Lightning Platform Ratings

Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5

About Lightning Platform

Salesforce Lightning Platform lets you build enterprise apps quickly that help you connect employees, engage customers, track performance, and integrate everything. Lightning Platform is a single, unified ecosystem of tools and services including Force, Heroku Enterprise, and Lightning that adds up to the fastest, easiest way to take the lead in the app revolution. Even build Android apps and iOS apps. Learn more about Lightning Platform

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 161 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 161 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Houston B.
Salesforce Admin
201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 8, 2018

“Great Product, Questionable Updates and Prioritization of Features”

OverallOhana. Get used to it.
Pros"Accidental Admin" is a concept that Salesforce uses to emphasize how anyone can pick up and learn to configure Salesforce as an admin. The configuration style (clicks, not code) leads to a low skill floor needed to start using Salesforce. Advanced users, developers, etc. have the flexibility to customize the system to a high degree as well.
ConsThe neglect. Salesforce regularly neglects key pieces of core CRM functionality, some for more than 10 years, while either ignoring the cries for help by its userbase, or promising to fix it - only to let 10 years go by with no update. Just browse around on the success.salesforce.com Idea Exchange and you'll see what I mean. I get that Salesforce puts emphasis on the fact that the system is highly configurable by a dedicated developer, but when key features and functionality are either half-implemented or abandoned altogether in favor of more money-making initiatives (like their half-baked AI platform), it gets to be extremely concerning and offputting. Sometimes they combine the two and continue to sell a half-baked product, which has already been abandoned and they KNOW it. Want an example? Try to find any documentation on Salesforce Inbox. At my company, we have been fighting with Salesforce support for MONTHS trying to get any semblance of an answer about how we can use Inbox or where we can find documentation, or if we can even pay a professional services team to help us. Finally after months, they have made it clear that Salesforce Inbox is abandonware. Yet they are still promoting and selling it. That is shady and corrupt.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 8, 2018
Joan J.
Application Programmer
201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 7, 2017

“Salesforce Review by a Sys Admin and Developer”

OverallI enjoy working on the platform because you can really make it do what you want it to do with the right plug-in apps or with a decent developer on staff who can add customizations with the back-end functionality to go along with them. Salesforce is continually evolving, and new releases come out three times per year with new and improved features. Salesforce can be used for nearly any business model or business workflow. Just remember that when all is said and done, it is not a cheap solution for getting rid of that old, relational database legacy CRM system. You will ultimately end up paying for more than just licensing fees for your Salesforce users.
ProsThe best thing about the force.com platform is that it's flexible. It comes with a set of standard objects such as Accounts, Contacts, Cases, Contracts, Orders, and many others. It is very easy to add new objects that can be tailored for your business use case. Originally designed mainly as a Sales tool, Salesforce now has a Service Cloud, Marketing Cloud, Analytics, and other modules that can be added on easily to provide a full enterprise infrastructure. Adding automation to user tasks via workflow rules and process builder can be done without coding. Adding triggers via Apex Code is also fairly easy for developers, since Apex is an easy language to learn.
ConsOut of the box, Salesforce is not a very efficient tool. To prevent users from having to manually enter every piece of data to sync up objects, customization of some sort is really required. Some types of data syncing or data entry can be done with declarative tools such as workflow rules or process builder. Other things that require more complicated logic do require trigger code written by someone who understands development. The platform comes with built-in limitations on file storage, data storage, number of fields you can have on an object, number of lines of custom code you can add to the platform, and quite a few others. Platform limits of certain types can be increased, but you will definitely pay for the privilege. If you want more automated or customized functionality and don't have a developer on staff, you will have to relay on plug-in products from the Salesforce App Exchange to provide the functionality you are looking for. While some of these products are free, many of them aren't and have licensing fees per user. The cost of paying for Salesforce licenses along with licenses for one or more plug-in apps can get quite spendy.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 7, 2017
Avatar Image
Naveen G.
Founder/CEO
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2018

