Chargify Ratings

Overall
4.300000190734863/5
Ease of Use
4.099999904632568/5
Customer Service
4.300000190734863/5

About Chargify

Chargify is a globally-recognized leader in the Recurring Billing and Subscription Management space. Chargify Elastic Billing turns billing into a competitive edge for modern recurring revenue-based businesses that need to personalize and differentiate their offerings for the Relationship Economy. Elastic Billing is transforming the way that businesses package, price, and promote offers and manage change over time. Learn more about Chargify

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 197 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 197 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Allison C.
Consultant
Non-Profit Organization Management, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 13, 2019

“I wish I found this sooner”

OverallI use Filemaker pro. I used to have to keep track of client information such as billing period and contact them to get the authorization to charge them each period. It was really ridiculous. Now everything is completely automated. Chargify does everything and sends me notifications to let me know how things are going. My experience has been a ten and I hope Chargify does more marketing so that more business can be sure to find them.
ProsThe customer service at Chargify is unmatched. While within your account you can choose to chat with a representative who is competent and will quickly solve whatever issue or question you have. They are able to provide direct links within your account to help you navigate and set up whatever you are trying to do. Chargify allows you to set up several different billing strategies easily and efficiently. The possibilities are endless. The support center is extremely detailed and helps you gain a full working knowledge of all the available features so that you can be sure to take advantage of them.
ConsYou get what you pay for and the steep price of this comes with steep rewards and benefits. If you paid less you still wouldn't get half of what they have to offer.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 13, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Internet, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 12, 2019

“Robust system, particularly for API usage”

OverallWe came from a competing service where the tech support had devolved. We needed an API that was robust enough to let us convert our existing payment system quickly, which Chargify's did. The customer service and tech support along the way has been excellent. As PCI compliance became more rigorous, we moved to using their hosted public payment pages, which allows us to reduce/remove PCI compliance on our side. However, the public pages do come with some limitations in that customizing them requires knowledge of CSS and Javascript to control various elements. Overall, however, our transition to, and continued use of Chargify has been a great experience and I would recommend them to anyone looking for a merchant account payment processor.
Pros- API functions to handle almost any processing request you can think of - Great tech support (actual knowledgeable techs, not script-readers) - System uptime seems stable and reliable - Hosted public payment pages helps reduce PCI compliance requirements
Cons- Cost is a bit on the high side, but not outside the realm of its competition. - Geared strongly for recurring payments, lacking easy single-charge functions (in particular, scheduling a single charge on the future date). - Customizing the public payment pages could be easier with options to display/hide various components instead of relying on merchant to create CSS/Javascript to control them. - ACH support limited to only a couple of merchant account providers. In our case, this requires us to use a separate e-check payment processor, resulting it maintaining two distinct payment processes on our side.

Vendor Response

By Chargify on February 14, 2019
We're glad that your experience with Chargify has been a great experience & appreciate the review. We are always looking to improve our service & value this feedback when prioritizing updates!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 12, 2019
Ed N.
Managing Director
Sports, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 11, 2019

“Amazing billing flexibility ”

OverallOverall very good. The software is quite complex to fully understand and the sales process could be a bit more transparent.
ProsThe ability to flexibly manage our subscription products. Our previous management system for direct debits did not offer the flexibility other than to set up and cancel a direct debit subscription. Chargify now allows us to administer multiple things including placing accounts on hold, changing billing date, changing amounts etc.
ConsWe started using the software, integrating with GoCardless. We were one of the first to use this new integration and there were and still are a few limitations. However, the customer support has been excellent and they are very receptive to accommodating our enhancements and feature requests.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 11, 2019
James S.
CTO
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019

“Very good for specific use cases, with other functionality not adequate”

OverallWe wanted to manage subscriptions, feed quickbooks with info for revenue reporting, and track churn/MRR/ARR. But, we can only manage subscriptions with it and can' achieve the other goals.
ProsGood APIs Easy setup Simple UI Lots of analytics Good at monthly subscriptions with credit card billing
ConsNon-monthly subscriptions are not handled well and not incorporated into MRR/ARR properly when there are mid-cycle change Revenue recognition severely lacking for anything but monthly, credit card subscriptions Invoice handling severely lacking Integration capabilities for quickbooks are inadequate for anything but monthly credit card subscriptions Webhooks almost there but key data points are missing from key webhooks, like a customer ID on an invoice generated or invoice payment
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019

