Hurricane for AutoCAD Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About Hurricane for AutoCAD

An AutoCAD add-on productivity tool designed to save you time by batch-editing AutoCAD drawings, and a whole lot of other things. Written by an AutoCAD user, for other AutoCAD users! Need to track down OLD DWG files, created by older versions of AutoCAD? Hurricane can do this. Update 1000+ title-blocks with new information? No problem. Rename 1000+ DWG files scattered across multiple drives? Easy. Automate just about any task in AutoCAD? Hurricane can do it. Learn more about Hurricane for AutoCAD

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 13 of 13 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 13 of 13 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Ashleigh M.
Lead Electrical Design Drafter
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 6, 2017

“Since discovering the software it has been a godsend when dealing with large numbers of files.”

OverallTime saving would be the highest benefit.
ProsVery powerful if used correctly. Started off using it just to print large quantities of files, now it gets used for almost all repetitive tasks and saves me at least an hour each day on average.
ConsThe licensing would be the least likable option. If you license to a user then if that person leaves the company the license is lost. If you license it to a computer when the computer is replaced after say 5 years, the license is lost. If you license to a USB stick, if the USB stick is damaged, license lost (don't use cheap USB sticks).
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 6, 2017
Scott S.
Engineering Systems
Oil & Energy, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 12, 2017

“Great program, great customer support”

OverallBeing able to change many aspects of many drawings quickly, title block changes and so forth that users would have to do one at a time, I can do all in a short amount of time
ProsAbility to change many things in an AutoCAD drawing in a short amount of time, the ease to set up and use, the customer support, ability to run a test run on drawings and it won't save the outcome so that you can see if it is doing what you want it to do, ability to save your scripts for use with other projects, the titleblock update wizard
ConsThe only things I really don't like is that you have to work it from a mapped network drive. I would like to have the ability to type in a path \\servername\foldername. And the UI could use a freshening up, looks like Windows 98/XP type, need ribbons and so on.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 12, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Construction, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 1, 2019

“Extremely useful but needs a facelift”

OverallAs the sole drafter /designer in my company, it allows me to automate repetive tasks like having to put an IFC stamp on 100 drawings or pasting in a new titleblock
ProsHurricane will allow you to easily a script or lisp routine on hundreds of drawings by dragging and dropping them into the program. You can technically do this already in AutoCAD but using Hurricane is much faster. Customer support is top notch
ConsThe user interface is confusing and outdated.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 1, 2019
Adam G.
BIM Specialist
Construction, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 1, 2017

“Hurricane has saved us so much time.”

OverallThis software save us so much time when it comes to making changes to our title blocks and also when we have to print our PDF's
ProsI love how you can do so many different things. I like you I can go in and make changes on our title blocks and the print them at the same time.
ConsAt first its kind of hard to learn but once you do a couple its not bad. its takes awhile to run the programs No videos to walk you thru everything

Vendor Response

By 74Mph Solutions on September 7, 2017
Thank you Adam! PS - Hurricane does have a YouTube channel with videos explaining a few of the major features. If you need help with anything else feel free to contact us anytime! Also an FAQ and user Forum. Thanks again.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 1, 2017
David D.
Electrical Engineer
Design, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 7, 2017

“Great AutoCAD automation software. With a few clicks you can update all of your drawings!”

OverallTime saver. Saved me many hours and all of my projects.
ProsThe ease of use. It doesn't take long to do what you need it to run. I've done over 40000's drawings now and it saved me countless hours giving me more profit.
ConsInstallation can be tricky/confusing. A bit pricey for small businesses to purchase. Error handling could be better, some way to catch an error and report back where it stop and for what reason.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 7, 2017
Avatar Image
Frimny A.
Personal docente
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 17, 2018

“Extraordinarily useful in the processing of several drawings of batch, easy to use and saves time.”

ProsWhat I like most is that it is a reliable software that allows users to save time by automating virtually any task in AutoCAD either in mechanical electricity, architecture or other matter by means of a sequence of commands easily and simply, allowing it to process and customize them in batches, it is easy to install and manage. Another important point of this software is that all the data files are saved in ASCII plain text format and can be edited using any software.
ConsThe least I like about this software is the cost in acquiring the license, they present few plans for the user and only favor large and small companies and medium-sized businesses that work with the tool. We can also say that it is designed primarily for an AutoCAD specialist, for a beginner it will be a little complicated to start this tool.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 17, 2018
Avatar Image
Karen H.
Marketing Data/Demographics Specialist
Real Estate, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 30, 2019

“Have been using this useful product monthly for years”

OverallI use it here to maintain PDF files of 500 shopping center site plans for our legal department. I refresh the PDFs monthly for legal from our master site plans, which we maintain on a daily basis.
ProsI appreciate most the ability to run an AutoCAD lisp routine on literally hundreds of AutoCAD files.
ConsCan't think of anything about it, but think that AutoCAD should have this feature already built in.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 30, 2019
Lisa M.
IT Spec VI
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2018

“Speedy, that's me!!!”

ProsIt's easy to use, and it makes repetitive tasks quick and easy to do. No more mindless clicking to get the job done.
ConsInstallation is a bit difficult at first, and the licensing is a little pricey for smaller businesses and non-profits.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 5, 2019

“Time Saver”

OverallBeen around for a while but a go to program for repetitive work.
ProsThe time it saves when working on multiple drawings.
ConsNothing to dislike about this software. Easy to use and fantastic support.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 5, 2019
Levi B.
Field Engineer
Construction, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 2, 2019

“Good - Helps with productivity but not very user friendly”

OverallRapidly increased productivity for bulk drawing production but took a lot to learn how to get started and use the program and not extremely user friendly. In short, the concept is great, the application is mediocre.
ProsPDFs saved directly to the same directory Relatively fast Keeps the title the same as AutoCAD drawing
ConsHard to get started Crashes all the time The GUI feels like it belongs in the early 90s. Getting the key emailed to you and manually installed into the program seems outdated since other software doesn't require that when you pay for the item
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 2, 2019
Farral G.
Architect
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2018

“Excellent Batch Script add-on.”

ProsThis has saved me so much time. If you ever have to perform repetitive updates to multiple files, this software can be a lifesaver. Especially useful when a parameter that affects multiple files changes.
ConsThe concept of batch scripts is new to a lot of people. It was to me. But now I wouldn't do without it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2018
Bernd O.
Customer Order Engineer
Chemicals, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 30, 2019

“Working with Hurricane”

OverallPrinting and changing drawings in much less time.
ProsThat I can manage a lot of files in a really short time, print, changes at drawing and that I can create my own scripts for my need.
ConsThe ease of use could be improfed. If an error occures it would be helpful to know where I can fix it in the script.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 30, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2018

“ It is the best tool for design .. ”

ProsIt is the only program that gives you so many tools to design that you can do practically everything .. your library is the most complete on the market ...
ConsThe only thing I can do against is its cost .. it is almost impossible to get a license for the average user due to the great cost it has ..
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2018