Vertex O Series Ratings

Overall
4.3/5
Ease of Use
3.9/5
Customer Service
3.9/5

About Vertex O Series

Version 9.0 of Vertex Indirect Tax O Series adds more value in every areanew tax content, expanded reporting, more precise jurisdiction assignment capability, improved security, added database support. All wrapped in a brand new user interface that leverages the latest technology standards. In addition, Vertex O Series 9.0 supports communications services tax which enables customers to manage communications tax on the same platform as their sales & use tax and value added tax. Learn more about Vertex O Series

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 51 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 51 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Avatar Image
Gabriel D.
Finance
Consumer Goods, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 26, 2018

“Streamlining tax management ”

OverallVertex does it's job and does it well. It has really helped streamline tax calculations for our accounts and creating tax rules is a breeze. I have not had experience in dealing with Vertex customer service. The software communicates almost instantaneously with our ERP which allows order processing to flow without delay.
ProsVertex does a great job of calculating tax rates for my company's account and implementing tax rules. We are sitting on 100,000+ accounts in our system. Vertex calculates tax rates based on jurisdiction for each one. It means allowing your ERP system to communicate with Vertex, and vice versa. In order to calculate special rates, such as a reduced California rate, you need to enter a tax rule to deduct the specific rate. Each account receives its own rule.
ConsThe UI is quite dated in my opinion. It's a straight forward software, meant for business applications. There are other software that present a much more modern look. The dated UI doesn't affect performance though. It would be nice if there was an option to store tax certs in the database as well, like Avalara CertCapture.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 26, 2018
Rebecca R.
Senior Systems Specialist
201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2018

“Very positive overall experience with Vertex for over 10 years”

ProsThe customer support and ease of use has been fantastic. I have had to call Vertex for support, for recommendations on doing things and for knowledge on the product. Every single person I have spoke to has been knowledgeable, friendly and quick in getting me answers. It is truly a pleasure to call support. The system is fairly user friendly and even when I forget how to do something, it is like riding a bike, it just comes back to you naturally as you navigate through the menus. The system is set up so that you can do most things without looking through documentation. And the things I couldn't figure out? Vertex client support was right there to lend a hand when I needed it. We also did a migration from Vertex Q to Vertex O about a year and a half ago and the process was so easy. I wish all product upgrades/migrations were that simple. Very stress-free. So far, I've seen the same type of satisfaction from O that I saw with Q, which was a very positive experience.
ConsThere honestly is not much that I have found that I have not liked. There are sometimes outages, since we are using a cloud based product, and those do cause some orders to go through without the correct taxes being charged. If we could have less outages, or perhaps more notice when there is going to be an outage, then the product really would be perfection. It has gotten better since we first went live and they are less frequent and we do receive more notice when they know there is a repair/update needed. However, that being said, we have never had any issues when they have done upgrades, no problems noticed at all. Possibly, the outages could be more system update or hardware related.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2018
Joanne D.
Sales Tax Specialist
Wholesale, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 1, 2018

“We use this for research along with reporting, billing and exemption maintenance.”

OverallSales tax has a lot of little variances across the states, across industries and cross products. The product supports all our changes and updates in a constantly changing market. I have a lot of confidence that this software allows us to consistently bill our customers correctly. Even when there are customers out of city limits getting billed otherwise, we can send the issue to the support team and they research and provide a solution in a very timely fashion. Granted there is not always a solution but that is communicated well.
ProsWe are able to test various scenarios as we expand our product lines and add states. Designing a report that meets your exact needs is helpful when completing returns and the exemption records are neatly stored and easily accessed.
ConsAdding customers and their certificates can be time consuming since the advanced selection tool now pulls up everything then lets you request a specific account to add to. There is also a lot of date sensitivity that blocks things versus 6.0 which just let it go. Updates to the software are making both of these issues more pronounced.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 1, 2018
annelies c.
Global IT manager Finance Business Systems
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 1, 2018

“Great product, no issues with incorrect rates. However, continued issues with invalid TAID ”