“Flexible development platform on the cloud”

OverallThe Product is very powerful. It provides flexibility to build almost any kind of applications. Business users can build useful apps without taking help from developers. Extensive set of resources are available to build expertise on the platform. Also customers/partners are always available to answer to queries.
ProsForce.com platform (Lightning) is very powerful development platform on the browser. It can be used to build applications for any industry. The pricing is on per user per month basis. Many tools like Validation rules, Workflows, process builder are available for business users. These tools allow business users to build apps on the platform with fairly complex logic. For additional functionality, developers are needed. Developers can build more advanced features using Apex, Visualforce and Lightning Communities. Trailhead and developer account are free resources available to build expertise on the product. Excellent community of customers/partners is available to support queries.
ConsLike any complex software there is a steep learning curve. Hiring developers in the US on the platform can be expensive. The license pricing may also be expensive for small businesses.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2018
Avatar Image
Jorge M. S.
Tech Support
Computer Hardware, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 13, 2019

“Everything in one place”

OverallBefore lightning, we had 2 software, one for chat and email, another one where we create the cases and logs, now everything is in one place.
ProsEmail, chat and logs platform in one place, you can chat with your customer, sent emails and reply, attach files in the logs (cases), this software have embedded the ScreenMeet software and works great, you can have remote connection.
ConsIn the start some bugs and errors, they were fixed couple months after. Chat: no timer added yet, you don't know how long is the current chat. If you have 2 chats, they are open in 2 tabs, if one customer close the chat, you don't know it until open the tab, should be great if there is an alarm or sound.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 13, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Hospitality, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 31, 2018

“Good But Could Be Better”

OverallThis program is extremely helpful for storing information, keeping track of clients, and using these tools to assist another co-worker if you are not familiar with a client's needs. It is also a great central access point with remote/field reps that may not have access to specific reports, files, data, etc.
ProsThe search feature is good, it pulls everything associated with what you are looking for.
ConsSometimes there are serious delays. The program will need to reset and what ever you just did does not save. The email link does not carry over the information from the email. It will log the email with the title but will not transfer the body of the email into Lightening. Not sure if this is specific to my job's version or not. Certain aspects of the program convert back to the original Salesforce Classic look
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 31, 2018
Austin S.
Founder
Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 7, 2017

“Excellent Platform, Robust, but Complex”

OverallThere's a saying that "nobody ever got fired for picking Salesforce" for a reason. It's an excellent, safe choice.
ProsSalesforce is the most robust CRM in the market, a point that isn't debatable in my view. For an enterprise organization with complex needs, Salesforce is hard to beat. The sheer number of native integrations is a huge advantage over any other solution. The reporting you get with Salesforce is remarkable.
ConsIt's so robust, it can be overwhelming for those without Salesforce expertise, or a dedicated CRM manager in-house. The permissions are flat out hard. This is more of a con for a small business than a mid-sized to enterprise business with more internal resources. Expect to pay huge hourly rates for a consultant if you don't hire in-house.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 7, 2017
Kamil S.
Salesforce Administrator and Developer
Construction, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2019

“A Work in Progress with a Great Future”

OverallOverall it has been very good and allowed our company to solve complex, repetitive problems without having to enter a separate Visualforce page with an entire development lifecycle behind it. The component-based architecture helps my development time by reducing the overhead required for any remotely complex requirement from users.
ProsThe component-based development, instead of Classic's page-based ideals, are a breath of fresh air and a sign that Salesforce is looking forward to the future. Having the ease of creating a component and being able to reuse it everywhere in your environment is a great feeling. The components all follow the same style (if done correctly) and don't affect the loading speeds of each individual page, it just works.
ConsThe Lightning experience is definitely not complete, which is understandable as it is a work in progress, but the worst of all is the *initial* loading time. Just after logging in, the wait time is considerably higher than Classic's and is very annoying to sit around while it loads with the latest update's mascot watching your frustration.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 14, 2018

“Lightning Experience is the gift that keeps on giving”

