SchoolMint Ratings

Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About SchoolMint

SchoolMint is an award-winning school choice and enrollment solution for PreK-12 schools, districts, and cities. Our customizable software provides end-to-end functionality to streamline the school enrollment process (including school choice, recruitment management, application and registration management, and year-round forms) for both families and school administrators. These solutions are available via user-friendly online and mobile interfaces, making them more accessible to all families. Learn more about SchoolMint

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 12 of 12 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 12 of 12 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Stefani P.
Director of Enterprise Systems
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2017

“Amazing! Our school administration and campus registrars love it!”

ProsIt is 100% online. This alone has saved our campuses many hours in going through paper applications and parents can chose more than 1 school at the same time without having to complete a new paper application. I love the conditional formatting, scheduling of messages and the defaulting of today's date enhancements added this year. We are able to get incoming students set up very quickly for testing or find potential needs for students earlier by collecting the information earlier in the process than we have in the past since the forms are so easy to use online. Wonderful tool to collect enrollment data and create projections when we start year 3. This helps locate the grades of greatest needs so we can concentrate marketing in the locations and grades we need as well.
ConsNo way to stop users from creating multiple accounts year to year when they cannot remember their password or username - I have parents with 3 user names for 1 student and 3 siblings with different usernames. We send them the username in all communication, but parents still create new accounts! We would really love a view only or a way for certain groups to be able to print their own forms, such as Nurses or principals. We would not want them having the ability to make any changes, but if they could look at the information and print out anything pertaining to their department, then this would eliminate the need for the registrar to do it for them. The feeder campuses and administration would love a way to see which campus the re-enrolled student came from the prior year. For example, the Junior High campus cannot see which elementary campus the re-enrolled student came from. Since we are open boundaries, there are 5 elementaries that feed into 2 different junior highs. But the student can pick either junior high. So to get the records to the right school, I have to go through and find the info student by student since I have full access.
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2017
Peggy A.
Compliance Coordinator
Education Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
June 27, 2017

“This is our 2nd year using SchoolMint for re-enrollment and I love how it's streamlined the process!”

OverallIt has streamlined my process so much that I only need a little help now! Once we get all of our forms figured out and set up, it will be even easier! And once everyone gets used to the fact that they can use the spreadsheet and no longer need to have the paper in their hand, it will cut down on even more time and paper waste.
ProsThe ease in communicating with our entire school community. The ability to sort and download the information. The ease in which we can conduct our lotteries, and sort and organize our waitlist. The quick reaction time for customer support when small issues arise. The ability to build our own forms to our own specs so we can collect information for our specific needs and state requirements. The companies quick and open response to suggestions from and accommodations for their clients. And the overall respect with which they treat their clients. This all contributes to the whole sense of family and a caring community.
ConsI only wish they also supported a database! The most difficult thing about having online paperwork is making sure everyone has access and knowledge on how to use it. SchoolMint is wonderful about helping the families with issues, but they can't help with everyone having access! :)
Source: Capterra
June 27, 2017
Katie M.
Admission Counselor
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
June 26, 2017

“It has provided our school with an efficient way of organizing our entire enrollment process.”

Pros* Interest Tracker feature *Automated emails/text messaging *Great Customer Support team *Each student profile/dashboard keeps gives both the parent and our staff easy access to up-to-date application/registration information *Notes feature allows users to know what other staff actions have already been taken on a student--which helps with communications between departments *Electronic Signatures and uploads *Online Teacher Recommendations are very important to us as it speeds up the process of getting feedback on applicants. *Cut costs on printing *Integrates with Powerschool *Lessens transcribing errors *Time/Money saved on Data entry *Up-to-Date enrollment numbers/reports
Cons*Still learning how to make this work for a private school that requires a different process. *There have been several software issues/errors that have come up delaying numerous applications and therefore affecting our school's customer service response time. *Pay feature-needs promo code *Application doesn't auto save progress *Doesn't save the whole application when you hit submit at the end of the application
Source: Capterra
June 26, 2017
Diane B.
Office Manager
Education Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
June 26, 2017

“SchoolMint is the cutting edge of enrollment and registration software. ”