OverallCorrect sales and use tax calculation for US and Canada.
ProsSmooth integration with SAP (however, not clear on which fields are exchanged), correct rate calculation.
ConsLogs are as good as unusable when you have large transaction volumes, so figuring out why something happens is a nightmare. Continued issues with invalid TAID (jurisdiction codes in SAP), we update as soon as files come out and still have many customers that requires manual updates. We have been working with support for a long time and still not a good solution. Very frustrating. Configuration in the config files on the server is not userfriendly at all. Very hard to figure out what all we have set up. Would be much better if it could sit in the Vertex O webtool. Better visibility of exemption certificates in the ERP system would be a big plus for a direct marketing company like ours.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 1, 2018
Raynetta J.
Asst Contoller
Automotive, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 23, 2018

“O Series has enabled us to expand into additional states with ease”

OverallBefore Vertex O Series, our sales tax filing process was mostly manual, gathering data and using spreadsheets to create the returns. We have tripled our tax filing jurisdictions since going on O Series and would not have been able to keep up with our growing business without Vertex. The technical support team has helped us when setting up unusual tax rules that do not come standard with the software.
ProsO Series makes it easy to add new states to the system for collecting sales tax. Most tasks are performed on user-friendly screens and a transaction tester is provided to test updates made to O Series.
ConsNot all of the charges we bill our customers have tax rules set up in O Series so we have to create our own rules for mapping and update the rules as tax laws change.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 23, 2018
shambhu k.
oracle Apps DBA
Financial Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2018

“Vertex O series”

OverallI am supporting vertex O series from last 2.5 years and i feel its very easy to use.
ProsWe are using Vertex O series 6.0 & 7.0 version and its simply to use and all the materials are self explanatory. Monthly updates are on time and easy to upload them to application. Haven't see any bug with these updates. All the updates are very well tested, so we don;'t see much issues while supporting this application. UI is getting better and better.
ConsI pretty much liked the software, I didnt find any cons, let you know if i find any. Customer support is not proactive and they are not responding on time for SEV 1 issues, Customer care response time should be looked upon.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 23, 2019

“Must have product for Large enterprise ”

OverallGreat experience overall for a large enterprise in automating the tax engine seamlessly, the O series has been more comprehensive than the past series.
ProsGreat piece of tax software for SAP users Very seamlessly use across the board Updated are great Saves tons of time and money on audit and overall efficiencies
ConsMore global support Support for all types of taxes across the globe so large enterprises have on tax solution

Vendor Response

By Vertex on July 26, 2019
Dear Vertex O Series Customer, Everyone at Vertex appreciates it when a customer takes the extra time to write such a great review! Thank you for providing your feedback of Vertex O Series on Capterra. Jen Armstrong Digital Marketing Specialist Vertex Inc.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 23, 2019
Amy N.
Tax Manager
Retail, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2018

“O-Series - great for multi-state nexus retailers”

OverallO-series is a very robust product. Very user friendly and intuitive. Allows for easy customization of customer taxing, taxpayer set up and product taxing attributes. Very accurate tax rates, easy to maintain and integrate with most accounting platforms.
ProsThe application is highly customizable using user-defined tax rules in combination with the out of the box rates and tax driver matrixes.
ConsThe support is sometimes slow to respond and does not always find a solution to the problems that you may encounter leaving some of the troubleshooting to your internal IT department.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2018
Greg G.
Systems Analyst
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2018

“Vertex O Series is an easy to use, simple to maintain system for tax determination & calculation”

ProsThe system is extremely flexible when it comes to setting up drivers to determine tax ability. A tool is provided to test your calculations without having to post a transaction through your main transactional system. Keeping the system up to date with the latest tax matrices is as easy as it is to upload a picture to social media.
ConsThe only minus is that the master data in our ERP system sometimes has to be updated for new tax jurisdictions. We need to look into a background job that touches this master data after Vertex is updated.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2018
June T.
Sales Tax Analyst
Wholesale, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2018

“Always good response from ”

OverallIt makes my job much easier as I know I can rely on the best calculations out there. I don't have to worry about whether the rates are current.
ProsThe accuracy of the calculations makes this a terrific tool, especially when preparing for audits. The states are hungry for funds and Vertex helps me send them away with little to no money.
ConsNot being able to use the tab key thru each field makes the program more difficult to use. Also it would help if I was able to add the tax certs when I add the customer.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2018
Gerald M.
Manager-Sales/Use Tax
Building Materials, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2018

“Use almost daily to check exemption certificate status and/or pull data extracts”