OverallSalesforce Lightning Experience is replacing Microsoft CRM for our organization and in the short time we have had it has already given us a much better user experience with improved data and data flow.
ProsWe previously used Microsoft CRM and recently implemented Salesforce Lightning Experience. The features and support community we have found within Salesforce have been incredible and continually impressive. CRM was able to get us through the early stages of our business, but Salesforce Lightning Experience will make the difference across each of our growing teams as we continue in the growth phase of our organization. I love that any question I have about Salesforce has likely already been asked and answered by either a Salesforce expert, or a member of the Salesforce user community.
ConsWith the vastness of customizable features within the application, it can be a confusing transition to Salesforce. There is a large amount of information and training materials that are made available online, but that isn't always enough.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 14, 2018
Matt F.
Customer Service Manager
Biotechnology, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 7, 2018

“Excellent system for a wide range of functions, but pricey”

OverallAbility to handle the sales process, marketing, and support of complex products. We also created a knowledge base which allows agents access to the most up to date details on the products.
ProsAbility to generate custom objects, processes, and communication across a wide range of departments makes SalesForce the ideal tool for any size company. The plus is the cloud location allowing customers and employees access around the globe.
ConsThe pricing and add on fees for certain functionality can quickly explode the budget set by your company for this solution. Be sure to think about all functions you might need and negotiate with your SalesForce contact to obtain the best pricing possible. Bundling can be powerful!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 7, 2018
Brent P.
Customer Success Advisor
11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 8, 2018

“Salesforce is the right tool for most organizations that are sales and marketing driven”

OverallSalesforce is a great platform for those who have time and resources to make it work.
ProsCustomization and a broad feature set make Salesforce a real asset for our business. We have been able to integrate many other essential products, write custom code, build workflows, customize fields and objects and do pretty much everything that we have wanted to do.
ConsThe main con of Salesforce is that, for a company with "sales" in the name, they do very little to help you with actual sales practices out of the box. They don't have great sales funnel, marketing or other templates. Of course, all of this is definitely possible, but it requires previous experience and iteration upon iteration to get it right.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 8, 2018
Avatar Image
Brad M.
Marketing Technologist
Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 22, 2019

“Great platform for managing your business and a fantastic UI upgrade from Classic”

OverallLightning is definitely the future of Salesforce and the vast majority of their new features and resources seem to be going towards Lightning. If you have not yet made the switch from Classic to Lightning, I would recommend doing it soon. And if you are getting into Salesforce for the first time, start with Lightning so you don't have to switch later.
ProsA lot more user friendly and a much better UI than Salesforce Classic. It came out with a lot less features than classic, but in the past few months and years they have dedicated a lot of resources to improving Lightning to not only compare to Classic, but I think it now has even more features.
ConsThere is a learning curve to getting Lightning up and running. I would definitely recommend spending some time in the SF trailheads to get the ins and outs of Lightning before you switch from classic or sign up to start.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 22, 2019
Shibu S.
Program Manager
10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 3, 2018

“Outstanding cloud-based platform for Custom application development and prepackaged CRM functionality for all types of business needs ”

ProsNo hardware purchase cost and no hardware maintenance cost, big plus Very easy to use and learn for business user and developers Pre-packaged components and widgets speedup the development effort and timelines. Minimal coding for application development Effective cloud platform for small and large enterprise End to end life-cycle management from website(site.com) to data management Very good documentation for user and developers. Awesome effort from Salesforce team by conducting webinar on new features and components
ConsNothing to complain as Salesforce improved lot with the new releases, however search results are still clumsy.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 3, 2018
Michael J.
Manager
51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 2, 2018

“Powerful Once You Learn How to Use It (But Expensive)”

