ZapWorks Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About ZapWorks

ZapWorks is the complete augmented reality toolkit for designers and developers. Combining powerful best-in-class features such as world tracking, face tracking and Sketchfab integration with ease of use, you can rapidly build, instantly preview, publish, analyze and scale immersive AR experiences across the complete customer journey. ZapWorks Studio enables you to create fully-customizable experiences across print, product, packaging, retail, events and much more - with or without code. Learn more about ZapWorks

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 8 of 8 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 8 of 8 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Avatar Image
Destery H.
Multimedia Learning Specialist
Aviation & Aerospace, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2018

“Zapworks Studio is the Augmented Reality Rapid Prototyping tools you need”

OverallSo far as an organization and contractor in the learning and development space Zapworks Studio has been a key addition to our development toolbox. We have started developing interactive experiences and more immersive training options for the learners and Zapworks has allowed us to enhance and expand on that. The ease of use to get started creating and the possibility of more advanced development through scripting makes this a valuable fit to our team. We have a wide range of coding experience between the group of developers and Zapworks studio allows for all of us to get involved at some level in the creation of training. If your looking to get started developing for AR Zapworks Studio is a great tool to use.
ProsThe existing resources and tutorials available by the Zapworks team and the forum of users willing to help get you up to speed. The Zapworks Studio tool is a great way to get into developing for Augmented Reality(AR) experiences through it's easy to use GUI and timeline features. This ease of use is highlighted in the fact that to start creating interactive AR experiences you don't even have to know any code.
ConsWhen it's time to start doing extra things above and beyond the basics that involve scripting Zapworks Studio can be tricky. It's not for the faint of heart or beginning coder. If you have soem C# or Javascript background it will serve you well however the Zapworks hybrid script can still be challenging to get started with even with that background. From an experience point of view the more you come in with the easier a transition it is.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2018
Frans T.
CEO / AR Designer
Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 15, 2017

“Good and versatile AR production software”

OverallWe offer custom augmented reality solutions to companies and cities and use ZapWorks as our publishing tool for AR.
ProsZapWorks is a very versatile and can be used for simple video-based augmentations as well as very complex and interactive 3D works. With Zappar, almost anything can be achieved one way or another and it is always great to see the wow-effect of augmented reality. ZapBox, a recent addition to the ZapWorks family increases this wow-effect even more. ZapWorks handles the software/infrastructure/cloud side of things very well and allows us designers to concentrate on only the fun part (=design & implementation!). ZapWorks is also reasonably priced and delivers serious bang for buck.
ConsSome restrictions like flat target images (not round surface or 3d tracking) and the must to include the zapcode limit some possible use scenarios. Also the lack of dynamic lights in 3D is slightly challenging, but luckily textures can be baked to 3D-assets nicely.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 15, 2017
Len V.
Chief Designer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 21, 2017

“Fantastic, I'm loving it!”

OverallI come from a traditional Graphic Design for print background, incorporating a good amount of 3d Concept Visualization work for Point Of Purchase, Product and Visual Merchandising. Augmented Reality breathes new life into this field, and ZapWorks is helping me do just that.
ProsI have to completely agree with other reviewers that ZapWorks is a highly versatile product. One can create anything from simple-to-implement 2d animations and videos to very complex, and intricate experiences incorporating 3d content and sound, from games to product visualizations and promotional experiences. Deep knowledge of scripting is not necessarily needed either, Zappar's growing online documentation and Customer Support is fantastic and will get you into building great experiences in no time.
ConsAs with all products of this nature and wide scope there is a bit of a learning curve, especially the more intricate the experience that you're building.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 21, 2017
Steve M.
Information Technology Specialist
Computer & Network Security, Self-employed
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 16, 2018

“I started with ZapWorks because of a KickStarter they had forZapBox. ”

OverallAn easy way of making AR experiences.
ProsI like the easy to use interface. The video tutorials and forms are a massive help to me. I love how I can ask questions on the forms and get help from the developers.
ConsI would like a better way to work with 3d models inside ZapWorks. I'm new to 3d models so having it in ZapWorks would help me out a lot.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 16, 2018
Avatar Image
Milenne T.
Founder of Digital Pop-Ups - Augmented Reality Experiences
Design, Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2018

“Zapworks is a really friendly AR tool, easy to use whatever skills and experience with AR.”

ProsThe fact that is user friendly. The interface is straight forward and you can build all the funcionality even if you don't know how to code. And of course, if you do then even better. What is really important is the support. 10 out of 10 when you have a question, the support team is brilliant and you always get the help you need.
ConsI cannot think of a negative. I think the documentation can be improved with more practical tutorials. I have learned most of it from the tutorials so the more the better. Having said that the tutorials are really good, well explained and step by step making it very easy for anyone to follow.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2018
Johan W.
Head of Brand Partnerships
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 24, 2018

“Absolutely love working with Zapworks Studio!”

ProsI'm not a developer, but knew I had to understand how Studio works in order to effectively communicate with our AR developers. Zappar's Tutorials are easy to use and follow (for a beginner) and gave me a great foundation on how Studio works. As a result, I'm having effective communication with our AR developers to produce great Zappar powered experiences.
ConsDefinitely a learning curve if you're a non-developer. But as I've mentioned, the tutorials are great and Zappar HQ can definitely invest in producing more - will assist many non-coders liker me to truly see the potential of the platform.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 24, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Entertainment, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Features
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 23, 2018

“Doesn't play nice in the sandbox”

ProsThe tool is very simple to use and most users, even non creative ones, can create an experience quickly.
ConsZappar's proprietary tools restrict the user from using industry standard formats. Zapworks allows users to create experiences easily but with extremely limited creative freedom. The end result is "AR Lite".
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 23, 2018
Paul A.
Digital Data Manager
Automotive, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 7, 2017

“Great fun to use and amazing what you can produce quickly”

OverallInternal Comms was brought into the future
ProsLove the easy to use and interactive User interface. really clear and friendly. the videos are a massive boost
Conswould prefer a 3d barcode to zapcode or something that can allow somebody without the app to get the content still
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 7, 2017