Overallease of obtaining data, simplicity of inputting exemption certificates, use of plain addresses to obtain jurisdiction and tax information, ability to test transactions to determine if tax is charged correctly
Proseasy to get tax jurisdiction information, tax rates, validate exemption certificates, data retrieval, set up taxability mapping
Conscreating rules; obtaining data extracts without getting extraneous data, setting up customized taxability categories; reviewing tax mapping to categories and products
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2018
Venkat A.
Senior Application Analyst
Food & Beverages, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2018

“Vertex O Series”

ProsI like about the updates that go in to every patch monthly which we least bother about the Tax changes across global. We operate globally and this is the best I feel about.
ConsIt is difficult to use and the main is search does not work as intended and backspace. There are some forms where these two mentioned don't work and highly difficult in terms of usage. Thanks, venkat
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2018
Paul S.
Tax Clerk
Retail, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 20, 2018

“Vertex shines in the Reports”

OverallEasy of filing is a plus. Setting up custom tax categories has helped
ProsThe Tax reports/Returns are mostly spot on. I work on 220 returns which Vertex tracks, once I understood the States layouts and how well Vertex matches each, filing has become very easy
ConsCredits are always hard to track. Sometimes Vertex applies a credit and the State does not handle the credit the same way. Manual adjustment to the tax records which the tax returns calculate from are confusing Being able to "void" test data would be a plus.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 20, 2018
Lee M.
Credit Manager North America
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 2, 2018

“Meet my expectation.”

ProsCurrently meeting our needs for our tax service but we are exploring adding other regions. I have nothing further to add other then my first statement.
ConsThis does not happen often but sometime trying to find the answer without having to contact Customer Support. I have nothing further to add other then my first statement.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 2, 2018
Brian L.
VP, IT
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 2, 2018

“We have used Vertex for over a decade. Very solid product and great support - in the unlikely event”

OverallBig gains in the efficiency of managing sales tax - from the calculation on the order to the filing of returns. We were able to reduce the time required from technical team in supporting since most admin can be handles by the functional group.
ProsThe application administration is built for the functional users - very little support required from a technical standpoint.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 2, 2018
graham s.
mgr
Security and Investigations, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2018

“Generally excellent”

OverallMonthly accrual and tax returns
Prosadaptability, web service ease of use is a great time saver for one off transaction input and testing.
ConsData update process - significant work needs be done to speed the updates re sql server. the approach used seems inefficient. Error logging levels re address cleansing failures are cryptic at best.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2018
Roger L.
Sales & Use Tax Manager
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2018

“Vertex Review”

OverallWe use Vertex for sales, use and returns processing. All three have performed very well.
ProsVertex performs well and is reliable for most of the transactions we use.
ConsCustomer support can be slow and solutions are not always satisfactory. Wish there was better interaction design for manufacturing purchases.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2018
Avatar Image
Mike B.
IT Manager - Manufacturing Operations
Construction, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 1, 2018

“Great tool, but internally we needed MUCH better requirements gathering in hindsight.”

OverallFrom an IT perspective, none honestly. It is a maintenance and support nightmare. However, in all fairness to Vertex, I feel this can be mostly if not completely attributed to our internal lack of sufficient requirements gathering before implementation.
ProsThe potential tax savings and benefits it can uncover. As well as the gaps it has helped identify in some of our processes.
ConsThe cumbersome cloning and configurations requirements have proved to be especially difficult or time consuming throughout the process.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 1, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Individual & Family Services, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2018

“Great Experience, highly recommended.”

ProsVertex is always willing to help out, whether's it a simple question on software functionality or a more indepth question on TaxAreaIDs - they're always quick w/ a response.
ConsVertex could do a better job of communicating their road map for the On-Demand instance as well as the upgrade schedules.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2018
Angie B.
ERP Coordinator
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 9, 2018

“We use vertex with our ERP system for the tax table updates. ”

ProsVertex stays up to date with the code from our ERP system. It is a rarity that the tax table and our code for ERP system is not in sync and issues need to be filed.
ConsNot much I don't like about vertex. The customer support is great and knowledgeable about the software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 9, 2018
CHRIS C.
Tax Advisor
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 1, 2018

“Support has been great, no issues with functionality of the software”

Overallease of use, reporting
ProsEase of use, functionality, ability to create reports. Ease of updating every month with the file that is sent out by Vertex.
ConsNo real issues, we have been running Vertex for many years without too many issues, all in all we have been happy with it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 1, 2018
Karen P.
Tax Manager
Construction, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 4, 2018

“Upgrade from 6.0 to 8.0”

ProsAbility to add Tax Accelerator. Easy transition from 6.0 to 8.0 for users.
ConsTo open the software and find customers or mapping it seems to take forever. This has been noticed by multiple users.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 4, 2018
Avatar Image
Rebecca S.
Sales Tax Supervisor
Retail, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 23, 2018

“Great!”