ProsSalesforce is the backbone of our company. It is tied into everything and used by every team. It is incredibly customizable and it seems they have a way to do almost anything you need. We use it for Sales, Support, Marketing, and product feature usage. We have it hooked into other apps and other saas products. This is the product that will scale with your business and can support a company at any stage of growth. There are a ton of integrations out of the box (on their salesforce exchange) and their APIs allow savvy developers to build custom integrations that aren't available.
ConsWhen the company initially implemented it, they tried to "wing it" and it was a complete mess. You really need someone who knows what they are doing to setup, administer, and maintain the software. It is also expensive. We got grandfathered into some great pricing, but if we weren't, we're not sure we would be able to continue to use SFDC as we grow. SFDC also loves to gobble up other apps and brand them with the SFDC name. So they have become a jack of all trades - however, some of the things you can't do are surprising (just go check out their community page for all of the list of enhancements that haven't been implemented). For example, we use cases for our help desk, but there is a lot of functionality missing compared to a best in breed help desk software like ZenDesk. Support is terrible here by the way. They really push you toward self-service or community based service. You're lucky if you ever get a response.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 2, 2018
Karen P.
Director, Development and Strategic Partnerships
11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 14, 2017

“For nonprofits - powerful, but complicated”

OverallEven though it is free for nonprofits, you should expect in start-up costs, realistically. Take advantage of the free apps and extensions, as well as the robust support network, but be aware that you will have to learn the language and back end of salesforce to truly customize it. For that, it might be best to use a developer to start.
ProsSalesforce is a very powerful CRM system that can handle almost anything and with hundreds of apps to add functionality, you can find pre-built solutions to most business processes. For nonprofits, the nonprofit success pack is a great starter kit and you can't beat the price - free for up to 10 users.
ConsBecause of the plethora of features, it can be hard to navigate and figure things out without help. I wouldn't recommend someone not comfortable with technology and CRMs to think they can set it up themselves with no assistance.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 14, 2017
Al S.
Marketing Tech Leader
201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 13, 2018

“Salesforce requires investment ”

OverallI'm a big fan of Salesforce and have used it for about 6 years in a variety of roles. If you are willing to make the investments in customization it can be a business expansion tool.
ProsSalesforce is enormously powerful and flexible, able to adapt to most any businesses type or stage.
ConsYou must have a Salesforce Certified developer to get the most out of the platform - that means code development, testing and documentation. This skill set comes at a price and up for enterprise level development resources. We built a customized version of Opportunities with a developer. Leadership was not well equipped to understand this approach (versus a subscription app).
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 13, 2018
Kate S.
Developer
1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 27, 2018

“Powerful product if you know how to use it.”

OverallOverall the system is great, and helps us a lot with productivity and sales. But you'll need to know their language and structure for setting up anything customized to your organization, and you should hope you don't need help from their support team, as the team is generally useless. We've had billing issues last 6+ months, dealt with customer service reps who knew less than we did, and had our account manager change every 2 months or so because the turnover is so high.
ProsLots of features, easy to use once it is set up, plenty of options for add-ons and integrations with other systems
ConsAdditional features can be pricey, customer service is terrible, they'll charge you for everything additional
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 27, 2018
Justin L.
Marketing Operations Manager
51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 21, 2018

“Probably the World's Most Powerful Sales CRM”

OverallProbably best as a long-term solutions for already-big companies or companies that plan on growing.
ProsIt's hard to think of what Salesforce can't do. I honestly can do, or can be made to do, virtually anything you can think of to enable a sales department. I see a future where there is only Salesforce in its vertical.
ConsBecause of its robust functionality, there can be quite a learning curve for inexperienced admins. The average user, though, won't have a problem. But even as an admin, learning its bells and whistles just takes a little time and is completely worth it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 21, 2018
Avatar Image
Randall W.
Software Developer
Computer Software, Self-employed
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2018

“Lightning Platform for Software Developers”

