Salesforce for Nonprofits Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About Salesforce for Nonprofits

Salesforce for Nonprofits is the set of end-to-end solutions any nonprofit needs to become a connected nonprofit. Learn more about Salesforce for Nonprofits

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 24 of 24 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 24 of 24 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Verified Reviewer
Environmental Services, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2018

“Even after a few years, still overwhelmed.”

OverallIt helped me to get an introduction to what I could do with a membership database/CRM without investing a lot of money into programs that may or may not do what I wanted them to (because I didn't know what I wanted them to do). It allowed me to get my database set up and organized and begin to understand our donor profiles, locations, amounts, and more.
ProsIt certainly is powerful and has many customizations and features and things to build. It has lots of integrations across the web and there is something to be said for being the biggest. Also, it's free for non-profits, so especially if you don't know what you are trying to do with a CRM, it's nice to be able to play around with Salesforce and get an idea of what types of data are useful to you before moving to some other program that requires higher costs up front.
ConsIf you don't care to become a developer or aren't one already, this software can run away with you real fast. While it's great that Salesforce is so powerful, in many ways it is too powerful and complex. Even with the nonprofit customizations, it's very difficult to navigate and customize, understand what all the different programs within it are, keep up with all the updates and integrations and who even knows. Basically, I get it - this is designed for large groups that can afford to have a dedicated Salesforce employee(s). It's for large databases with many moving parts. If you are small and your employees or board are juggling many jobs and not just database management, this is difficult to use. Plus, the interface looks like it never got past 1992.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2018
Lisa M.
Director of Operations and Administration
Non-Profit Organization Management, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
3/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 13, 2019

“Thought it was a Cadillac but received a box of parts”

OverallTiming consuming at first.
ProsReporting capabilities and the fact that if you have a techie person on staff, you can develop more robust AMS features. These features do not come out of the box though.
ConsYou really need to have a very technically oriented person on staff to get this set up to meet your nonprofit's needs. It took us a year to get it really set up and functioning the way we'd envisioned.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 13, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2018

“Salesforce offered major improvements over cheaper software platforms we'd used”

OverallData organization and reporting were fantastic tools for our organization. Strategic planning and decision making that previously occurred according to essentially gut feelings were now backed with substantial amounts of hard data and a real, concrete understanding of our business operations. We really remade our organization thanks to the information that Salesforce allowed us to collect, organize, and manipulate.
ProsThe robust package of features was entirely unmatched in our experience with a number of other less expensive packages. Reporting tools in particular were incredibly useful for our organization, and really allowed us to dig into our data and glean valuable insights that, in some cases, reformed our understanding of our organization, clients, and industry. We used the many tools in Salesforce to implement an array of positive changes that would not have been possible otherwise.
ConsCosts are always a concern for small nonprofits, and that's probably the only part of Salesforce that we struggled with. Of course, we'd had experience with free/cheap software in this space, and all of it had major technical problems. Saelsforce just worked, and gave us everything we needed. In that regard, the cost was much easier to swallow.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2018
Danielle C.
Grants Associate
Philanthropy, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
3/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 26, 2019

“It can do anything...if you can afford to pay someone a lot of money to set it up for you. ”

OverallOverall, I would choose another program for nonprofits.
Pros- It really does have an incredible amount of functionality. You can create any kind of automation or workflow that you can dream up. This can save you an incredible amount of time in the long run. - The Nonprofit Salespack is a great template for starting a donor management system. - You get 10 free licenses as a nonprofit, so if someone on your team is a nonprofit whiz, go for it!
Cons- As an admin, Salesforce not intuitive AT ALL. I've used 5 other donation management software programs, and this is the hardest to learn and be admin for on your own. You can figure other programs out just by using them and knowing the basics. Salesforce requires an incredible amount of time and dedication to learn, so much so that you really need to hire someone to build it for you and also to make any changes for you later on. - All of our staff had a hard time transitioning to using it, especially our older staff. - The pull is that it's free for nonprofits, but I promise you, it's NOT free. You will definitely end up spending more on Salesforce than any other software if there isn't someone on your team that is a salesforce expert.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 26, 2019
Michelle B.
Development Director
Non-Profit Organization Management, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 27, 2019

“The Best thing shown to our organization that changed the dynamic of what we do!!!”

OverallWe are ecstatic to have this program in order to grow and enhance our organization. It has been the best thing we have purchased. You have to try it!
ProsThis program is great for non-profits and convenient for organizing, tracking and reporting. We compiled everything into one system now from multiple sources. This program has helped transform our organization by being to build reports for donations, donors, residents, etc. We have been able to customize our features, communicate with this tool and build grant reports.
ConsSometimes there are features that cannot be customized particularly in the way would like.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 27, 2019
Angelica J.
Regional Director
Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2018

“I absolutely love everything about Salesforce!”

