Unity Ratings

Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
5/5

About Unity

Auto repair tool that enables customer experience improvement through clients communication and feedback management. Learn more about Unity

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 8 of 8 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 8 of 8 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Verified Reviewer
Computer Games, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 3, 2019

“Best program for creating a game”

OverallI have worked with Unity both in the context of my job and outside. I have created both 2D and 3D games, for multiple platforms and it is safe to say that no other engine provides the user with such an ease of use.
ProsThe best part of the unity engine is that it comes with already implemented physics, basics for animating, creating shaders for objects and etc, which make the programing process much easier, especially for beginner developers like me. Furthermore, the tutorials that they provided in their website helped me to start creating my own game as they taught me everything starting from the basics of character movement to more complicated aspects of game making. I also had fun with their Asset Store as it provided me with free 3D objects and plugins. You can also get Unity completely free with very few disadvantages compared to the paid version and those do not interfere with the process of creating complete and working game.
ConsThe first disadvantage is that when updating unity to a newer version sometimes your older code gets buggy and does not work until fixed. This might get annoying if you have multiple unity projects and suddenly none of them work. Second, its not the most efficient when it comes to programing for mobile phones, as in the final build includes certain files that make the overall application heavier than expected.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 3, 2019
Avatar Image
Taylor M.
Development Platform
Graphic Design, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 20, 2019

“Unity - Way of the Future”

OverallThe graphics are mind blowing. Compared to other game creating platforms. Unity gives me the most variety to do just about anything i want to do in creation. When I am stuck on a problem, the forms come in handy to talk to other unity Developers and Creators to see how they solved there problems and help with mine at times. Overall, I am having a blast with this company
ProsUsing 3D Graphics, Simplicity, Do not have to only use C++ coding, Button and Control layout is easy to understand.
ConsThe extent of what you can do is overwhelming. Customer Support is not active 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Updates, depending on what you have used from unity can break your game and a new technique must be used.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 20, 2019
Ahsan S.
Developer
Computer Games, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 5, 2019

“Unity review ”

OverallAs I'm working in a software house and we are developing mobile games n the tool which we use to develop our games is unity. The interface if the unity is very friendly.
ProsI used unity for the development of 2D and 3D mobile games. Extensions are very easy to install. The user interface of unity is very user friendly. I like the component based scripting. The framework of unity is very straightforward for developing games. We can also export games to multiple playerforms because it is very diverse. Unity is updated approx every 3 months in which they fixed the bugs and work on the performance of the tool
ConsI am using unity trial version when we develop any game before the start ho the game unity logo appears its the most irretating thing. The user guide is not enough to understand the information. The rendering speed of unity is not up to the mark
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 5, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Program Development, Self-employed
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2019

“Unity is the best tool for new game designers”

OverallI use Unity to program games in my spare time. I like Unity a lot because it is free and it gives everyone access to learn to make video games.
ProsUnity is great. It provides a framework for Game making, in all kinds of aspects, in Unity you can make 2D Games, 3D Games, Mobile games, Web games, it's only limited by your imagination. Unity is one of the easier game engines to use, and the framework it uses MonoBehaviour makes it easy to reference various components and game objects. It's also very flexible, and you can find almost anything in the Unity Store, from full games to entire lightning engines. The best part is a lot of these packages are free.
ConsSince it is expert based software it is a bit difficult in the beginning to get used to the framework and how everything works. The error messages are sometimes vague and can leave you scratching your head for a while.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2019
Avatar Image
Wojciech S.
Project Manager
Information Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2019

“Everyday tool for every AR/VR developer”

Pros+ rather easy to learn, with dozens tutorials, training courses; the engine itself is also full of hints and quick-use shortcuts and tools + built in asset store that can save you a lot of time + you can use your unity apps in other platforms thanks to exporting tool + massive community of people who are always happy to help you if you get stuck + there is a free version that gives you excellent functionality, so if you are a student or just want to give it a trial run, it wont cost you a dime
Cons- you need a strong machine to run it, especially once you go into something more complicated than just simple animations - once you get past the easy starting part, it quickly becomes very complicated to do achieve more complex results
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 10, 2018

“Great software for game development”

OverallUnity is an excellent software for cross platform game development mostly for indie developers. It's 2D and 3D games are beautiful and once you get the hang of the software you can develop games really quickly
ProsThe games created by it can be totally cross platform, you can develop for android, IOS, Android, Windows, etc. Plus it is extremely powerful for designing.
ConsIt can take a long time to learn how to use it fully. You need to spend a long time learning how to use the scripts. It also requires a lot of power so don't intend to use it with a low end computer.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 10, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Animation, Self-employed
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2019

“free Game engine, alternative to unreal engine”

Overallits a good engine with good tutorials but now unreal engine has become the best free 3d engine. so its hard to recommend unity even tho is not bad, but wanting to get into the professional field will most likely require another engine
ProsSince it was pretty much the first free 3d engine it has a bunch of tutorials online, forums and everything you can find. alternative to unreal engine
Consgames made from this have high requirements, and are usually non optimized so most people in the game industry shun unity games even if they are good.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2019
Vuk D.
Designer
Design, Self-employed
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2019

“Unity is the best software for making 3D games!!!!”

ProsUnity is very useful for making 3D games.
ConsWith each new version things may stop working.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2019