PikMyKid Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About PikMyKid

First and Only Comprehensive School Dismissal and Traffic Solution - Completely Cloud-based and Affordable. PikMyKid's main features include Dismissal Automation, Carline management, School bus tracking, Parent messaging, Emergency 'Panic Button' for school staff. PikMyKid reduces liability and enhances student safety while mitigating traffic around schools. Engages >80% parents. The ONLY product in partnership with Department of Transportation. Over 500,000 users in 32 states and 7 countries. Learn more about PikMyKid

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 19 of 19 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 19 of 19 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Karla P.
Principal's Assistant
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 13, 2018

“We've been using PikMyKid for two years now. It has reduced our dismissal time.”

ProsThe customer service and support are amazing. They respond quickly and are extremely helpful in fixing any problems/issues we have. It is user friendly for administrators. It does reduce our dismissal time. When used correctly by parents, it can help ensure their child's safety.
ConsUnless everyone uses the system properly, it's not 100% effective. Every single parent has to use the application and use it properly otherwise there are problems at dismissal. Because of this, it never works perfectly. One big problem for our school, that really needs to be fixed, is that even if parents delegate their children, if the parent goes through car line and announces, their child will be announced even though they have been delegated to someone else. This is a problem for parents who delegate one child, but pick up another child themselves. If they go through the car line before the delegated person does, then both children, even the delegated child, will be announced. This is a huge problem for our school. Also, on the dashboard for admins, it would be nice to be able to sort the list of students by the columns available. If we could sort that list alphabetically by last name, it would be very helpful.

Vendor Response

By PikMyKid on October 8, 2019
Karla, Thank you so much for taking the time to review PikMyKid. We greatly appreciate it. Our customer service team is so grateful for the glowing review. We are so appreciative to have a team that truly cares about our schools. Thank you for taking notice of this. We appreciate that constructive feedback. We have worked to resolve a few of these issues and are always working to update the system to solve these problems. Thank you again, The PikMyKid Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 13, 2018
Chelsea M.
Director of Operations
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 19, 2018

“PikMyKid has gotten much better and easier to use over time”

ProsIt's very comprehensive. If all stakeholders are on board and using it appropriately, it's possible to know the dismissal plans/whereabouts of each and every student within about 7 seconds.
ConsThere are a lot of small things that make PMK less user-friendly than we would like. You have to take absent students out of the system one-by-one, you need to log out and in each day in order to have updated dismissal plans (some teachers have a hard time with this), and it took a long time to get enough buy-in with all of our stakeholders for it to truly be effective.

Vendor Response

By PikMyKid on October 8, 2019
Chelsea, Thank you so much for taking the time to review PikMyKid. We greatly appreciate it. We are thrilled to see you point out how well it works, especially if all of the stakeholders are on board and using it appropriately. This is crucial to implementing a new safety system. We appreciate you pointing out PikMyKid improving over time, we take criticism and feedback very seriously. We want our schools to have the best safety system in place for their students. Per the multiple similar feedback requests, we have updated the system to allow bulk selections. We hope this has helped resolve a few of these issues for you. Thank you again, The PikMyKid Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 19, 2018
John M.
Director of Technology & Communications
Education Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2019

“Awesome Solution!”

OverallPikMyKid has significantly improved our dismissal process. In the past, we used a custom-written Windows-based application to run dismissal, and it was definitely showing its age. PikMyKid has dramatically improved this for both buildings with its responsive, web-based dismissal management solution.
ProsPikMyKid is very easy to use for teachers, administrators, and parents alike. It ensures dismissal is both efficient and safe. It also saves our staff time not having to deal with dismissal notes and random changes.
ConsTheir ability to integrate with other products like Student Information Systems is limited, and updating data in their system can be cumbersome.

Vendor Response

By PikMyKid on October 8, 2019
John, Thank you so much for taking the time to review PikMyKid. We greatly appreciate it. You acknowledged "It also saves our staff time not having to deal with dismissal notes and random changes." We love hearing that PikMyKid assists the staff's daily duties. Thank you for the constructive feedback. We are always working to improve our systems and agree integrating student data can be a struggle. Take note, we are always using this feedback to make our system better for our schools. Thank you again, The PikMyKid Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2019
Tammi D.
Clerical Aide
Education Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2019

“Pikmykid a Success Story”

OverallPikmykid has definitely stream lined our dismissal process. We have much fewer incidents of children being in the wrong place at the end of the day. Our teachers have a way of verifying who should be in their bus line, in real time. The office has a way of checking for changes for all classes, at any given time.
ProsThe software has dramatically reduced the number of phone calls we field in regards to dismissal, especially at the end of the day. The parents really appreciate the ability to make changes at any time right from their phone, or from work, without having to make a call to our office.
ConsI don't like that if a student moves out of the district and I delete the student from the system, and then the student returns to the district and I have to enter them as a new student - instead of just reactivating them from a stored data base.