OverallCustomer services is good.
ProsReliability of the software, I can count on the fact that its right.
ConsTrying to find things but luckily I can call and they will either send it to me or point me in the direction.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 23, 2018
vincent l.
Tax Acct.
Medical Devices, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2018

“Tax Acct.”

ProsTool calculation and tax rate, Great customer support and friendly user product
ConsVertex return Michigan sales discount amount was not calculated to the State amount discount.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2018
Corey M.
Tax Director
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2018

“I am pleased with the software's capabilities. It automates many manual processes.”

ProsI like the ability to run reports and see all of my data so I can manage it myself, in addition to taking advantage of the reporting functionality. I also like the transaction tester which provides instant sales tax quotes. The customer service people are also exceptionally friendly and the Exchange provides a great opportunity to network with them and fellow colleagues.
ConsI think that the software could be a little easier to use and some of the tax rules, tax assist rules, and logic behind tax decisions could be made easier.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2018
Samantha R.
International Staff Accountant
Consumer Goods, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2018

“Vertex Rocks”

OverallOverall, it has been easy to use, and quick to learn!
ProsThe software makes it easy to track exemption certificates, and ensure the rates are being applied correctly. I also like the ability to map the taxability of our products
ConsIn some states, bundled items are taxed based on the contents of the bundle. For example, 2 items combined, one is taxable, the other is not. But when you bundle, only the taxable item should be taxed. There is no option for bundling the items, and appropriately applying the tax
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2018
Subhankar S.
Senior Consultant
Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2018

“Tax Product for the future”

OverallGood
ProsThe compact structure.It should become the go to for all customers.
ConsThe complex design.Not as user friendly as the Vertex Cloud version.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2018
Preeti B.
SAP/Vertex IT Analyst
Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2018

“Vertex O Series”

Overallvery good
ProsEasy to use and easy to configure and good customer service.
ConsTransnational report runs slow and that is time consuming
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2018
Zoilo P.
Sr Staff Accountant
Events Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2018

“Vertex Tax Engine Review”

OverallThe Vertex program is sophisticated enough to eliminate a great deal of worry in tax application and keeping up with rate changes. Overall the software is extremely useful for a large corporation such the company I work for, however there are some nuanced tax applications that could be addressed.
ProsThe ability to make specific tax rules that apply to my company's specific industry or transactional situation. Also the ability to not have to worry about tax application in state's with a stratified tax rate being incorrect because of the automation of the Vertex tax engine.
ConsThe fact that the tax categories are not as nuanced as they could be, with options for different transactional scenarios that may affect taxability. Also the fact that one or two types is missing, such as the Service Contractor tax in New Orleans, Louisiana.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2018
Azra Khairis M.
SAP BASIS Infrastructuce Specialist
Mining & Metals, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 26, 2018

“Vertex O v8 better than STQ v4”

ProsInstallation and configuration is easy to deploy. Good user experience.
ConsIntegration with SAP ECC is a bit complicated and not straightforward. GUI interface for Vertex Central should be redesigned for simpler navigation access maybe like SAP FIORI?
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 26, 2018
Kaitlyn L.
Tax Director
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2018

“Vertex O series is a great product with a lot of capabilities.”

OverallRules and Taxability
ProsI like the categories, taxability, rules, and transaction tester tool. I don't have to maintain it much. It is plus.
ConsSometimes, changes made in a new version offer good improvement, but at the same time, some nice features or functions in the old version go away and it leaves me the feelings that something is still missing from the software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2018
chuck w.
transaction tax manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2018

“We've had to customize the program greatly to accommodate our business. ”

ProsThe ability to consistently handle taxability of a large volume of transactions. Reviewing transactions for taxability is much faster.
ConsThe software is too generic (high level) and does not handle the intricate nature of our business or industry.