“Great Product, Don't Give a Hoot About Customers”

OverallWe've been (sadly) a long-time user of Chargify. Eventually, we will switch to just using native Stripe. Chargify is just a GUI on top of native Stripe and native Stripe has come a long way over the last few years. Anyway, Chargify got new leadership a few years ago. Their CEO told me via email and on the phone that they would not raise our prices without an adequate heads-up. Well, they did. And they raised them by 10x (TEN!!!) with one month's notice. As a consolation, they gave me $20/month off. Thanks for being so damn generous with your long-time users. They justified it by saying their development costs have soared as they've worked to develop new and rather poorly rolled out new features that aren't as good as other tools. For example, their analytics is absolute garbage. To make matters worse: Just recently, there was a BIG bug as they switched their API calls to Stripe where Chargify was calling the ORIGINAL card a user signed up with as opposed to the default one in Chargify. We notified them about this in late August and they passed the buck to Stripe. Well, it was NOT Stripe's fault. After a lot more back and forth emails, they finally admitted that this was on their end and fixed the bug. But that's after we've had to process thousands of dollars in refunds. STAY AWAY. Use Native Stripe. Chargify is a rip off.
Pros- Ease of Use - Dunning management - Filtering of data
Cons- Raise Prices 10x on Customers - Buggy - Analytics - Support - They don't care about their customers - As you grow, their logic of how they handle Products/Coupons is really, really poorly designed.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019
Jordan G.
Owner
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019

“Glad we switched to Chargify”

ProsChargify makes it very easy to run a subscription based business. We offer various monthly plans with configurable options and Chargify has a ton of features which allows us to configure and adjust products, plans, prices and options. It is extremely flexible and has saved us hundreds of hours managing our clients payment process - especially with self service pages and dunning.
ConsNot sure if this is a configuration issue, however I recently saw a list of "unpaid" customers. I think Chargify can do a better job of notifying me if a customer has an unpaid balance which is growing. After 4 attempts of failed dunning, Chargify needs to send alert to me.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019
Danielle L.
Program Manager
Insurance, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2019

“Customer Success - Success”

OverallChargify as a software and service has provided us with a good experience.
ProsThe Customer Success team at Chargify is wonderful. You can go to them with any questions or concerns you have and if they don't know they answer, they will get one for you. They have made working with Chargify a joy and have helped us to adapt and alter the product to help it work best for us and our business needs.
ConsThere are parts of the software that are hard to figure out how to use without completing additional research. Chargify does have great Help articles, but it would be nice if the software was more user friendly so you don't have to refer to the Help items.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2019
Dave G.
CEO
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2019

“Solid product, good support, stable”

OverallGood solid stable software that simply works. Never have to worry that my recurring rev is going to be charged correctly and on time. Integrates with my other tools well. The dunning feature is critical for any recurring business and yours works well.
ProsGood solid program, works well for Saas companies. Integrates well with payment processors. Good support. Manages products well.
ConsNeeds a clone feature for products. Needs upsell/downsell feature. Was suprised when you initiated a percentage fee on sales when it was inititally a monthly set cost.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2019
Carlin W.
Management Consultant
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2019

“We rely heavily on Chargify for Platform”

OverallCustomizing payment options and plans within one account for multiple different enterprises.
ProsOur software is primarily a subscription based service with various enterprise clients that all have different needs for their representatives. This means we have to tailor the pricing models based on the services these clients are using. Chargify makes it easy to quickly ascertain our revenues and churn rates and also identify key areas of improvement. Chargify is a robust platform we have chosen to implement and will continue to support.
ConsDue to the extensive features Chargify has, it can be quite daunting at first glance for someone not experienced with running different kinds of reports. However, once they get up and running, the process gets smoother, but it is an initially steep learning curve in my opinion.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2019
Alex G.
CPO
Legal Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 14, 2019