OverallI have found this software to be fun to work with. It takes a different approach than anything else that I've worked with previously, so it keeps you engaged and entertained. I would highly recommend learning this software to other developers wanting to work with enterprise customers.
ProsLots of resources to help you get started with this platform. All of the prebuilt components are documented well in the Salesforce documentation, and it is extremely easy to get started with developing. Trailhead is extremely helpful in introducing the concepts that are important to developing for the Lightning Platform, so it is not hard to know where to go next in your learning journey. The other benefit is that it is extremely popular and there is a lack of qualified developers, so the barrier to entry through learning about the Lightning Platform is lower than it is with other technologies.
ConsThere is a relatively steep learning curve because it is VERY opinionated. In addition to learning the Lightning framework, there are many other pieces that you will be required to learn. Apex and SLDS are two examples of that. You won't be proficient in Lightning Platform development unless you have all of the pieces.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2018
Jonathan T.
Manager, Corporate & Community Engagement
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 1, 2018

“I love the sales force platform it makes my job easy in managing our volunteers. ”

ProsI like the ability to be able to track our volunteer hours from the day they started. Its awesome because volunteers can reach out to us and retrieve that information. The most amazing thing I like about sales force is the ability to run reports through specific filters to allow me to extract the information that I need. I like the fact that I am able to reach out to a customer service rep who is able to walk me step by step of what I need and how to work through salesforce
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 1, 2018
Lekil C.
Special Project Coordinator
Hospitality, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 6, 2019

“Salesforce is Great!”

OverallThe Lightning Platform is a better and easier to look interface a part from Salesforce Classic. Some features from Classic may not have rolled over to the Lightning platform but navigation is now easier.
ProsI love the multiple app integrations that can be implemented within the software. It is very complex but they make it up with the online training classes to learn how to operated and fully implement your business process to your own personal salesforce org. Makes bookkeeping and data entry simpler.
ConsThere are always new updates and internal integrations that you will have to stay on top of because Salesforce isn't a software that stays the same.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 6, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 6, 2018

“Lightning is the best way to use Salesforce in the cloud”

ProsHaving always loved the functionality of Salesforce but not enjoying the readability of Salesforce, Lightning breathed some new life into the product. Lightning brings your reps closer to having that amazing sales experience and improving quality. It makes it so easy to understand where your assets are located and how best to interact with them. Salesforce has always had a strong hold on the marketplace in terms of functionality, and now they are finally taking over in terms of flexibility.
ConsLike Salesforce Classic, Lightning is still built on the same platform that can at times be confusing and complex to setup.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 6, 2018
Sandra S.
Sales Associate
5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 1, 2017

“Useful system for organzing and keeping track of your pipeline ”

Prosit's a good way to keep track of your prospects and make sure no leads are falling through the cracks because you're able to set tasks/follow ups for each lead.
ConsI feel like there's a lot of additional features that I don't know how to utilize and think it can be more user friendly. I've never gotten the hang out generating reports. I usually end of ending an error message or I end up generating a list that is lacking specific content that I wanted.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 1, 2017
Avatar Image
Charlie A.
Composite Product Specialist
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2019

“Better than Classic, Lightning is not perfect”

OverallWe're able to keep a better record of customer management and individual projects/cases with Lightning, compared to Classic.
ProsIt's faster and more powerful than the classic version. We are now able to associate more data with more accounts plus the added types of views in Lightning (i.e. tabs) really make viewing multiple cases/accounts/opportunities at once much easier.
ConsLike Classic, Salesforce, in general, takes some getting used to. It's only as good as the data you put into it so you must still be vigilant in how you're using it, no matter if it's faster and more capable.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2019
Brian L.
Account Executive Team Lead
5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 10, 2018

“almost perfect CRM”

ProsSalesforce is a great CRM. You are able to track the full sales cycle, from leads to wins to dispatching of produce or service. You can customize the fields your company needs, and remove the ones you don't need.
ConsIf you are new to CRM, you can easily get overwhelmed with all the options. With saying that, if Salesforce is your first CRM and you try others, you will find most, if not all, fall short.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 10, 2018
Tracy W.
Medical Information Operation Specialist
501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 12, 2018

“Salesforce helps our systems talk to each other”

