CompetencyCore Ratings

Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5

About CompetencyCore

CompetencyCore puts HR in control, with access to 500+ job descriptions - driven by AI and reviewed by PhDs - all linked with industry-best competencies. CompetencyCo takes the 'job' out of job descriptions, competencies and interview questions, making it easy to create and maintain your job descriptions and competencies. Then, provide employees with assessment, development and career path navigation. Fulfill your HR mission to hire, retain and develop the best people with CompetencyCore. Learn more about CompetencyCore

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 6 of 6 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 6 of 6 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Neil P.
Lead L&D Consultant
Computer Software, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2019

“Fantastic for building competency based roles ”

OverallCustomer service is exemplary. Always on hand if needed and very quick with reporting outages to service. Had a series of support members offering their time to help me as needed.
ProsWe only use the competency manager section of the software, which we use to build and amend roles. it makes it super quick to build a stack of roles for a team in a grade level. The library of competencies is invaluable for getting started to create roles across all elements of a business. Mixing and matching competencies for roles is super quick and simple. The ability to custom create your own competencies and upload them into your library adds to the power of the tool. nice, clean UX as well which is easy to use/navigate.
ConsVery little tbh. Sometimes exporting roles into word/pdf can have some errors (it doesn't apostrophes or ampersands) that require formatting. A longer term consideration is to offer more than 5 levels of expertise for each competency. If you are aligning roles to a grade structure, it limits you to 5 levels. The majority of companies will have more than a 5 level structure.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2019
Jennifer B.
Business Systems Analyst
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 24, 2017

“positive and always improving”

OverallA standardized competency library, a well documented job inventory, and the ability to distribute employee assessments.
ProsI like how easy it was to learn and navigate through the application. I have not gotten to the point of opening it to the proper employees since we are still defining which roles in the org will be responsible for on going maintenance, but I have no concerns that any individual identified will be successful in the actions they will need to perform.
ConsThere are areas where the number of clicks could be simplified such as editing the job profiles. Also, a big negative is not having a direct link available to our Talent Management system (Oracle HCM).

Vendor Response

By HRSG on January 23, 2018
Hi Jennifer, Just a quick note to thank you for leaving a review on CompetencyCore. In regards to editing job profiles, we have some big changes on the way which you'll likely see rolled out soon in your CompetencyCore instance. We're happy to hear that you feel the product is always improving and that it plays a valuable role in your organization! Thanks again, The HRSG Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 24, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Government Administration, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 17, 2018

“The software does a great job in helping select the right people for our government.”

ProsI like the upgrade to the list of competencies. Maneuvering the order of questions is easy. Creating and editing is user friendly.
ConsI would like to see more question options for each levels. It is also frustrating that when you create the interview guide after selecting levels, the questions for that level don't appear. I have to go to the question list to retrieve.

Vendor Response

By HRSG on January 23, 2018
Hi there, Thanks for your feedback on CompetencyCore! We have some exciting changes coming soon to the Interview Guide workflows which should make for a more intuitive process. We're glad to hear that the software overall does a great job in helping you manage your selection process. Thanks again, The HRSG Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 17, 2018
Talia G.
L&D Strategist
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 18, 2018

“Our reviews of the capabilities and usability of the software have been mixed. ”

ProsWe appreciate that we have opportunities to customize and update on our own. We can load in our own competencies .
ConsWe have had trip ups with uploading and accessibility. The notifications if a 360 does NOT get sent out has been an issue. Having to manually reach out for reminders. Also, having the administrator need to manage that, rather than the participant.

Vendor Response

By HRSG on January 23, 2018
Hi Talia, Thanks so much for your comments on CompetencyCore! While we'd need more specifics on the issues you've had around uploading, we invite you to share these with your customer success manager (if you haven't already). In regards to the management of reminders, this is great feedback! You'll be happy to hear that improving these workflows is on our product roadmap and your feedback is valuable in this process. Thanks again, The HRSG Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 18, 2018
Avatar Image
Alex A.
Manager, Organizational Development
Machinery, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 16, 2018

“Great tool for creating and managing competencies, assessments and training plans. ”

ProsHRSG has an extensive library of competencies and the tool makes it easy to manage, edit, and create new content. CompetencyCore is an easy to use online platform that makes it easily accessible wherever you are working.
ConsThe user interface could use some work. It is very lackluster. The ability to manage text is great, but if you need to move content from level to level within the competencies, it is a little more difficult.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 16, 2018
Marnie P.
Human Resources Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 24, 2017

“So far so good been very happy with Competency Core”

ProsCompetency Core is user friendly, complete library of competencies, customer inquiries are attended to right away
ConsNothing much but sometimes their pages are updated and we can't keep up, but it's fairly easy to navigate

Vendor Response

By HRSG on January 23, 2018
Hi Marnie, Thanks for providing feedback on ComeptencyCore! We're thrilled to hear that you're very pleased with your experience so far, and that the team has served you well with your inquiries. Thanks for being a valued client! Best regards, The HRSG Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 24, 2017