“Great option for subscription (SaaS) based bussines”

OverallCustomer service is always available and documentation for APIs is detailed. Sandbox environments are easy to use
ProsThe product is easy to integrate with, support a wide amount of payment gateway out of the box. Products are easy to setup, and tax tables are manageable. Overall a good option when you are looking subscription management product to power your software
ConsSome limitation on usage based products but minor with some workarounds available
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 14, 2019
Chad K.
Founder / CTO
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2019

“Perfect for our needs”

OverallIt's been reliable, easy to understand and easy to use. Exactly what you want in this type of product. Having to custom-write our own billing and payment system to automate everything would have been a mess and would have us running around trying to deal with edge cases that Chargify handles perfectly.
ProsUsing Chargify has saved us hundreds of hours of custom development, and half a dozen hours each month of maintenance and administrative effort. It let us accomplish nearly everything we wanted to do with our monthly based pricing model.
ConsIt would be nice to have features to send one-off charges to existing clients, where you don't want them to recur.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Apparel & Fashion, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2019

“Chargify is great if you need to customize”

ProsWe are grandfathered into older pricing which is amazing. It's less expensive than many other rebilling platforms. It is easy for a developer to customize to your businesses needs. It's a simple program and not a one size fits all approach.
ConsThe dashboard isn't accurate and there's a discrepancy between the main dashboard KPIs and the insights. The data isn't populating correctly and it throws off the numbers. Doesn't take into account certain things like when someone pauses, cancels and is reactivated, etc. No paypal option if you choose Stripe bc they only allow for one payment gateway.

Vendor Response

By Chargify on February 27, 2019
Thank you for your review! The discrepancy you are seeing in the dashboards is feedback we have received before. Currently, the two graphs show different things (one is cash, the other is a billing based view of revenue). Our team has developed a detailed plan to fix this issue. Feel free to contact us at support@chargify.com or 1-800-401-2412, if you have more questions on this matter.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2019
Sandra J.
CSM
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2019

“Great product. Easy to setup and use. ”

OverallWe have a self-serve SAAS service and Chargify helps us automate the charging and statements as well as providing customers with a way to manage their information, plan choices and payment details.
ProsChargify is a great product. Great for smaller business. I like that it's fairly simple and intuitive for setup and use. The UI is great and easy to navigate. Support are very responsive and friendly. They take initiative to help and advise customers through developments in subscription charging and often introduce useful new features to the tool. Always striving to improve. API is good too.
ConsSome of the framework introduces complexities and complications. I've struggled a bit manging customers using invoice billing and also having customers manage information, statements etc in the billing portal. Though there are workarounds for any issues it can, occasionally, make things a little fiddly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2019
Justin P.
Jack of All.
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2019

“A rock solid billing platform lacking just a few search related features. ”

OverallSolid and extensible, which is what we wanted, but plenty of room for improvement in admin, search, and reporting areas.
ProsThe platform is fully featured as far meeting as our needs for recurring annual billing for software licenses. It has a fast interface, the API is solid for website related coding, and the
ConsThe admin area is lacking in features. No real ability to generate custom reports, though they have some details reports but the drill down is limited. The search/filter capabilities are poor in most screens. They recently added a global search ability, which is handy for simple account related detail, but presents only a short list, and can only select one account each time, so no good for bulk searches. The main list screens for transactions and subscriptions is severely lacking in searchable parameters. For example, searching transactions exposes only date range and a type. No other transaction data is available to search against. This lack of back end admin features appears in other areas too, such as the web hooks panel.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2019
Madison M.
Frontend Developer
Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 13, 2019

“Intuitive UI and Flexible Configuration”

OverallWe've sped up accounting, streamlined processes, and gave our customers a better experience.
ProsIt is intuitive to use. While there is a learning curve at the beginning, once you understand the general layout, Chargify is easy to use. They've expanded on their analytics, making the application more instrumental in business decisions backed by real data. Their API and webhooks allow for integrations that suit my company's workflow. Instead of disrupting or working around Chargify, the software pairs well with our pre-established setup.
ConsThe coupon set up can be limiting for some of our promos. More coupon options would be ideal.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 13, 2019
Megan S.
Strategic Social Media Marketing
Marketing and Advertising, Self-employed
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 10, 2018

