CONSELF Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
5/5

About CONSELF

CFD - Laminar or turbulent fluid dynamics models can be selected depending on the fluid flow Reynolds number. Both steady-state and transient solvers are available. Rotating, single and multiphase flows can be analyzed. FEA - Static and dynamic simulations are available for Structural Mechanics, with both elastic and plastic materials behavior. Modal and frequency analyses can also be carried out starting from most common CAD neutral file formats. Learn more about CONSELF

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 12 of 12 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 12 of 12 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Gianluca P.
student
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 9, 2017

“I use software for 2-phase simulation on a hydro intake structure and results were satisfactory”

ProsOne of the most interesting characteristics of the software is the simplicity and the immediacy with which the application can be used by everyone, with a simple interface. Dedicated tutorials are present and are very useful because introduce the user step by step to the various features of the application. The revolutionary point is that even someone with little or no experience in the CFD field can run a complete simulation in few steps. The results obtained in my experience are very good and reproduce the reality. One of the positive points of the application is surely the availability of the CONSELF teamwork to give advice and help you in case of need. Moreover, the flexibility to modify the CFD code, to create particular boundary conditions by request is certainly a strength of CONSELF. Furthermore, periodical software updates, which improve the application, are continuosly released.
ConsThe presence of some bugs, above all in the mesh phase creation, represent a negative point that can slow down the analysis, but are solved with the following application update. For a user with a certain experience in the CFD field, the impossibility to modify the code, working on the numerical and algebraical methods or other specific parameters can represent a downside. Furthermore, only the residual chart is present and in some cases, it is not easy to know when to stop the simulation looking only at this one; maybe a monitor chart should be added.

Vendor Response

By CONSELF on August 10, 2017
Thanks a lot! Happy you are using CONSELF
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 9, 2017
David S.
Owner, diveintomath.com
Research, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2017

“Challenging for those new to CFD like me, but super-amazing customer service!”

OverallBeing able to create a new design on CAD, and then CFD test it, is, while expensive for a small business like mine, much cheaper than making a prototype and then performing wind/water tunnel testing. When I compared my results to other wind/water tunnel test results, I found good agreement, which gave me a lot of confidence in the CONSELF results.
ProsI needed a lot of help, but was able to produce some great quality results. LOTS of options to choose from on geometry, mesh and CFD configurations. Customer support was above and beyond, 5 stars plus! If you are an inexperienced user like me, they will get you up and running.
ConsSometimes the system crashed a little more than I expected, but CONSELF never charged me for those runs.

Vendor Response

By CONSELF on August 16, 2017
Thanks a lot for your review!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2017
Alberto A.
Director
Civil Engineering, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 28, 2017

“Extremely usefull and cost-optimizing. ”

OverallCarry out a simulation project that seldom crosses our way without having to adquire a new software.
ProsThe practically unlimited computing/meshing power without having to invest in hardware or licenses. This allows saving money when there are no simulation projects (in my case).
ConsSome logical limitations in the complexity of the physic models included. I work with CFD, and there are related physics included in other commercial packages that would come very handy (such as particles trasport, spectral behaviour of glasses, etc)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 28, 2017
Marco M.
Engineer
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2017

“During my past experience in the automotive industry, I identified Conself as a potential supplier”

ProsThe great potentialities and versatility of the Cloud Computing; the avalaibility of the Conself Team to support their Customers, also through physically visiting them onsite whenever required, as well as their enthusiasm when exploring new engineering applications; the user-friendy graphical interface; the avalaibility of some tutorials to introduce the user to the implementation of the F.E.M. simulations.
ConsAs of early 2017, some dynamic structural analyses were not feasible yet from the user interface; however, Conself is committed in an ongoing effort to enlarge the range of applications in which Code Aster has a graphical interface.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2017
Gio M.
Engine cowling
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2017

“Great and practical”

ProsI think conself is a great software for its simplicity,clarity and Speed of use.great innovative project!

Vendor Response

By CONSELF on August 8, 2017
Thanks a lot for the review!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2017
Erica B.
---
Consumer Goods, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2017

“Great support”

OverallIt is accessible anywhere and the price quality ratio is very good
ProsThis software is very easy to use and the support that the team gives you is one of the best on the market. They are available pretty much all the time and their resolution time is very acceptable.
ConsThe software is lacking some additional features (like volume modeling) and it would be nice if it was possible to use it even without an internet connection

Vendor Response

By CONSELF on August 8, 2017
Great! Happy we manage to satisfy your needs!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2017
Ivan A.
Eng
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2017

“Excellent support . The supplied analysis brought our projects one step ahead .totally satisfied”

OverallWe used it for ramair wing simulation (polar calculation ) with incredible results
ProsUnexpected Precision. Logical and organized approach.steep learning curve..we were able t run a first , realistic simulation just after a 6 ours class.
ConsA decent connection is a must in order to.operate without problems...we did have problem once due to a local internet blackout...
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2017
Mahmoud A.
Assistance Professor
Education Management, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 13, 2017

“I run a number of simulations and was great, well optimised. I used normal cold flow simulations... ”

ProsThe ease of use, the meshing, the ease of set upping a case, the speed of computing for a high number of cells.
ConsThat you can't modify the mesh or boundary condition after you progress to computing stage. It should be added to make it easier.

Vendor Response

By CONSELF on August 16, 2017
Thanks a lot for your review!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 13, 2017
gianni v.
designer CAD
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2017

“I'am a beginner of CAD so the support is very important.”

ProsThe graphics are intuitive and easy to read. Even the test environment configuration parameters are user friendly
Conswhen the sw running , some time, i don't have the indication of what it do. No indication is being processed.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2017
Roberta M.
CFD Engineer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 2, 2017

“I use CONSELF to perform small simulation, with low computational cost.”

ProsIt is a user friendly software, and it is possible initialize a simulation in a few minutes. The results are availables in a few minutes.
ConsThe meshing and post-processing tools need to be developed, due to the low level of the tools it is no possible to perform a complex problem.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 2, 2017
Ahmed M.
Technical Director
Design, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 24, 2017

“A good cloud based CAE software”

Pros1. Cloud based, 2. There's no need to install the software. 3. There is no need to buy a powerful computer
ConsThe interface isn't the most user-friendly. Has a noticeable learning curve, but that's true for any CFD software.

Vendor Response

By CONSELF on August 28, 2017
Thanks a lot for your review. We would like to know more about the opinion you have about the interface. If we could have a chat together about that would be perfect!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 24, 2017
Enrico B.
Mechanical Engineer
Food & Beverages, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 30, 2017

“I was curious about the cloud after the try I'm happy! I recommend you to give it a chance. ”

ProsIt's fantastic don't have to think about the pc resources. The cloud gives a big boost to your work. The software is made in order to guide you through the setting step, so it is easy from the very first try.
ConsAt the moment I find the interface improvable. It's still not so performing in term of usability. .
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 30, 2017