Vendor Response

By PikMyKid on October 8, 2019
Tammi, Thank you so much for taking the time to review PikMyKid. We greatly appreciate it. The part you mentioned about parents, "The parents really appreciate the ability to make changes at any time right from their phone, or from work, without having to make a call to our office." This makes us so happy. We are working out these data-based issues currently. Stay tuned! Thank you again, The PikMyKid Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2019
Aaron W.
IT Director
Education Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 23, 2017

“Works Great!”

OverallPeace of mind. We now know exactly where our students are. Communication is better, and interrupting the classroom with change of dismissal for individual students is a thing of the past.
ProsThe software does exactly what it says it will. I can use this software with confidence that everything will just work. Notifications are huge for us! Parents are now consistently kept in the loop.
ConsI wish the parents could have a web portal as well instead of forcing them to use an app. Also, you need to make sure you have good wifi outside for checking parents in. Once that is done, you are all set!

Vendor Response

By PikMyKid on October 2, 2019
Hey there Aaron, Thank you so much for taking the time to review PikMyKid. We greatly appreciate it. Thank you for pointing out that "The software does exactly what it says it will". We work hard to stay loyal and true to all that we market to consumers. In regards to parents having a dashboard, we will discuss and work it into our next survey of improvements with our schools. And yes, good wifi is a must. Which we can now help with depending on the school's wifi structure. "Peace of mind" is what we strive for. Thank you, Aaron, The PikMyKid team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 23, 2017
Brian E.
Director of Security & Facility Manager
Education Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 27, 2017

“My experience has been good overall.”

OverallOne of the benefits is that we are able to use a three digit numerical system to process our students in and out of school, making it easier and more efficient for parents and users at the school.
ProsThe Pikmykid software is relatively easy to use for everyone. The login process is very easy for users.
ConsThe software seems a little "glitchy" at times for parents and school users. There is no real "ALERT" feature that I am aware of at this time (to my knowledge). I would like to see the software offer some sort of ALERT feature that allows administrators to add-in for personnel NOT authorized to pick-up a child; the feature should be able to upload a photo when available; If the UNAUTHORIZED person attempts to pick-up the child, the person using Pikmykid could press a button/icon on the phone that would alert the teacher of the student and other designated personnel that he/she is onsite and the other parent or authorized guardian and the authorities should be called. If the incorrect student number is put in the system, it is usually easy to remove student by pressing the "x", but some times, the software only allows for the student to go into the "HOLD" section.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 27, 2017
BENNY C.
Asst Chief Learning Officer
Education Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019

“My Pikmykid Experience”

ProsFor us, Pikmykid provided the school the ability to track when parents arrive on campus to pick up their children and seamlessly alert the teacher. This help to expedite our dismissal process as well as increase its efficiency.
ConsThe ability to manage parent data is cumbersome. Many issues that arise that have to be resolved require going through Pikmykid customer service when I wish we could resolve them ourselves.

Vendor Response

By PikMyKid on October 8, 2019
Benny, Thank you so much for taking the time to review PikMyKid. We greatly appreciate it. We are so happy we were able to provide your school with a tracking ability to expedite your dismissal process. We understand managing parent data can be cumbersome. Our support team works closely with the technical team to honor school requests and feedback. Stay tuned! Thank you again, The PikMyKid Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019
Miriam S.
Clerk
Education Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019

“Product Review”

OverallUsing Pikmykid has drastically cut down on the phone calls to change transportation. We are able to manage our students transportation much more efficiently.
ProsIt is easy to navigate. Customer service is absolutely the Best!
ConsYou could look at families/siblings, not always just an individual. Not all buses, daycares, etc.. were listed under afterschool. Parents get confused.

Vendor Response

By PikMyKid on October 8, 2019
Miriam, Thank you so much for taking the time to review PikMyKid. We greatly appreciate it. Our customer service team is so appreciative of your glowing review! They truly care about our schools. We understand, we will note this type of grouping and will work towards finding a solution for you. Thank you again, The PikMyKid Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019
Brooke S.
Receptionist
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 6, 2017

“PMK has really helped streamline our dismissal process!”