“Hands down best product on the market. ”

OverallThe easiest billing software that I've come across. And I've encountered many.
ProsAbove all else, their instant online CHAT SUPPORT should be an industry standard. I have had some crazy, custom expert level scenarios with which I have tried to "stump the chump", and every time, they have not only helped me come up with a great solution, but walk me through how to implement it. Their support staff have real personalities, you can actually feel the ownership they have for the product when they assist you in the areas of the software that you need help with. They are fun, and professional at the same time. A client came to me with this already in place, and I'll recommend them to every client I have who needs this software, all day, every day.
ConsSince there is a 100 character limit that I must fill, I'll just sit here and type whatever comes to mind. There isn't one con. Wait. Maybe one. Nope. Can't think of it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 10, 2018
Michael W.
President
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2019

“Billing in for multiple types of subscription models”

OverallWe did not want to write a full customer billing system when we started 10 years ago. Chargify let us get up and running quickly and has kept pace with our needs as we grow.
ProsEasy integration brought us to Chargify and it has been consistently good. The simple interface and a fair number of modifications have been great to manage our billing system without having to master an overly complex system.
ConsWe sell recurring and also Pay As You Go subscriptions. Recurring works great and our customers love it. Our Pay as You Go customers complain from time to time because their statement can arrive up to 30 days after their purchase. That makes them assume they have be billed on a recurring plan. We understand we are a weird kind of account and you focus on recurring ... so no hard feelings
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2019
Adrian M.
Business Operations Analyst
Telecommunications, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019

“Solid for what it is supposed to do...”

OverallIt's a good solution. I'd like the ability to pull full raw data from Chargify as well. I think being able to pull full raw data at the line level - all changes, etc. - can allow an organization to not just use Chargify reports and dashboards, but create their own based on their specific needs.
ProsI like the ability to pull specific reporting like recurring revenue and sales data. The ability to see customer sales transactions and movement is great as well.
ConsI'd like to see easier implementation with Salesforce. Now that Salesforce acquired Tableau, the reporting from Chargify can be used to pull into Salesforce for different reporting views that Chargify may not capture. Or, in some cases, Tableau is the norm for the company, not Chargify, so ease of use to share the data.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019
Janelle D.
Admin/Support
Real Estate, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2019

“Reliable Billing System”

ProsChargify is easy to use for the most part. Dashboard's great, especially revenue comparisons between this month and last month. Our customers do not have direct access to their Chargify account, so I like being able to share a link via email so they can update their billing information. The "transactions" tab provides a quick view of the latest transactions which comes in handy. It's easy to setup new products and coupons. "Site activity" provides a great view of payment success/failure as well as sign up failures, etc. Support has been responsive when I've needed assistance.
ConsI would like to be able to cancel a handful of Sponsored User accounts but cannot do it without affecting the churn rate.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Human Resources, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 12, 2019

“Chargify is simple and easy to use, but also a very robust tool”

OverallWe are a company with thousands of active and inactive customers and Chargify gives us the ability to easily manage all of our accounts without hassle. It takes seconds to process new charges, generate billing statements, and apply refunds. We are much more efficient as a team thanks to Chargify!
Pros-Easy to process charges in a matter of seconds -Reviewing and sending out billing statements is quick and simple -Updating payment information is easy to do over the phone or by sending a "self service link" -Processing refunds takes moments
Cons-Not being able to update contact information on billing statements after a charge has been processed

Vendor Response

By Chargify on February 14, 2019
We're glad to hear Chargify has helped make your team much more efficient. Thank you for the feedback - our team is always working to improve our product!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 12, 2019
Massimo A.
CEO
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 13, 2019

“It's come a very long way”