OverallSalesforce makes our jobs easier. The training is like a video game which makes it more interesting to learn.
ProsThe platform allows our systems to talk to each other and integrate information. This creates more meaning metrics and allows us to run reports with combined data from different systems.
ConsWe would like the ability to change the color of the graphs, so that we can have consistency across our reports, but there is a limitation and the colors often change and we can't alter the colors. There is also a file size limitation, so we are not able to upload certain files for sharing.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 12, 2018
Avatar Image
Peter K.
Solutions Architect
51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 13, 2017

“Salesforce Platform is Extensible, Reliable, and Efficient”

OverallVery quick application development
ProsThe ease of standing up well functioning apps is phenomenal. I can spin something up with a decent amount of features in no time.
ConsHard to say. When I was a newbie, I did not like all of the different governor limits around everything. As I became more experienced, I grew to understand and actually (gasp) like them! It is a bad thing if the page queries the Database 101 times in a loop!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 13, 2017
Darrell J.
Major Account Manager
10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 26, 2018

“Salesforce.com from an account executive & sales manager positions”

ProsAE - Easy funnel management updates in bulk, ability to add notes, tasks, and events and sync to Outlook, Manager - Granular & pre-built reports to manage KPI's of team and funnel health. Ease of sending out team updates & sharing files
ConsReport building can be difficult due to all the fields and options Tasks were not synced to Outlook tasks - want more integration with Outlook
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 26, 2018
Kadi D.
ERP Solutions Engineer
51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 8, 2018

“Very Robust - Almost to a Fault”

ProsSalesforce does pretty much anything you need it to do and is very robust. There is a lot of room for customization and integrating many different areas of your business.
ConsSalesforce is almost too busy. There are so many options and so much going on it's almost too difficult to pare it down to the basics. Sometimes users want fewer options and more standardization with an easy GUI.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 8, 2018
Kelly G.
Recruiter
11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 11, 2018

“Big name, but not a lot of support when needed.”

OverallLook at other options before shelling out thousands for this.
ProsDashboard and reporting were amazing for me to manage my team. I loved being able to see where projects were in relation to each step.
ConsHard to utilize at times. The back and forth conversations (we used the chatter feature once that was released) were terrible, notifications weren't working, and support couldn't do anything to help.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 11, 2018
Carol H.
Sales and Account Manager
51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 9, 2018

“Best CRM for Sales, hands down!”

ProsUser-friendly, fast, can easily find history of notes/activities all together, no need to open and close various entrees. Good reporting options. Believe has decent area/piece for Finance too but not 100% sure on that.
ConsExpensive but if you're serious about a stable, strong CRM program, it's worth it! I've used 3 others (MS-Dynamics, SAP, NetSuite), Salesforce, handsdown the best!
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 9, 2018
Vicky H.
Systems Specialist
Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2017

“Generally good functionality”

ProsOnce you are used to the Salesforce platform it is easy to navigate around and switch between screens. Easy to set up custom objects and fields where required to enhance standard functionality.
ConsReporting is terrible. Data can be accessed but the output formats when manually running and scheduling reports is non-workable. Restrictions in the ability to add products form multiple pricebooks to one order.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2017
Avatar Image
Matthew K.
Director of Sales & Service, Growth Spark Media
Broadcast Media, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 13, 2018

“Salesforce can replace all your other software”

Overallthe ability to manage our sales and service from one platform without errors in data as account info is entered ONCE and then referenced instead of copied.
ProsI love the fact that Salesforce can be whatever you need/want it to be. Without knowing any code you can build a system that will take the place of all your other business process software.
Conssome of the UI look/feel is still a bit "old" looking, even since lightning was released. I also don't like that you have to switch back to the "classic" view to accomplish certain tasks but i'm sure that will change.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 13, 2018
Jessica F.
Sales Operations
501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 1, 2018

“Great for Aggregating Users”