OverallWith ease, we can keep track of our Affiliate organizations, their staff and our communications with them. Understanding your constituent base and their various relationships to your organization is invaluable and SF makes it easy.
ProsIt is user friendly even for those who are not as tech savvy. We are able to easily track complex relationships for our organization while ensuring that we can report on the information in a way that is effective for us.
ConsI wish that mass email was a bit easier to use or more aesthetically pleasing, adding images to a mass email can be difficult at times.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Education Management, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 20, 2019

“Boost your Nonprofit”

OverallConnecting with customers better. Making better business decisions
ProsGiving back is at the heart of salesforce. Salesforce provides 10 free licenses for non profit orgs, while this probably isn't enough to run an entire organization this is probably a great start. Cutting edge technology that gets better every day
ConsNone! Salesforce is probably one of the top software platforms I have every used.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 20, 2019
Karen M.
Consultant
Computer Software, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 5, 2018

“I've set up SFDC Nonprofit Starter Pack for many NPO's. SFDC never disappoints”

OverallFast, easy to scale, handles multi language, multi currency, free
ProsIt's free, it's easy to customize, and is quick to set up for nonprofits. Additional objects can be added and up to 10 users can be set up.
ConsMost nonprofits do not have the technical capabilities to utilize SFDC to its fullest potential. That being said - SFDC does offer trailhead for free - and it is a great way for new Admins to learn.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 5, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 22, 2018

“Love salesforce. Sometimes its overkill, but is great for reporting. ”

OverallThis has really helped us optimize our organization.
Prosthis software is very flexible and has grown with our organization. I have appreciated the help and support of the salesforce team.
ConsSetup can be confusing, but Trailblaser/consultants have been helpful. Sometimes though the Nonprofit packages does not differentiate itself them the general salesforce.com product.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 22, 2018
Mary Kate M.
Volunteer Coordinator
Non-Profit Organization Management, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
4/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2019

“Not Created with Nonprofits in Mind”

OverallWe use Salesforce as our main CRM at my non-profit, mostly so that we can keep track of clients, donors, and volunteers all in one place. I mostly use it to track volunteer participation and hours and pull reports on donor and volunteer activity to include in grants and marketing materials.
ProsSalesforce for Nonprofits does add some additional features that nonprofits are likely to need for donor and volunteer management, and it allows everything to be in one CRM (versus having volunteers, donors, and clients in separate databases)
ConsSalesforce for Nonprofits feels like it was a stretch for Salesforce. The way that Salesforce was built doesn't work well for many of the needs non-profits have, and Salesforce for Nonprofits is basically the same platform with just a few added features. It's clunky, and doing things like program management and pulling reports is not as easy as you'd expect given how it's described. Overall, it's clear that Salesforce kept it's sales mindset when building this software, rather than starting from the non-profit perspective.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 26, 2018

“Highly Recommended, Conscious of Tight Non-Profit Budgets, Delivers Great Value”

ProsThis is essentially Salesforce's usual products and capabilities catered to the nonprofit sector. I've had a lot of success deploying this for several different kinds of nonprofits, and all have been able to garner value that greatly exceeds the cost of the product with effort efficiency. Where I've deployed it, organizations have grown via new sources of funding, donations, and other forms of support and awareness via Salesfore for Nonprofit's toolset. It also charges your organization based on usage, so you don't have to pre-purchase a large commitment and then struggle to get your limited money's worth.
ConsWhile they did make some sensible accommodations, Salesforce is ultimately designed for the for-profit sector, so there are some lasting relics that aren't designed perfectly for cause-based, non-corporate organizations.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 26, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Consumer Electronics, Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 21, 2018

“Data Segmenting”

ProsI love how this software helps automate our broad reaching. We have increased our reach ability by double because of running automated campaigns on a regular basis. I fully recommend Salesforce for handling your data management.
ConsI don't like that the query time out is thirty minutes. This makes me have to divide the work that needs to be processed into multiple steps, which can be really frustrating and confusing to others that take over pre-established processes.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 21, 2018
Ari M.
Recruiter
Non-Profit Organization Management, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 15, 2019

“A very useful tool”

ProsSalesforce helps organize many aspects of the business
ConsIt can be a little difficult to navigate and learn some functions
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 15, 2019
Jonathan G.
Assistant Director
Individual & Family Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2018

“Uniquely Customizable Platform for Nonprofits”

ProsThe surprising thing about Salesforce as a solution for nonprofits is the limitless ways that you can customize the software. With someone who is skilled enough it is possible to accomplish pretty much anything you can imagine.
ConsIt requires hiring or finding someone who is uniquely gifted in building your unique platform, this is both it's strength and it's limiting factor.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Music, Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 25, 2018

“I use SalesForce to track donations received for my nonprofit.”