ProsI love that it is so easy to use. The customer service is amazing as well. Our rep is always there in a pinch to walk us through an issue.
ConsThere are too many ways to run reports. This should be a positive thing, but I find it difficult to know which report to have our teachers use. It is also confusing to distinguish between a delegation and a change mode. Parents use both.

Vendor Response

By PikMyKid on October 2, 2019
Brooke, Thank you for taking the time to review PikMyKid. We greatly appreciate it. We love hearing that PikMyKid is user-friendly. We take many strides to make our app and dashboard as easy to use as possible. We understand the multiple reports being a bit of a nuisance. We are always working to improve based on school needs, stay tuned! Thank you, Brooke, The PikMyKid Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 6, 2017
William E.
Behavior Intervention Support Chair/ESL Teacher
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 26, 2017

“Has added safety and efficiency along with a level of accountability to our dismissal process.”

ProsAccountability of every student so we know each student has been dismissed and the route they have taken. Parents can update dismissal information and the dismissal process is faster with the ability to announce and send parents through the car line. We can also track students who participate in clubs after school.
ConsInability to announce for after school programs and difficulties if parents do not participate and cooperate.

Vendor Response

By PikMyKid on October 2, 2019
William, Thank you for taking the time to review PikMyKid. We greatly appreciate it. The point you made about "Accountability of every student so we know each student has been dismissed and the route they have taken." is exactly why PikMyKid was started. As our CEO had a mishap with his daughter during dismissal time. I understand that the announcement feature for afterschool being necessary. We work hard to make adjustments and updates per majority of school requests. Stay tuned! Thank you, William, The PikMyKid Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 26, 2017
Annette H.
Principal
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 26, 2017

“The customer support and response to concerns has been phenomenal”

OverallWe were able to put together a safe and efficient dismissal to keep our families and neighbors happy
ProsPik My Kid is very user friendly and our community relies on it to make our dismissal more efficient and safe. Our neighbors are happy as well, because we are able to move cars through quicker.
ConsOccasionally after an upgrade there are some issues with needing a patch, but most upgrades have actually been for useful purposes.

Vendor Response

By PikMyKid on October 2, 2019
Hey there Annette, Thank you for taking the time to review PikMyKid. We greatly appreciate it. We are so happy to hear " Our neighbors are happy as well because we are able to move cars through quicker". One of the many goals of PikMyKid is to alleviate dangerous neighborhood traffic. We are thrilled to hear you are so pleased with our customer service team. We understand sometimes there are kinks after an update, thank you for being patient and working with us. We appreciate you, Annette, The PikMyKid Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 26, 2017
Michelle C.
Office Administration
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 26, 2018

“Very helpful and useful program that is easy to use and understand”

OverallQuick way to change transportation and advise teachers
ProsIt allows us ways to advise parents a quick update on events that happen - such as bus delays and/or school closings
ConsWhen editing a phone number or changing transportation need to go back to start - more difficult when it's a family etc.

Vendor Response

By PikMyKid on October 8, 2019
Michelle, Thank you so much for taking the time to review PikMyKid. We greatly appreciate it. We are thrilled to hear you explain PikMyKid is easy to use. It is awesome you enjoy utilizing the announcement feature to make general announcements to your parents. Thank you for the honest feedback. Over time, we have adjusted these and hope this has helped with changing information being more easy. Thank you again, ThePikMyKid Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 26, 2018
Latrice C.
Registrar
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 12, 2018

“We really like PikMyKid”

ProsThe easy use of the app, the parents understand how to use the app, our teachers understand how to use the app, its very user friendly
ConsThere are cliches at the worst times but I don't think there is much we can do about that, if the user has an old version it doesn't work, communicate sooner when a new version is approaching

Vendor Response

By PikMyKid on October 8, 2019
Latrice, Thank you so much for taking the time to review PikMyKid. We greatly appreciate it. User-friendly is music to our ears. We work so hard to make sure our systems are easily used as we have a large variety of people that use it daily. We understand the updates can cause glitches. We update often to adjusting to the majority of schools' feedback. We will absolutely work on notifying schools prior to updates so you can notify your parents accordingly. Thank you again, The PikMyKid Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 12, 2018
Avatar Image
John M.
Web Developer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 26, 2017

“Best way to dismiss students!”