OverallWe've gone from zero to millions in ARR on it. And they've grown with us over time. They definitely got the job done for us.
ProsFlexible and easy to use. It has the right combination of flexibility and ease of setup. Price points are a great feature. And - most of all - they've really worked hard to improve it over the last several years.
ConsThere are still some UX issues, like the way the "Catalog" page is built in the admin: if you have a lot of products, components, and coupons, it becomes quite difficult to use. The reporting area used to be very limited, but it has been improved dramatically. It still needs some additional work to make it more robust, but they're on the right path.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 13, 2019
Avatar Image
Jason M.
Software Engineer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 12, 2019

“Chargify has everything you need”

OverallWe've been with Chargify since the early days, and although they have raised their prices we are still very happy not only that we chose them to begin with, but that we are still happy with the service. If you want a solid payment processor that will meet all your business/corporate/legal needs, Chargify is the one-stop-package.
ProsMeets all legal standards Hosts transactions Accepts payments outside US Handles Dunning Reliable Many useful features like step-tiered billing Helpful support
ConsCost has been raised several times since we started Rate limiting on API is pretty low Wish it had more hosted payment page/email templates/customizations Locked in once you choose them as your payment provider, no real migration path to other service.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 12, 2019
Avatar Image
Leilani S.
Customer Success Advocate (CSA) - Team Lead
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 1, 2017

“Makes My Job 10 TIMES Easier! ”

OverallChargify has helped our support team be able to maintain transparency and integrity of our automation and billing process when its come into question. I cannot say enough wonderful things!
ProsWe use Chargify for all things billing like processing subscription charges. We've also been able to automate invoicing/statements, failed credit card payments, subscription state, customized billing, etc... and can we talk API? Their API was very easy to integrate with and use has shown to be very valuable when regarding disputes and verification of integrity of our customer accounts. We couldn't be any happier! Plus, their support team is and has ALWAYS been helpful when anyone from our team reaches out.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 1, 2017
Loris D.
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: GetApp
November 4, 2016

“Best Till Date”

OverallIt is a great app. I can totally rely on it. Compare to other apps, it's quick, efficient, I love how easy it is to manage the funds with it! Also, it integrates really well with the other tools we use. It has quick responsive services. Must say this is great service. Very relaxing and easy.
ProsChargify's Revenant billion answer is ideal for small scale and midsize growing corporations. It offers mobile dedicated app for iPhone and for iPad device users, not like different similar tools. The client support of Chargify offers phone, on-line and mail support for users. The Revenant charge platform supports integration with Salesforce not like different similar tools. The Revenant billion answer offers yearly, quarterly and monthly charge cycles feature. Chargify doesn't supply any mobile dedicated app for robot smartphone and pill users.
ConsThe continual charge resolution doesn't supply intelligent funds routing feature like different similar tools. The customer-bound mail feature of Chargify isn't extremely customizable like different similar tools.
Source: GetApp
November 4, 2016
Michael K.
Chief Executive Officer
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Source: GetApp
March 22, 2016

“Solid App for Recurring Revenue Businesses”

OverallWe use Chargify as the transactional backbone of our recurring revenue businesses. It is solid in its capabilities, adequately flexible for our needs, and has a very good set of API's that have allowed us to incorporate Chargify's system into our software platform. Chargify's reporting and email functions are very basic and don't give us the detailed SaaS metrics we need in order to keep a good handle on the business. However, a robust ecosystem of complementary tools such as, for example, ChartMogul, have evolved to add much more precision to Chargify's reporting.
Pros- Wide flexibility to create different recurring revenue offers (trial/no-trial, credit card/no credit card, monthly/quarterly/annual, coupon and discount codes, etc.) - Integration with a large number of payment gateways - Robust API's - Broad flexibility (via CSS) for styling public-facing pages - Takes care of all the messy details of maintaining credit cards - Referral codes and links - Good, comprehensive documentation
Cons- Reporting is weak, especially on metrics for managing recurring revenue businesses, such as MRR (monthly recurring revenue), churn rates, ARPA (average revenue per account), etc; must use 3rd party applications to get these, using imported Chargify data - Email notifications are primitive - Coupons cannot be assigned to individual products
Source: GetApp
March 22, 2016
Jordan J.
Creative Manager
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019

“Chargify is a great subscription management tool”

Overalloverall, we have a very positive experience with chargify. It fulfills 95% of our daily business needs. Great service!
ProsI like how easy it is to use and how seamless it integrates with other online apps (shopify, mailchimp etc)
ConsI wish the email tool allowed for you to style emails better. The user interface is clunky and limited. Also I wish the integration with mailchimp passed along the subscription status of "pending cancellation". That way we could set up an automatic email campaign in mailchimp that is sent to users who change their status. It would help us save subscribers before they cancel.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019
Avatar Image
Allen H.
Founder
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 13, 2019

“It's their way, or the highway.”