OverallSchoolMint has taken our application, lottery and registration to a new level. They have streamlined every aspect of the process. Our school now has opportunities to expand and grow in ways that were unlikely even just a few years ago, in part thanks to SchoolMint.
ProsSchoolMint's customer service is the best I have ever encountered. Each question is answered quickly, thoughtfully, and with kindness. Their technical expertise is matched by their humanity, patience and good humor. SchoolMint is truly a partner in our school's success and growth.
ConsThere are certain aspects of our school that have evolved because of our unique circumstances. There are still a handful of minor issues in the registration process that we have had to work around. SchoolMint has taken note of our difficulties and is exploring ways to meet our needs more fully in the future.
Source: Capterra
June 26, 2017
Christine G.
Chief Communications Officer
51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
June 28, 2017

“SM is easy to use and captures all the data needed for applications, communication, enrollment.”

ProsThe student enrollment summary is reviewed daily, the easy function to export families information, data, charts, map of where student applications are coming from, the ability to use SM fields for enrollment forms, and RSVP tracker.
ConsEmail communication design could be improved, easy search for family emails, and rsvp tracker on each application not just in the rsvp section.
Source: Capterra
June 28, 2017
Tori H.
Executive Director
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
June 28, 2017

“SchoolMint is beyond user-friendly. It is so intuitive and easy to use for both admin & families”

ProsThe ability to easily customize the lottery application and registration forms. You don't even really need the training support to figure it out.
ConsI would like to be able to run more reports with customized features. For example, we poll our families about aftercare needs on the registration form. I would like to be able to see the responses ordered, etc.
Source: Capterra
June 28, 2017
Todd H.
Director of IT
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
June 26, 2017

“Best customer service and value of any company I've ever worked with.”

ProsSchoolMint has completely revolutionized the ways that we recruit, enroll, and conduct a lottery. In year one of working with SchoolMint we saw ROI in our first 6 months and have remodeled how we work with families. We are no longer chasing paper, but instead focus on productive outreach and onboarding of new families.
Source: Capterra
June 26, 2017
Jaciel C.
Student Recruitment Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
June 21, 2017

“Exceptional, user-friendly software for student recruitment and enrollment”

ProsDashboards, Mapping application, Family-Centered Profiles, ease of communications via email and text, tags and sorting of the database, ease of tracking leads from events.
Consreports need work, does not allow for mass self-data imports, the text editor is simple and requires thorough editing on Word before pasting from a document.
Source: Capterra
June 21, 2017
Shirley M.
Director of Admissions
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
June 26, 2017

“The overall process of re-enrollment and registration is great. However, reporting needs flexibility”

OverallQuick access to parents and easy to track and verify data.
ProsIt is easy for parents and I am able to track items quickly. I love the automation of emails so that I can follow-up. I also like the notes. I would wish there was a privacy section on notes so that parents could see some notes but not view others.
ConsTheir is no custom reports that I can use. I don't want to have to pay for custom reports on data that has already been collected. At least the csv export download could ask for what fields we want to pull.
Source: Capterra
June 26, 2017
Mary R.
CA
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 23, 2018

“Great for first time users. Horrible to update! ”

OverallClear registration to schools, simple organization for school paperwork, and multiple kids listed in one place.
ProsThe organization of information and presentation is simple. It lends to being great for getting away from paperwork. Parents can interact with both the website or the application. If kids are going to multiple schools registration and acceptance are easily accessed and clear.
ConsAttempting to update information has to be done per individual in the household with no option for everyone to update at the same time. Also, updating the students information does not mean the school gets that information appropriately. Customer service is not friendly and very automated.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 23, 2018
Jennie B.
Finance Manager
Education Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2017

“Mostly good, not great, customer service could be better”

OverallWe managed our lottery efficiently and the subsequent offers of space.
ProsEasy to setup, easy to communicate with various groups, fairly intuitive. Forms are simple to put together but a little but limited in what you can do.
ConsReporting is so-so, I wish it were more customizable. The search feature is limited (you can't search for a parent name). If you want to export your data into your SIS system - good luck, it takes them a month to create the file!
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2017
Chelsea L.
Director of Operations
Retail, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 28, 2018

“Easy to coordinate with school”

ProsGreat way to keep track of applications, important documents, dates and contact to get in touch with school on the web.
ConsDoesn't remove the need to call and discuss needs with a person at the schools. Needs a live chat option or direct calling option through the application.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 28, 2018