OverallOur dismissal procedures are MUCH safer and can be audited! Things are much more streamlined while simultaneously increasing safety.
ProsThe software is relatively easy to use and very reliable. It's helped increase the safety and security of our K-5 dismissal procedures.
ConsSome parts of it can be a bit inflexible. Some updates in the past have caused issues; however, they were always quick to communicate workarounds and fixes.

Vendor Response

By PikMyKid on October 2, 2019
John, Thank you for taking the time to review PikMyKid. We greatly appreciate it. We are so happy to hear that "The software is relatively easy to use and very reliable". Our team works around the clock to make sure we are here for our schools. In regards to updates causing issues, thank you for saying "they were always quick to communicate workarounds and fixes". Our team works hard to update the per the majority of school requests. The PikMyKid tech team is thoughtful in testing and like all things have a hiccup or two on occasion, thank you for understanding and working with us. Thank you, John, The PikMyKid Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 26, 2017
Caleb Y.
Principal
Education Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2019

“PikMyKid”

OverallI enjoy the product. It has improved our efficiency and effectiveness during dismissal.
ProsThe systematic process and ease of use for parents, teachers, and staff.
ConsThere are a few interface features that could be improved. Specifically the lay out of the dismissal fields that are emailed to teachers. It would also be beneficial for the dispatcher to have a few more scroll features.

Vendor Response

By PikMyKid on October 8, 2019
Caleb, Thank you so much for taking the time to review PikMyKid. We greatly appreciate it. We are happy to hear you PikMyKid provides ease of use for parents, teachers, and staff members. The PikMyKid team works hard to ensure our systems are user-friendly. We appreciate the honest feedback. We are happy to tell you a few of these issues are in the technical pipeline to be modified. Stay tuned! Thank you again, The PikMyKid Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2019
Jennifer H.
Principal
Education Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2019

“Love PIKMYKID”

ProsIt has made our dismissal process much more efficient and has added an extra safety layer for us.
ConsI would like for parent sot be able to add more people to their account as optional people to pick their child us and use the system.

Vendor Response

By PikMyKid on October 8, 2019
Jennifer, Thank you so much for taking the time to review PikMyKid. We greatly appreciate it. We are happy to hear PikMyKid has made your dismissal process more efficient and safe, We appreciate the feedback, we understand the need for parents to add more people to delegate and we will work on finding a solution for you. Thank you again, The PikMyKid Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2019
Joseph P.
IT Director
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2018

“PikMyKid makes car loop pick up a breeze”

ProsI like that I can manage all parents and students in the school and monitor how they will be picked up each day.
ConsI dislike the notifications you can send because they do not always work correctly and you cannot see them in the system.

Vendor Response

By PikMyKid on October 8, 2019
Joseph, Thank you so much for taking the time to review PikMyKid. We greatly appreciate it. You pointed out how you can manage all parents and students in the school, we are happy we are able to provide that extra safety factor for your school. We have worked out many tweaks in our notifications and hope you have noticed the improvements. Thank you again, The PikMyKid Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2018
Avatar Image
Samantha H.
School principal
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 19, 2018

“Great for ease of mind and security each day. ”

ProsWe loved how we knew how each kidddo was going home each day and the accountability was on the parents to get us the right information in a timely manner and in a consistent way.
ConsThe confusion of the way things were labeled made a bit of a mess at dismissal time as well as the problems we had with the app.

Vendor Response

By PikMyKid on October 8, 2019
Samantha, Thank you so much for taking the time to review PikMyKid. We greatly appreciate it. We are so happy to hear you say the real-time paper trail has assisted your daily dismissal. Over time, we have taken similar feedback and have worked to make the dashboard more user-friendly. Thank you again, The PikMyKid Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 19, 2018
Melinda M.
Admin Clerk
Education Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 6, 2017

“I enjoy using Pikmykid. The parents loves it as well.”

ProsI love how we can send messages and the dismissal is easy also. I feel like it helps with communications between teachers and parents. The school message board is great.
ConsThe one thing i least like is when it sends the messages it sends it 4 times. I also wish that the parents had to opinion to respone to the messages that we send out. Some of our parents work and may not be able to call. But they may be able to texts us back.

Vendor Response

By PikMyKid on October 2, 2019
Melinda, Thank you so much for taking the time to review PikMyKid. We greatly appreciate it. You mentioned that PikMyKid assists communications between teachers and parents, we love hearing this from our schools! We have now added a chatbox linked to text messaged to chat about the alert sent. We hope this helped resolve this issue for you. Thank you, Melinda, The PikMyKid Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 6, 2017