Vendor Response

By Vertex on June 11, 2018
Hi Chuck, Thank you for your feedback. Vertex O Series provides robust rate and rules research that is leveraged by our clients across many industries and tax types. In addition, Vertex O Series provides a number of tools to help customers manage specifics to their business such as tax assist rules and lookup tables, user defined rules and impositions, etc. For more information on these, please contact our Product Support team. Vertex consulting or our alliance partners may also be able to help you better configure O series to fine tune your solution. Jen Armstrong Marketing Specialist Vertex
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2018
Avatar Image
Suma N.
SAP Analyst
Apparel & Fashion, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2018

“Vertex O series”

OverallGreat.
ProsTax calculations are so accurate item level.
ConsVersion updates is a bit complex process.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2018
Nestor F.
CNC Technical Analyst
Consumer Goods, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2018

“O Series not for all customers”

OverallNot easy to setup on some customers. Would not recommend this for any customer that needs 24/7 operations. Single point of failure. If any part of the connection to Vertex is down the ERP system is unable to complete jobs. There should be some way to cache existing Tax information locally and sync to the live data. This way there is no way a connection can cause down time.
ProsThe only thing that was good about O series is no manual update required.
ConsSingle point of failure. If any part of the connection to Vertex is down the ERP system is unable to complete jobs. There should be some way to cache existing Tax information locally and sync to the live data. This way there is no way a connection can cause down time.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2018
Jamie R.
Tax Coordinator
Machinery, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 4, 2018

“Biggest issue is not knowing/having access to user exits when looking up issues”

Overallease for filing tax returns, accuracy in applying tax rates
ProsI like the ease of using the transaction tester (as long as you remember all the flex field needs). The rate lookups and exemption certificate handlings are very easy to use.
ConsWhat I like least is trying to identify tax mappings (currently 6.0), but I see 8.0 will be easier? I do not like that it sometimes has a short span before timing out. We are usually in it all day, but not continuously, so we get timed-out a lot.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 4, 2018
Jim T.
Sr Manager, Application Support
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 2, 2018

“Once configured, software is stable and easy to maintain.”

ProsTax errors are greatly reduced. Monthly updates are timely and easy to apply.
ConsDealing with Vertex Support. Sometimes it can take forever to get a response. Support team has two separate groups, one for O series itself and one for the 'connector'. Connector team also acts as Consultants, so it seems consulting gigs get priority over support needs.

Vendor Response

By Vertex on June 1, 2018
Thank you for your feedback. Most customers give us positive feedback on our support, but we are always striving to improve. We have recently made changes to enhance our ability to support our clients, including launching a new customer support portal, internal process changes, and support rep training.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 2, 2018
Roger T.
Senior Tax Manager
Wholesale, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2018

“We use the exemption certificate manager and I do not recall receiving any training ”

ProsThe exemption certificate manager is a handy tool and allows us to quickly retrieve certificates by state.
ConsOn Demand keeps having unanticipated breaks in service. I don't understand why a secure server keeps going down. It is a major customer red flag that the server is off line for unexplained reasons

Vendor Response

By Vertex on June 6, 2018
Roger, Thank you for your feedback. The Vertex O Series On-Demand notification service sends out a generic blast notification to all customers in case of any type of service event. These service events can range from a general slow down in application response times to a full blown application outage. Given the service¿s single dedicated instance per individual customer, even though you might receive an initial blast notification, the event may or may not be applicable to your particular instance. We do provide real time application status pages to customers at your request. If you are interested please contact your Vertex representative. Thank you, Jen Armstrong Marketing Specialist Vertex Inc.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2018
Tom W.
Manager of Corporate Data and Operations
Information Technology and Services, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2018

“No title”

OverallVertex is not tuned for either database platform that is supported. This causes delay in real performance in the tool. Major cases we have had to escalate to senior management to get any sort of response and then development comes back and states well that is the way it is and we can't help you.
ProsThe number of countries supported by the software.
ConsSupport case response time is very horrible. Typically, it takes 3 weeks of ping support to get any sort of real answers. API response times not the best.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Retail, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2018

“Regular User”

OverallCustomer Service is always a plus!
ProsI like most about the software is the easy access to updates.
ConsI liked least about the software is the infrequent emails that we use to receive.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2018
KIM D.
STAFF ACCOUNTANT
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2018

“Vertex has taken the burden of keeping up with tax law and tax rate changes off my shoulders.”

