SolarWinds Backup Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
5/5

About SolarWinds Backup

What will you do when that disaster call comes? With Solarwinds Backup you'll restore clients' business continuity in minutes. SolarWinds Backup provides complete local and cloud protection for all your data, on every device, at every location. Recover quickly from technology failure, natural disaster, or simple user error with bare metal recovery, virtual server restore, and long-term archiving -- all while protecting clients remotely. Learn more about SolarWinds Backup

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 16 of 16 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 16 of 16 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Eli P.
Centralized Services Manager
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 5, 2019

“Very solid, but expensive with some restoration hiccups”

Overall Overall, I have been happy with the product. The online backup option has decreased the amount of time spent working with clients to connect local backup drives. Support has been very helpful.
ProsOverall, Solarwinds Backup just works with little intervention needed. I was skeptical of what was promised by the sales people, but after using it, I was very impressed. The online backup function helps to ensure backups always complete if local hardware is disconnected or failed.
ConsI have run into some problems that have delayed restores, but in each instance, support has been able to help restore the device successfully. It would be nice if there was a local only option for backups. The price of the product is higher than other options.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 5, 2019
Avatar Image
Mike M.
CEO
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2019

“Simple And Effective Backup”

OverallSolarWinds saved the day when disaster struck one of our clients, we were able to restore everything quickly and easily as if nothing had happened. Common backup and rescue media is easy to create. Customer support was easy to deal with. We have experienced no issues using SolarWinds Backup and recommend it to all of our clients.
ProsSolarWinds Backup is easy and efficient to use. The web interface is easy to use. Just simply install on the devices and you are ready to go. You own your own data. There are no storage limits which is an asset.
ConsThere are a few limits on the scheduling features but we have managed to work around them.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2019
Mark S.
Senior Engineer
Computer Networking, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 26, 2019

“Solid and reliable”

ProsThe best thing about this solution is that you don't have to babysit it much. 95% of our client backups work without a hitch. Never had any problems restoring from backups.
ConsThe Exchange restore is kind of a challenge, especially if the database is large. No built in tools for granular restore of mailboxes, You have to use powershell.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 26, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2018

“Simple and Easy Backup Tool for MSP's!”

OverallComing from a backup provider where we continually experienced issues both with the product and support, it was a relief to finally not spent an hour or two a day resolving issues and/or working with support. This was defiantly a great solution to move to!
ProsWe have been using Solarwinds Backup and Recovery for a couple years now. It just works! We like how it is VSS based, very simple to setup and run into very few backup issues. This allows for our backup margins to be high since we simply install it on the devices and sit back and watch it work! The web interface is simple to use and the support has been fantastic.
ConsOne thing we wish it did is truncate the SQL logs while in Full Recovery mode.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2018
Avatar Image
Bob W.
Chief Technology Officier
Computer Networking, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 20, 2018

“Solar Winds Backup reasonable price a the secure backup”

OverallStarted with the Solarwinds backup and later moved to RMM. Only thing I wish is that I wish it would be easier to move from the Solarwinds backup to the RMM Backup. If you want to move from one ot the other you loos past backups.. so timing is crucial.
ProsOnce installed it just does the job. Often going several months without any issues in backing up the system.
ConsSomewhat difficult to learn, but is logical and the support is good.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 20, 2018
Brad M.
Managing Partner / CTO
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 23, 2017

“Been using the product for over a year now for our MSP customers, works awesome.”

OverallLocal and remote backup for our clients with easy to use single pain of glass for problems.
ProsEase of use is the KEY to this software. Further you can use your OWN offsite dataVol, a lot of products force proprietary dataVols or their cloud storage.
ConsSome scheduling limitations. Interface could use a couple "tweaks". Can not replicate local to more then ONE remote dataVol.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 23, 2017
Wayne S.
Owner
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 23, 2017

“It's a great product which is fully supported 24x7 both by email and speaking with a live support. ”

ProsIt's a great product for client with both large and small amounts of data. Easy to install and configure.
ConsNot easy to setup if you want passing clients to run a free trial and download the software and create their own account without contacting someone in Administration.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 23, 2017
Mark C.
Director, Cloud services
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 24, 2017

“It's a great Hybrid (local/remote) data protection product for SMB clients. ”

ProsCloud Management Console includes great monitoring and alerting capabilities for entire customer base. Very knowledgeable 24/7 support. Proven to have easily recovered clients from Ransomware attacks.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 24, 2017
Jeff O.
President
Computer Networking, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 23, 2017

“Fast, professional backup”

OverallHybrid backup. On-site and cloud backup included. Saved the day when disaster struck at a clients site.
ProsSimple to use, enterprise class features, very fair on the storage limits, no gimmicks. 24/7 support. Above all I saved a clients burning building from this backup service. You can schedule backups nightly, twice a day, or down to every hour if you choose.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 23, 2017
Avatar Image
Solianny Antonieta F.
Analista de sistema/ Asistencia a la Gerencia
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 12, 2018

“Complete and reliable backups with powerful additional features. ”

OverallPractical solution that provides a backup and recovery tool to prevent reconfiguration in the event of system failures.
ProsIt is very accurate in the creation of copies of the entire computer including user, application and configuration data, as well as the operating system, it allows the planning of common backups and creates rescue media that are necessary in case of incident with the workstations.
ConsIt has a wide range of configurable options so it is necessary to study your options calmly so that the data backup is reliable and adequate according to each requirement.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 12, 2018
Avatar Image
Robert W.
Production Assistant
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 8, 2018

“Reliable data archiving and retrieval software ”

OverallThere is worrying and complains over data loss in case of a shuttering cyber attack
ProsThere is a free software available for demo to enable the buyer make an informed decision to buy the product Its easy to install and use the software
ConsIn organizations that do not have secure foolproof mechanisms, an attack on their servers may lead to leakage of crucial and confidential information
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 8, 2018
Oliver S.
director
Pharmaceuticals, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 17, 2019

“Brilliant backup ”

Prosbacking up my work is very easy to do. the software is especially good with office 365. which i use a lot.
Consbacking up takes a very long time. i don't know if it's my computer but it just takes so long.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 17, 2019
Avatar Image
Opeyemi O.
English Teacher
Internet, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 26, 2018

“solarwinds review”

ProsThe installation time take the lead as it is pretty straightforward and less complicated when compared to other softwares have used. Branding of clients is one feature i find intriguing and useful plus the entire process is easy to do.
ConsI am disgruntled by the fact that solarwinds backup does not allow for multiple backup sets and the inability to choose whether data is to be store locally or in the cloud is also pretty annoying
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 26, 2018
mark r.
self employed
Entertainment, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 21, 2019

“Simple”

Prosvery easy to understand through the use of the dashboard
Consit can be a bit cluttered on the dashboard.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 21, 2019
Fibras y Normas d.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
July 31, 2018

Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
July 31, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 17, 2018

“More than enough”

ProsBackup and Recovery is very intuitive and easy to use, the support is always available to help you in case you face any issue. great set of features.
Consthere is limitations on the scheduling feature, and while the interface is good it still needs some touches to make it perfect.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 17, 2018