
Kelly M.
Translator
Writing and Editing, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
June 7, 2017

“memoQ is the best CAT tool I've ever used”

OverallAs a linguist, I was able to speed up my projects. Also the QA function greatly improved my quality and error reduction.
ProsThe dashboard is incredibly easy to follow. Entering new projects is a breeze with the option of customizing workflows. Handoffs are seamless.
ConsLinguists who do not have a copy can use the online version, but there is no spellchecker option which is VITAL to a translation project.
Source: Capterra
June 7, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2018

“My favorite CAT tool”

OverallMakes my work a lot more efficient.
ProsSmart tool that is easy to use. They offer a free version that does everything I need at the moment without a maximum usage.
ConsI haven't figured out how to go back to the home page directly to open a new document but I'm sure if I watched the tutorials I would!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2018
Roberto R.
Translator
Translation and Localization, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2019

“Great product!”

OverallI've used it many times one my own and for customer (agencies) and it is overall a great software to use.
ProsEasy to use, intuitive and great interface.
ConsSometimes if you don't know a feature already its dificult to find it right off the bat. You have to google what you want and even though its difficult to find it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2019
Avatar Image
Frantisek V.
Freelance Translator
Translation and Localization, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 19, 2018

“Very easy to use CAT tool”

OverallMemoQ is a rather good CAT tool. I can imagine I could use it for my day-to-day translation and proofreading tasks, but it lacks more advanced functions, doesn't allow the user to take control of the entire process, but this might be subjective, since I am a long-term user of a competitive and more advanced tool. However, the price is very good and the ability to use login details provided by the agency is very neat - thus you do not have to buy your own licence! Most translators tend to use keyboard only and keyboard shortcuts are essential in this, I found these to be clunky in MemoQ...
ProsIt is very easy to use, you can work even without having to pay for the license (the agency can simply provide you with their login details)
ConsSometimes it is counter-intuitive, it would be great if you could use standard shortcuts (instead each CAT tool uses its own)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 19, 2018
Avatar Image
Igor G.
SaaS marketing manager
Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2018

“Good automated translation ”

OverallUsed it for keywords and subtitles on app store products. Satisfied with the results.
ProsIntegration with a number of services, font editor, supported formats. One of the few tools that did it right.
ConsI can't vouch for the quality when it comes to long texts as I only used it for app store localiztion and there were some errors in those little bits of text. I guess you can't expect perfect results from an automated translation.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Outsourcing/Offshoring, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 9, 2019

“MemoQ”

ProsGood translation software to build your translation memory.
ConsI was satisfied enough. Good software, a bit difficult to learn using it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 9, 2019