ProsIt is very flexible and I can generate many different types of reports with it. It keeps up with all of the law and rate changes so I don't have to, yet still offers me the ability to make changes to the rules if necessary. It keeps track of all the exemption certificates we receive. It is reliable, I haven't had many issues in the last 7 years of using it.
ConsThe reports do have a limit to their use. I often have to use multiple reports to get all the numbers I need, instead of being able to access them in one report.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2018
Eric S.
Oracle Applications Specialist
Computer Games, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2018

“A short learning curve, but once we've mastered the system, it's been a major time saver for our org”

OverallMajor time saver for our organization and not having to put in a major effort with our resources internally to determine tax rates in jurisdictions that we do business in ourselves.
ProsAbility to store exempt certificates electronically in their system without needing paper copies trail and filing in our organization.
ConsDoes not work well with Firefox which is a browser our organization uses often, will often get glitchy or stop working entirely.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2018
Traci P.
sr tax analyst
Accounting, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
2/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2018

“Vertex”

OverallI find that every report I pull is a preprepared report. I would like the flexibility toi run custom reports utilizing all info in the data base.
ProsStraight forward dropdowns. Easy to find customers
ConsWould like to be able to drill down more
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2018
Avatar Image
Toni V.
Sales Tax Accountant
Executive Office, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 23, 2018

“Customer Support”

OverallNot much experience so far. It is very much like the Q series so I am happy about that.
ProsWhen I have a problem and have to call Vertex whoever I get on the phone will get me an answer to my question. If they don't know the answer they will find out before they close the ticket.
ConsI used Q series before this. So far I have not used the O series enough to have any issues.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 23, 2018
Julie D.
VP Admin & IT
Wholesale, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2018

“Excellent Sales Tax software”

OverallWith all the laws changing with ecommerce, we realized we had to begin collecting sales tax in many states. Vertex has made this task much easier ... instead of hiring employees to continually calculate and analyze tax data for state reporting we rely on Vertex to help us calculate what we need.
ProsWe collect sales tax from 34 different states and would have to hire a team of employees to do what Vertex does for us.
ConsThe software is a little difficult to understand at first, but with each issue I learn more about the capabilities and how to handle situations within the software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2018
Mathew S.
Tax Supervisor
Construction, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2018

“User friendly and saves company resources”

Overallaccuracy of sales tax reporting and sales by state analyis
Prosease of use, response time to update tax rates, accuracy of reporting, ability to process a lot of data relatively quickly
ConsI wish the website was built more like pivot table formats. The filters are more of a scrolling list instead of a grab and drop function.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2018
Avatar Image
Rosalie Y. F.
Supervisor - ProdOps
Computer Software, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2018

“Vertex O Series new version”

OverallOverall, it is better than the previous version and hopefully the customer support will be able to help incase something crash.
Prosinterfaces, color and new style. very modern.
Consfont and maybe it would be better if you have some sort of guide for new users on how to navigate it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2018
Vaughn R.
finance
Retail, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2018

“Audit Data Integrity”

ProsI recently went through two state tax audits with the period audited included data from Vertex and transaction tax data from our historical systems..the variance for a quarter for a significant sales volume between the vertex data and the auditor's evaluation was amazing.
ConsHonestly nothing but I've never interacted with Vertex customer service as we have a dedicated financial tech team.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 1, 2018

“Pleased overall with Vertex O Series for sales tax processing”

OverallMore accurate and detailed sales tax processing and reporting.
ProsFrom the IT perspective: Long history of integration between Vertex and J.D. Edwards EnterpriseOne. Despite requiring some item data and order line type setup (including business process changes), we were able to implement in nine months (following system selection effort). From the business perspective: Having up-to-date and more detailed tax rates being calculated provides a much higher degree of confidence in reporting.
ConsSetup of the integration with the O Series product required more custom code (UBE) development than expected. The Address Book cleanse process and outside web service (WIO) connections both presented challenges early on in the Project. Additionally, the logic to exclude transactions by listed Order Types required more customization than expected for a product generally understood to be off-the-shelf and having a long history with J.D. Edwards EnterpriseOne.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 1, 2018
Susan D.
SR Tax Acct
Medical Devices, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 20, 2018

“Vertex O Series”

ProsUser Friendly and Reliable. Works well for most filing jobs.
ConsSmall errors in rates and factoring in calculations
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 20, 2018
seema m.
Project manager
Automotive, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2018

“Vertex 0 is new and simple ”

Overallit is good and we have TAm who is really responsible and active in the tickets we raise
Prosreporting is awesome and I ilke the note tab too
Constesting should be more good . Customer support should be more proactive
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2018