OverallChargify has been a royal pain ever since implementation. It's possible that the people in our team didn't follow some of the best practices, however we've encountered many bugs along the way to trying to make peace with the product. There are some major areas where the product is too inflexible, and I regret implementing it in the first place.
ProsThey are slowly implementing features I've been asking about for a long time.
ConsI dislike that Chargify decided it was Ok to add a % of income fee on top of monthly fee they initially charged. Our costs increased 5-fold and the value did not increase. I also dislike that when applying existing payments to invoices, the money paid by our customer can disappear, and must be manually adjusted. There's literally no excuse for this.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 13, 2019
Paul C.
Director
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019

“Chargify for a SAAS service”

OverallVery professional and responsive.
ProsAbility to cope with complex billing scheduled and multiple price points. invoices look professional integration with xero and payment gateways sign up page capability responsive support
Consnothing really. what i need they are looking to provide shortly (ie multiple gateways in the one site)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019
Sydney C.
Account Support
Real Estate, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2019

“Get the job done in one place!”

OverallOverall, Chargify is a must have for any business. I love how easy it is to navigate and how user friendly it is. I would recommend this product to everyone.
ProsChargify is wonderful because it allows you to do so much in one space. Our company struggled to find a place we could change billing, refund, and cancel accounts without having to go across multiple platforms.
ConsMy only con to this software is I wish you could make refunds further back than 120 days. It can get tricky when we need to refund more and end up having to contact our billing department to cut a check.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2019
Catherine J.
Operations
Human Resources, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2019

“Customer service is great”

OverallWe started with Chargify 5 years ago and it has managed our subscriptions very well.
ProsThe software fits the bill for what our business needs. Easy to use and navigate. Customer service is superior!
ConsThe only ad on I would like is to get notified when a customer updates their payment portal without having to call on my IT to create a webhook to do the job.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2019
Andrew B.
Implementation Manager
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019

“Great Software For Tracking Monthly Revenue”

OverallFor the majority of the time we have used the software, we have not had too many issues. Customer Support has been excellent in helping out.
ProsI love the clean and easy on the eyes layout. The statement download functionality is simple to use and is relatively easy for my clients to log into and pay their invoices.
ConsI am not a fan of the filtered view as there is no way to save any views (unpaid, Past Due, etc.). I always have to rebuild the search every time.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019
Ben F.
Customer Success Manager
Utilities, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019

“Review ”

OverallIt has been alright thus far. I do not find the UI that easy to navigate, but support is always there to answer questions and help me out.
ProsCustomer support is on point! Very helpful.
ConsMANY of our payments do not go through. They keep on getting declined. When I ask why by support (who is great), they say it could be for various reasons and to check with the gateway (Stripe). Just a pain to have to jump into another application everytime a payment is declined, which is very frequent. Might as well just move everything to Stripe.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019
Chris J.
CSR
Insurance, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 12, 2019

“Incredible”

OverallI like how easy it is to create reports. Working in Customer Care, it's my responsibility to call our insureds that are past due. With 5 clicks I have a spreadsheet and I'm off making my calls for the day.
ProsThe ease of use and the fact that it's never down. We've used a couple of different payment companies in the past 10 years or so and they'd send out an email saying, "We will be down for maintenance from 2:00 EST to 4:00 EST" on a Monday or Tuesday. That didn't work for us at all.
ConsNothing. I love it!!!! There is nothing I would change.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 12, 2019
Sarah B.
Head of Member Experience
Design, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 12, 2019

“Strong product, responsive product and support team”