OverallEasy to log gifts, save contact information and organize contacts by relationship.
ProsI like that SalesForce for Nonprofits is free, and that it can be used to track a lot of information, including relationships.
ConsThere are a lot of help articles in the knowledge base, but sometimes I just want someone to chat with. I don't like that emails can only be uploaded in a Contact role, and not an Account role. I find the reports and dashboards difficult to create. Sometimes I think there is almost too much functionality, and that while its great to have this product for free, many nonprofits don't have the budget for a SalesForce administrator to set up the database for full functionality.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 25, 2018
Alexandra K.
Grants Administrator
Non-Profit Organization Management, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 7, 2019

“21st Century Database”

OverallI'm so happy that our org switched from our old software to Salesforce. It has really made our donor management processes so much easier and less time consuming.
ProsComing from Raiser's Edge, this software is significantly easier to use, much better for GDPR compliance, and doesn't look like something out of the 1990s. It is much easier to manage our donor profiles, grants, preferences, etc. on Salesforce
ConsThe transition period from our old software to Salesforce was difficult and there's certainly a learning curve (not Salesforce's fault).
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 7, 2019
Avatar Image
Michael D.
Director Of Finance And Operations
Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 9, 2018

“Non-Profit SalesForce”

OverallPositive for the most part, with some difficulty in initial implementation.
ProsThis software helps organize our donor and grantor database and helps monitor deadlines, scheduling follow-ups, measuring donation details, and more. We are pretty new to the system, but the customer support and training accelerators are very helpful.
ConsIt is expensive and difficult to implement, especially if you are a new user. We were fortunate that we had staff experienced with the software and received grant money to implement it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 9, 2018
Jay D.
Director
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 28, 2018

“Good experience/easy to use”

ProsIt's great to have access to a free version of Salesforce software. Working at nonprofits and having this freedom is incredibly valuable.
ConsThe design and user interface is not straightforward and as easy to use as other software that I've used elsewhere. It's not as easy on the eyes.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 28, 2018
jessica s.
data management
Non-Profit Organization Management, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 18, 2019

“Flexible product, needs admin”

ProsIt's completely customizable to support your business practices. The platform is user friendly, and the backend is not too complicated especially the new lightning interface.
ConsThe classic interface is not easy on the eye for the average user although an admin is probably ok with it. The NPSP definitely still requires a dedicated person to manage, like most CRMs.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 18, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Philanthropy, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2019

“Powerful and Robust but Too Hard to Figure Out”

OverallOur nonprofit received free access to what would have been a very costly tier of Salesforce, but it was ultimately too difficult for us to use.
ProsStrong data visualization, capable of managing complex systems.
ConsWe were able to use some of the features on a basic level, such as using it as a CRM and database for volunteers, but ultimately gave it up because we didn't have the tech know-how to capitalize on its usefulness.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Financial Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 19, 2018

“The platform is designed well. However, our organization did not purchase any technical support.”

Overallincomplete at this time
Prosthe functionality in the sense of what our organization can figure out on our own to have salesforce working.
Conssupport is lacking when you do not pay for it in advance. I understand that it is difficult to reach support at times.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 19, 2018
Tracy B.
Operations Director
Religious Institutions, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 15, 2019

“Salesforce NP”

ProsThe pros to this software is the low cost.
ConsThe cons would be the difficulty and time it takes to set up.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 15, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Education Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2018

“The non-profit sales pack for Salesforce is great for nonprofits!”

OverallIt's a great program that has unlimited capacity to manage our non profit organization!
ProsThe company provides ten free licenses to non profits. This saved our organization an incredible amount of money. The software is a great CRM that has helped us get organized. The training is great and has really helped us.
ConsThe licenses are quite expensive. For non profits this can be cost prohibitive. Because it's a large company it can be difficult to get through the proper channels to get changes we've needed.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2018
Jessica S.
Analyst
Non-Profit Organization Management, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2018

“Great for small non-profits”

ProsCustomizable. Make it do whatever you want. It's a lego box -- all the pieces you need, and you can make it into whatever you want -- so have a consultant on hand or a dedicated system admin.
Consclassic is not user friendly, the interface is overwhelming. Use the lightning version for a more polished end-user experience.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2018