OverallOverall I would highly recommend.
ProsI use this software at my company to manage international resellers and it's great with aggregating their information so only users in certain territories can see their mutually shared content.
ConsReporting features are rather limited and difficult to navigate. I also find we use a third party emailing tool for easy access.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 1, 2018
Sarah K.
project Manager
201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 23, 2018

“Easy to Use”

ProsEasy to configure and enter data. I love the reporting abilities and at a glance dashboards for easy live time review.
ConsI wish the hierarchy set up for affiliate relationships was a bit more user friendly. Partner relationship can be complicated and sometimes with multiple partner contracts it makes it difficult to report and associated opportunities.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 23, 2018
Kyle S.
Project Manager
201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 16, 2018

“Used this product as a salesman for a concrete company. ”

OverallI used this product for 3 years.
ProsI liked the opening interface that was easy to understand with graphs and charts. The ease of adding information such as phone calls or meetings was very quick and easy to understand.
ConsNot enough features to be considered a true cloud based sales management product. I believe there could be more tracking and helpful tips to use the product.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 16, 2018
Mark R.
Project Manager
1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 18, 2018

“Favorite CRM Period!”

ProsSalesforce has been our favorite CRM for so many reasons over the years. It's been absolutely critical to building a strong foundation in our organization with building our customer relationships. Hands down this is the best!
ConsI had a bit of issues initially getting set up. At the same time it felt like the sales rep was unable to help with technical issues, and their support line was limited. Still, this was just a small hiccup as we launched forward with speed right after!
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 18, 2018
Felipe A.
CEO
11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 17, 2018

“Salesforce platform review”

OverallI think it would be a great solution if they work in the user interface
ProsThe solution is very complete in the management and control tools. Delivering detailed information for decision making
Cons 147/5000 the solution for the selling user is very complex in its use and does not motivate the sales force to use it as a facilitator for their activities
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 17, 2018
Stacy C.
Vice President of Sales and Marketing
Events Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Source: GetApp
September 12, 2016

“Feature Rich with Clunky, Dated Interface”

OverallI've been using SalesForce for 5+ years now and while feature full, it's confusing to navigate with far more clicks than necessary. The interface has not changed at all in all the years I've been using it which makes me feel like they really just don't care to make the system better.
ProsYou can add your own custom fields and organize them how you want.
ConsDifficult to find the proper path from lead to opportunity to account. Contacts can be saved on accounts, but aren't automatically applied to opportunities forcing me several clicks to simply add a new person first to the account and then back to the opportunity to see the contact. Changes to your payment plan to reduce accounts are very difficult forcing you to request changes 3 months in advance for them to take effect. However, they have no problem increasing the plan same-day when we need to add new accounts.
Recommendations to other buyersIf you can find a web based software that gives you access to customize your needed fields and create your own custom report, I would recommend choosing another company. I've also heard that SalesForceIQ may be a better alternative. I feel stuck using them since we've compiled our data there for 5 years running, but if I were starting fresh today, I don't think I would ever choose them again.
Source: GetApp
September 12, 2016
Jessica D.
Events Manager
Education Management, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018

“Fantastic Multi-faceted Platform”

OverallFantastic overall experience. Has changed how we collect and approve documents. Easy to aggregate data and sort tasks.
ProsVery easy to create and build in. Great user interface and easy to re-format when working on different pieces of a report/ data set.
ConsI have had no issues with the platform thus far.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018
Avatar Image
Philipp N. N.
Head Of Marketing
Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 22, 2018

“Great CRM if you know how to use it”

OverallAs a CRM salesforce allows us to track our pipeline and report it to management and the board. For me personally, as I work in marketing it allows me to see leads that we captured through our forms and where these leads come from. From there inbound leads can be assigned to sales managers. If you are a small company that does not need too many features etc, one of the smaller vendors in the marketplace is recommendable too.
ProsSalesforce is the go-to CRM and market leader for a reason: solid lead and pipeline management. I like the integration with outlook and the depth of reporting features.
ConsIt takes some time to learn how to use it. Also the settings around standard lead fields and different lead views are confusing to me.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 22, 2018
Samanth F.
Executive Assistant/Associate
1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 30, 2018