OverallWe use Chargify for all of our billing processing. It covers the vast majority of our needs very ably. I am the primary user, but don't negotiate the contract, so I can't speak to value for the money.
ProsEasy to use, new features make it more flexible for our business. Amazing support team and a product team that is interested in feedback and actually implements it!
ConsThere are some limitations in terms of how it can be used. Our pricing has become more flexible, which is a challenge with the need to pre-set product and discount types.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 12, 2019
Alan L.
CTO
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019

“Powerful APIs”

OverallMaking the purchasing of our product as simple as possible.
ProsThe APIs and webhooks are extremely powerful. We have been able to connect our platform and enhanced our customer satisfaction. For the most part they are well documented and easy to implement
ConsThe Webhook documentation seems a bit outdated and discovery of all the options and values can be a bit by trial and error. The portal can be a bit cumbersome. Sometimes taking many clicks to accomplish a task.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019
Rey M.
SysAdm
Telecommunications, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2019

“Nice Product, Great Customer Service”

OverallI am very satisfied and have no plans of changing. I'd like the pricing to be a little better as it can be expensive for small businesses.
ProsThere are a good number of features and options and web hook integration is critical.
ConsSome of the linking to credit processing can be hard if the bank isn't set up correctly 100%. The customization for signup forms can get tricky when you need a lot of custom options. I'd like the pricing to be a little better as it can be expensive for small businesses.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2019
Avatar Image
Marc D.
General Manager
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 13, 2019

“Chargify for the CEO”

OverallCredit card contract management/retention across three currencies. It has been a God-sent.
ProsDaily update on the MRR in each currency is invaluable. I can quickly see how we performed that day. And tale corrective action or congratulate dependent on the country and numbers for that day. Includes; New Business, Expansion, Reactivation, Contraction and Churn.
ConsI recied a separate e-mail for each currency. I would like to receive just one.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 13, 2019
Jessica M.
Media Marketer
Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019

“Easy to use. ”

OverallIt's been great! I've had to reach out to support a number of times and they're really great to work with.
ProsThe interface is really easy to navigate and the CTAs are clear and void of accounting jargon.
ConsWe work with customers from all over the world that often request various things be visible on their statements. Form example, European customers require a VAT number. It's difficult to customize statements and get certain bits of information to be visible on them.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 12, 2019

“Good software, but requires a lot of work”

OverallOverall we like Chargify, and love their support team. The product has gotten a lot more expensive since we started with them, but when everything is working it's really one of the best platforms I've ever used.
ProsThe ease of basic setup, integration with payment processors and basic product functions are great. The API is also very functional and pretty nice to work with.
ConsThe customization options are a bit hamfisted and difficult to work with. I like that Chargify gives the option of using their checkout page but I hate that it takes custom javascript to make basic text changes. Feel like the software generally does everything I need, but sometimes you need to call support and get a "cheat" to make it work. Unfortunately we have also had several incidents over the last few years where bugs in chargify's software have cost us money.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 12, 2019
Michael Y.
Sales Manager
Food & Beverages, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
May 12, 2018

“With this platform, you will have the opportunity to increase your income”

ProsThe interface is really intuitive and provides simple reports. Very good guys in support, even when we had questions in a few hours, their chat support was always in touch. We use Chargify to process all repetitive credit card payments for our business. Earlier we used another service for permanent payments, but we decided to try Chargify because of their excellent support and the best customer service.
ConsThe control panel can be really confusing, in part because it is so multifunctional. Also, it would be great if they offered integration with HubSpot, this would be convenient for us.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
May 12, 2018
Eugene J.
Customer Support Tech
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019

“Chargify is Actually Really Good”

OverallOverall I have had a great experience using and learning Chargify it is certainly a step in the right direction for business software needs.
ProsIts light weight, and responsive, More features than needed to get the job done, and the interface is very user friendly and easy to learn and use.
Consit does slow down form time to time but it is really very rare and when it does slow down its for very short time frames, overall it is very reliable.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019
Neil H.
Owner
Consumer Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 12, 2019

“Solid product and easy to integrate”

