Screenly Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3.5/5

About Screenly

Screenly is the original and most popular Raspberry Pi based digital signage solution, powering over 10,000 screens around the world. Thanks to Screenly's easy, yet powerful CMS, anyone can build and manage their own digital signage network without fuzz. This is why customers ranging from small business to some of the largest companies in the world. Moreover, with Screenly's API, it's possible to integrate Screenly directly into other solutions, providing a seamless end-user experience. Learn more about Screenly

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 8 of 8 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 8 of 8 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Timmy M.
Company Director
Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 18, 2018

“Screenly”

OverallExcellent
ProsReally easy to use very functional. The fact that you can time and queue the digital elements is fantastic. The turnaround time from when the media is sent to when it actually plays is very impressive. We are very happy with our partnership with Screenly. The customer service is excellent with a "can do" attitude to solving any operational issues.
ConsThere is nothing that I dislike and at the cost it is better than anything other platform we have used on the market.

Vendor Response

By Screenly on September 21, 2018
Hi Timmy, Thank you for taking the time to review our software and we value your feedback. If you have additional questions about Screenly, please feel free to contact support@screenly.io. We appreciate you being a loyal Screenly customer.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 18, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Non-Profit Organization Management, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 11, 2019

“Goodbye to Free”

OverallVery disappointed that first they cancel their free one-screen option to new customers but then turn around and disable accounts for pre-existing customers like us. No warning either. I discovered by noticing nothing was on the display and then when logging in to see the "account disabled" notice. Nothing I can do except purchase their monthly package that was overkill for our small organization. Since we can't afford to pay, I'm switching over to info-beamer.
ProsWas a really great option for our non-profit that couldn't afford another monthly cost.
ConsNothing I can think of. It was easy to use and the free version had all the options we needed.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 11, 2019
David N.
Network Administrator
Education Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 6, 2019

“Review for OSE”

OverallExcellent. Will definitely consider a paid version when it comes time to replace the OneLAN digital signage we have elsewhere. I'd like education pricing and possibly local asset storage rather than cloud. We're a school and not a high turnover business
ProsFree and can run on a Pi, can use Google slides. Everything a poor inner city school needs for a reception display
ConsAgain, just the OSE. Can't actively reboot it from the web interface, no means to check if it's still running (i.e. preview of what's on screen), which would be very handy if administering a screen from another building. I've had a couple of black screen incidents while playing about with the software setting it up.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 6, 2019
Conrad J.
Retailer
Retail, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 6, 2019

“Great for advertising in my store!”

OverallOverall a very useful platform for advertising.
ProsThat it's manageable from anywhere in the world and the very easy initial setup!
ConsThat there's no functionality for PowerPoint files or to let the pages turn from one to the other.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 6, 2019
Olegario M.
Global Site Support
Automotive, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 28, 2018

“Great app”

ProsEasy to install and use. The free versión is fully functional.
ConsDo not refresh the URL when there is only one asset

Vendor Response

By Screenly on September 6, 2018
Hi Olegario, Thank you for taking the time to review our software and value your feedback. If you have additional questions about Screenly, please feel free to contact support@screenly.io. We appreciate you being a loyal Screenly customer. Best, Samantha Richards Screenly, Inc.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 28, 2018
Vincent N.
Owner
Consumer Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 6, 2019

“Great but could be better”

Overallfor still images and as a photomenue board it is great
Prosthe ease of use, it is simple to add and change photos
ConsThat I can not put up a functioning time and temp when and where i want it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 6, 2019
Mark L.
Director of IT
Retail, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 27, 2018

“Great Idea; failing to deliver (all screens down)”

Overallright now, I would just like it to work; all screens are currently down.
ProsFills a need, looks to be great, easy setup and easy to use interface overall.
ConsPaying for something that is not working.

Vendor Response

By Screenly on September 6, 2018
Hi Mark, Thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention. We strive to do everything we can for our customers and apologize that we were not able to resolve this despite our repeated attempts. We have released new updates that address the issue you were having and do see that your screens are currently active and in sync. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience. If you'd like to discuss this matter further, please send us an email at support@screenly.io. Thank you again for your honest feedback and we look forward to hearing from you. Sincerely, Samantha Richards Screenly Inc.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 27, 2018
Bastian G.
Sales & Marketing DIrector
Hospitality, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
2/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2018

“Great idea - software crashes constantly.”

OverallI was sold this software as an easy plug & play solution which it is not. We received the wrong software in the first place - then it took over a month to fix their software as they had a bug which showed all images in the wrong sizes and didn't display any videos. Half the time support does not read the email properly and only starts to help & assist when you make threats...very disappointing! The one thing that was positive was our account manager who constantly was in communication and tried to fix the issue, we have been with them for 3 months and are still facing issues.
ProsEasy to set-up if it works - our account manager
ConsCustomer Support & actual software - not working.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2018