“First introduction to Campaigns”

ProsMarketing includes simple campaign management capabilities such as account segmentation, target list generation, lead source tracking and packaged reports. This was my first introduction to campaigns and it was a comfortable transition from our old software. Again, I used it in a past position not currently.
ConsThe software comes with a high price tag that is not suitable to a company our size but I would definitely try it again once we grow.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 30, 2018
Jeffrey B.
Project Manager
10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 26, 2018

“Salesforce can be a robust CRM and Sales management tool”

OverallThis is a great platform for managing a dispersed sales team. If you have the resources and funding available this can be a valuable tool to help drive sales in your organization.
ProsThere is no software to buy. You get the Salesforce platform and all of their continual updates. You can also extensively customize your site to meet your specific business needs. Since the platform is in the cloud everything stays in sync. There are many 3rd party solutions you can tie into.
ConsThe monthly subscription fees need to be considered for the amount of users you have. You will likely need to have a developer in your business or hire out a contractor to build your site. Depending on complexity this can get expensive.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 26, 2018
Kartikk M.
Senior Manager - Sales Operations
1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 25, 2018

“Great Tool”

ProsHas all the features that are needed. The tool can be easily customized as per your internal workflows and processes.
ConsDifficult to export large reports and data sets. Dashboards and analytics can be improved by increasing the number of different ways the data can be combined and analysed.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 25, 2018
ami r.
Ad Operations Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 23, 2018

“Lighting is salesforce next level”

Overallsales crm
ProsGreat user interface. Makes moving things along much more easier. Looks visually better than the classic version.
ConsReports cannot be viewed in detail in lightning you still need to switch to classic. many function that were available in classic are no longer there in lightning. Not admin friendly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 23, 2018
Avatar Image
Charlie A.
Composite Product Specialist
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 28, 2019

“Fast and powerful Salesforce platform”

ProsWe switched to lightning and never looked back. It looks better, has more capability, and is overall faster.
ConsIt was slower at first (which seems counterintuitive). There were some other aspects we ended up upgrading that were holding us back from the advertised lightning experience and once we took care of those things, it worked well for the organization.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 28, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Retail, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2019

“Lightning is a real efficiency booster”

ProsThis tool has really help our Salesforce to be more efficient. They collaborate and get approvals quickly from management. Reports and Dashboards gives handy data and insights.
ConsNothing much, but lightning interface is a bit slower comparative to classic.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2019
Erikka T.
Sales Support Representative
Hospitality, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 17, 2018

“Salesforce Lightning”

ProsIt's a really great tool for mobile users. Salesforce Classic isn't as user friendly. I work on a sales team and we depend on Salesforce Lightning.
ConsNot all fields are always functional on my mobile but this may be a problem within our company and how we have SF configured.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 17, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
April 10, 2018

“Really powerful if you know how to use it”

ProsThe platform is capable of a lot. It's also very customizable - you can really configure it to work for your organizations unique needs.
ConsIt sacrifices user-friendliness in favor of customizability. Which is mostly a good thing, but it is really cumbersome. And it just looks bad.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
April 10, 2018
Lauren S.
Accounting Supervisor
51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 27, 2018

“Love salesforce and the ability to integrate it with other software platforms”

Pros- Ease of use - Direct integrations with almost any software you can think of - Easy to build connector to ERP - Xactly add on for commissions
Cons-Glitchy - we experience various errors and failures almost daily. Generally corrects within minutes when you hit resubmit.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 27, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 21, 2019

“Lightning Platform”

ProsLightning improves app development experience, so apps can be build with less effort and deployed easily. It's not just a CRM software, it can be used on the end to end business workflow, from Sales to customer support. It allows to create multiple activities under an account that are easy to follow and allows you to collaborate with other contacts on the same project. It allows drag and drop and a customizable GUI where you have everything consolidated.
ConsIt could be confusing to use at first, requires some time to get used to it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 21, 2019