OverallI have had a very good experience with Chargify. They feel like a business partner as well as a software provider - it feels quite personal.
ProsI like how easy it is to integrate with a website
ConsThere is nothing I dislike about Chargify. The only slight challenge is that you have to have a separate payment provider to hook it up to so that payments can be taken, but Chargify does a really good job of subscription-based payments and website integration.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 12, 2019
Annette S.
Finance officer
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2019

“Chargify works well”

OverallI personally have only been using it for 6 months and am still getting my head around some of the features. The help component is ok but it would be great to have somewhere i could have an overview of the product rather than waiting for a colleague to help.
ProsEase of entering new customers, The reporting allows me to find the information I need easily
ConsThe inability to change items like an invoice if there is a mistake made
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2019
Gary P.
Operations Manager
E-Learning, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2019

“Great Product”

OverallThey have always been professional and helpful.
ProsTheir customer service is great - the team is knowledgeable and responsive. The product seems to work well, although there was a bit of a learning curve at the start.
ConsProbably the price and lack of comprehensive reports that go across currencies - although the recent release of an MRR report across sites is a definite step in the right direction.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2019
Jonathan M.
I.T. Administrator
Legal Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2019

“Chargify allows easy billing”

OverallChargify makes billing a breeze, and takes a huge load of work off the shoulders of the team that handles transactions.
ProsChargify is powerful and easy to use, allowing us to set up billing plans and cycles for clients with ease
ConsIt can be a bit difficult to set up strange payment cycles for fluctuating bills, but that's really more a problem with having non-uniform billing than anything with the software
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2019
Tamara F.
Sales/Support
Automotive, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 18, 2019

“Pretty Great To Use!”

ProsI didn't choose this software, my employer did. But while I've never taken them up on training, I've been very easily able to navigate through the program and do what I need to do. It's very easy, I like the look and feel of everything and I've never had a problem. Whenever I needed it, support staff have been easy and quick to reach/respond and they've successfully helped me every time. If I ran my own business, I'd probably use Chargify for my online billing needs.
ConsNothing really. Haven't ever had an issue.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 18, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 13, 2019

“Easy to Use, Great Support Team!”

ProsThe ease of use was my favorite feature as billing can always be difficult. Setting up new accounts are a breeze. When I had any questions, or issues, their support team was very responsive and helpful.
ConsI did experience an issue where it would log me out quite often when opening a 'self-service page' to send to our customers. This appears to have been fixed and works well now.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 13, 2019
Dave T.
Software Engineer
Automotive, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
1/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019

“Relationship invoicing has constant bugs, can't rely on Chargify”

OverallThere has been a LOT of ongoing frustration on as they slowly fix bugs. We signed up and used some very new features of Chargify that weren't ready for prime-time. They didn't tell us we'd be guinea pigs when signing us up for a service with a $$$$ premium price tag. Hopefully anyone that follows will benefit from our testing of the software. Obviously Chargify isn't doing sufficient testing internally. I regret choosing Chargify, but don't have the time to drop them yet.
ProsGood fit for monthly SaaS, if not using the buggy relationship invoicing/customer hierarchies
ConsRelationship invoicing and customer hierarchies have been continuously buggy. Basic features like partial refunds were missing at first, or partially functional. Support response is quick, but unhelpful. Escalation takes a while for a permanent fix. We're having to add a secondary system for managing our customer subscriptions to work around all of the errors in Chargify. We have ongoing retraining of our employees for bug work-arounds.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2019

“Chargify works!”

OverallChargify allowed us to streamline our payments and reporting, clearing up time for developing our business
ProsThis software is easy to use and easy to implement. Once everything is set up, its incredibly simple to search for clients by company name or name etc. and the same goes for viewing and editing customers.
ConsNo complaints, even their support was great.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2019
Paul B.
VP Client Success
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2019

“Chargify ”

OverallSolid. I don't worry about our auto-billing as Chargify deals with this for me. One less thing to worry about.
ProsStraightforward. Does what we want for client billing. Reliable and cannot remember an issues where transactions did not go through due to an issue with Chargify.
ConsNot much to say on this. Perhaps not being able to refund transactions older then the past 3.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2019