Constellix Ratings

Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
5/5

About Constellix

An ITO solution that offers DNS traffic management with integrated network monitoring services. Learn more about Constellix

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 17 of 17 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 17 of 17 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Bradley S.
Manager
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 21, 2019

“Constellix Is My Rock”

OverallWe rely on Constellix heavily and they know that a lot of people are depending on them. It's very clear in their service models and how they've weathered all the bad stuff happening out there in the Cybersecurity sphere. They stay on top of the technology and it's appreciated!
ProsConstellix continues to build some of the best easy to use services for a company of our size. We serve dozens of clients and depend upon Constellix to help us protect and serve them. Specifically we depend upon the Sonar services. The interfaces are very straightforward and easy to use. The pricing is fair and I have enough control that I can set my own service levels to manage my budget.
ConsThe simplicity of the service belies how much complexity is under the hood. There must be 10,000 lines of code underneath the "go" button. In an effort to make it simple I think it's missing a few advanced features that could REALLY super-power the Sonar Service.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 21, 2019
Ken L.
VP/CTO
Financial Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2019

“Great solution for DNS hosting -- easy to use, fast”

OverallWe need to host between 50 to 100 domain DNS records. It was easy to get started and update records as they change. We've "dabbled" in geo-hosting (one of the features of Constellix) but currently don't need it for any clients we have.
ProsWe switched from inhouse and another third-party ot Constellix for our DNS hosting. With Constellix we never have to worry about our DNS hosting going down. We don't use all the fancier features, but we've never run into an issue where Constellix couldn't do what we wanted. The pricing is very attractive also.
ConsNothing really. There are a quirk or two on the configuration screens that you just have to learn. The documentation is good, but "who reads documentation". There is s slight inconsistency with Office 365 terminology and Constellix.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2019

“Managed DNS with failover for high-availability web applications”

ProsI use Constellix DNS to enable DNS failover on critical domains. Any one set of infrastructure, be it a physical datacenter or cloud provider, can fail. For critical web applications, you need to have an independent system that is capable of monitoring your primary infrastructure, detecting failure, and switching to an independent secondary system. Constellix has proven to be reliable, easy enough to use, and affordable.
ConsIt costs more than free DNS options, so I only use Constellix to manage domains for mission-critical systems. The user interface is pretty good, but some aspects could be improved-for example, you have to log into the "Sonar" monitoring interface separately from the DNS site, and the support site requires completely different credentials. Also, the notification of changes to be committed often doesn't update.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2019
Joel D.
Software Engineer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2019

“Best DNS system on the market”

OverallWe have added failover servers to our technology stack, Constellix monitors the primary servers and if the primary server goes down, Constellix DNS will respond and point the DNS records to the failover servers. We have already had a couple of short outages and the system response as expected. Our users have not noticed the outages, which means our tech support calls has decreased.
ProsEverything in Constellix works just as expected, once you know how to configure the software Constellix can be setup very quickly. The team at Constellix are incredibly experience and professional, when you ask support a question you don't just get sent to a guide you get an exact step by step to fix you exactly problem.
ConsSome of the terminology Constellix use it proprietary and little confusing, but after watching a few videos we were able to configure the software the correct way. It took a few hours spread over a couple of days the first time, which we used for testing, but when we went into production, configuration took about 10 minutes.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2019
Eric B.
CEO
Internet, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2019

“Constellix Is Great”

OverallIt is important that I know when my server is down, so I can contact my web host to get it fixed. Constellix helps me with that.
ProsI have been using their service for many years for monitoring my servers, and it always works perfectly. I get an email every time my server goes down, and then another email when the server is up and running again
ConsNothing. It all runs the way I want it to, and I have no suggestions for improvements.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Telecommunications, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 17, 2019

“Excellent, innovative, DNS service that goes one step beyond DNSMe experience.”

ProsConstellix provides rock-solid reliable DNS service with some fantastic additional features such as versioning, geo-specific DNS and dynamic failover based on checks from the complementary Sonar service.
ConsThe user interface can be a little glitchy at times, but has improved considerably since its inception and continues to make improvements. It's be good to have a greater variety of tests, e.g. TCP request/response
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 17, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, Self-employed
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2019

“Great piece of software!”

Pros- GeoDNS - returning different server IPs for different regions - Filters - ability to block users from a country from access to my servers - The ability to hook DNS responses to responses from their uptime monitoring system.
Cons- Slow UI - Slightly unpolished UI, especially on the sister systems (everything but the DNS manager)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2019
juerg g.
ceo
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2019

“super fast, perfect usability”

ProsNever downtimes, extremly performant and super short dns response time. Reasonable prices.
ConsI habe absolutely no complaints against this Software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2019

“Powerful DNS with failover for IPv4 and IPv6”

ProsI like the many features for DNS-based failover, and that they are available for both IPv4 and IPv6. One can finely tune how often servers are checked for being alive, which has a strong impact on cost.
ConsIt is difficult to use a backup (secondary) DNS provider with Constellix and at the same time benefit from Constellix's DNS-based failover. I had to use their API for regularly checking DNS records, re-creating those records on my own Bind server, and feeding the secondary DNS provider data from my Bind server.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2019
Avatar Image
Steven W.
Managing Director
Internet, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2019

“Amazing service, proven itself already!”

OverallComing from their other product, DNSMadeEasy, This system is so much more intuitive and easy to use. It's a great, reliable product that really has been a life-saver on a couple of occasions with client projects.
ProsIt's Ease of Use and flexibility User Management Affordable pricing
ConsNothing really, I haven't found anything I don't like.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2019
Kevin D.
CEO
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2019

“Easy and reliable”

ProsGreat interface and features. It makes my life easier
ConsThe whole solution had a slight learning curve
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2019
Larry F.
President
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 17, 2019

“Best DNS Service in Years”

OverallTheir platform is excellent for managing multiple clients
ProsThis is the best DNS service that has came online in years. They have thought about just about every scenario that would be required around DNS. It is a must for today's world of compliance and auditing. Their DNS change notifications are like no other. The best I've ever seen. 22 years in the field.
ConsNo cons really. None that would be worth writing about.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 17, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2019

“Migrated from DNS Made Easy”

OverallService has just worked, and support was quick to respond when I had a few questions. Overall I am happy with everything, I just wish their billing wasn't so confusing.
ProsService just works, and interface is better than the old one I was accustom to.
ConsSaw an anomaly with ANAME records related to my CDN provider. A huge annoyance is how their billing is handled, very strange made up system vs flat fees showing up on the invoices.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2019

“Love Constellix”

ProsI've personally only used the DNS dashboard and it is super easy to use. Everything is intuitive and the extra checks in place to make sure the changes you made are ones you actually wanted to make are a lifesaver.
ConsMy only con is that it would be nice to have an easier way to process Lets Encrypt SSL certs at the DNS level.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2019
Theo M.
Senior DevOps Engineer
Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2019

“Constellix DNS”

ProsI loved the GeoDNS feature, being able to send people to different regions depending on which is closer. It even works within the same country
ConsThe dashboard could be a little more fluid, having to commit changes after setting them up is something you have to get used to
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2019

“Handles DNS”

ProsConstellix does what we need. It offers multiple account managers with multi-factor options.
ConsThe login screen for 2FA is not intuitive. When you first log in, it takes 3 clicks to get into your last-used domain.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2019
Ian A.
MD
Executive Office, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2019

“Good Service”

ProsThe interface is quick and easy to use and dns records are live soon and the way to check the entry's before commiting
Consthe names it gives if using gcp dns and azure
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2019